Albany, NY - HDTV - Page 167 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4981 of 5209 Old 08-28-2013, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Davird_Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Berkshires - Hancock, MA
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're picking up 6.2 on Long Island?

Dave
Davird_Jr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4982 of 5209 Old 08-28-2013, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I should have mentioned I have a summer home in Middleburgh and I was up there last week,

While on the subject, I asked this in the Technical forum, but maybe the local forum would know also.

I have a Radio Shack VU-210 on the roof at my house in Middleburgh that I installed in 1995, along with a rotor. It has lost a few VHF elements, and while I get Ch 6 and Ch 23 good, I notice Ch 13 is pixelating a bit, and I can't get Ch 51. Would these few elements I lost cause this?
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3D46ae3d4a7c4c2f
mikepier is offline  
post #4983 of 5209 Old 08-28-2013, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Forgot to add some pics of my VU-210 with missing elements
mikepier is offline  
post #4984 of 5209 Old 08-30-2013, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tower Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Altamont, NY
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those missing elements are the part of the antenna that works on channels 7 through 13. A good replacement would be a Winegard HD 5030 below the rotator aimed at Albany plus a 91XG on the rotator for Albany or Utica. Add them with a UVSJ joiner.
Tower Guy is offline  
post #4985 of 5209 Old 08-30-2013, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Thanks for the suggestion. If I was not interested in Utica, and just wants to keep it simple with one antenna that did everything, what do you suggest?

Or is it worth trying to repair my existing antenna? I did not think those missing elements would have a big effect since I am getting Ch 23 (VHF7) good.
mikepier is offline  
post #4986 of 5209 Old 09-04-2013, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tower Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Altamont, NY
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tower Guy is offline  
post #4987 of 5209 Old 09-04-2013, 10:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
oriolesmagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 46
On 8/15, TWC Albany was supposed to add Destination America SD/HD and ID SD/HD. These have never showed up on any sites as being live. Can anyone with TWC confirm or deny if these channels were added or not?
oriolesmagic is offline  
post #4988 of 5209 Old 09-28-2013, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
ETS121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Port Ewen, NY
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone able to get the WRGB 24 out of Kingston, NY? It was working for a few weeks but now it was not coming in just in & out, now it's 40% signal and no picture with my indoor rabbit ears type antenna. I moved the antenna to another room and got 70% signal but same problem. I went out and got another indoor antenna with a amplifier for that room and now get 85% signal but no picture at all. But now I am able to pick up WYBY out of Beacon at 60% with it's 5 subchannels and picture coming in clear and WRNN out of Beacon with 30% signal and the picture coming in and out.

Anyone able to get a picture off WRGB 24 in Kingston?
ETS121 is offline  
post #4989 of 5209 Old 09-28-2013, 06:05 PM
Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is this station you mention a low-power translator of WRGB-TV? confused.gif
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #4990 of 5209 Old 09-28-2013, 06:10 PM
Newbie
 
ETS121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Port Ewen, NY
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post

Is this station you mention a low-power translator of WRGB-TV? confused.gif

Yes, it is

Edit: Noticed today Monday morning, picture came in blurry in and out between 12:02-12:04am with an okish picture and sound for about 10 seconds.
ETS121 is offline  
post #4991 of 5209 Old 10-08-2013, 08:30 PM
Newbie
 
ETS121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Port Ewen, NY
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had storms come thru the area Monday afternoon and Monday night WRGB 24 in Kingston was working again. I had 85% signal with it down and it working. Weird that it went down after a storm last month and now working again after a storm. Any idea what could be causing that to happen?
ETS121 is offline  
post #4992 of 5209 Old 10-30-2013, 05:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Davird_Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Berkshires - Hancock, MA
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I click on the link for first new post in this thread on the United States index page, it takes me to page 1 instead of to the end of the thread. Am I doing something wrong?

Dave
Davird_Jr is offline  
post #4993 of 5209 Old 10-30-2013, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davird_Jr View Post

When I click on the link for first new post in this thread on the United States index page, it takes me to page 1 instead of to the end of the thread. Am I doing something wrong?

That happens the first time you visit an individual thread. Once you've viewed a thread, your last post read will be remembered on future visits. This is a "feature" of the software that was installed a while back.

Just click on the last numbered page to get at or near the end.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #4994 of 5209 Old 10-31-2013, 04:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Davird_Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Berkshires - Hancock, MA
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK Thanks.

Dave
Davird_Jr is offline  
post #4995 of 5209 Old 01-06-2014, 11:07 PM
Newbie
 
ETS121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Port Ewen, NY
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
deleted my post
ETS121 is offline  
post #4996 of 5209 Old 01-23-2014, 12:47 PM
Newbie
 
cloney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help, I cannot seem to get WXXA - Fox 23-1 with any indoor antenna I have. I have the mohu leaf, a terk directional and a RCA with pre-amp and none of these seem to pickup WXXA at all. I dont have access to roof mount.

I can get WRGB - CBS 6-1, WTEN - ABC - 10-1 perfectly fine. According to TV Fool, these are exactly the same directions as WXXA.

Here's my TV Fool report.

Any help would be great.

Radar-All.png 137k .png file
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Radar-All.png
Views:	56
Size:	137.0 KB
ID:	75183  
cloney is offline  
post #4997 of 5209 Old 01-25-2014, 08:28 AM
ebo
Advanced Member
 
ebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Delmar NY
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
cloney:
I'm surprised that you can get WRGB with a flat panel antenna like the Leaf or the RCA (you didn't give the RCA model but their ad shows all their amplified antennas are panels). Most small antennas don't do well on the low VHF channels 2-6 and often have trouble with high VHF channels 7-13 (WXXA is on 7). If the Terk is the HDTV1 it has rabbit ears which should get 6 when fully extended horizontally, although that might not be the best adjustment for 7.

Just to be sure, you really are getting WRGB as 6-1 and not as 45-3? The latter is a subchannel with WCWN, 45-1, RF 43. You said you get WTEN (26) well. How is your reception of the other stations from the hill: WNYT (12), WNYA (13) and WMHT (34)? You probably don't get 3ABN on 44 (W44CT-D); they're very low power. I can't get a good lock on them at 10 miles. I suspect they exist just to invoke Must Carry on cable. But I digress.

For the record, I'm currently getting WXXA the strongest of any of the hill stations. But that's using a homemade antenna optimized for channel 6.
ebo is offline  
post #4998 of 5209 Old 01-25-2014, 10:29 AM
Newbie
 
JohnG127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone here know what happened to Universal Sports? I used to get it with rabbit ears but can't find it now.
JohnG127 is offline  
post #4999 of 5209 Old 01-25-2014, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
ProTuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glenville, NY
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnG127 View Post

Does anyone here know what happened to Universal Sports? I used to get it with rabbit ears but can't find it now.
In January 2012 Universal Sports moved to cable and satellite distribution exclusively and is no longer available to be multi-cast by OTA TV stations.
ProTuber is offline  
post #5000 of 5209 Old 02-04-2014, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
djb61230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Whitesboro, NY
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sorry never mind. smile.gif
djb61230 is offline  
post #5001 of 5209 Old 03-07-2014, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
bdee1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the bethlehem area and I am working on cuttign the cable. I got a mohu leaf to get local stations and I am having trouble getting consistent reception. I have a lot of trouble getting WRGB and sometrouble with 45 as well.

Has anybody else in the area had much luck with the mohu leaf and have some tips to share to optimizr reception with it?
bdee1 is offline  
post #5002 of 5209 Old 03-08-2014, 12:07 AM
ebo
Advanced Member
 
ebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Delmar NY
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdee1 View Post

I am in the bethlehem area and I am working on cuttign the cable. I got a mohu leaf to get local stations and I am having trouble getting consistent reception. I have a lot of trouble getting WRGB and sometrouble with 45 as well.

Has anybody else in the area had much luck with the mohu leaf and have some tips to share to optimizr reception with it?
I haven't used the Leaf but it's too small to be good at receiving low VHF channels such as WRGB on 6. I'd expect it to do well on 45 though (actually 43).

If you have some spare twin lead you can make an antenna for ch. 6 for almost nothing from plans here. Combine that with your Leaf using a UHF/VHF coupler. That will use the twin lead antenna for the VHF channels (6, 7,12 and 13) and the Leaf for the UHF ones (26, 34 and 43). But if your reception of 43 is already marginal, the coupler may make it worse.
ebo is offline  
post #5003 of 5209 Old 03-09-2014, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
bdee1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the reply. unfortunately my time and DIY skills are limited these days with two little ones running around. are there any other affordable indoor antenna's that might work better to get all my locals? or do I have to go to roof mount antenna? What would be recommended to get reliable reception of all my locals in this area (6,10,13,17,23,45,51).

I appreciate the assistance.
bdee1 is offline  
post #5004 of 5209 Old 03-10-2014, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
bdee1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had someone recommend the Winegard FreeVision FV-HD30 Compact Ultra Powerful DTV TV Antenna Free Vision (FV-HD30 FV-30BB). Has anyone had any experience with this antenna. I would like to mount it in the same location that I have my mohu leaf which is in the garage right now.
bdee1 is offline  
post #5005 of 5209 Old 03-11-2014, 06:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Davird_Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Berkshires - Hancock, MA
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That antenna is not optimized for VHF low and could be a problem for channel 6. Better indoor choices would be antennas with rabbit ears included such as:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?mc=03&p=DT-01&d=Tivax-DT01-Amplified-Indoor-Digital-TV-Antenna-(DT01)&c=TV Antennas - Indoor Only&sku=

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?mc=03&p=ANT1251&d=RCA-ANT1251-Indoor-Amplified-TV-Antenna-(ANT1251)&c=TV Antennas - Indoor Only&sku=

Both are less expensive than the one you inquired about, have decent reviews and as close as you are to the tower should work. The first antenna has a rotatable dipole which could make placement a bit easier than the second.

Dave
Davird_Jr is offline  
post #5006 of 5209 Old 03-11-2014, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
bdee1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the info - I'm glad I asked. The next question... I will actually be feeding the signal to 5 tv's throughout the house. I will just be plugging the coax from the antenna into the coax that my cable tv used to use to distribute out to the tvs. so with that said, will those two antennas be powerful enough to get a clean signal on all the local stations to all 5 of my tvs?or do I need an amplifier of some sort?

Is it possible to get a consistent, reliable signal in my setup with an indoor antenna or will I really have to go with an outdoor antenna in the attic or something to really get a reliable signal?

in order to really sell the cable cutting to the wife, I need to make sure that channels are as reliable as they were before. I am just trying to figure the simplest way to accomplish that.

Thanks very much for you assistance with this!!
bdee1 is offline  
post #5007 of 5209 Old 03-12-2014, 05:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Davird_Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Berkshires - Hancock, MA
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would recommend you try one of the inexpensive indoor antennas to start with. You are so close to the towers that you should be more concerned with too strong a signal. If you are splitting it to 5 TVs that should take care of that. If the indoor antenna does not pick up the stations you want reliably, you're not out that much money and you could look into an outdoor antenna, but it would probably have to be big to get channel 6. There is an antenna forum section here on AVS with a lot of knowledgeable people willing to help with tips and info. If you haven't visited there I would suggest it.

Dave
Davird_Jr is offline  
post #5008 of 5209 Old 03-12-2014, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
bdee1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks I will go take a look at that. I started here originally because inwas hoping to get feedback from people who also live in my area.

Channel 6 is definitely the trickiest one to get.

What's interesting is that I installed the mohu leaf last weekend and was only getting a couple stations. Last night just for the heck of it, I tried auto programming again on a couple of my TVs and now I am getting everything except 6 and 45. Weird.

Anyway. Thanks for the assistance. I will try one of the two suggested inexpensive antennas and go from there.
bdee1 is offline  
post #5009 of 5209 Old 03-17-2014, 07:10 AM
Senior Member
 
bdee1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so I was at home depot this weekend and saw that they happened to have something very similar to one of the recommended antennas (the one with the rabbit ears and the loop on it. I picked one up just to try. It was an RCA and was about $35. It does seem to work much better than the mohu and now I am able to get channel 6, 13, 17, 23, 45 and 51 but for some reason now I can't Get channel 10 (WTEN). According to antennaweb, WTEN should be in the same direction as WXXA (FOX) and I am able to get fox. SO what could be the difference? What could I do to get channel 10 to come in? any ideas?
bdee1 is offline  
post #5010 of 5209 Old 03-17-2014, 09:09 AM
Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are you able to get their satellite station from Adams, MA on (virtual) channel 19? (WCDC-TV) confused.gif
KEVINL71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off