Seattle, WA - Comcast - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 16093 Old 06-27-2003, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
generationxwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redmond, Wa
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mean to say "Home Theater PC" section.....famn digners let me down again

Capre orbis Terrarum
generationxwing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 16093 Old 06-28-2003, 12:02 AM
Member
 
Jinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by JasG
Thanks all.

I have great OTA currently - just need HBO and would like it in HD.

CC just told me that HBO 'a la carte' is $16 + $5 'digital' box rental. No signup for the full digital cable needed. $21 bucks for 1 premium channel!!Used to cost me $10 for HBO/Showtime - then ATT bought the system.

Compression on Digital cable sucks - been there, done that.

I then asked about HDTV boxes, they claimed that the 'digital' box is the same box as for HDTV.

I asked about the transcoder (in simple English) or DVI and after being bumped up 2 levels - was told that they don't provide any such thing.....

(my projector will not accept Component HD - only VGA or DVI)

JasG - basic cable customer for now (satellite is not an option)


My new 5100 box has no DVI or VGA out on it anywhere (that i can see anyways).. only component and SVIDEO that i notice.. Fortunately for me that makes me happy cuz my TV dont even support DVI
Jinx is offline  
post #93 of 16093 Old 06-28-2003, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to watch the Mariners on Comcast right now but there is tons of tearing. HBO and Showtime are ok, just not 100. The first game they did stuttered every 2 seconds, this one just the picture goes blocky all the time. The 2 other games against Atlanta were perfect.

Update: it's progressively gotten better over the last half hour. Looks like it may have stopped completely

-Rob
Roto is offline  
post #94 of 16093 Old 06-28-2003, 10:43 PM
Member
 
Jinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just watched the game.. was perfect here in kirkland the whole time.. very very very very nice picture, we flipped back and forth and the regular cable picture was UDDERLY terrible! stinky nasty gross!! it looked like 10 year old VHS tape quality.. like some of the crappy crappy replays you see on sports shows from games across the us and the picture quality is fuzzy grainy nasty.. night and day difference...

now if we can just get PBS and a few others.. I guess they have till tuesday before this month is over and their words become a lie again?

BTW did anyone get messages on their boxes a while ago telling them the mariners games would be on channel 100 in hd? we never got ANYTHING.. i'm just curious how we'd know if they did put PBS up..
Jinx is offline  
post #95 of 16093 Old 06-29-2003, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Shing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by JasG
Compression on Digital cable sucks - been there, done that.

This is true for the basic digital channels. However, the premium channels such as HBO and SHO are less compressed and look better.

I've noticed recently that analog channels such as Bravo are looking more and more like digital channels. You can see pixellation at times. Maybe I'm just more sensitized to it after getting a large screen and watching some amount of HD programming.
Al Shing is offline  
post #96 of 16093 Old 07-01-2003, 01:09 PM
Member
 
Jinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not that *I* or we are suprised but its a new month and now PBS was NOT delivered to me as far as I can find on my cable box.. If anyone else has it or has found it let us know please.. But it looks like the CSR's OR comcast has lied and once again failed to delivery something they promised to consumers...I wont yell too much, they probably told their csr's end of june as a ruff estimate but this is getting pathetic.. reminds me of that computer game 'duke nukem forever' thats been getting pushed back for 5 years now
Jinx is offline  
post #97 of 16093 Old 07-01-2003, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tivolicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Jinx
Not that *I* or we are suprised but its a new month and now PBS was NOT delivered to me as far as I can find on my cable box.. If anyone else has it or has found it let us know please.. But it looks like the CSR's OR comcast has lied and once again failed to delivery something they promised to consumers...I wont yell too much, they probably told their csr's end of june as a ruff estimate but this is getting pathetic.. reminds me of that computer game 'duke nukem forever' thats been getting pushed back for 5 years now


Say it ain't so! How will I ever get by without that feed of the Market and the odd people in the lower levels?

How the HELL can PBS be a problem to get? Isn't this the PUBLIC Broadcasting System? Don't tell me that they are demanding money.

This whole thing is ridiculous. It should be illegal to charge the cable companies for a signal that is free. This should be the test: If you can't get the signal with rabbit ears, cable should have free re-broadcast rights.

We seem to be in a nowhere land. We have all the downsides of must-carry without any of the upsides. If the stations are going to be able to hold the cable companies hostage, we should get the other part too (if you can't receive a signal, sat can sell you one). Instead they are trying to have their cake and eat it too.

Now you've done it. I seem to be pissed about the situation. I want all the channels and I want them NOW. I also want them to be modulated with 8vsb not QAM. I want a DirecTivoHD box AND I want the 6xxx series Motorola box. Pissed I tell you. I'm pissed!

A musing or too much?
I wonder what that a*^ is thinking today.
Tivolicious is offline  
post #98 of 16093 Old 07-01-2003, 02:11 PM
Member
 
stewc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I'm not quite as pissed as you, but agree with the POV. Between cable and high-speed internet, it's a lot of money to watch the occasional HD movie.

As a technology marketing guy, it amazes me that Comcast keeps pre-announcing this stuff when they apparently don't have a firm launch date. Violates Rule #6 in the Handbook. We wouldn't be bitching about PBS if they hadn't yanked us around...and it only gives KING/KIRO/KOMO more negotiating power! sigh.
stewc is offline  
post #99 of 16093 Old 07-01-2003, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ianken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Tivolicious
I also want them to be modulated with 8vsb not QAM. I want a DirecTivoHD box AND I want the 6xxx series Motorola box. Pissed I tell you. I'm pissed!

8VSB is a waste of bandwidth on cable. You might as well demand it be delivered via Morse Code.

The cable standard is QAM. We're gonna have to deal with it.

On the bright side the locals, whenever they get here, should be in the clear QAM. Now we just need a QAM capable PC solution.
ianken is offline  
post #100 of 16093 Old 07-02-2003, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
generationxwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redmond, Wa
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My gawd in heaven.....I'm just thankful for DirecTVs new HD package.....

Maybe I will build that 200 ft mast to get OTA locals, I bet I can get it zoned, approved and built before Comcast delivers HD locals

Capre orbis Terrarum
generationxwing is offline  
post #101 of 16093 Old 07-02-2003, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tivolicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ianken
8VSB is a waste of bandwidth on cable. You might as well demand it be delivered via Morse Code.

The cable standard is QAM. We're gonna have to deal with it.

On the bright side the locals, whenever they get here, should be in the clear QAM. Now we just need a QAM capable PC solution.

Oh I know. I wasn't actually serious about 8VSB. I was just on a roll and currently there isn't a PC HD card that does QAM. I'm just sick of the whole situation.

I want the ability to time-shift a reliable local signal and I am stopped at every turn. That's all.

Secretly (well not really) I want DirecTivoHD to support QAM.

Cheers,
Steve

A musing or too much?
I wonder what that a*^ is thinking today.
Tivolicious is offline  
post #102 of 16093 Old 07-02-2003, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Budget_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by generationxwing
My gawd in heaven.....I'm just thankful for DirecTVs new HD package.....

Maybe I will build that 200 ft mast to get OTA locals, I bet I can get it zoned, approved and built before Comcast delivers HD locals

Maybe you can recover your tower costs by renting space to cellular phone companies. For that matter, they are experienced in getting permits and constructing towers. Let Western Wireless or someone take on the whole job for you and discount their rent for the help in placing and aiming your TV antenna. Just be sure that the antenna is both VHF and UHF so it still works for you after the stations start using their VHF channels for digital transmission.

Dave
Budget_HT is offline  
post #103 of 16093 Old 07-03-2003, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tivolicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exciting NEWS!!!!

Kiro HD, Komo HD, KING HD, and Fox HD are all available via satellite!!

Not so exciting news -- It's for the Canadian market.

It is ridiculous that comcast can't get this done.

-Steve

A musing or too much?
I wonder what that a*^ is thinking today.
Tivolicious is offline  
post #104 of 16093 Old 07-05-2003, 08:52 PM
Member
 
mwnorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Keyport, Washington
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You say that the Seattle Locals, in HD even, are available via satellite but to Canada.

What service in Canada is offering this?
mwnorman is offline  
post #105 of 16093 Old 07-05-2003, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tivolicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what this* thread seems to indicate.

* http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=164671

A musing or too much?
I wonder what that a*^ is thinking today.
Tivolicious is offline  
post #106 of 16093 Old 07-05-2003, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ianken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mwnorman
You say that the Seattle Locals, in HD even, are available via satellite but to Canada.

What service in Canada is offering this?

There ar eonly two up there, Bell Expressview and Starchoice. I know one of them is offering the Seattle locals.

It is a shame when the folks up north can watch wahtever US HD goo their providers can score for them but those of us who are actually in the city where this stuff is broadcast cannot.

Hills + UHF + 8VSB == No watch HD for me.
ianken is offline  
post #107 of 16093 Old 07-05-2003, 10:06 PM
Member
 
mwnorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Keyport, Washington
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AHH...Bell Expressvu is offering it! And their equipment is the DishNetwork equipment. I have Dishnet...wonder if I can tune in?

Anyway,
WOW...Canada gets our Seattle Stations in HD before us. Quite sad.

They seem to be adopted HD broadcast (although over satellite) faster than us. All for a country that hasn't yet officially adopted HDTV standards.
mwnorman is offline  
post #108 of 16093 Old 07-07-2003, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Jinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back on topic here for a minute.. I was watching the M's on regular cable the other day and a family member swore a commercial came on saying the mariners were on HDTV and also said PBS.. They couldn't be sure if it said COMING soon or if it said it was already available or not... I ASUME it said COMING SOON just like those commercials 6 months ago that said "And SOON other local channels!"... anyone else see this commercial to comfirm?
Jinx is offline  
post #109 of 16093 Old 07-07-2003, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the commercials say KCTS is coming soon.

-Rob
Roto is offline  
post #110 of 16093 Old 07-07-2003, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ianken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Roto
Yes, the commercials say KCTS is coming soon.

But who cares? KCTS has been run into the ground with inept managent and airs at most 2 hours of HD content a day, in the past they had hours and hours. KCTS has gone from one of the premier producers of content for the PBS system to a wanna-be with no cash.
ianken is offline  
post #111 of 16093 Old 07-07-2003, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
generationxwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redmond, Wa
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
October 2002
"Coming soon"

December 2002
"Coming soon, channels not available on satellite!"

January 2003
"Coming soon, channels not available on satellite and HDTV!"

February 2003
"Coming soon"

March 2003
"Coming soon"

May 2003
"Baseball in HDTV...oh, and other stuff coming soon"

June 2003
"By the end of the month. KCTS HD"

Coming soon, my 200 foot tower to finally give me a clear line of site to the towers....

I'll beat Comcast with Digital / HD Locals.

Capre orbis Terrarum
generationxwing is offline  
post #112 of 16093 Old 07-07-2003, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Budget_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
generationxwing:

Well said and very accurate from my recollection!

Keep us posted on your tower efforts.

Perhaps you could form a community access television system to enable your neighbors to also get those same OTA DTV channels that are beyond their normal OTA reception capabilities.

Oh wait! That's where cable came from. How dumb of me!

Dave
Budget_HT is offline  
post #113 of 16093 Old 07-08-2003, 12:53 AM
Member
 
Andy Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
generationxwing:

If you build that 200' tower, can you run a 10 mile cable out to my apartment in U-Dist/Ravenna area? Sweet. Thanks.

Andy

Xbox Live Gamertag: Anderpants
Andy Anderson is offline  
post #114 of 16093 Old 07-08-2003, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
generationxwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Redmond, Wa
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*lol* Dave....priceless

*pirate stance*

There shall be free OTA for all my men! Huzzah!

Capre orbis Terrarum
generationxwing is offline  
post #115 of 16093 Old 07-08-2003, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
quarque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle (north)
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Andy,

I take it that you think you can't get OTA at your place. If you care to post your nearest intersection I can check your line of site to QA and Capitol Hill. It may not be as bad as you think! Most of that area can get OTA.

Larry

I've run out of witty sayings...
quarque is offline  
post #116 of 16093 Old 07-08-2003, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Andy Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Larry-

It is bad. I'm on the corner of Ravenna and Roosevelt in an east-facing 3rd floor apartment (facing Roosevelt--bit of a busy street). I have both rabbit ears and a 4 bow-tie channel master--I bought all of this stuff when I lived in a house in Greenlake--before the Boeing lay-off . I digress--I have mutlipath comin' out my...ears. I have an attenuator--it doesn't help. Roof mount is not an option. I don't have a very good line of sight to QA or Cap Hill from my east-facing balcony.

I suppose I could call a professional installer to come out and see if they can do anything, but seriously, they can run you upwards of $300! Yow!

So--200 foot tower? Rock on.

Andy

Xbox Live Gamertag: Anderpants
Andy Anderson is offline  
post #117 of 16093 Old 07-08-2003, 08:16 PM
Member
 
leewalk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Larry,
Can you tell if I have a chance at OTA HDTV reception? I'm in Issaquah, on Sunset Ct NW near the intersection of Sunset Way and Newport Way.
leewalk is offline  
post #118 of 16093 Old 07-08-2003, 10:41 PM
Senior Member
 
brvheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
leewalk,

In Issaquah you have high-speed internet and HDTV available through cable right? (has nothing to do with the issue at hand, I'm just considering moving)
brvheart is offline  
post #119 of 16093 Old 07-09-2003, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Alex Wetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Larry:

I'm also in the Greenlake/Roosevelt area and would be interested in your analysis. I mapped it myself (using TopoUSA) and things looked pretty bad.

I'm near 5th ave NE and NE 63rd Ave.

There is a hill directly south of me (in the way of the towers going to Queen Anne).

alex
Alex Wetmore is offline  
post #120 of 16093 Old 07-09-2003, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Shing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KOMO 4 ran a spot this morning espousing their *FREE* HD channel. Just put up a UHF antenna and ...uhem... an HD receiver and you can get free HD on Channel 38.

I'm not sure who they are tweaking on the nose with this ad, but I have my guesses. Perhaps this means that the channel won't be free on Comcast, if and when they get it.
Al Shing is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off