Seattle, WA - OTA - Page 337 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10081 of 10088 Old 08-14-2014, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
A question about TVFool and moving house

Hi all

I hope someone can help with a couple of questions?

I just moved from Madison Park to Madison Valley. Before I moved, my ChannelMaster could receive channels 4.1, 4.2, 5.1,5.2, 7.1, 7.2. TVFool does't mention any of these channels as those I should receive, in both my old and new houses. Any ideas why not?

Second, in my new house I cannot receive any of those channels, as well as 8.1 - 8.4, 16.1, 16.2, 51.1, 51.2. Any ideas what I can do to get those channels back?

I have a Mohu Leaf 50, and in my old house I wasn't using the optional amplifier.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated!
Chris Carter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10082 of 10088 Old 08-17-2014, 11:17 AM
rdn
Advanced Member
 
rdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Carter View Post
Hi all

I hope someone can help with a couple of questions?

I just moved from Madison Park to Madison Valley. Before I moved, my ChannelMaster could receive channels 4.1, 4.2, 5.1,5.2, 7.1, 7.2. TVFool does't mention any of these channels as those I should receive, in both my old and new houses. Any ideas why not?

Second, in my new house I cannot receive any of those channels, as well as 8.1 - 8.4, 16.1, 16.2, 51.1, 51.2. Any ideas what I can do to get those channels back?

I have a Mohu Leaf 50, and in my old house I wasn't using the optional amplifier.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated!
You may need an outdoor antenna. An amplifier probably won't help. I'm suprised that TVFool isn't showing them at all (the subchannels won't be listed, however).

Bob

Last edited by rdn; 08-17-2014 at 11:22 AM.
rdn is offline  
post #10083 of 10088 Old 08-21-2014, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Having trouble getting PBS stations in Shoreline area

Recently moved from the Greenwood area (where I was able to get everything OTA from a cheap indoor antenna) to Shoreline area. TV is not quite basement level but wrong side of house to be able to get any sort of LOS to the various towers from window access. I experimented with the LEAF-type indoor antennas -- got decent signal (mainly care about major 4 channels for sports, but PBS for kids) for KING, KOMO, KIRO, FOX but not great. Intermittent interruptions - bad for sports. I tried out the Winegard FreeVision, worked much better but still couldn't pull in a few of the lesser channels (where Sounders FC broadcasts -- 22.1).

Skip to, come to find out that the previous owner of the home had installed an aerial in the attic. Not sure of brand, age or anything else, but it's probably 3-4 feet in length. Located wire that drops down into where the tv is located. Hook it up last night and presto, best reception yet for all channels (including 22.1). BUT...KCTS/PBS (channel 9.1) barely comes in at all.

I'm confused because according to TVFool.com, KCTS is on the same tower as a few other channels I seem to get pretty well (11, 22).

Here is my TVFool report: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec2f838211e979

So, a few questions:

1) Do I need to readjust the angle of the attic aerial more towards the other tower? The big 4 stations are more important to me than PBS but it's nice to have for the kids' sake (they can just watch Netflix anyway...)
2) It looks like the aerial in the attic does not have a pre-amp, is one needed, or a straight amplifier?
3) the cord leading from the attic to the basement is an old flat ribbon-type cord, not a normal coaxial (I seem to remember these from when I was a kid). Does that make a difference?

Really, I'm pretty lucky to have found the attic antenna and the existing wire was still in place but not being used. I'll need to install a separate coaxial cable box next to my tv so I can fish the antenna cable down next to the tv since my internet is piped in via the current coax box. Again, I've got all the channels that I need (mainly for live sports) so I don't mind leaving things as is but it would be nice to be able to pick up KCTS for the kids.

Any help/advice would be most appreciated.
OAT Shoreline is offline  
post #10084 of 10088 Old 09-05-2014, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanKurts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Carter View Post
Hi all

I hope someone can help with a couple of questions?

I just moved from Madison Park to Madison Valley. Before I moved, my ChannelMaster could receive channels 4.1, 4.2, 5.1,5.2, 7.1, 7.2. TVFool does't mention any of these channels as those I should receive, in both my old and new houses. Any ideas why not?

Second, in my new house I cannot receive any of those channels, as well as 8.1 - 8.4, 16.1, 16.2, 51.1, 51.2. Any ideas what I can do to get those channels back?

I have a Mohu Leaf 50, and in my old house I wasn't using the optional amplifier.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated!
Chris
Nearest cross streets would help, but experience with homes on the east side of Capital Hill has shown that 4,5,7 & 16, from Queen Anne hill, just aren't there. You're in the signal shadow of the hill. TV Fool doesn't take into account hills, trees and buildings, among other things, so it's not a great indicator of what you can expect. It does say where the antenna towers are, and give relative distances, which can help answer those questions.
Your old location may have been just far enough east of Capital Hill to get some of the signals.
Send the cross streets and I can give you a better answer.
Dan
DanKurts is offline  
post #10085 of 10088 Old 09-05-2014, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanKurts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by OAT Shoreline View Post
Recently moved from the Greenwood area (where I was able to get everything OTA from a cheap indoor antenna) to Shoreline area. TV is not quite basement level but wrong side of house to be able to get any sort of LOS to the various towers from window access. I experimented with the LEAF-type indoor antennas -- got decent signal (mainly care about major 4 channels for sports, but PBS for kids) for KING, KOMO, KIRO, FOX but not great. Intermittent interruptions - bad for sports. I tried out the Winegard FreeVision, worked much better but still couldn't pull in a few of the lesser channels (where Sounders FC broadcasts -- 22.1).

Skip to, come to find out that the previous owner of the home had installed an aerial in the attic. Not sure of brand, age or anything else, but it's probably 3-4 feet in length. Located wire that drops down into where the tv is located. Hook it up last night and presto, best reception yet for all channels (including 22.1). BUT...KCTS/PBS (channel 9.1) barely comes in at all.

I'm confused because according to TVFool.com, KCTS is on the same tower as a few other channels I seem to get pretty well (11, 22).

Here is my TVFool report: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec2f838211e979

So, a few questions:

1) Do I need to readjust the angle of the attic aerial more towards the other tower? The big 4 stations are more important to me than PBS but it's nice to have for the kids' sake (they can just watch Netflix anyway...)
2) It looks like the aerial in the attic does not have a pre-amp, is one needed, or a straight amplifier?
3) the cord leading from the attic to the basement is an old flat ribbon-type cord, not a normal coaxial (I seem to remember these from when I was a kid). Does that make a difference?

Really, I'm pretty lucky to have found the attic antenna and the existing wire was still in place but not being used. I'll need to install a separate coaxial cable box next to my tv so I can fish the antenna cable down next to the tv since my internet is piped in via the current coax box. Again, I've got all the channels that I need (mainly for live sports) so I don't mind leaving things as is but it would be nice to be able to pick up KCTS for the kids.

Any help/advice would be most appreciated.
OAT Shoreline
Your area can make things tough on some channels, while others come in fine. It's all those trees in the path.
Old twin lead, the flat brown wire, will act like an antenna and give you signal that may or may not help with reception. It could also be why ch9 doesn't come in when ch11 or 22 does. Trying to sort out problems, with twin lead as the medium to get signal from antenna to your tuner, can be very frustrating. It wouldn't hurt to move the attic antenna around, just for grins, but very careful and aware of how the twin lead is oriented. Just moving it out of the way to get around up there can cause major differences in reception. The thing to try next would be replacing the twin lead with coax. A lot of times in older homes they didn't secure the twin lead like they do stapling coax. Metal around or near twin lead causes problems. It' might be possible to use the twin lead as a pull for replacing the coax, specially if it's a straight run to your tuner. Ideally, trying the antenna outside where it can get a cleaner shot to the towers would be recommended. Last, of course, would be a different antenna.
Dan
DanKurts is offline  
post #10086 of 10088 Old 09-05-2014, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanKurts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67Bronco View Post
Does anyone have any luck with OTA signals in Mt. Vernon or the surrounding Skagit area? I'm considering taking the plunge and trying my luck with an antenna.
67Bronco
Great truck!
Send your exact address to me in a private message.
Dan
DanKurts is offline  
post #10087 of 10088 Old 09-08-2014, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
seatacboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67Bronco View Post
Does anyone have any luck with OTA signals in Mt. Vernon or the surrounding Skagit area? I'm considering taking the plunge and trying my luck with an antenna.
FYI there is a very low-power Mt. Vernon KIRO repeater (RF28, virtual channel 7.1), and KVOS, K24IC (KBTC) and KBCB are close as well. For fun, I ran a TV Fool chart based on ground level at the Mt. Vernon main post office at 1207 CLEVELAND AVE:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d243a5ae9f0f57

Per TV Fool. at the downtown Mt. Vernon Post Office location it would be conceivable that one could also view Canadian stations CHAN, CIVT, CIVI, CHNM and CKVU. However, we don't know exactly where you live, and are guessing you'd really like to be able to watch KING, KOMO, KCTS, KSTW, KZJO and KCPQ. Dan can give you more help for your exact location.
seatacboy is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off