Binghamton / Elmira, NY - HDTV - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 3755 Old 01-29-2008, 05:41 AM
Member
 
brives81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Bill G;12964875]
Quote:
Originally Posted by brives81 View Post

Forgot to add one thing. If you haven't ever been able to get WYDC's signal OTA with ATSC on 48-1, then you probably never will. QUOTE]

I live 4.3 miles from the tower and I was getting their signal until November when they started their upgrade project. The signal is not on 48-1. What is a QAM tuner? Is it a cable tuner?

Bill G

Yes QAM is a cable tuner. Some TV's have it, some don't. I have made sure that all TVs that I have bought include a QAM tuner because I don't want to put an antenna up on my house, and I seem to get the same channels with QAM that I would with ATSC and an antenna. When I do a scan, I keep the input on Cable (not antenna) and it comes up with some unencrypted digital channels. Like I said, I get WETM-DT on 109-3 (not 18-1) and now I get WYDC-DT on 109-1 (not 48-1). I'm not sure why you can't get their OTA signal anymore.

Read this for more info...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QAM_tuner
brives81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 3755 Old 01-29-2008, 06:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Painted Post NY USA
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=brives81;12965403]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill G View Post


Yes QAM is a cable tuner. Some TV's have it, some don't. Like I said, I get WETM-DT on 109-3 (not 18-1) and now I get WYDC-DT on 109-1 (not 48-1). I'm not sure why you can't get their OTA signal anymore.

Yup, Yup. On TWC in the Corning area I get WETM-DT on 109-1 and WYDC-DT on 109-2.

Bill G
Bill G is offline  
post #1173 of 3755 Old 01-29-2008, 06:17 AM
Member
 
brives81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Bill G;12965556]
Quote:
Originally Posted by brives81 View Post


Yup, Yup. On TWC in the Corning area I get WETM-DT on 109-1 and WYDC-DT on 109-2.

Bill G

I'm glad you got that cleared up. I did notice last night during primetime that WYDC was only broadcasting in 480i on this new channel and none of their shows were in HD. I hope they are just testing and will switch to HD later this week. I guess we'll just have to wait and see
brives81 is offline  
post #1174 of 3755 Old 01-29-2008, 03:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Painted Post NY USA
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=brives81;12965652]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill G View Post


I'm glad you got that cleared up.

Thanks for your help.

WYDC-DT is now on TWC channel 702.

Bill G
Bill G is offline  
post #1175 of 3755 Old 01-29-2008, 06:21 PM
Member
 
brives81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Bill G;12971786]
Quote:
Originally Posted by brives81 View Post


Thanks for your help.

WYDC-DT is now on TWC channel 702.

Bill G

Yes WYDC is now on TWC channel 702, but I'll be more impressed when they start carrying HD content. Tonight's 'House' was upconverted standard def. my TV QAM tuner shows WYDC-DT still coming across as 480i....and as we all know, that's NOT HD.
brives81 is offline  
post #1176 of 3755 Old 01-30-2008, 10:03 AM
Member
 
jackets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried watching a bit of American Idol on WYDC-DT last night but I was only getting the left channel of audio. Were the rest of you getting that too?
jackets is offline  
post #1177 of 3755 Old 01-30-2008, 10:20 AM
Member
 
brives81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackets View Post

I tried watching a bit of American Idol on WYDC-DT last night but I was only getting the left channel of audio. Were the rest of you getting that too?

I wasn't home last night in time for American Idol, but I will check it out tonight. I hope they work everything out by the end of the week.
brives81 is offline  
post #1178 of 3755 Old 01-30-2008, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found this article, great news for you guys in Elmira/Corning

Basically says that WYDC just launched their digital signal which is HD capable. So they definatly PLAN on having the HD up for Sunday, hopefully they can do it w/o major hiccups.
ak3883 is offline  
post #1179 of 3755 Old 01-30-2008, 05:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Painted Post NY USA
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very Interesting. American Idol WYDC-DT TWC channel (QAM) 109-2 is 720P and Channel 702 on TWC HD tier is 1080i and it looks streched.

Bill
Bill G is offline  
post #1180 of 3755 Old 01-30-2008, 05:04 PM
Member
 
brives81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it looks like they finally got it right. WYDC broadcasting in 720p on TWC channel 702. Picture looks awesome, so it looks like we are all set for Sunday. It's about time.
brives81 is offline  
post #1181 of 3755 Old 01-31-2008, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
bidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad for you Cable Guys. I left TWC 10 years ago over the NFL. Wasn't entirely their fault, but twice during the 97 Season Bills' games were given precedence by WETM when the Giants were hosting AFC teams. I knew I could get every NFL game with DIRECTV, so that's what I did.

I qualify for distants for CBS and FOX out of NYC, so I'm guaranteed my Giants' games. Truth be told, I don't want locals because they just don't do as good a job as the metros. If you're impressed by WETM-HD, then you haven't seen how good an HD broadcast can be.

Anyway, enjoy the game in HD and GO GIANTS!!!
bidger is offline  
post #1182 of 3755 Old 02-03-2008, 10:47 AM
Member
 
wwwTOPDJcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NYS
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well it looks like we get the superbowl in HD on 702 TWC looks like Wicz and Fox came thru. I think 12 carried it last year and we needed to watch it via antenna
wwwTOPDJcom is offline  
post #1183 of 3755 Old 02-03-2008, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
KML-224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is reception of WETM-DT (NBC) in Binghamton? NBC will be carrying Super Bowl XLIII next year.
KML-224 is offline  
post #1184 of 3755 Old 02-03-2008, 04:43 PM
Member
 
wwwTOPDJcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NYS
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WBNG looks like youtube thats how bad the picture is, I tried both the antenna and TWC, when they broadcast non HD material it always looks like
its BLURRY
wwwTOPDJcom is offline  
post #1185 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 05:46 AM
Member
 
brives81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KML-224 View Post

How is reception of WETM-DT (NBC) in Binghamton? NBC will be carrying Super Bowl XLIII next year.

You won't have to worry about WETM in Binghamton....they only broadcast in the Elmira area. WBGH (NBC) is out of Binghamton and they have a nice HD channel. WETM only goes as far east as Waverly, NY I believe. At this time WETM is not at full power, so their picture is terrible at the moment for sporting events. It comes across at 1080i and it's very broken up. I'm sure by next Superbowl, they will be all set
brives81 is offline  
post #1186 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 06:14 AM
Member
 
juventuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Binghamton
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't believe WBGH broadcasts OTA though. I was granted an automatic waiver for NBC through DirecTV.
juventuz is offline  
post #1187 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 06:30 AM
Member
 
jackets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Super Bowl looked real good in HD on WYDC last night. The only wrinkle was during local commercials, which were severely stretched and the sound came blasting out of the left channel only.
jackets is offline  
post #1188 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jdspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WBGH does broadcast OTA, it's a low power station.
So I doubt it has HD. I believe TWC here is really passing NBC HD from somewhere.

Fox40 here did a good job with the Super Bowl.
jdspencer is offline  
post #1189 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 07:53 AM
Member
 
brives81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackets View Post

The Super Bowl looked real good in HD on WYDC last night. The only wrinkle was during local commercials, which were severely stretched and the sound came blasting out of the left channel only.


I don't think that was a wrinkle. I think it was intentional that the commercials are upconverted standard def. I've been watching WYDC all week and that's how all of the SD content has been coming across. Here is an email that I got from one of the employees at WYDC.

"Bill Christian said that we are upconverting syndicated and local content currently, and passing the true HD for most of FOX Network programming, including sports. I do know that as far as syndicated programming goes, it is a matter of each company providing an HD feed of their content so that we can record and feed it out in HD. I'm sure that will happen on an individual basis."
brives81 is offline  
post #1190 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TWC used to pass WETM-DT for NBC HD,(you used to be able to watch Elmira 11PM news), however over the holidays I saw WBGH logos on ch 700(used to see WETM call signs), so they must have gotten NBC network HD going through WBGH's digital signal on TWC.

Last I knew, WBGH was being broadcast as a subchannel of WIVT, on digital 4. They don't have HD OTA. As you can see here, their analog OTA barely reaches to Rt 26 in Vestal and only goes a couple miles.

As of now, OTA only customers who can't get WETM-DT are screwed for the 2009 Super Bowl on NBC.
ak3883 is offline  
post #1191 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 09:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
bidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bidger View Post

GO GIANTS!!!

Yeah babeee!
bidger is offline  
post #1192 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Indiana627's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York State
Posts: 1,204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by brives81 View Post

I don't think that was a wrinkle. I think it was intentional that the commercials are upconverted standard def. I've been watching WYDC all week and that's how all of the SD content has been coming across.

Pretty much all (I'd say about 85-90%) of the national commercials in the super bowl were HD, so WYDC must have done something not right for them to not be shown in HD.

Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Directv since '03
Indiana627 is offline  
post #1193 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
bidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brives81 View Post

At this time WETM is not at full power, so their picture is terrible at the moment for sporting events. It comes across at 1080i and it's very broken up. I'm sure by next Superbowl, they will be all set

I would hope they would do something prior to the start of the 2008 NFL Season. Their NFL HD broadcasts are the worst.
bidger is offline  
post #1194 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 10:59 AM
Member
 
brives81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indiana627 View Post

Pretty much all (I'd say about 85-90%) of the national commercials in the super bowl were HD, so WYDC must have done something not right for them to not be shown in HD.

You missed the point. I watched the whole superbowl on WYDC and ALL national commercials were shown in HD. It was only the local ones for the williams auto group and things like that, that were shown in upconverted stretched standard def. Basically what the email from WYDC was saying is that if they are given an HD feed of a particular commercial or show, then they will broadcast it. Otherwise, they will upconvert the standard def signal. And that only makes sense. They can't create something out of nothing.
brives81 is offline  
post #1195 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 11:02 AM
Member
 
brives81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bidger View Post

I would hope they would do something prior to the start of the 2008 NFL Season. Their NFL HD broadcasts are the worst.

I would have to agree with you on that. I hope they do something about it soon as well. They should switch to full power 720p like everyone else and that would do it.
brives81 is offline  
post #1196 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Indiana627's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York State
Posts: 1,204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by brives81 View Post

You missed the point. I watched the whole superbowl on WYDC and ALL national commercials were shown in HD. It was only the local ones for the williams auto group and things like that, that were shown in upconverted stretched standard def. Basically what the email from WYDC was saying is that if they are given an HD feed of a particular commercial or show, then they will broadcast it. Otherwise, they will upconvert the standard def signal. And that only makes sense. They can't create something out of nothing.

Sorry, I missed the word "local" in the quote you were replying to. My mistake.

Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Directv since '03
Indiana627 is offline  
post #1197 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 12:17 PM
Newbie
 
Woody550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Elmira
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched the SB at friends in Woodland Park, near Corning on WYDC. Several occurances of frozen screen for several seconds at a time. Did you see this Bill G or others?

On another topic, TWC has me [and most others!] ticked off as I've noted before, and I'm thinking about switching to satellite. However their supposed bitrate is higher than satellite. Any updates on when SDV will come to Binghamton TWC? [I assume Elmira will get it from the Bingo hub at the same time?]. If it is 1) definitely happening this year and 2) a fair # of HD channels are ponied up, I may just suck it up and deal with TWC in order to get a better display vs satellite. See this blog for the skinny. The table is very interesting.

http://blogs.zdnet.com/Ou/?p=962

Woody
Woody550 is offline  
post #1198 of 3755 Old 02-04-2008, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Indiana627's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York State
Posts: 1,204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You realize the data in that blog is over 1.5 years old right? I have D* HD and can tell you that all their new MPEG4 HD channels launched since Sept 2007 look just as good as OTA (which I also have). Yes, D* older MPEG2 HD channels are over compressed and are noticeably worse looking than MPEG4, but they are beginning the process of getting rid of MPEG2 and converting those 10 channels to MPEG4. I don't have E* so I can't comment.

Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Directv since '03
Indiana627 is offline  
post #1199 of 3755 Old 02-07-2008, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
bidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those Elmira/Corning TWC subs who have their cable boxes connected to an A/V receiver with an optical cable, is WYDC doing DD5.1 for FOX-HD broadcasts?
bidger is offline  
post #1200 of 3755 Old 02-07-2008, 08:23 AM
Member
 
toxteth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did you guys see this article?

http://www.tvpredictions.com/twhd020708.htm

it's a shame Binghamton is so far behind with this.
toxteth is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off