Wilmington, NC - HDTV - Page 80 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2371 of 2396 Old 11-25-2016, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Could be the Tutt media stations will add Cozi. They are always flipping networks anyway. They no longer have antenna tv, and carry Retro TV now on the Jacksonville tower.
jspENC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2372 of 2396 Old 11-28-2016, 10:52 AM
Member
 
drt2k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can someone explain how WTMV can qualify for must carry coverage in Pender and Columbus county but New Hanover or Brunswick?
drt2k3 is offline  
post #2373 of 2396 Old 12-19-2016, 07:32 AM
Member
 
jr3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
zap2it tv listings is now showing guide data for the new channel mapping on channel 3 and 10. they also show the 'HD' label on both 3.1(ABC) and 3.2(CBS), but NOT for 3.3( CW).

Perhaps an indication that CW will only be broadcast in standard definition.

CBS isn't showing any affiliation as far as what they are broadcasting, and they are playing reruns from mostly CBS shows from 2013 on.
jr3us is offline  
 
post #2374 of 2396 Old 12-26-2016, 04:37 AM
Member
 
drt2k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Looks like they will be using the syndicated American sports network content for their weekend sports programming
drt2k3 is offline  
post #2375 of 2396 Old 01-01-2017, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Why is CBS being broadcast in 720p? Also the PSIP still reads "CW-HD". The CW on Cozi is in 480i. I won't watch CBS in 720 when I can watch WNCT in 1080i. They do have problems of their own, but most shows work.
jspENC is offline  
post #2376 of 2396 Old 01-01-2017, 07:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
MarcS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You want HD, we'll give you HD, but you ain't gonna like it.....

I'm showing 720p on 3-1 and 3-2, 480i on 3-3, but it's Seinfeld, and I don't think that was originally HD.

Was ABC on WWAY 720p before? Or 1080i?

Maybe it's just the particular shows, but PQ is not great tonight. Dark and grainy.

Maybe they're sharing a bit more bandwidth for CBS than they did for The CW when it was on 3-2, robbing a bit from ABC? And surely they'll broadcast primetime CW in HD? Then there will be 3 HD channels sharing the original bandwidth?

Maybe there will be some trickery to maintain picture quality...

Every day I find more reasons to stop watching TV... the upside is maybe I won't ever upgrade to a 4k set after my current one dies... I'll just get a 42" 720p for $100... LOL
MarcS is offline  
post #2377 of 2396 Old 01-01-2017, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
MarcS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, give them some more time, but I think the answer is, yes, the PQ is suffering.
MarcS is offline  
post #2378 of 2396 Old 01-02-2017, 04:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,577
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
ABC is provided to the affiliates in 720p, and my records indicate that WWAY has always provided it in 720p. Similarly, the CW+ feed that stations in smaller markets like Wilmington use is also provided in 720p, which is the format WWAY provided it in.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2379 of 2396 Old 01-02-2017, 05:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcS View Post
Well, give them some more time, but I think the answer is, yes, the PQ is suffering.
CBS looks dark and grainy to me as well, like they could be up converting, or down converting? (not sure of exact term) WNCT looks way better. WWAY should be able to do 1080i. WNCT does it, and has CW at 720, and Get TV at 480i. We notice some picture issues, but it's not too bad.
jspENC is offline  
post #2380 of 2396 Old 01-02-2017, 06:18 AM
Member
 
jr3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Using my MythTV DVR, I am seeing 3.8 GB per hour for CBS, and 2.8 GB per hour for ABC. Last year, ABC was 3.9 GB and CW was 3.1 GB. I am using HDHR tuners, and there is no transcoding happening for those sizes above.

I did a test yesterday, with ABC, CBS, and CW being recorded, and I saw a peak of 19.2 Mbps data rate with a low of about 18.0 Mbps during the test.

They are all MPG2 streams.
jr3us is offline  
post #2381 of 2396 Old 01-02-2017, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Still looks washed out.

I wonder now how long it will be before FOX 26 ends up on 6.2? This trend is likely all over the country if the bureaucrats can ram it through.
jspENC is offline  
post #2382 of 2396 Old 01-02-2017, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
MarcS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, we, the ones that still care about optimal picture quality, who use an antenna for network reception, and carefully select a large screen display, and make some calibration efforts, are a dying group. So many people now are just as happy it seems watching their entertainment on their phone or tablet--the same group who are happy listening to music with only ear buds (small picture, small sound). Although with the low entry price for even UHD TV, a lot of peope are buying larger screens, but probably content with the default out of box cartoon mode that looks nothing like reality (granted, it seems more TV's have better default settings than ever before).

It is what it is... all to say that I wouldn't foresee much if any resistance to lower PQ as more HD is crammed into limited bandwidth. Or maybe there will continue to be a larger shift to streaming--IF it ends up having better PQ than OTA or Sat/cable. Even then, we'll likely still be a minority that pays close attention to PQ...
MarcS is offline  
post #2383 of 2396 Old 01-03-2017, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
The picture is looking clearer now to me on WWAY CBS, anyone else? I also noticed one of my TV's picked up the new channel labels, so the ones that didn't I did a new scan, and found them. The guide data is right now also. Hopefully the next step will be 1080. I also notice the CW is not blotchy like it originally was. That is good, since a lot of people want to watch that. WECT is still the clearest looking picture around next to PBS that I can view.
jspENC is offline  
post #2384 of 2396 Old 01-04-2017, 02:04 AM
Member
 
mans147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
The picture is looking clearer now to me on WWAY CBS, anyone else? I also noticed one of my TV's picked up the new channel labels, so the ones that didn't I did a new scan, and found them. The guide data is right now also. Hopefully the next step will be 1080. I also notice the CW is not blotchy like it originally was. That is good, since a lot of people want to watch that. WECT is still the clearest looking picture around next to PBS that I can view.
I agree with all of your above observations, but WWAY-ABC pq still looks worse than ever to me. Sadly, this decline in quality is really magnified by my newest large screen Samsung TV.
mans147 is offline  
post #2385 of 2396 Old 02-23-2017, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 345
So what's the deal with the new channel relocation I've been hearing about moving everything below 36 that will be happening in the foreseeable future? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

LG OLED55E6P UHD TV
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD BD Player
Denon AVR-S710W Atmos AV Receiver
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box
Roku Premium Plus 4k/HDR Streaming Media Box
Daryl L is offline  
post #2386 of 2396 Old 02-23-2017, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl L View Post
So what's the deal with the new channel relocation I've been hearing about moving everything below 36 that will be happening in the foreseeable future? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Let's hope not. I never liked the idea from the beginning.
Daryl L likes this.
jspENC is offline  
post #2387 of 2396 Old 02-23-2017, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
Let's hope not. I never liked the idea from the beginning.
Well I'm assuming technically it will be the actual channel numbers but keep the virtual numbers. I don't know much about it. I just saw a little bit about some spectrum auction that had been going on. And some channels would have to move to 36 and below. Haven't ready any details.

I don't know exactly where it all began in this thread I really can't follow what they're talking about. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

AVS Official Topic - The FCC & Broadcast Spectrum

And hear some more information.

http://www.tvtechnology.com/news/000...t-phase/280219

LG OLED55E6P UHD TV
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD BD Player
Denon AVR-S710W Atmos AV Receiver
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box
Roku Premium Plus 4k/HDR Streaming Media Box

Last edited by Daryl L; 02-23-2017 at 02:35 PM.
Daryl L is offline  
post #2388 of 2396 Old 02-23-2017, 04:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
What it basically does is turn over the channels above 36 to wireless giants. The broadcast channels would auction off the spectrum, and some would move to the low end of the dial, like VHF low channels 2-6, which are not very suitable for digital due to the noise factor. I don't know if power would be allowed to be increased, or if stations would even go to those channels voluntarily. Some channels may decide to join their competitors physical channel as a secondary feed... This is how I have interpreted the whole transition, I may be off on some things... Also there is talk about some new kind of signal being broadcast and another complete transition to that new technology... New TV's and the whole bit. (higher resolution)
Daryl L likes this.
jspENC is offline  
post #2389 of 2396 Old 02-24-2017, 07:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
What it basically does is turn over the channels above 36 to wireless giants. The broadcast channels would auction off the spectrum, and some would move to the low end of the dial, like VHF low channels 2-6, which are not very suitable for digital due to the noise factor. I don't know if power would be allowed to be increased, or if stations would even go to those channels voluntarily. Some channels may decide to join their competitors physical channel as a secondary feed... This is how I have interpreted the whole transition, I may be off on some things... Also there is talk about some new kind of signal being broadcast and another complete transition to that new technology... New TV's and the whole bit. (higher resolution)
Thanks for some clarification. I also understand there's a new technology coming in TVs this year called HLG which allows for UHD and HDR the overcurrent broadcasting capabilities. And I understand there's also ATSC 3.0. Have not read up on either of those much yet either.

LG OLED55E6P UHD TV
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD BD Player
Denon AVR-S710W Atmos AV Receiver
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box
Roku Premium Plus 4k/HDR Streaming Media Box
Daryl L is offline  
post #2390 of 2396 Old 02-24-2017, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 345
FCC Greenlights ATSC 3.0

http://www.tvtechnology.com/atsc3/00...atsc-30/280420

LG OLED55E6P UHD TV
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD BD Player
Denon AVR-S710W Atmos AV Receiver
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box
Roku Premium Plus 4k/HDR Streaming Media Box
Daryl L is offline  
post #2391 of 2396 Old 02-24-2017, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
We can't even get good 1080i broadcasts on cable now, due to them watering it down. Even OTA has become rough. I think we should improve and fix what we have before we try something else... I know I don't want to watch TV on a small handheld screen.
Daryl L likes this.
jspENC is offline  
post #2392 of 2396 Old 04-24-2017, 02:43 PM
Member
 
drt2k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Some updates

ABC and CBS are 720p while CW is 480p on WWAY.

WILM and WILT have dropped to 720p and have added the American Sports Network on .3 subchannel

WTMV has had Cozi on 29.1 and bumped everything else down expanding to 4 subchannels total.
drt2k3 is offline  
post #2393 of 2396 Old 05-21-2017, 04:28 AM
Member
 
drt2k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WTMV has appears to have dropped antenna TV

29.1 Cozi (1080i)
29.2 Movies
29.3 Heroes and Icons
Daryl L likes this.
drt2k3 is offline  
post #2394 of 2396 Old 09-18-2017, 07:22 PM
Member
 
pgjensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone here able to reliably get FOX (26.1 WSFX) in Middle Sound Loop (less than 25 miles from WSFX antenna)? I'm always having issues with a fully reliable signal, and am ready to try some things to get it fixed. Anyone have recommendations?

My setup:
  • Antennas Direct Clearstream 2V Long Range HDTV Antenna w/ Mount 4K Ready C2V-J3
  • Mounted with 4 foot satellite-like pole on upper crest of garage (picture attached)
  • Note: There are trees in the distance that most likely affect the signal, but other higher powered stations come in fine so hoping it's not obstructions but something else
  • 75ft cable run around the outside of garage to outside box
  • Single coupler to an indoor 15ft cable run
  • HDHR4-US HDHomeRun unit hooked directly to the cable with no splitter
  • HDHR hooked into gigabit network

A couple of thoughts on what I want to try:
  1. Somehow test the setup with a very short cable run (25' instead of 75') to see if I'm losing signal because of the cabling. Add a preamplifier if the short cable run works better, but then I need to figure out how to power it
  2. Raise the mast another 5 feet
  3. Try a different antenna like the Antennas Direct DB2e that supposedly is good for heavy foliage areas
  4. Pay someone with good equipment to come check out the best setup

Note: Signal strengths from HDHR config tool attached along with image of where antenna is installed about 25' high.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WECT high signal strength.png
Views:	19
Size:	16.1 KB
ID:	2284828   Click image for larger version

Name:	WSFX-DT low signal strength.png
Views:	19
Size:	12.9 KB
ID:	2284830   Click image for larger version

Name:	WWAY high signal strength.png
Views:	14
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	2284832   Click image for larger version

Name:	Antenna mounted on garage.png
Views:	26
Size:	688.4 KB
ID:	2284834  
pgjensen is offline  
post #2395 of 2396 Old 09-19-2017, 05:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
On your picture of the antenna, it looks like you have the VHF elements installed. Can you disconnect them? They can make the UHF signals weaker. I live over 60 miles from 26, and I have a 3 way splitter and can get solid reception on 1 TV, but the other two TV's do drop out sometimes, but 3 and 6 do that as well. If I use a pre-amp, I almost never lose the signals, but I need a new one.
jspENC is offline  
post #2396 of 2396 Old 09-19-2017, 07:08 AM
Member
 
pgjensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
On your picture of the antenna, it looks like you have the VHF elements installed. Can you disconnect them? They can make the UHF signals weaker. I live over 60 miles from 26, and I have a 3 way splitter and can get solid reception on 1 TV, but the other two TV's do drop out sometimes, but 3 and 6 do that as well. If I use a pre-amp, I almost never lose the signals, but I need a new one.
Thank you I'll give that a try and report back!
pgjensen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off