Wilmington, NC - HDTV - Page 71 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2101 of 2217 Old 03-24-2012, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Did the TV stations announce anything about the addition of their HD feeds on Directv during their newscasts? A lot of people will jump and run from Warner now I feel. Warner needs to be brought to their knees for their outrageous pricing.
jspENC is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2102 of 2217 Old 03-24-2012, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have not seen anything. As you can tell those in the forum....really arent that interested in posting their opinions and thoughts. We are a select few i suppose.

nc88keyz is online now  
post #2103 of 2217 Old 03-24-2012, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Back in Jan 09 when we got our HD locals, the stations here didnt mention they were in HD either. I just read over on DBS Talk .com where someone just discovered they had HD locals. Said they were doing some channel edits and noticed in the favs list. Once our HD locals were launched Directv stopped installing 18 inch dishes and standard def recievers in this market. Everything installed now is HD equipment. H20/HR20 up. and slimline HD dishes.
This market dropped its SD channels in December, we are now a MPEG4 only local market. This is nice because we get free HD equipment.
We get the following channels
7 WITN NBC HD
9 WNCT CBS HD
12 WCTI ABC HD
14 WYDO FOX HD
15 WNCTDT2 CW SD
25 UNC PBS HD
25.2 UNC EX
394 WDCW CW SD Washington DC (they never shut off the national CW feed when we got local CW)

Directv
2 HR20-700 HD DVR
1 HR22-100 HD DVR
1 D10
Samsung 40" LN-T4042H HDTV
Samsung 22" LN22A450 HDTV
Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #2104 of 2217 Old 03-24-2012, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
im assuming you meant 2009 not 99. correct?

nc88keyz is online now  
post #2105 of 2217 Old 03-25-2012, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
WSFX still cannot paste an EAS map in HD?????? WYDO HD has the warning for Pender going and are able to do HD, so switch over to WYDO if you can.
jspENC is online now  
post #2106 of 2217 Old 03-25-2012, 08:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post

WSFX still cannot paste an EAS map in HD?????? WYDO HD has the warning for Pender going and are able to do HD, so switch over to WYDO if you can.

They may not have the EAS encoder that will interface with the splicer yet. The FCC has pushed the date when stations need to have (it is a mandate that HLS started back in 2008 to revamping the EAS system by adding the IPAWS-CAP format to the EAS format) that to later this year.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is offline  
post #2107 of 2217 Old 03-26-2012, 04:55 AM
Member
 
BillinVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post

Did the TV stations announce anything about the addition of their HD feeds on Directv during their newscasts? A lot of people will jump and run from Warner now I feel. Warner needs to be brought to their knees for their outrageous pricing.

I only stumbled upon them last week. We moved here in October and had TWC. Aside from satellite, TWC was the only game in town. After a few weeks we hated the service and the cost. We had no signed contract with them so we termed the service a few weeks ago and called DIRECTV even though we knew locals in HD were not being offered. In our opinion we were so unimpressed with TWC that we were willing to live without HD locals.

When the installers showed up (and did a great job by the way) I asked about HD locals and one of them said "it should be any day now". I figured he was just trying to give me some hope. So when the HD locals appeared last week we were pretty impressed.

I was surprised that none of the locals nade any on air references nor did we receive any notification from DIRECTV that HD locals were up and running.

In the last few days I've seen a number of DIRECTV vans coming through the neighborhood. I'm sure our neighbors are switching because of this news.
BillinVA is offline  
post #2108 of 2217 Old 03-29-2012, 09:20 AM
Member
 
brice52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a very bad experience with Directv from late 2008 to late 2010. I went back to Dish Network at that time. I have a vip722k with an OTA module inserted into the receiver. I receive channels 3, 6, 26 and 39 with perfect reception. Wilm 10 is problematic at times. Under the conditions I can not raise the antenna the 5ft needed.

I contacted Dish Network about the Wilmington locals in HD.
They responded that they had them and that I would need a new dish. My previous Satellite reception was from 110, 119 and 129. My new dish is pointed to the Eastern Arc of 61.5, 72.7 and 77. The HD locals come from 61.5. I do not notice any difference in the video OTA and Locals HD via satellite. The audio sound level is slightly louder over satellite.
brice52 is online now  
post #2109 of 2217 Old 03-29-2012, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My pre-amp power supply died, I had replaced the outdoor part already, but the inside part must have died, because I lost 6, 26 and 39. Even the New Bern stations were breaking up, So I went to the shack and bought their pre-amp that has two outputs, hooked it up this evening, and now am able to watch WLFL and WRDC real easy from Raleigh on all my sets! This control lets you adjust the gain control too. I guess I should have replaced both parts of the channel master amp to start with... It was 12 yrs old, so no complaints really.
jspENC is online now  
post #2110 of 2217 Old 03-29-2012, 05:21 PM
Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wow, maybe you'll have some luck with WRAL.
Retspin is offline  
post #2111 of 2217 Old 03-29-2012, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm getting WRAL right now. I have to aim the Winegard UHF much further west (towards Fayetteville) than I do for the 22 and 28 for some reason?
jspENC is online now  
post #2112 of 2217 Old 03-29-2012, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post

I'm getting WRAL right now. I have to aim the Winegard UHF much further west (towards Fayetteville) than I do for the 22 and 28 for some reason?

My guess would be nulling out 47 (WYDO). See if you can get WRAZ (49 RF, 50 PSIP).
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #2113 of 2217 Old 03-30-2012, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post

My guess would be nulling out 47 (WYDO). See if you can get WRAZ (49 RF, 50 PSIP).

Just a couple of blips, but before I had problems with the amp, I would often receive it in the mornings. I agree about WYDO. I guess to get any kind of reception like 22 and 28 give me, I would need a trap to block 47 out. Seems like too much trouble...


________________

On another note, "Jacksonville woman to be on Jeopardy".

http://www.jdnews.com/articles/jacks...rdy-woman.html

DAILY NEWS STAFF

A Jacksonville woman is set to compete tonight on Jeopardy.

Ruth Robbins, 33, a military wife and stay-at-home mother of four children, graduated from the University of Maryland with a bachelor’s degree in history.

She said she has been trying to get unto the game show for eight years.

“It was the most fun I ever had,” she said, adding that with her husband deployed last year when the episode was taped, her friends really pitched in to help her achieve her dream.

She said it was amazing to see how television works from the inside.

“They film a whole week of shows in one day, and everything goes so fast,” she said. “The crew are so good at what they do and with working with people, the contestants, who don’t know anything about how TV works.”

Robbins, originally from Texas, is also the media coordinator for Goodwill Globetrotting, a nonprofit organization that helps travelers make contributions to charities in countries they visit. During her free time, she enjoys cross stitching.

Jeopardy airs on WITN-TV and WECT-TV at 7:30 p.m.
jspENC is online now  
post #2114 of 2217 Old 04-30-2012, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
If anyone's out there, are you just getting left and right channel audio on WECT even though the Dolby lights are on because that's what I'm hearing?
jspENC is online now  
post #2115 of 2217 Old 04-30-2012, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Rich in ILM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post

If anyone's out there, are you just getting left and right channel audio on WECT even though the Dolby lights are on because that's what I'm hearing?

I just switched over to Smash on NBC and I seem to be getting center and sides on TW cable. The Dolby Digital indicator is on.
Rich in ILM is offline  
post #2116 of 2217 Old 05-01-2012, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich in ILM View Post

I just switched over to Smash on NBC and I seem to be getting center and sides on TW cable. The Dolby Digital indicator is on.

Thanks Rich. Once Smash came on, all the channels started working, so it must be The Voice. The audio was terribly flat during that show also.
jspENC is online now  
post #2117 of 2217 Old 05-21-2012, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
What happened to the WWAY transmitter? Did it overheat?
jspENC is online now  
post #2118 of 2217 Old 06-30-2012, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
WECT and WSFX activate SAP, but also disable Dolby 3 surround sound during non Dolby digital programming...mad.gif
jspENC is online now  
post #2119 of 2217 Old 07-20-2012, 06:45 PM
Member
 
ILMRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JSP,

We had to disable the local surround on WSFX and WECT due to our processor randomly going in and out of surround mode. Glad you noticed the new SAP channels. It will contain VDS audio when available.

Thanks for watching,

Ray

The comments expressed are mine, and mine only. I in no way speak for my employer.
ILMRay is offline  
post #2120 of 2217 Old 07-20-2012, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hey Ray. Yep I still watch. I did notice what you are saying with the surround jumping in and out. At first I thought it was on my end. I notice now that the audio level is a bit low compared to all other channels I get on WECT.

You must have changed channels?
jspENC is online now  
post #2121 of 2217 Old 07-21-2012, 07:30 PM
Member
 
ILMRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I have moved across the street. I am still good friends with the folks at the old place.. We should have a fix for these issues soon.

The comments expressed are mine, and mine only. I in no way speak for my employer.
ILMRay is offline  
post #2122 of 2217 Old 07-29-2012, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks to WWAY for adding on that HD radar map in the corner during our severe thunderstorms yesterday! None of the other channels care to do this, but it is more helpful than the stupid crawl running the same thing over and over. smile.gif I was able to get my cooking done just in time.
jspENC is online now  
post #2123 of 2217 Old 08-02-2012, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I am having a lot of drop outs and bad signals coming from all three channels on the Winnabow site.
jspENC is online now  
post #2124 of 2217 Old 08-03-2012, 07:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Sounds like atmospherics.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is offline  
post #2125 of 2217 Old 08-03-2012, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post

Sounds like atmospherics.

Good info here on that :

http://www.dxinfocentre.com/tropo.html

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #2126 of 2217 Old 08-03-2012, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm not having an issue with the PBS station WUNJ on the short tower at Delco? When I have a problem with one station, I seem to be having a problem with all three though on the Winnabow tower. They all share the same broadcast antenna...
jspENC is online now  
post #2127 of 2217 Old 08-03-2012, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WUNJ might be too low to get sucked into the duct while the Winnabow stations are at the right height.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #2128 of 2217 Old 08-09-2012, 09:40 PM
Member
 
ntropolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys... I'm new to the area and am moving into a third-floor apartment in Wilmington (St. Andrews Drive... near Monkey Junction). I decided to go against getting cable, have set up my TV with an indoor antenna (RCA ANT121), and can pick up all the stations except WILM, which I know is low-power. I've searched through this thread trying to find answers, and want to know: Is it possible at all to pick up WILM with an indoor antenna? It appears most suggest an outdoor antenna to pick up WILM, but since I'm in an apartment I don't think I can mount one. I'd really like to pick up CBS. Thanks!
ntropolis is offline  
post #2129 of 2217 Old 08-12-2012, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Been gone a few days and came back and turn on WECT to find it breaking up very badly on one TV, and nothing on the other. Is the station having problems? The other channels are normal, and signal level is normal.
jspENC is online now  
post #2130 of 2217 Old 08-13-2012, 05:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post

Been gone a few days and came back and turn on WECT to find it breaking up very badly on one TV, and nothing on the other. Is the station having problems? The other channels are normal, and signal level is normal.

Been that way for me for 1-2weeks I had to switch to channel 3 for my morning news.  Channel 6-1 used to be pretty solid and recently just went fickle, it tries to lock on but just flakes out.

 

I'm using a cheap powered antennae from monoprice in attic 25 miles from Wilmington.


Don't waste time reading signatures.....
NicksHitachi is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off