Albany, NY - HDTV - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 5012 Old 02-15-2004, 06:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shrek looked awesome.
MasterFX1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 5012 Old 02-16-2004, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
Freezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rensselaer, NY
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My son and I watched the NBA All-Star game broadcast (the HD TNT feed) on INHD last night and thought it looked great! We also watched the skills competition stuff that was broadcast Saturday night (slam-dunk competition, 3-point shooting, etc).

Still not sure if I'm going to keep the TWC HD/digital package. I'm in the middle of a three month discounted deal right now. I might check into seeing if I can swing a deal like someone else mentioned here pages ago -- that is, keep the analog service (no premiums) and just get an HD package. I'm getting zero use right now from the digital tier...but a LOT of use of the HD tier. If anyone else is doing this right now, would they LMK details?

I don't want a major investment in antenna and STB right now. Although the idea of getting the local HD signals for "free" sounds like it would probably be the way to go.
Freezer is offline  
post #813 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 04:44 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NCAA Basketball fans and DTV-OTA capable viewers:

During the opening rounds of the tournament, would you prefer to get up to 4 games in SD using Multi-casting or one (Of CBS's choosing) HD game? Remember, the analog WRGB will definately (Barring another Iraq invasion) have the regional game CBS assigns our market.

It is not likely that 6-2 (UPN) would be shut-off during the games in either case.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #814 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 07:51 AM
Member
 
stoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kingston, NY
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
one game in HD, no question!!!!!!

The only difference tween the men and the boys, is the size of their feet and the price of their toys! - Guy Clark
stoder is offline  
post #815 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
RDJR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cape Coral, FL, US
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question: Is Channel 10 - WTEN/WCDC broadcasting in some type of HD?? I'm able to receive the analog 19 signal but 19-1 doesn't show up. I know the channel listing at the beginning of this thread indicates that it is an up-convert from WTEN's analog signal. Should I be able to see this?? BTW - I get a strong signal on WNYT, 13-1. I'm down in Saugerties about 48 miles from the tower.
RDJR is offline  
post #816 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
19-1 (broadcasted on UHF 36) is transmitted from Mt. Greylock in N. Adams, MA. Being in Saugerties, I would imagine it is a pretty hard signal to get. It is not HD, it is a 480i (SD) encode of the WTEN analog signal.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #817 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
RDJR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cape Coral, FL, US
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Master. Is the analog signal also broadcast from Adams?? I believe antennaweb.org has my distance closer to the Adams antenna then to the Albany antenna. Might have to adjust my antenna.
RDJR is offline  
post #818 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Paul B. Musser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Upstate NY USA
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One game in HD please......

Paul B. Musser
Visit Loudon Theater at:
http://home.nycap.rr.com/pbm1/loudon.htm
Paul B. Musser is offline  
post #819 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Paul B. Musser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Upstate NY USA
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WEWB-DT is scheduled to come online soon. Does anybody know if they will carry the HD version of Mets games.?

That would be really cool.

Paul B. Musser
Visit Loudon Theater at:
http://home.nycap.rr.com/pbm1/loudon.htm
Paul B. Musser is offline  
post #820 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by RDJR
Is the analog signal also broadcast from Adams

The WCDC analog is, the WTEN analog is not.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #821 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3 Votes for One HD Game

0 Votes for Up To 4 SD Games

(Results include PrivateMessage responces)
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #822 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
lufters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MasterFX1
NCAA Basketball fans and DTV-OTA capable viewers:

During the opening rounds of the tournament, would you prefer to get up to 4 games in SD using Multi-casting or one (Of CBS's choosing) HD game? Remember, the analog WRGB will definately (Barring another Iraq invasion) have the regional game CBS assigns our market.

It is not likely that 6-2 (UPN) would be shut-off during the games in either case.

Looks like I can't vote since I'm Boycotting WRGB and there Advertisers!

Oh well!

John
lufters is offline  
post #823 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 11:09 AM
Member
 
stoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kingston, NY
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any insight into when WTEN-DT (10-1) (OTA) might be up and running. I was trading e-mails with their station engineer (Skeeter Lansing) back in the beginning of December and he said by the end of 2003. Now I see by the end of February!!! Wonder if they'll make that date????

The only difference tween the men and the boys, is the size of their feet and the price of their toys! - Guy Clark
stoder is offline  
post #824 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Tconnors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by lufters
Looks like I can't vote since I'm Boycotting WRGB and there Advertisers!

Oh well!

I thought you returned your rental STB?
Tconnors is online now  
post #825 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oops, I was informed by someone highly qualified to answer, that saugerties should have no trouble receiving from N. Adams or Pittsfield, MA. The signal will shoot down the hudson valley unfettered. It will be a different angle relative to the Helderbergs in Albany.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #826 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been given word that WTEN-DT is only waiting for the FCC to give them the "Green Light" to fire the switch!

http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?call=WTEN

This link should let us know when the FCC has granted their approval. (This is very technical, and I have a hard time understanding it.)
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #827 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
lufters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Tconnors
I thought you returned your rental STB?

That too....but I'm still not watching WRGB!....Just because

John
lufters is offline  
post #828 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
RDJR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cape Coral, FL, US
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again Master. I thought I should be able to receive 19-1 here. Time to adjust my antenna. It would be nice if we could see the Academy Awards in HD on ABC. Fingers crossed.
RDJR is offline  
post #829 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 05:27 PM
Member
 
cliftonmets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern Saratoga
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been looking thru WB45's website and found interesting things. First according to an article they released about there carriage of the mets. It said that wewb-dt was now active and on channel 15.1. It went as follows:


WEWB-TV (WB45) is Albany's WB affiliate and Tribune Broadcasting station. WB45's digital signal is available at HD 15.1, with more than 11 hours of high-definition WB programming every week.


Has anyone picked up this signal or know anything about it?

P.S: I sent an email to WB45 about carrying the mets in HD and i was told that they would.
cliftonmets is offline  
post #830 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
AlbanyHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Guilderland, NY
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No OTA signal from channel 43 in Guilderland.

The first post in this thread (from MasterFX1) lists the following concerning WEWB:
45-1/43 WEWB-DT (WB) - Feb 2004

AlbanyHDTV.com webmaster
AlbanyHDTV is offline  
post #831 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WEWB is actually run out of Boston. Perhaps 15.1 is the WB affiliate of the sister station in Boston. The mets coverage is actually produced by WPIX, a NYC WB affiliate. So the signal will go from NY to Boston to Albany. All links will have to be HD for us to get it (TWC or OTA).
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #832 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Tconnors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called the station and they said that NBC is having problems with HD. Does anyone know anything about this? I'm starting to think I'm being fed a line of BS when I call there.

I'm starting to get really aggravated with this. It only happens with WNYT that's why really don't believe them
Tconnors is online now  
post #833 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
BreakStuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: City of Albany NY
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MasterFX1
NCAA Basketball fans and DTV-OTA capable viewers:

During the opening rounds of the tournament, would you prefer to get up to 4 games in SD using Multi-casting or one (Of CBS's choosing) HD game? Remember, the analog WRGB will definately (Barring another Iraq invasion)

IMHO there is NO bigger sporting event than the March Madness tourney broadcast on CBS each year(I remember last years invasion and I wasnt a happy camper).. some people watch football, I watch NCAA B-Ball..

When it comes to the opening rounds of the March Madness tourney, I would much rather have the 4 games in SD instead of just one in HD..

This is the opening round folks and more coverage is a good thing..HD will be there on the later dates when it gets interesting..

Visit me at petedz.com
BreakStuff is offline  
post #834 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
BreakStuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: City of Albany NY
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MasterFX1
I have been given word that WTEN-DT is only waiting for the FCC to give them the "Green Light" to fire the switch

I emailed Skeeter at the end of January and he responded that WTEN has been ready to go and only waiting upon the FCC license to broadcast.. From what I have noticed, the FCC doesn't seem to move to fast at these things..

Visit me at petedz.com
BreakStuff is offline  
post #835 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
BreakStuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: City of Albany NY
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by cliftonmets
Has anyone picked up this signal or know anything about it?

Negative..no signal here..

Do you have a link to that article??.. sounds interesting...

Visit me at petedz.com
BreakStuff is offline  
post #836 of 5012 Old 02-17-2004, 08:13 PM
Member
 
m_jonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it makes you feel better, this happens to me quite frequently. No WRGB, but I get WNYT over the air.

Granted, I've got an indoor antenna at this point.

I too, wish that WRGB would just sign the agreement.

Two questions:

WRGB makes it sound like they want to recoup the "millions" they spent upgrading.

Yet, they supposedly only want to charge TWC a "nominal" amount.

So, if the nominal amount is say, $500.00 compared to millions for the upgrade, why not just "chalk" it up to cost of business and forget about it?

Of course, in my experience, those people that say "it's only nominal" or "it's ONLY a small fee" are the first to squawk when you suggest that THEY pay for it if it's truely "nominal".



Quote:


Originally posted by AlbanyHDTV
If I can receive WMHT & WNYT, so I should be able to get WRGB. I tried to manually add the channel in my STB with no luck. I am not getting any signal at all from WRGB.

I wish I could just change my TWC box to 1806 and get CBS.

m_jonis is offline  
post #837 of 5012 Old 02-18-2004, 04:14 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3 Votes for 1 HD Game

1 Vote for Up To 4 SD Games
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #838 of 5012 Old 02-18-2004, 04:16 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MasterFX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotia-Glenville, NY
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Tconnors
Called the station and they said that NBC is having problems with HD. Does anyone know anything about this? I'm starting to think I'm being fed a line of BS when I call there.

I'm starting to get really aggravated with this. It only happens with WNYT that's why really don't believe them

It will not fix anything instantly, but it will over the long term: e-mail your frustration to both the Chief Engineer and the GM of the offending station.
MasterFX1 is offline  
post #839 of 5012 Old 02-18-2004, 05:56 AM
Senior Member
 
RDJR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cape Coral, FL, US
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would prefer 4 HD games, but will probably be stuck with what WCBS from NY gives me in HD on Directv because I can't pick up the WRGB signal at this point.
RDJR is offline  
post #840 of 5012 Old 02-18-2004, 06:44 AM
Member
 
stoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kingston, NY
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by RDJR
I would prefer 4 HD games, but will probably be stuck with what WCBS from NY gives me in HD on Directv because I can't pick up the WRGB signal at this point.

RDJR, just curious why you can't get WRGB? Antenna problem? I also have Directv and prefer the signal OTA for CBS. I see you want to get WCDC from MA, and need to move your antenna. What are you using? I'm in Kingston and have no problem with any of the signals from Albany, but I do have a 2 large antenna's (UHF & VHF) on the roof. Maybe overkill, but I put them up in the Summer before anyone was broadcasting and wanted to be sure to get a signal and not have to screw around making a change on a 2 story house in the winter. Can you get WMHT or WNYT? I'm sure I could get WCDC but what's the point of a rotor for 480i! Just patiently waiting for WTEN to fire up.........

The only difference tween the men and the boys, is the size of their feet and the price of their toys! - Guy Clark
stoder is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off