Seattle, WA - OTA - Page 341 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10201 of 10208 Old 05-06-2015, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
seatacboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesmills View Post
Thanks for replying, I appreciate the suggestions. I tried the paper clip and nothing but KCTS comes in. It's a mystery to me why one channel from the same tower will work but another won't, but I suppose that's the vagaries of RF. What are your thoughts on putting the antenna higher? The building next to me is approximately 30' off of the ground, about 5' taller than the point of my roof. If I get an antenna up to the 40' mark, would that possibly help? TV Fool still has the same results for 1Edge vs LOS if I put 38' AGL, for what it's worth.
One other thought for you, since the paperclip antenna did not work and you definitely face a dramatic signal-overload problem, try a low-cost non-amplified indoor antenna, such as the RCA ANT-111 http://www.shopvoxx.com/product/rca-...tal-tv-antenna or Radio Shack 15-1874 http://www.radioshack.com/radioshack...l#.VUqlx5Oo_T8. You won't need to extend the VHF rods very much. Both of these antennas have integrated RF cords so there are limitations on placement: the ANT-111 cord is four feet long, the 15-1874 is six feet long. The RCA is for sale at many brick and mortar stores like Walmart, Frys, and Best Buy. Try one of these cheap rabbit-ear type units before sending away for a floppy-flat antenna like the Channel Master Flatenna http://www.channelmaster.com/Flatenn.../cm-4001hd.htm, Mohu Leaf, Solid Signal HD-Blade, Winegard Flatwave, et al.

Finally, I suggest that you PM DanKurts. In the past, Dan actually installed various types of antennas for businesses and households.
seatacboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10202 of 10208 Old 05-10-2015, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 1,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 37
KSTW 11.2 will be the home for the summer launch of the CBS Decades network, according to RabbitEars.info.

Wanting a strong FCC to say no to the Wireless lobby. Keep the tv broadcast band for ota television broadcasters.
rdvegas is offline  
post #10203 of 10208 Old 05-10-2015, 06:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
It's already on, from what I was told yesterday.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #10204 of 10208 Old 05-10-2015, 09:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
^^ I can confirm it's on. Watched Route 66 for the first time, binge-style last night!
Vengabus (Richard) is offline  
post #10205 of 10208 Old Today, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanKurts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by m9610172 View Post
Anyone?
I'm really wondering if directional antenna like HBU33 is ok or if I need multidirectional like CH4228.
m9610172,
If you still need help, send me a private message with your address.
Dan
DanKurts is online now  
post #10206 of 10208 Old Today, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanKurts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesmills View Post
Thanks for replying, I appreciate the suggestions. I tried the paper clip and nothing but KCTS comes in. It's a mystery to me why one channel from the same tower will work but another won't, but I suppose that's the vagaries of RF. What are your thoughts on putting the antenna higher? The building next to me is approximately 30' off of the ground, about 5' taller than the point of my roof. If I get an antenna up to the 40' mark, would that possibly help? TV Fool still has the same results for 1Edge vs LOS if I put 38' AGL, for what it's worth.
wesmills,
If you still need help, send me your address in a private message.
Dan
DanKurts is online now  
post #10207 of 10208 Old Today, 10:13 PM
Member
 
drlovety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I'm looking for some help.

I have uploaded a photo to help explain my problem, I've attached the photo or click here (http://imgur.com/0Sg5boa). I have a great setup with two antenna, VHF and UHF, however I was never able to get KING very well. Due to the Superbowl being on KING this year, I figured I might as well get that channel tuned in. i bought another antenna and was able to position it where I got a great signal, however my KOMO and KIRO was very poor from that location. I bought a splitter/combiner and figured I'd combine both UHF antenna to it and then connect it to my UHF port on my pre-amp. Once I did that, all my UHF channels came thru but my VHF channels seemed to vanish, I no longer had KCPQ. If I unconnected my new antenna, KCPQ came back on (like drop from 65 percent to nothing, like it was being blocked).

Any idea why these two VHF antenna are knocking my KCPQ out? My pre-amp has three ports, UHF/VHF/output to pre-amp power module. Any idea why this isn't working? I've listed my gear in the attached diagram. Now that the weather is getting better and football season is getting closer, I figured I want to get this figured out.


Side problem, anyone having red bleeding issues on KIRO? I noticed that last football season.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AntennaMap.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	735266  
drlovety is online now  
post #10208 of 10208 Unread Today, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanKurts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by drlovety View Post
Hello, I'm looking for some help.

I have uploaded a photo to help explain my problem, I've attached the photo or click here (http://imgur.com/0Sg5boa). I have a great setup with two antenna, VHF and UHF, however I was never able to get KING very well. Due to the Superbowl being on KING this year, I figured I might as well get that channel tuned in. i bought another antenna and was able to position it where I got a great signal, however my KOMO and KIRO was very poor from that location. I bought a splitter/combiner and figured I'd combine both UHF antenna to it and then connect it to my UHF port on my pre-amp. Once I did that, all my UHF channels came thru but my VHF channels seemed to vanish, I no longer had KCPQ. If I unconnected my new antenna, KCPQ came back on (like drop from 65 percent to nothing, like it was being blocked).

Any idea why these two VHF antenna are knocking my KCPQ out? My pre-amp has three ports, UHF/VHF/output to pre-amp power module. Any idea why this isn't working? I've listed my gear in the attached diagram. Now that the weather is getting better and football season is getting closer, I figured I want to get this figured out.


Side problem, anyone having red bleeding issues on KIRO? I noticed that last football season.

Thanks!

Hard to say, suspect something strong on the UHF band is causing the preamp to get overloaded, and in turn the RF AGC is dialing back the combined signal. Yes, in theory it shouldn't do that, however.......
The other possibility is you are watching kcpq on its translator from Seattle, which is UHF. It looks the same, maps as 13.1. Agree, not likely, if you still have all this in the attic in Snohomish.
Without a meter to sort out the actual signal levels, it's going to be a challenge.
You could put an A/B antenna switch on the UHF part in place of the 2way split. Rat Shack makes a remote one, indoor only, but should be okay in the attic. You'll need an IR repeater, but they're cheap, as well.
Not elegant, but would work.
Dan
DanKurts is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off