Albany, NY - HDTV - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 5012 Old 01-02-2004, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
lufters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by slayerav
"we will soon be launching an HD Tier that will include HD- NET and HD NET Movies"

Wonder how much $$ that will be. Guess we shall find out soon.

According to other TWC HD threads from around the country...I believe it will be an extra (around) $6.95 a month.

Just another corporation "Nickel and Dimeing" us again!

John
lufters is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 5012 Old 01-02-2004, 08:38 PM
Member
 
slayerav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by lufters
According to other TWC HD threads from around the country...I believe it will be an extra around $6.95 a month.

Wonder if they will move inHD and inHD2 to this tier in this area or if those will remain "free".
slayerav is offline  
post #273 of 5012 Old 01-02-2004, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
lufters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by slayerav
Wonder if they will move inHD and inHD2 to this tier in this area or if those will remain "free".

They will not remain free (including Discovery HD)....They will be part of the HD tier.

John
lufters is offline  
post #274 of 5012 Old 01-03-2004, 05:14 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The TWC in Syracuse has already adopted the HD Tier charge of $6.95. I'm not sure if you can subscribe to just the HD tier and not the SD Digital.

It would be nice if a Time Warner HD sub would share his monthly costs with forum readers. How much is it these days for TWC Digital? And then tack on another $6.95.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #275 of 5012 Old 01-03-2004, 07:13 AM
Member
 
Sat-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Heathrow, FL
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MasterFX1
It would be nice if a Time Warner HD sub would share his monthly costs with forum readers. How much is it these days for TWC Digital? And then tack on another $6.95.

Here are the charges that I saw on my last TWC bill, before I went to DIRECTV:
Monthly Service: $11.50
Standard Service: $28.45
Digital Tier: $ 1.95
Digital Navigator I $ 3.00 (on-screen program guide fee)

Digital Converter $ 6.60
Digital Remote $ 0.35

FCC Fee $ 0.05
State/Local Fee $ 3.25

Total $55.15

Now, the last bill that I received was through December 31, 2003, and had language that attempts to justify the latest rate increase: basically noting that they have added more channels, and that they are "Leading the way in TV entertainment, HD, the Internet and customer service."

(Message revised to reflect fees & taxes).
Sat-Matt is offline  
post #276 of 5012 Old 01-03-2004, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sat-Matt, thanks for the info.

My Last DirecTV Bill:

Total Choice $33.99
HD Package $10.99

TOTAL $44.98
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #277 of 5012 Old 01-03-2004, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
Freezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rensselaer, NY
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MasterFX1:

Could you tell us what HD content you get on DirectTV? And, that $44.98 includes an STB?
Freezer is offline  
post #278 of 5012 Old 01-03-2004, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DirecTV HD Tier:

ESPN-HD
Discovery HD Theater
HDnet
HDnet Movies
Special Events (like NFL Game of the Week or golf's Masters)

Also available with additional subscription: HBO-HD, SHO-HD, HD-PPV, NFL Sunday Ticket (season's now over)

With DirecTV you need an HD Sat receiver. All HD sat receivers for DirecTV are also OTA HD receivers. New subscribers can get a new HD sat box for $399 with subscription. Or you can buy a used one on eBay. Existing DirecTV customers who call and bitch can get a $200 rebate if they upgrade to an HD sat box at full price. ($500-$800).
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #279 of 5012 Old 01-03-2004, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if it costs $55.15 to get HD on TWC and that goes up another $6.95 it'll be a total of $62.10... Good Lord, that's a difference of $17.12 ($205.44/year) over DirecTV, and if you can live without NFL Sunday Ticket, DISH network is even less expensive with the same channels. Looking at costs on a yearly basis, for me, the cost of an HD Sat box is not that much considering you can sell them when they're too old on eBay.

Then of course there's Voom. www.voom.com But the Jury is still going to be out for a while on VOOM.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #280 of 5012 Old 01-03-2004, 06:03 PM
Member
 
mattalb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by slayerav
Matt: I believe the channel info and guide only appear on the component outputs. I've seen it posted in a couple of places that SciAtl is fixing the problem... question is, will we ever get it...

As for the gray bars, there is a setting that you can change to make them black. Hit the Settings (or setup, I forget) button on the remote. Scroll through the options there. One of them has to do with background color, or something similar (different than the "theme" or whatever for the program guide). You can change it to black there.

If you can't find it, post here again and when I get home, I'll look it up.

Slayerav,

Thanks. You're right, the program guide comes over on HD (using component cables). It would be nice to get that fixed. I haven't tried changing the gray bars, but will get to that tonight.

As for all this talk of TWC vs. Directtv/Dish, I always held out hope that TW would receive the local signals as soon as they were available. While many other people were making the switch to satellite, I stuck with TW in hopes they would increase their programming. Mostly this was because I already had a small fortune (for me!) invested in my system and didn't want to sink more money onto the satellite hardware. Every now and then TW would throw us a bone - Discovery HD, INHD, and that would keep me happy. But now this whole fiasco with carriage of the local signals and additional charges for HDnet and INHD, I will be saving to make the switch to DirectTv or Dish. I have invested alot of money into a HDTV system and satellite and OTA viewers are watching great programming while I'm holding my breath for TW.

Satellite subscribers: What kind of cost am I looking at for all the hardware to make the switch? MasterFX1 indicated the receiver is $300. How about the dish?

Matt
mattalb is offline  
post #281 of 5012 Old 01-03-2004, 07:59 PM
Member
 
slayerav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What burns me the most about cable is that I have to pay more and more for the trash channels they keep adding, then have to pay on top of that for HD programming. Of course, I guess the same can be said for satellite.

I thought it was a decent deal... $99.95 for RoadRunner and digital cable w/1 premium. HD was "free". Now rates are going to something like $108 plus soon another $7 or $10 to keep getting several of the HD channels.
slayerav is offline  
post #282 of 5012 Old 01-03-2004, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
BreakStuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: City of Albany NY
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Satellite subscribers: What kind of cost am I looking at for all the hardware to make the switch? MasterFX1 indicated the receiver is $300. How about the dish?

You'll be lucky to only find the receiver in/around the $300 price range.. it will be like finding an HDTV STB for under $200, it can be done, but you'll be a lucky son-of-a-gun!

I think somewhere around $500 is more realistic with both the Directv and Dish Network IRD/Dish combo's..

Take note..

Basic HDTV programming between the 2 are very similiar HDNET,HDNET Movies,ESPN HD,Discovery HD.. Dish Network is $9.99 a month opposed to Directv's $10.99..

Directv HDTV = 1 dish
Dish Network HDTV = 2 dishes

Dish Network has standard definition locals..($5.99 month)
Directv does not..(yet)

If money is an issue, you will save a few bucks with Dish as long as you don't lease the equipment, you want to OWN your Dish Network equipment to avoid an extra $5.00 a month per receiver..

Extra viewing rooms also play into cost here as well...

Visit me at petedz.com
BreakStuff is offline  
post #283 of 5012 Old 01-03-2004, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
 
lufters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by slayerav
What burns me the most about cable is that I have to pay more and more for the trash channels they keep adding, then have to pay on top of that for HD programming. Of course, I guess the same can be said for satellite.

I thought it was a decent deal... $99.95 for RoadRunner and digital cable w/1 premium. HD was "free". Now rates are going to something like $108 plus soon another $7 or $10 to keep getting several of the HD channels.

Slayerav.......I couldn't agree with you more. It's totally getting out of hand!!

I said it before and I'll say it again......I had it with TWC!!
I'm switching over to DirecTV sometime this year (definitely before the new NFL season).

The only concern I have with DirecTV is the Picture quality with their HD Channels. I guess there are two many channels crammed into the number of Satellites they have up. But from what I've read, some of the issues have already been fixed....and there will be a new satellite (7S, and others eventually) going up this year to hopefully fix the problem further with the addition of more HD Channels.


Here are some links about this.....

HBO-HD finally looking great on DirecTV

DirecTV Straight Answers

John
lufters is offline  
post #284 of 5012 Old 01-04-2004, 03:18 PM
Member
 
mattalb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a benefit to having local channels with satellite if you plan on also having an antenna to receive OTA?

Matt
mattalb is offline  
post #285 of 5012 Old 01-04-2004, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
lufters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mattalb
Is there a benefit to having local channels with satellite if you plan on also having an antenna to receive OTA?

Matt

Going with OTA since you won't be getting the Local Channels in HD off Satellite any time soon.

John
lufters is offline  
post #286 of 5012 Old 01-04-2004, 10:25 PM
Newbie
 
hooterville guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Eastern Rensselaer Cty
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is from Directv site for Current Customers

(I can't post a link, not enough posts.)
Go to directv.c then click on hdtv on right side of page.
****************************

HD Equipment Offer for
CURRENT DirecTV CUSTOMERS

Get the equipment you need to enjoy the best in high-definition entertainment:

-DIRECTV® HD RECEIVER
-TRIPLE LNB MULTI-SATELLITE DISH
-INCLUDES STANDARD PROFESSIONAL INSTALLATION

ONLY $399
Plus tax and $24.95 shipping and handling fee. Total amount due must be paid with a valid credit card.

With a 1-year commitment to any TOTAL CHOICE® programming and to the DIRECTV® HD Package.
A high-definition television is also required and sold separately. To receive local channels in high definition, an off-air antenna is required.

ORDER NOW!
To take advantage of this special offer, just call 1-800-226-9723.
Offer ends 6/30/04
hooterville guy is offline  
post #287 of 5012 Old 01-05-2004, 03:45 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That being the case, a new DirecTV subscriber should be able to get an HD-Sat box for even less.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #288 of 5012 Old 01-07-2004, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shockingly, I've learned that someone new to DirecTV could sign up for an HD sytem for $379 (thought it would be way less) through www.americansatellite.com. However, you would be getting a rather crappy receiver, the Hughes E86.

BUT... an existing customer can upgrade to an HD system for $399. DirecTV says you will either get the E86 receiver (Crappy) or a Samsung SIR TS160 (Good). From what I've read on other threads, DirecTV is for the most part sending the Samsung to upgrading HD customers.

Seems odd that New customers only save $20 over the old ones, normally the hardware discounts to a new subscriber are much more. All prices included professional installation.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #289 of 5012 Old 01-07-2004, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you are a long time customer and have been good in making payments, you can get the HD receiver deal for $99 or so. You mileage may vary depending on which CSR you get. When you call, select Canceling your account, this takes you to the retention department. They know more about this latest winkle.

Check out the DirecTV thread in the TiVo Community forum for details.
jdspencer is offline  
post #290 of 5012 Old 01-08-2004, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
jpeter1093's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm wondering if anybody knows if TWC has had the same issues nationwide with the locals.
jpeter1093 is offline  
post #291 of 5012 Old 01-09-2004, 02:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
jpeter1093's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, this morning, I see they've got WXXA-HD up on channel 1808...
jpeter1093 is offline  
post #292 of 5012 Old 01-09-2004, 03:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the channel active? Can you tell what format (1080i,720p,480p,480i)? Fox Network does not yet have any HD programming, some of the primetime shows and NFL playoffs are 480p Widescreen and DD5.1.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #293 of 5012 Old 01-09-2004, 04:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
jpeter1093's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The channel IS active, there was paid programming on it (not high def)when I looked earlier (I'm at work now so can't check). It was the same program as on channel 08 (SD WXXA). I have the 3250HD cable box that I have set to output 1080i, how can I tell what resolution a show is being broadcast in?
jpeter1093 is offline  
post #294 of 5012 Old 01-09-2004, 04:19 AM
Member
 
Sat-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Heathrow, FL
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, WXXA is now on Time Warner 1808 (as of last night) -- currently upconverting the NTSC path to 720p, and will pass FOX's 720p when FOX provides it.
Sat-Matt is offline  
post #295 of 5012 Old 01-09-2004, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sat-Matt: Do you know if WXXA-DT will pass DD5.1 when available? Will the 480p Widescreen material from Fox be upconverted to 720p as well or will all network be left native?
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #296 of 5012 Old 01-09-2004, 09:45 AM
Member
 
joeorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Perth, N.Y.
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by lufters
Going with OTA since you won't be getting the Local Channels in HD off Satellite any time soon.


I talked to DISH yesterday and they said any HD content would be passed on any channel, if I received the local channels from them for 5.99. I didn't have to use the OTA capabilities of their hd receiver.

Is this true?
joeorp is offline  
post #297 of 5012 Old 01-09-2004, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by joeorp
I talked to DISH yesterday and they said any HD content would be passed on any channel, if I received the local channels from them for 5.99. I didn't have to use the OTA capabilities of their hd receiver.

Is this true?

NOT TRUE AT ALL!!!

You will not get locals in HD via satellite. (any system) You CAN get locals in HD using the OTA capabilities of an HD Sat box. The 5.99 local service is NOT in HD.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #298 of 5012 Old 01-09-2004, 11:30 AM
Member
 
joeorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Perth, N.Y.
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GOOD to know!! Thank you

Do you have any idea if the HD receiver they provide is any good for OTA reception...Model DISH 811.
joeorp is offline  
post #299 of 5012 Old 01-09-2004, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
lufters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WXXAHD on Ch. 1808 TWC up and running today!

I'm kind of suprised how fast this came about.

Now we can at least get the NFL Playoffs in EDTV (Enanced Widescreen 480P)...better than nothing.

....WRGB needs to get going very soon

John
lufters is offline  
post #300 of 5012 Old 01-09-2004, 11:40 AM
Member
 
slayerav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I emailed WRGB last week to see what the deal was with getting their HD to TWC. Here is the response I got:

-------
Thanks for writing. WRGB is obligated to provide an
over-the-air signal in digital (and HD when available). We've been
doing that since July (digital) and September (HD) on channel 39. Time
Warner Cable can retransmit our digital signal to its subscribers, but only if it has an agreement with us for retransmission. Currently, there is no
agreement, but the terms are being discussed. The final agreement for
any retransmission will be negotiated, and/or approved, by the corporate
offices of both T-W and WRGB, not the local managers. I wish I could
tell you when T-W will be able to carry out signal, but right now it's up in
the air. Our digital & HD programming is available though, at no cost, to
anyone who has a digital receiver and a uhf antenna.

I wish I had a more definite answer for you. We're working on the T-W
thing, and hopefully we'll be able to reach an agreement.
-------
slayerav is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off