Grand Junction, CO - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > Grand Junction, CO - HDTV

Local HDTV Info and Reception

audiomagnate's Avatar audiomagnate
12:25 PM Liked: 10
post #181 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 2,194
Joined: Mar 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoccerNut View Post

Good morning all, hope the weekend was well. If you don't mind please give me your location (cross streets) and whether or not you have 5.1 and strength of signal. The new antenna is at 100% power and I need to know if we still have coverage issues and how extensive it is. Thanks.

I'm at First and Wellington, with a rooftop mounted Antennacraft AC-9 pointed west. I get 95% to 99%(13.8 to 14.6 dB) after running through a splitter.
SoccerNut's Avatar SoccerNut
01:35 PM Liked: 10
post #182 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2006
Sonywaist,
What is a STB?
SoccerNut's Avatar SoccerNut
02:32 PM Liked: 10
post #183 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2006
A few things to suggest trying,

KREX is a VHF Channel 2 signal
KFQX is a UHF Channel 15 signal

You need a VHF/UHF combination antenna for our signals. We have had some cases where viewers that could not scan and find 5.1 were able to manually enter it and it worked fine, and we have found one case where removing a power amp actually brought the signal in.
Don't know if this will help anyone, but please let me know how signal looks.
Thank you.
G1273's Avatar G1273
04:40 PM Liked: 10
post #184 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 44
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoccerNut View Post

A few things to suggest trying,

KREX is a VHF Channel 2 signal
KFQX is a UHF Channel 15 signal

You need a VHF/UHF combination antenna for our signals. We have had some cases where viewers that could not scan and find 5.1 were able to manually enter it and it worked fine, and we have found one case where removing a power amp actually brought the signal in.
Don't know if this will help anyone, but please let me know how signal looks.
Thank you.

A ray of hope - but nothing, I tried removing my amplifier (lost almost all my channels) and manually entering channel didn't yield anything.

Have to ask...I receive KFQX (looks great) with a strong signal. Is it possible to configure KREX to broadcast in the same manner as KFQX?
SoccerNut's Avatar SoccerNut
04:41 PM Liked: 10
post #185 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2006
G1273, How many others close to you do NOT get 5.1? Let me know.
SoccerNut's Avatar SoccerNut
04:43 PM Liked: 10
post #186 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2006
Sadly, No.
G1273's Avatar G1273
05:30 PM Liked: 10
post #187 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 44
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoccerNut View Post

G1273, How many others close to you do NOT get 5.1? Let me know.

I'll make a few calls tonight - and get back to you ASAP.
G1273's Avatar G1273
05:56 PM Liked: 10
post #188 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 44
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoccerNut View Post

Sadly, No.

Just out of curiosity - what changed from the previous transmission (that came in strong) to the current problems? Any idea how widespread the "blackout" is - just along D road?
schaffer970's Avatar schaffer970
06:09 PM Liked: 10
post #189 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Mar 2003
STB = Set top box i.e. cable company decoder box.
schaffer970's Avatar schaffer970
07:32 PM Liked: 10
post #190 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Mar 2003
I'm getting 5.1, .2 & .4 no problem. Two story roof-top antenna. 8th and Ouray downtown.
SoccerNut's Avatar SoccerNut
10:13 PM Liked: 10
post #191 of 410
02-05-2007 | Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2006
G1273 - that's just it, nothing changed- we increased our signal 20db on the 4th thats all.
Thanks Schaffer970 (brain fart I knew what he meant but could not think of the acronym)
bellyboater's Avatar bellyboater
09:28 AM Liked: 10
post #192 of 410
02-06-2007 | Posts: 24
Joined: Mar 2004
I have never been able to receive chan 5.1. I don't have a rooftop antenna. Just a Terk TV5 w/amp on the 2nd floor that I bought for an old Directv rcvr a few years back. With their latest rcvrs, I get the other locals fine with old rabbit ears on the first floor. I'm not going to put up a rooftop on my townhouse. I still subscribe to basic cable, which I now need for KREX only.
bellyboater's Avatar bellyboater
02:05 PM Liked: 10
post #193 of 410
02-06-2007 | Posts: 24
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoccerNut View Post

Belly Boater, can you tell me if you get 4.1, 4.3, 4.5. 5.2, 5.4?

Right now, I get 4.1, 4.3 with my Sony TV rcvr showing the following:
Sig 92
RF Ch 15
Errors 0
SNR 29db
AGC 31%

It shows the RF channel for 5.1 as chan 5 with no signal. When I punch in 2.1, it shows chan 2, but still no signal

My Directv tuner shows signal level at 96-100 for 4.1 and 4.3

Don't get the 5.1-2-4 channels with either rcvr
G1273's Avatar G1273
07:08 PM Liked: 10
post #194 of 410
02-06-2007 | Posts: 44
Joined: Nov 2005
SoccerNut - it's back my friend. No 5-1, but 4-3 comes in at 100% signal. Thanks for all the hard work.

If you find the time please keep us updated on CBS primetime in HD...another three or four weeks till the equipment arrives?

4-3 will be in HD?

Again thanks for listening - unless you object I'll send off an email to the KREX station manager letting him know how much we appreciate all the effort in resolving the issue and keeping us informed every step of the way.

- Cheers
schaffer970's Avatar schaffer970
08:11 PM Liked: 10
post #195 of 410
02-06-2007 | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Mar 2003
For those of you who have Bresnan, I have it on good authority that we will getting more HD this year. The following additional HD channels are in the works:

In the second quarter 2007
ESPN 2
A&E
Showtime
National geographic
Golf and versus (combo channel)

Third or forth quarter 2007
ABC Family
Disney
And maybe Pay-Per-View channels

Hopefully things will happen sooner rather than later. I can't wait for the second quarter!
audiomagnate's Avatar audiomagnate
10:05 PM Liked: 10
post #196 of 410
02-06-2007 | Posts: 2,194
Joined: Mar 2002
I have Dish and an antenna, that equals 34 HD channels.

EDIT: 35, they just added A&E HD.
G1273's Avatar G1273
08:31 AM Liked: 10
post #197 of 410
02-07-2007 | Posts: 44
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by schaffer970 View Post

For those of you who have Bresnan, I have it on good authority that we will getting more HD this year. The following additional HD channels are in the works:

In the second quarter 2007
ESPN 2
A&E
Showtime
National geographic
Golf and versus (combo channel)

Third or forth quarter 2007
ABC Family
Disney
And maybe Pay-Per-View channels

Hopefully things will happen sooner rather than later. I can't wait for the second quarter!

Thanks for the heads up - I hope the price stays at $10 a month...

Is it possible to record HD cable channels? I've been under the impression that cable companies encrypt the signal...
SoccerNut's Avatar SoccerNut
10:45 AM Liked: 10
post #198 of 410
02-07-2007 | Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2006
4-3 is a Montrose feed and will not be in HD anytime soon. We are still looking at the problems with 5-1. If anyone is interested and has the time, if you want to bring your STB to the studio we could hook up to our system and see if it works here. Thoughts are that it could have something to do with tables in the STB itself, we have hooked up a phillips here and it picks up all signals. If so contact studio at 242-5000 and let me know. K.O.
Miah586's Avatar Miah586
09:41 PM Liked: 10
post #199 of 410
02-07-2007 | Posts: 13
Joined: Feb 2007
This is my first post, but I've been watching this thread for a while. I'm very happy there's someone on the inside at KREX watching this thread and responding.

Soccernut, I run Directv with an around the dish type amplified antenna (Terk TV44). The dish is on the top of the roof on my 2 story house, so its pretty high up without many obstructions. I live in the 31 & E 1/2 area. I have no problems picking up every available digital channel in the valley except for 5-1. Until superbowl Sunday, I have never been able to get a signal on 5-1, and the strength has been in the 0-5% area. I got 5-1 for the first time last Sunday, but the signal bounced randomly between 63 % and 0%. I would get about 5 minutes of good signal, followed by 1 minute of massive macroblocking and signal loss. This cycle continues today. Looks like 5-2 is doing the same thing.

I have several different digital tuners in the house, including a Hughs and Samsung brand Directv HD tuners, one built into a Toshiba TV, and a HP Express card digital tuner, all of which acted the same.

I tried repositioning the antenna in every conceivable position on the dish to squeeze any extra signal out, but to no avail. The best signal I can get is 63%, but it still bounces to between that and 0%

I hope that helps!
schaffer970's Avatar schaffer970
08:35 AM Liked: 10
post #200 of 410
02-08-2007 | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiomagnate View Post

I have Dish and an antenna, that equals 34 HD channels.

EDIT: 35, they just added A&E HD.

Go ahead and rub it in. Now that Dish has eliminated the upfront costs for the VIP622 I may jump back to them. If they would just change National Geographic HD from only being available with the 250 package I would jump right now.
audiomagnate's Avatar audiomagnate
09:44 AM Liked: 10
post #201 of 410
02-08-2007 | Posts: 2,194
Joined: Mar 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by schaffer970 View Post

Go ahead and rub it in. Now that Dish has eliminated the upfront costs for the VIP622 I may jump back to them. If they would just change National Geographic HD from only being available with the 250 package I would jump right now.

That p***** me off too, but I won't knuckle under. A&EHD isn't a very good HD channel yet, but I love FilmFest and World Cinema.
bellyboater's Avatar bellyboater
05:29 PM Liked: 10
post #202 of 410
02-08-2007 | Posts: 24
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miah586 View Post

This is my first post, but I've been watching this thread for a while. I'm very happy there's someone on the inside at KREX watching this thread and responding.

Soccernut, I run Directv with an around the dish type amplified antenna (Terk TV44). The dish is on the top of the roof on my 2 story house, so its pretty high up without many obstructions. I live in the 31 & E 1/2 area. I have no problems picking up every available digital channel in the valley except for 5-1. Until superbowl Sunday, I have never been able to get a signal on 5-1, and the strength has been in the 0-5% area. I got 5-1 for the first time last Sunday, but the signal bounced randomly between 63 % and 0%. I would get about 5 minutes of good signal, followed by 1 minute of massive macroblocking and signal loss. This cycle continues today. Looks like 5-2 is doing the same thing.

I have several different digital tuners in the house, including a Hughs and Samsung brand Directv HD tuners, one built into a Toshiba TV, and a HP Express card digital tuner, all of which acted the same.

I tried repositioning the antenna in every conceivable position on the dish to squeeze any extra signal out, but to no avail. The best signal I can get is 63%, but it still bounces to between that and 0%

I hope that helps!

It should help in that it shows various tuners can handle the signal but the signal is too weak in this area. I too am impressed with the KREX effort on this problem but wonder if they have considered using a Field Intensity Meter or Spectrum Analyzer to check their coverage in the area. Not sure that they work for DTV signals (I'm real old school, BSEE '64), but think so. Your post also shows that taking our STBs in is probably not necessary. My Directv units won't work for that as they must see the sat before the OTA tuner will work.
sonywaist's Avatar sonywaist
06:32 PM Liked: 10
post #203 of 410
02-08-2007 | Posts: 107
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoccerNut View Post


KREX is a VHF Channel 2 signal
You need a VHF/UHF combination antenna for our signals.
...we have found one case where removing a power amp actually brought the signal in.

My plasma TV monitor makes a lot of radio frequency noise on the lower VHF frequencies and my STB is sitting right under it. The interference is visible on 4.0 analog reception, and also a little noise is showing on 5.0 analog. I assume it's worse on the part of the spectrum for VHF channel 2. So that's apparently why my STB's locked-in reception of 5.1, .2, .4 ceases when the flat panel is turned on.

So far I don't know of anyone who's watching OTA 5.1 HDTV using an indoor antenna.
SoccerNut's Avatar SoccerNut
08:17 AM Liked: 10
post #204 of 410
02-09-2007 | Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2006
We are compiling this information for that reason. We need more people (who don't get the 5.1) to determine locations where we need to go and evaluate signal strength.
G1273's Avatar G1273
08:37 PM Liked: 10
post #205 of 410
02-11-2007 | Posts: 44
Joined: Nov 2005
KJCT 8-1 and 8-2 are gone. Called - evidently one receiver they have picks up picture, the other doesn't. They are looking into it. I'm getting a strong signal on both channels just no picture.

UPDATE: Turns out one of their computers went down. Both channels are back up. They did a nice job fixing the issue - less than a hour.
Miah586's Avatar Miah586
09:17 AM Liked: 10
post #206 of 410
02-17-2007 | Posts: 13
Joined: Feb 2007
I have a friend at 30 & F 1/2 Rd that is having the exact same problems with the 5-X channels, weak signals, macroblocking, etc... The rest of the digital channels come in fine there.
MikeDaniels's Avatar MikeDaniels
04:10 PM Liked: 10
post #207 of 410
02-18-2007 | Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2007
I've noticed everyone is using an antenna. Do you all also use Bresnan cable? If so what kind of setup? Do you have a switcher? And will your tv remember your cable channels when you switch over to "air".

Thanks!
SoccerNut's Avatar SoccerNut
08:51 AM Liked: 10
post #208 of 410
02-19-2007 | Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2006
The locations that we need to test at so far are, 30 - 31 and D rd, 29 and Patterson, 30 F1/2, 31 E1/2. Any others?
G1273's Avatar G1273
12:58 PM Liked: 10
post #209 of 410
02-19-2007 | Posts: 44
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoccerNut View Post

The locations that we need to test at so far are, 30 - 31 and D rd, 29 and Patterson, 30 F1/2, 31 E1/2. Any others?

As for the people I'm personally aware of (in this forum and out) D and 30 - 31 seem to be the heart of it. I'm curious as to how far the blackout area extends.

Will KREX be testing this week?

Any firm date for (delayed) HDTV in primetime?


Thanks for all the hard work - it is appreciated.
schaffer970's Avatar schaffer970
02:27 PM Liked: 10
post #210 of 410
03-23-2007 | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Mar 2003
For those of you who care about what Bresnan is up to, I have the following information from them.

We are waiting for approval and equipment so this is not official but our goal is to launch the following services on or about June 1, 2007: Showtime HD, National Geographic HD, A&E HD, and Versus/Golf HD


ESPN2 will be launched on or about April 1st 2007 Channel 734


If you are paying attention, you will notice that ESPN2 is already up! (...and yes audiomagnate I know you still have more HD )

Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3