Wilmington, NC - HDTV - Page 74 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2235 Old 11-21-2013, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Rich in ILM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed WILM LP CBS Wilmington is broadcasting in 5.1 audio. I think this is a recent development? Not sure about off air as I am on Time Warner.
Rich in ILM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2235 Old 12-01-2013, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
MarcS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And now........... WILM has 10.2

I have to admit, I'm probably their prime demographic, and I've actually enjoyed it so far--a bit to my surprise, and being SD, it shouldn't suck too much bandwidth from 10.1.

Bonanza, StarTrek, Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, Remington Steele, Kojak...

biggrin.gif
MarcS is offline  
post #2193 of 2235 Old 12-02-2013, 01:02 AM
Newbie
 
elyshemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have picked up 16 once or twice myself, but I'm not aimed at it--this was during really high ducting. I've never seen 56 DT though... but I have seen 13 analog during the summer months.
Keep trying, the weather is starting to improve. I'm picking up WECT tonight, where as last night I did not.

png
elyshemer is offline  
post #2194 of 2235 Old 12-24-2013, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
riverwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich in ILM View Post

I just noticed WILM LP CBS Wilmington is broadcasting in 5.1 audio. I think this is a recent development? Not sure about off air as I am on Time Warner.

I noticed the change first week in October via DirecTV and TWC feeds (I was transitioning from TWC to D so had both for about 10 days). Checked WILM's website, but they didn't make any formal announcement that I could find. It was about time...they supposedly had the 5.1 equipment on site something like 6-7 years ago, just after the digital transition started, IIRC...it's in this thread, but I'm too lazy to search for it right now.

-Brent
riverwolf is offline  
post #2195 of 2235 Old 05-03-2014, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Is FOX and THIS off the air? I cannot tune it.
jspENC is offline  
post #2196 of 2235 Old 05-03-2014, 04:40 PM
Member
 
brice52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reception of WSFX 26 is high quality signal at 6:38 pm today 5/3/14
brice52 is offline  
post #2197 of 2235 Old 05-03-2014, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
WSFX came back. It was going off and on for a while earlier after I posted.
jspENC is offline  
post #2198 of 2235 Old 05-21-2014, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have been hearing about the possibility of Charter taking over Time Warner territories since Comcast bought Time Warner? I do not know if that means the channels will remain the same, or if we will switch over to the Charter network... Anyone have any info? I believe Charter on Lejeune carries all the Wilmington HD channels, even WILM. It would be great if we could get those here in town too. People in the county and Holly Ridge have Charter here in Onslow Co.

I know we get our Time Warner digital stuff from the WIlmington plant, so I don't know if Wilmington would go to Charter...
jspENC is offline  
post #2199 of 2235 Old 05-22-2014, 07:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm in Wilmington for a couple days staying at a hotel. My room TV has the CW named as "WNCT" but the channel is actually WCBD 2.2 Charleston.

Is it just my hotel or does Time Warner carry WCBD for the CW here? I found that odd since WWAY has a CW sub channel now.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #2200 of 2235 Old 05-22-2014, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post

I'm in Wilmington for a couple days staying at a hotel. My room TV has the CW named as "WNCT" but the channel is actually WCBD 2.2 Charleston.

Is it just my hotel or does Time Warner carry WCBD for the CW here? I found that odd since WWAY has a CW sub channel now.

It must be an antenna on the roof picking that up... ? The hotel may be mixing in the air stations with the cable channels.
jspENC is offline  
post #2201 of 2235 Old 05-23-2014, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Maybe, but the hotel wasn't THAT tall. The new Courtyard Marriott downtown. I don't see how they would pick that station up 24/7/365 from Wilmington. The signal was solid.

I wonder if whoever is providing the TV service in the hotel is importing it from their own headend over fiber and they just haven't set up an ingest for 3.2 yet. There's systems that service apartment complexes that do similar.

It's certainly a weird situation. Time Warner was feeding it in some way as well. News 14 was on there.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #2202 of 2235 Old 05-24-2014, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 22
"Maybe, but the hotel wasn't THAT tall. The new Courtyard Marriott downtown. I don't see how they would pick that station up 24/7/365 from Wilmington. The signal was solid."

For height above average terrain it does well to receive that station (6-stories plus roof) That station is available in Myrtle Beach btw so it is very easy to receive and a company here in my neck of the woods did the Marriot's channel mapping. There are 3-antennas= north,south, and west all Wade commercial models on the roof off a 3" pipe.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #2203 of 2235 Old 05-28-2014, 06:40 PM
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Charter tried to do a takeover of TWC, but now, if the Comcast-TWC deal (and a related Charter-Comcast deal) goes through, all TWC systems in the Carolinas, and all Charter systems east of the GSP-Asheville DMA will become Comcast systems.
blackcap93 is offline  
post #2204 of 2235 Old 05-28-2014, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post

"Maybe, but the hotel wasn't THAT tall. The new Courtyard Marriott downtown. I don't see how they would pick that station up 24/7/365 from Wilmington. The signal was solid."

For height above average terrain it does well to receive that station (6-stories plus roof) That station is available in Myrtle Beach btw so it is very easy to receive and a company here in my neck of the woods did the Marriot's channel mapping. There are 3-antennas= north,south, and west all Wade commercial models on the roof off a 3" pipe.
it's weird that they chose WCBD and not WWAY or WNCT. Also weird that the channel is labeled WNCT. Thanks for the info.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #2205 of 2235 Old 05-29-2014, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post

"Maybe, but the hotel wasn't THAT tall. The new Courtyard Marriott downtown. I don't see how they would pick that station up 24/7/365 from Wilmington. The signal was solid."

For height above average terrain it does well to receive that station (6-stories plus roof) That station is available in Myrtle Beach btw so it is very easy to receive and a company here in my neck of the woods did the Marriot's channel mapping. There are 3-antennas= north,south, and west all Wade commercial models on the roof off a 3" pipe.
it's weird that they chose WCBD and not WWAY or WNCT. Also weird that the channel is labeled WNCT. Thanks for the info.

 

Did  you actually see any Charleston stuff on that channel, such as ads for Charleston businesses or a Charleston newscast? Or a stationID saying WCBD? According to Wikipedia, all three stations (WWAY, WCBD, and WNCT) are CW Plus affiliates. I'm not quite sure how that differs from being a plain old CW affiliate. WCBD and WNCT are both owned by Media General. I wonder if you were supposed to get the WNCT CW-subchannel feed, but somebody messed up and sent the WCBD CW-subchannel to the hotel's system.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_CW_Plus

veedon is offline  
post #2206 of 2235 Old 05-29-2014, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yeah, they aired WCBD news. 7am and 10pm. It was definitely 2.2
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #2207 of 2235 Old 05-30-2014, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm sure they had these CW's hooked up BEFORE WWAY started carrying that network. Maybe they started with WNCT, but had problems with reception so changed over to WCBD. I get WCBD here once in a while myself, so the signal is there if you get high enough to view the tower. Over the trees with UHF means a lot.

Antenna TV is now on the air on the Tutt station too by the way.
jspENC is offline  
post #2208 of 2235 Old 05-30-2014, 07:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
What's Tutt running on each channel?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #2209 of 2235 Old 05-30-2014, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Homeland, Antenna TV on dot 2, and Tuff TV on dot 3 for Jax and ILM. On the Trenton Feed they do Antenna on dot 2 and Retro on Dot 3. WWAY does Retro TV on their sub, so no reason for Tutt to do it.
jspENC is offline  
post #2210 of 2235 Old 06-20-2014, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Antenna TV has taken over the main channel now in widescreen on Tutt TV's networks. Heartland is on the dot 2
jspENC is offline  
post #2211 of 2235 Old 06-20-2014, 09:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
Antenna TV has taken over the main channel now in widescreen on Tutt TV's networks. Heartland is on the dot 2
Widescreen? Antenna TV is sent 4:3.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #2212 of 2235 Old 06-20-2014, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post
Widescreen? Antenna TV is sent 4:3.
It's full screen and says 720p, but why I don't know... just passing along what I see.
jspENC is offline  
post #2213 of 2235 Old 07-09-2014, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
WWAY TV, where all the female anchors/reporters/meteorologists look like models!
jspENC is offline  
post #2214 of 2235 Old 07-09-2014, 02:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
It's full screen and says 720p, but why I don't know... just passing along what I see.
Antenna TV is sent as 480 4:3 center cut. I know because we are an affiliate. It comes on the MUX of WGN America. Sounds like the station is upconverting it to 720p and 720p is a 16:9 format.

By the way, we broadcast it 480 16:9 anamorphic where Antenna TV is 4:3 with curtains to fillout the widescreen and anything locally broadcast is native 16:9 widescreen. We started do that when the network debuted in 2011.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #2215 of 2235 Old 07-09-2014, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I can see Tutt's Trenton transmitter on a TV at work (antenna on top of 3 story building)

The 21.1 Antenna TV is being broadcast at 720. The 4:3 feed is stretched, not inside of pillars like WGHP does. Looks like crap to be honest.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #2216 of 2235 Old 07-09-2014, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I don't know why they took the Heartland off the main channel. Like Scott said, Antenna TV is stretched, fills the whole screen, and just doesn't look like it should. I hated to say that, but it's true... Also Heartland looks like crap all smushed in.

Scott, so people in Greenville generally can't pick up WTMH?
jspENC is offline  
post #2217 of 2235 Old 07-09-2014, 07:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
We have an omni Winegard disc mounted on a pole, which is mounted at the top of the elevator shaft of a 3 story building in downtown Greenville. 12, 14, and 19 are flawless. 21 comes in and locks but it's a very weak signal. I doubt most in Greenville can see it.
I never really understood why they put it in Trenton instead of Grifton.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #2218 of 2235 Old 07-12-2014, 10:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NW VT
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
I can see Tutt's Trenton transmitter on a TV at work (antenna on top of 3 story building)

The 21.1 Antenna TV is being broadcast at 720. The 4:3 feed is stretched, not inside of pillars like WGHP does. Looks like crap to be honest.
All stretched programming looks like crap. As does smushed. There is no excuse for either. WGHP's Antenna TV is one of the few subchannels that I consider to be "correct."
ejb1980 is offline  
post #2219 of 2235 Old 08-17-2014, 01:03 PM
Newbie
 
jr3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Greetings!

Looks like WILM-LD is having some problems in the morning lately? or maybe I am just having signal problems with them from where I am.. Looks like their signal goes away based on signal data from my HDHR3-US tuners. Here is a link to my tvfool report:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e1c627999f7b38

I am using an Antennacraft U4000 antenna at about 20 ft.
jr3us is offline  
post #2220 of 2235 Old 08-17-2014, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
There is another station out of the Charleston market that is on channel 40, and that is what is overpowering WILM.
jspENC is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off