Grand Junction, CO - HDTV - Page 14 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 436 Old 02-21-2010, 05:13 AM
Senior Member
 
dleithaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Palisade, CO USA
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So KREX is up on 27 now. A week late for watching the Superbowl. Bresnan is just fine for HD and the locals. I really do not miss my old Direct TV. Sad though that I was forced to change from a system I was perfectly happy with except for the CBS problem.

On another front, I got a call from the FCC regarding my local reception. Told them it was all about KREX and CBS, no other station problems. Too bad they did not call before KREX got it together (at least from what others are saying here), now local management can say everything is fixed. Local management was the problem from the beginning -- unresponsive and dishonest about their original problems. I would have been perfectly happy if they had said "we have a bad-low power setup but are working on it". Instead they act like it is the consumer's problem. Clearly, with all the of the actions I took, costing me time and money, the problem was all theirs.

Glad to hear others have local reception, now you can watch the full spectrum of CBS silliness in the realm of Survivor and Amazing Race.
dleithaus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 436 Old 02-22-2010, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dleithaus View Post

So KREX is up on 27 now. A week late for watching the Superbowl. Bresnan is just fine for HD and the locals. I really do not miss my old Direct TV. Sad though that I was forced to change from a system I was perfectly happy with except for the CBS problem.

On another front, I got a call from the FCC regarding my local reception. Told them it was all about KREX and CBS, no other station problems. Too bad they did not call before KREX got it together (at least from what others are saying here), now local management can say everything is fixed. Local management was the problem from the beginning -- unresponsive and dishonest about their original problems. I would have been perfectly happy if they had said "we have a bad-low power setup but are working on it". Instead they act like it is the consumer's problem. Clearly, with all the of the actions I took, costing me time and money, the problem was all theirs.

Glad to hear others have local reception, now you can watch the full spectrum of CBS silliness in the realm of Survivor and Amazing Race.


But the sound is still messed up except during the local news broadcasts. I can even hear it on the TV speakers of my kitchen set. Come on guys, listen and complain! Sucked out midrange and a weird tubular "phazey" sound. Also the power of 27-2 seems to have dropped from last week.
audiomagnate is offline  
post #393 of 436 Old 04-13-2010, 06:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The sound has been fixed at KREX. They're broadcasting excellent DD 5.1 now on 27.2. The music on Letterman sounded amazing last night. Now if they could only get rid of that annoying "5" bug...
audiomagnate is offline  
post #394 of 436 Old 09-26-2010, 12:49 AM
Member
 
David Rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed that KREX HD is missing the center channel sound? It happens on both 5.1 and on 27.7, wheras KREX SD on 4.2 sounds fine.

If you don't have a surround sound system, you will still notice the missing center from the stereo downmix, namely 5.1 will be much quieter than 4.2.

This has been going on for months. (I'm talking about over-the-air reception, can't speak for cable or satellite.)
David Rad is offline  
post #395 of 436 Old 09-26-2010, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Rad View Post

Has anyone noticed that KREX HD is missing the center channel sound? It happens on both 5.1 and on 27.7, wheras KREX SD on 4.2 sounds fine.

If you don't have a surround sound system, you will still notice the missing center from the stereo downmix, namely 5.1 will be much quieter than 4.2.

This has been going on for months. (I'm talking about over-the-air reception, can't speak for cable or satellite.)

I have a 4.0 setup and there is no rear channel output either on the Broncos game. They're just sending out plain old stereo. KREX's engineering department is completely inept and management is beyond clueless. They have no idea how to operate their Dolby 5.1 equipment.
audiomagnate is offline  
post #396 of 436 Old 10-07-2010, 09:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's also no metadata coming down for 27.1 or 27.2. I think if more than one person was complaining about how lame KREX engineering dept is we might get something done.
audiomagnate is offline  
post #397 of 436 Old 12-09-2010, 05:43 PM
Member
 
darjeeling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiomagnate View Post

There's also no metadata coming down for 27.1 or 27.2. I think if more than one person was complaining about how lame KREX engineering dept is we might get something done.

I've complained to them doesn't help. Although it is about KREG, and the signal degrading with the slightest bit of bad weather. They don't care. In bad weather their signal degrades more than some of the translators that are near the KREG tower location on Sunlight. What makes it more sad, the translator antennas are pointing away from me. Finally I decided to just complain to the FCC. "If they can't maintain a decent signal why do they even have a license?" is the question I posed to the FCC.
darjeeling is offline  
post #398 of 436 Old 12-09-2010, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darjeeling View Post

I've complained to them doesn't help. Although it is about KREG, and the signal degrading with the slightest bit of bad weather. They don't care. In bad weather their signal degrades more than some of the translators that are near the KREG tower location on Sunlight. What makes it more sad, the translator antennas are pointing away from me. Finally I decided to just complain to the FCC. "If they can't maintain a decent signal why do they even have a license?" is the question I posed to the FCC.

I've been leaving messages for the engineer for years and never had a response. I know they own Dolby 5.1 gear, because they actually had it working properly for a month or two earlier this year. It's one of the smallest DMAs in the country, but that doesn't mean they have to treat their viewers so poorly. I'm going to try one more letter to the GM and then I'm filing a complaint with the FCC and CBS, whom I'm sure doesn't know that these people are doing such a poor job.
audiomagnate is offline  
post #399 of 436 Old 12-20-2010, 08:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NO HDTV on KREX-HD (27.2) tonight. So we've gone from HD with DD 5.1 a few months ago to SD Stereo. What's next, black and white?
audiomagnate is offline  
post #400 of 436 Old 01-01-2011, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
dleithaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Palisade, CO USA
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad I checked back. I was thinking about Direct TV again... still no locals in GJ area for them, but if KREX was working on OTA .... based on the most recent comments, KREX is still problem prone and deaf to complaints if you are OTA.

Guess I will just buy a Tivo for my Bresnan cable service and stick for another year. (The B supplied DVR is not a great one)....
dleithaus is offline  
post #401 of 436 Old 01-01-2011, 03:08 PM
Member
 
darjeeling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiomagnate View Post

I've been leaving messages for the engineer for years and never had a response. I know they own Dolby 5.1 gear, because they actually had it working properly for a month or two earlier this year. It's one of the smallest DMAs in the country, but that doesn't mean they have to treat their viewers so poorly. I'm going to try one more letter to the GM and then I'm filing a complaint with the FCC and CBS, whom I'm sure doesn't know that these people are doing such a poor job.

Just an FYI, when filing a complaint with the FCC be very specific. In my first complaint, filed electronically, I just mentioned the Sunlight location and the translators doing a better job than KREG. After filing my complaint I got a form letter back after a few days talking about reception and personal equipment issues and resolving them and told to talk directly to the station for signal issues. It also informed me my case was closed. Well that annoyed me so I opened another case mentioned all of the specific translators that were doing a better job than KREG in actually providing a broadcast signal and how KREX/KREG were unresponsive. It's been about two weeks since the second complaint and no second form letter, so hopefully it was actually read by a human this time and the complaint taken more seriously.
darjeeling is offline  
post #402 of 436 Old 01-03-2011, 04:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here it is, two weeks later and their HD server (fancy word for DVR) is still down. Beyond pathetic. Why no backup? Why no overnighted replacement? Why does CBS put up with this level of incompetence?
audiomagnate is offline  
post #403 of 436 Old 01-05-2011, 08:06 PM
Newbie
 
Kate2264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got duped by Direct TV here in Grand Junction... My folks live with us and are about to take off my head since there are no local channels! What is the easiest, cheapest way of getting them? Granted, our TVs are all older (newest one was purchased in 2003).
We live out north of the mall. Is there still no word on getting local on DirectTV? And is there no hope of waivers too?
Yikes, its going to be a bumpy 2 year ride!
Thanks.
Kate2264 is offline  
post #404 of 436 Old 01-05-2011, 08:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can get your locals for free with an antenna. Just connect it to the antenna connector on the back of your DirecTV receiver. Most homes can get all of the locals (many in HD) with an indoor antenna, but it's possible that you may need a rooftop or attic location.
audiomagnate is offline  
post #405 of 436 Old 06-10-2011, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KREX is experiencing technical difficulties yet again. The live newscasts sound horrible. It sounds like the microphones are clipping.This has been going on for weeks, and I have been complaining, but because it's KREX, they don't fix the problem or even respond to my emails.
audiomagnate is offline  
post #406 of 436 Old 02-08-2012, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
WireJockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, USA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to decide which service to go with for TV/Inet service. TWC has a good pkg., but most people I know are using DirectTV.
Any and all advice welcome
WireJockey is offline  
post #407 of 436 Old 06-17-2012, 10:35 AM
Member
 
sonywaist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Broadcast channel 11-2 is now Memorable Entertainment Television (MeTV) with classic TV re-runs.
sonywaist is offline  
post #408 of 436 Old 03-23-2013, 11:21 PM
Member
 
sonywaist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is everyone still alive and happy?

Maranatha Broadcasting Corporation (MBC Grand) is running a standard definition test pattern on channel 22-1.

MBC Grand owns 6 local radio stations.
sonywaist is offline  
post #409 of 436 Old 04-15-2014, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a new OTA movie channel coming...KREX still has audio problems in their studio.
audiomagnate is offline  
post #410 of 436 Old 12-15-2014, 09:33 AM
Member
 
sonywaist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is everyone still alive and happy?


Broadcast channel 20.1 is KGBY-DT showing COZI TV network programming in 720p HD.


22.1 is MOVIES! TV network programming, wrong aspect ratio SD windowboxed on my TV.


25.0 analog broadcast is also MOVIES! network.


CW 8.2 and Telemundo 11.3 are now 720p HD.


Titan TV does not show these recent changes

Last edited by sonywaist; 12-18-2014 at 06:38 PM. Reason: +
sonywaist is offline  
post #411 of 436 Old 09-09-2016, 10:41 AM
Member
 
scott81425's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Grand Junction, CO: A couple questions about picking up an ota signal and my setup

Ok all, sorry if this is not the right place. Feel free to move it if it is. Anyway, after roughly 15 years with DTV, I've finally decided to cut the cord. Just don't watch it anymore. So I'm going to hook up an OTA antenna outside. I ordered a 1byone 60 mile omnidirectional HDTV antenna with amplifier. I currently have a small outdoor antenna, but due to my local transmitters being on different mountains, it's a 1 or the other type thing, I can't pick up both. Also, it's currently only hooked up to 1 TV. So I will need to hook it up to 2 more. Now here comes the question. There is a DTV splitter on the outside of my house, a 1 in 4 out type setup, a SWM single wire multi switch. Can I just hook my antenna into this and use the cable that is already ran to the TV's? I mean, I know I can use the cable, but will that switch work with my antenna or do I need to replace it? Also, where in this setup does the power injector go? Let's say I need to replace that switch with a regular 1 in 4 out antenna switch. Can I then just plug in the power injector at the nearest TV? Or will the splitter mess that up? Is there such a thing as a "good" splitter, or are they all pretty much the same? I used to be able to run down to a RadioShack and just pick one up, but with them out of business in most locations, I guess I'll have to order one from Amazon if I can't use that DTV one. Lastly, does the number if F barrel connectors or couplers on the system matter? I have experience and all the parts to make new ends for my cables outside to sort of clean up the installation, but don't want to do it if adding an extra coupler or 2 in the line will foobar it all up. Cable runs aren't long, maybe 20, 60, and 75 foot if it matters. Any advice is appreciated.
scott81425 is offline  
post #412 of 436 Old 09-09-2016, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 34
First go look at his thread and do what it says. NOTE: Put YOUR LOCATION in the TITLE of ALL antenna threads & TVFOOL info in 1st post

With over the air no switches are used. Splitters such as this http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...u=601430003090 or amplified or amplified splitters such as http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...u=020572034128 are used to drive multiple TV's.
John
ctdish is offline  
post #413 of 436 Old 09-09-2016, 11:14 AM
Member
 
scott81425's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My apologies, didn't include that because I'd already made the antenna decision, mostly wanted to know about the splitters, where to put the power injector, etc... but here it is. I live in Grand Junction, CO 81504 and my tvfool.com link is

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e2cb3895b470c2

Interestingly I hadn't been able to get on that website for the last few days.

Anyway, so my directv switch will not work and I need a splitter. Thank you for that info.

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk
scott81425 is offline  
post #414 of 436 Old 09-09-2016, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 63
If you have a green-labeled DirecTV multi-switch, it may be used. It will work just fine. It's simply a good splitter with low port-to-port isolation so that DECA will work. It has one port that is DC pass-thru, look for the red insert. If you decide you need a different splitter, run down to Home Depot and buy one made by Ideal. If you need to have DC pass, buy one of the satellite versions and put the power inserter on any leg. If you don't need to pass power through the splitter, buy the cable TV version, it's a few bucks less money

The extra F81 couplers, unless they're worn out or otherwise defective, will have minimal effect in the system.

Based on your supplied plot, using any amplified antenna is likely ill-advised. You have very strong signals already and excessive amplification is a common reason for failed installations.

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #415 of 436 Old 09-09-2016, 01:14 PM
Member
 
scott81425's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried both amplified, and not amplified indoor antennas as well as a small directional (I think) outdoor antenna. The indoor ones don't really pull anything in, and the outdoor one works, but I get choppy and distorted picture on one of the 2 channels. I can adjust it so one or the other comes in well, but can't get both. Do you think I might be better served to simply not hook up the amplifier and just try the omnidirectional antenna? I think the issue is more terrain related than anything. I'm in a valley, and I think the towers are on surrounding mountains. I see a lot of antennas that look just like the one I ordered out on my mail route.

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk
scott81425 is offline  
post #416 of 436 Old 09-09-2016, 01:15 PM
Member
 
scott81425's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Here is a pic of the splitter I have. I think it's the variety you're describing.

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk
scott81425 is offline  
post #417 of 436 Old 09-09-2016, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,759
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 158
HEY, Grand Junction. CO....Been There, Born There.....

Specs for 1byone Omni indicate that it has a Gain of 32 dB (presumably ALL or near ALL due to it's Preamp), with MAX Output of 100 dBuV [0.1 Volt rms], which on-line conversion calculator sez is -8.75 dBm (75-ohms) Max Preamp Output Signal. Unfortunately, they do NOT explain WHAT HAPPENS when this spec value is exceeded, so we are left to GUESS that it means the Dynamic Range has been reduced to say 46 dB (typ. C-M and W-G Spec Practice)...or perhaps 60 dB (per EURO Standardized Overload Spec)....and at some (unknown higher level) the Preamp will go into SATURATION and hardly ANYTHING will pass thru:
https://www.1byone.com/TV-Accessorie...nna/OUS00-0683

Your Strongest TV Stations are [per TVFool Report] -34.2 dBm [Ch7 in Hi-VHF Band] and -34.8 dBm [Ch15 in UHF Band], with next strongest stations significantly lower and hence can be ignored wrt Overload Calculation. After 32 dB Gain in the Preamp, they become -2.2 dBm and -3.8 dBm respectively....which limits weak signal sensitivity, but is "probably" not strong enough to completely Saturate the Preamp There are also SEVEN VERY Strong Stations in the FM Band [-18.9 to -22.9 dBm], which become +14.1 dBm to 10.1 dBm respectively on the Preamp's Output....which are VERY CLOSE TO SATURATING the Preamp, so I'm not surprised you have problems.

So, the Preamp's Max Output Spec is GREATLY EXCEEDED by not only the two strongest TV signals, but ESPECIALLY all SEVEN of the Very Strong FM Signals, which can cause Interference to not only Ch7 and C12 due to InterMod Products, but also some UHF Frequencies.

You should FIRST REMOVE the (Optional) Amplifier Assembly from 1byOne Omni and let us know results.....

==============================================
Since the Stations are about 180-deg from each other and you don't NEED very much Gain for the LOS Stations, IF you need MORE GAIN, I would recommend using fol. very inexpensive 2-Bay Bowtie, except you need to REMOVE the Screen Grid Reflector so Bi-Directional Pattern....and do NOT use a Preamp:
https://www.amazon.com/Signal-Xtreme.../dp/B00CWGTKNS
Initially, you can try it to see how well Ch7 and Ch12 (in Hi-VHF Band) are received on this UHF (Only) Antenna....Loss through the PCB Balun in the Hi-VHF Band might not be TOO severe....and if it is, you could perform a bit of minor surgery and replace the PCB Balun Box (at middle with 75-ohm Coax Connector) with the usual Cylindrical 300:75-ohm Transformer Balun which does NOT have significant Loss in Hi-VHF Band. Although I haven't made any direct measurements, based on the Shipping Box Size, I believe that performance is in the ballpark of the fol. M2 2-Bay Bowtie (NO Reflector):
http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/multibay/uhf2bays/uhfm2
If you decide you want a DIY Project, my OPTIMIZED H2 provides even better performance:
http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/mult...tienoreflector
And the BEST DIY 2-Bay is fol. which adds a Hi-VHF Resonator Loop to improve SWR:
http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/loop...lh212x10norefl
I also have equivalent DIY 4-Bay Designs...but I don't think you need any of them.....

==============================================
Alternatively, without any surgery, you could use the fol. very inexpensive 2-Bay Bowtie, except you need to REMOVE the Screen Grid Reflector so Bi-Directional Pattern....and do NOT use a Preamp:
https://www.amazon.com/Eagle-Aspen-E.../dp/B000GIT002
Note that this particular UHF 2-Bay Bowtie uses the old CYLINDRICAL 300:75-ohm Transformer Balun, unlike newer Antennas that inexplicably use PCB (Printed Circuit Board) Balun BOXES that ATTENUATE Hi-VHF Frequencies an unknown amount. Hence the inherent Hi-VHF Band Gain of the 2-Bay (about 2+ dBi, same as a Tuned Dipole) will NOT be lost.

EVAL SUMMARY FOR DB-2 WITH NO REFLECTOR, which is very similar to Eagle 2-Bay:
Code:
Input file : DB2a_No-Refl_Ken-Nist_hollands.nec

Freq sweeps: [(174, 6, 8), (470, 12, 29)]
Autosegmentation: 15 per 0.319149

         --- Gain ---              -- Ratios -- -- Impedance --
   Freq    Raw    Net   SWR BeamW    F/R    F/B    Real    Imag  AGT  corr
==========================================================================
  174.0   1.92  -8.33 40.38  87.8   0.00   0.00    7.98  -82.03 1.01  0.03
  180.0   1.94  -7.90 36.55  87.8   0.00   0.00    8.66  -70.09 1.01  0.03
  186.0   1.97  -7.48 33.24  87.5   0.00   0.00    9.37  -58.54 1.01  0.03
  192.0   1.99  -7.09 30.36  87.4   0.00   0.00   10.13  -47.33 1.01  0.03
  198.0   2.01  -6.72 27.85  87.3   0.00   0.00   10.93  -36.43 1.01  0.03
  204.0   2.04  -6.36 25.65  87.0   0.00   0.00   11.78  -25.79 1.01  0.03
  210.0   2.07  -6.02 23.71  86.8   0.00   0.00   12.69  -15.38 1.01  0.03
  216.0   2.09  -5.70 21.99  86.7   0.00   0.00   13.65   -5.18 1.01  0.03

  470.0   4.18   1.90  4.55  73.5   0.00   0.00  273.81  476.23 0.98 -0.07
  482.0   4.37   2.15  4.45  72.7   0.00   0.00  332.07  515.04 0.98 -0.07
  494.0   4.63   2.41  4.45  71.7   0.00   0.00  430.08  573.30 0.98 -0.07
  506.0   1.95   1.12  2.44  70.2   0.00   0.00  699.67  135.21 1.05  0.21
  518.0   3.79   2.39  3.21  70.2   0.00   0.00  475.32  431.05 1.05  0.21
  530.0   4.24   2.73  3.36  69.3   0.00   0.00  579.02  458.78 1.05  0.21
  542.0   4.63   3.14  3.33  68.3   0.00   0.00  684.59  433.08 1.02  0.07
  554.0   4.84   3.40  3.26  67.4   0.00   0.00  785.15  366.59 1.02  0.07
  566.0   5.04   3.66  3.18  66.4   0.00   0.00  865.84  261.23 1.02  0.07
  578.0   5.26   3.94  3.10  65.3   0.00   0.00  908.87  126.57 1.01  0.05
  590.0   5.45   4.19  3.01  64.5   0.00   0.00  902.71  -17.17 1.01  0.05
  602.0   5.65   4.45  2.93  63.5   0.00   0.00  849.73 -146.09 1.01  0.05
  614.0   5.86   4.73  2.85  62.6   0.00   0.00  764.79 -243.32 1.01  0.04
  626.0   6.07   4.99  2.77  61.6   0.00   0.00  666.56 -304.12 1.01  0.04
  638.0   6.27   5.24  2.70  60.7   0.00   0.00  569.67 -332.98 1.01  0.04
  650.0   6.49   5.51  2.64  59.8   0.00   0.00  482.34 -338.12 1.01  0.03
  662.0   6.70   5.76  2.58  58.7   0.00   0.00  407.60 -327.48 1.01  0.03
  674.0   6.91   6.01  2.54  57.7   0.00   0.00  345.47 -307.25 1.01  0.03
  686.0   7.14   6.26  2.50  56.7   0.00   0.00  294.60 -281.65 1.00  0.02
  698.0   7.35   6.49  2.47  55.7   0.00   0.00  253.26 -253.41 1.00  0.02

Last edited by holl_ands; 09-09-2016 at 03:03 PM.
holl_ands is online now  
post #418 of 436 Old 09-09-2016, 02:38 PM
Member
 
scott81425's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is, I believe, the same exact antenna I have now. It was even brought out and installed by directv. Also, I do not have the 1byone, it's on order, but have not received. That is the one they recommended. And yes, the pre amp could be removed. It's an in line one that I don't think would necessarily need to be hooked up. Like I say, that one there you linked to works, but I have to choose between two networks due to the 180 degree location difference.

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk
scott81425 is offline  
post #419 of 436 Old 09-09-2016, 02:41 PM
Member
 
scott81425's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But maybe I'll hop up there and remove that reflector. I'm not doing anything more exciting today. I also have an old radioshack omnidirectional job that I don't have any of the parts for, mounting brackets, hardware, power injector, etc. If I could figure out how to get it up there, think it would do the job?

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk
scott81425 is offline  
post #420 of 436 Old 09-09-2016, 02:54 PM
Member
 
scott81425's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After looking through my tv's menu, I found the menu for showing the signal strength. The main channel I have issues on, 11.1, shows a 37 with a Snr of about 265. Are these just arbitrary numbers, or is that actually useful information?

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk
scott81425 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off