Montgomery, AL - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 6624 Old 06-23-2004, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Tigerman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Millbrook, AL
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I know if you don't have a HD set you can downconvert to 480i. It seems illogical to me to take the effort to work 3 channels and then not pass HD on any of them. If you can pick up the digital channels I would think you've probably got an HD set. If you don't your still getting their analog on 12. What a waste of bandwidth, you could do 2 channels, 12-1 for 480i and then 12-2 could be your weather picture. I would think they would pass HD shortly.
Tigerman73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 6624 Old 06-24-2004, 08:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Sonnie Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: L. A. . . . . . . . (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What do you guys make of this?

It's from this link: http://www.tvradioworld.com/region1/al/tv.asp?m=mon



It will surprise me if WCOV-DT is going to be higher power than WSFA-DT. Even WAKA-DT is showing 1000kw. This just must be some bad info. Looks like they got WNCF-DT right though with 58kw. That's about wimpy.

Sonnie Parker
SVS Customer Service
Sonnie Parker is offline  
post #183 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 01:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Those are the figures for when the station goes full-power, not STA power. The figures are taken directly from the FCC for which the station was allotted.

Edit:
Depending on the height a stations transmitter is on a tower, 58kW should suffice, of course depending on terrain. I'm 62 miles from the Huntsville towers and I can pick up our crappy Fox digital channel and they're only broadcasting at about 4.2kW .

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #184 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 03:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 184
tax

62 miles and 4.2KW. What kind of antenna are you using?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #185 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 06:24 AM
Member
 
Tigerman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Millbrook, AL
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having no problems picking up WNCF right now, they seemed to have stabalized their signal in the last week (knock on wood). WCOV may be at a higher power than WSFA, but my understanding was they are using the same tower but they will be lower so the difference should be minimal. Although right now I think they are transmitting at .0005kW as I haven't gotten a good signal from them in well over a month.
Tigerman73 is offline  
post #186 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 08:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Sonnie Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: L. A. . . . . . . . (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah... I'm 15-16 miles from WSFA/WCOV tower and I have WCOV mapped on Voom but haven't been able to get a signal either. I have the CM1162 which supposed to reach out 60 miles on UHF and it's amplified too.

Sonnie Parker
SVS Customer Service
Sonnie Parker is offline  
post #187 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by JimP
tax

62 miles and 4.2KW. What kind of antenna are you using?

It's actually 4.4kW, but who's counting when it's that low.

I'm using a Channel Master 4228 antenna with a Channel Master 7775 pre-amp. It's mount on a 35 foot mast (give or take a couple of feet). Also, it's on a rotator.

Our NBC affiliate (WAFF) is also 62 miles away at 46kW and they are my strongest signal (89%). WHNT (same distance) is at 1000kW and I get a signal of 64% with them, due to their strong signal overloading my receiver.

I can pick up WKRN out of Nashville (946kW) on occassion, they're 92 miles away. Normally my receiver sits at about 15% signal strength, which is not enough to get a picture. My receiver needs 25% signal. On most evenings it'll jump to 30% and give me a picture. I've seen it on some mornings at 64%, but that's due to great tropo-ducting.

I'll probably raise the antenna another 10 feet in a month or so to try and gain a better signal since they are a ABC affiliate passing HD and DD5.1 (our ABC affiliate doesn't, not to mention the whole 2.6kW they output, which I can't get a signal from).

You guys in central Alabama may be able to pick up WHNT (CBS affiliate in Huntsville, full HD and DD5.1) since they broadcast at 1000kW. Their digital channel is 59 and their analog is 19.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #188 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 09:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Sonnie Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: L. A. . . . . . . . (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Should signal overloading be a concern of mine being only 15-16 miles from the tower and at full power those 2 stations will be at 600kw and 1000kw?

I think my CM is a 7777.

If I point my antenna away from them a little should that make it better?

Sonnie Parker
SVS Customer Service
Sonnie Parker is offline  
post #189 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 10:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Taz
Is that 35 feet from the ground or from a roof peak? I've also got the 4228 but with another brand of amplifier. I've been wondering if a taller mast would help with the WAIQ reception. Also a little nervous about being the local lightning rod. zzzzap.

Sonnie,
That's one heck of a home theater you got. Makes me want to convert to front projection. Still need to get together for that coffee.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #190 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 10:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Sonnie Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: L. A. . . . . . . . (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Jim... we sure enjoy it.

Coffee.... hmmm hmm yes we do!

Sonnie Parker
SVS Customer Service
Sonnie Parker is offline  
post #191 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by Sonnie Parker
Should signal overloading be a concern of mine being only 15-16 miles from the tower and at full power those 2 stations will be at 600kw and 1000kw?

I think my CM is a 7777.

If I point my antenna away from them a little should that make it better?

It may be. If it is, you can purchase a attuenator (sp?) to take care of it. My local PBS station is only a few miles from me, so I turn my antenna exactly 180 degrees, it helps.

Quote:


Originally posted by JimP
Taz
Is that 35 feet from the ground or from a roof peak? I've also got the 4228 but with another brand of amplifier. I've been wondering if a taller mast would help with the WAIQ reception. Also a little nervous about being the local lightning rod. zzzzap.


That's 35 feet from the ground. It's about 7 feet above rooftop.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #192 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been out of town this week and just got back. So WSFA actually has a signal on the air. Are ya'll having any problem with the signal? Mine will be at 100% and then drop totally out. I was getting the test pattern without any problem before they changed their antenna orientation. Maybe I am going to have to give up on the B'ham stations (my only hope for CBS for a while) and readjust my antenna. I was hoping to leave it where it was and at least, at times, get CBS from B'ham. A rotor is not an option right now as I have guy wires on it (the antenna) that would interfere with rotation. Once WAKA gets on the air (if ever) I will probably take it down and get a less obtrusive mast mounted antenna. But anyway, are ya'll getting WSFA without dropouts?
SD4934 is offline  
post #193 of 6624 Old 06-25-2004, 09:04 PM
Member
 
Tigerman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Millbrook, AL
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not having any problems at all with my signal. It is coming in strong and steady. I don't know how long this testing phase will last before they go dark and wait approval from the FCC to go live.
Tigerman73 is offline  
post #194 of 6624 Old 06-26-2004, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It has to be my antenna positioning. I hooked up an indoor antenna I had around the house and it picked up WSFA just fine. Climbing on the roof is not one of my favorite things (in fact I hate it) but I guess I'm going to have to. Is WSFA now at full power? (P.S. Anybody in the market for a parabolic antenna--it's free--just come and get it off my roof).
SD4934 is offline  
post #195 of 6624 Old 06-27-2004, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Nnamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slapout, Alabama
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have to turn my antenna all the time. When I move into my new house I'm adding a rotor. I already have purchased it. I to had 100% one time on WSFA-DT and then totaly droped out every few min. I turned my antenna almost SE and problem went away. I have been watching WSFA-DT a few days now and have noticed alot of pixalation on both 12-1, and 12-2. Just like PBS spliting the signal it degrades both channels and I do not like it. At least PBS has two diffrent programs. I dont see why WSFA-DT is doing the same on two. It is really going to downgrade the HD stuff when they start to pass it. That's where Local channels can do alot better for High Def stuff than Satalight or Cable because they can pump alot more data uncompressed. And I can tell the diffrence when they dont.
Nnamd is offline  
post #196 of 6624 Old 06-27-2004, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With my indoor antenna I get WSFA-DT at between 93% and 100%. I'm not getting APT or WNCF (I assume if they were any where near full power I would get them too). Once the weather improves I'll get on the roof (my antenna is on my roof peak) and rotate it towards Montgomery. I'd kind of like to get rid of the parabolic and put up a more conventional antenna. That 7 ft parabolic in the middle of my roof doesn't do much for the looks of my house.
SD4934 is offline  
post #197 of 6624 Old 06-28-2004, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After playing with my indoor antenna I am getting good signals form WSFA
(100 %), APT (60%) and WNCF (around 60%). Didn't think it would be possible with an indoor antenna. Of course, I'm not getting Fox, but I'm in no hurry to get on the roof and adjust my outdoor antenna.
SD4934 is offline  
post #198 of 6624 Old 06-29-2004, 08:46 AM
Member
 
Tigerman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Millbrook, AL
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FOX's signal is coming in for me at about 35%. They are the only one's I'm not able to get very well right now, they've probably really turned the power down in the last month or so. WSFA I get at low 90's, PBS I get in the mid 80's and ABC comes in the mid 80's when they have the power turned on.
Tigerman73 is offline  
post #199 of 6624 Old 06-29-2004, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I e-mailed WSFA and asked them when they would begin passing through the HD signal. The reply was: "We are in the second phase of our equipment testing. We will be signing off our DTV signal soon and waiting for FCC approval for programming to continue on a regular basis." This was from Hoyt Andress. He didn't say they would be passing throught the HD signal. Since that was my specific question I'm hoping that he meant that the HD signal would be passed through when they get final FCC approval. Not sure though. Sounds life WSFA will be going black soon and wait on another approval. This really seems like a convuluted process.
SD4934 is offline  
post #200 of 6624 Old 06-29-2004, 04:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Sonnie Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: L. A. . . . . . . . (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wonder how long it takes to get FCC approval?


I sent an e-mail to Phil Witt at WCOV 20 and got this response:

Quote:


Our NTSC transmitter is in Grady. Our SDTV transmitter is at our studio location and operates at low power. We may be transmitting HDTV (Fox) this fall but will still be transmitting from the same location, with
the same power level. Nothing has been decided about when or from where we will transmit a "full power" digital signal.


Sonnie Parker
SVS Customer Service
Sonnie Parker is offline  
post #201 of 6624 Old 06-29-2004, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems like WSFA has been getting extensions and approvals for a couple of years (not seems -they have). When WNCF came on the air I don't remember going through all this. One day they were just there with a full HD signal. From Hoyt Anders response I'm afraid WSFA may just be planning a digital SD (or ED) transmission and not passing on the HD signal. In his e-mail reply all he referred to was the digital signal. He never made reference to HD, even though I specifically asked that. I may be wrong but I am getting pessimistic again. If they don't pass the HD signal I don't know which is worse--WAKA's non-plans or WSFA's half-hearted plans (if the HD signal is not passed). I may have to keep my antenna aimed for B'ham and depend on my indoor antenna for local digital. WNCF was first with HD but I assume WSFA has much deeper pockets (unless WNCF gets a lot of help from their parent company). At least we have something to discuss.
SD4934 is offline  
post #202 of 6624 Old 06-30-2004, 06:44 AM
Member
 
Tigerman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Millbrook, AL
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I emailed him a week or so ago and was told they would be passing the HD signal thru from NBC so we should have 1080i coming thru soon since they finished up testing apparently. I asked and he did say they would be passing the signal.
Tigerman73 is offline  
post #203 of 6624 Old 06-30-2004, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Nnamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slapout, Alabama
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They have then got to go back and test passing HD signals, Then get approvel again for that. HA! Maybe we can catch the 2008 games in High Def.
It's all in the numbers. They are going to drag it out because not enough homes in the area have HDTV and it is costing them money. (At least in their minds)
Nnamd is offline  
post #204 of 6624 Old 06-30-2004, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Nnamd
They have then got to go back and test passing HD signals, Then get approvel again for that. HA! Maybe we can catch the 2008 games in High Def.
It's all in the numbers. They are going to drag it out because not enough homes in the area have HDTV and it is costing them money. (At least in their minds)

I'm afraid you are right. At this time the financial incentive is not there. At this time, except for us vocal few there is not much of an outcry from the public for HDTV. Most people seem satisfied with the signal they have. Even after seeing HD people say "that sure is a clear picture" or somethng like that and that's it. Maybe when all larger new TVs sold can directly accept unscrambled HD or HD OTA signals more people will be exposed to HD and HD will be as simple as plugging in the TV and plugging the cable into it we will see more demand for HD and the advertisers will take notice. Let's face it, most people don't want to fool with a TV antenna and a seperate HD receiver, they just want to turn on the TV and watch. Has the federal mandate gone into effect that all TVs of a certain size manufactured from a specific date have to contain a HD tuner
and will be able to accept unscrambled cable signals without the need of a box (I believe that's part of it) gone into effect yet? As much as we like satellite on this forum I'm afraid cable is going to be the main exposure to HD for a large part of the population. On slightly different note, what do you think will spur the sales of HD receivers. I know Best Buy, Circuit City, et. al. sell a good many HD capable sets (and even some with HD tuners) but not nearly as many HD receivers as HD capable sets.
SD4934 is offline  
post #205 of 6624 Old 07-01-2004, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I'll have to eat some of my words. I had e-mailed Hoyt Andres back and asked if they would be passing along the 1080i signal when available. He said that they would pass the 1080i signal. Hopefully, we'll have the Olympics in HD.
SD4934 is offline  
post #206 of 6624 Old 07-01-2004, 07:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Sonnie Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: L. A. . . . . . . . (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's good news at least... now just waiting for FCC approval will maybe test our patience again.

Sonnie Parker
SVS Customer Service
Sonnie Parker is offline  
post #207 of 6624 Old 07-01-2004, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems like in Central AL it is aways a good news/bad news scenario.
Hopefully, it will be good news from WSFA (WAKA is another story).
SD4934 is offline  
post #208 of 6624 Old 07-01-2004, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Nnamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slapout, Alabama
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Nnamd
Hmmm. Wonder if they will start pumping it out at prime time tonight...
Nahhh. They will come back and say they have to get FCC app again now that they have moved their antenna. Ha!

Ha! remember this one? Guess I was right. Hope I'm not right on my last one.
Nnamd is offline  
post #209 of 6624 Old 07-04-2004, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A little off topic, but I ordered an HD DirectTV Tivo tonight (actually I got on a waiting list for one). I've used a Replay for 3-4 years and not being able to use DVR funtions for HD is frustrating at times. Hopefully, it will have a more sensitive OTA tuner than my Samsung. I had thought about switching to Voom when my contract with D* was up but I'll be staying with D* (especially now that I can move from Pegasus to D*).
SD4934 is offline  
post #210 of 6624 Old 07-04-2004, 09:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Sonnie Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: L. A. . . . . . . . (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We've got Voom right now but we are finding ourselves not watching much of the HD on Voom. We seem to keep having issues with our STB's. I have been toying with switching to D* and getting a Tivo but I don't want to spend the $$$ for the HD Tivo right now... not until I'm sure if I want to stay with D* if we do switch. Previously we had E*.

I'm considering a Hughes SD Tivo with the Toshiba DST-3100 for HD as it is supposed to have a good NTSC and ATSC tuner. From what I can gather the Tivo is much better than E*'s DVR but I don't know much about the DST-3100.

Sonnie Parker
SVS Customer Service
Sonnie Parker is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off