Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 102 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3031 of 10839 Old 03-21-2005, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
kblee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Anyone else notice the billing games that Comcast has been playing recently?

My January bill indicated that my Digital Silver Package would increase from $64.99 / month to $69.99 / month. In reviewing my February 2005 billing statement I noticed that I was charged $71.99 from my package. Where did this additional $2 come form? The CSR I spoke with indicated that everyone was "upgraded" to On-Demand packages and that represented the $2 increase.

I NEVER requested an "upgrade" to my Digital Silver Package. What's even more interesting is that all current Comcast advertising is promoting On Demand as a "free service" they are providing to their customers. What am I missing here??

XBL = jackalopes

PSN = ChitownJackalope

kblee is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3032 of 10839 Old 03-21-2005, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
vj9999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have extra $2 charge. Here is my statement for this mont (3/1 - 3/31)

03/01 - 03/31 Digital Silver Package 69.99
Includes: Basic and Expanded Basic, Digital Basic, Digital Basic 2, Digital Music, Encore Encore Plex, HBO and HBO Plex.
03/01 - 03/31 Additional Outlet .00
03/01 - 03/31 Cable Guard 1.49
03/01 - 03/31 Dual Tuner DVR Service 9.99
03/01 - 03/31 Premier Tier 5.00
vj9999 is offline  
post #3033 of 10839 Old 03-21-2005, 05:24 PM
Member
 
Jacktheg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: McHenry County, IL
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Monthly Charge(s)
03/01 - 03/31 Stnd Cable + Dgtl Plus 61.98
03/01 - 03/31 Additional Outlet .00
03/01 - 03/31 DVR Service 9.95
Subtotal 71.93

I have two boxes...a 6208 and an older General Instruments/Motorola DCT-2000

Jack G
Jacktheg is offline  
post #3034 of 10839 Old 03-22-2005, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
kblee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
After playing CSR roulette, I finally got to the bottom of my issue:

Early this year I was having the same Cinemax-HD issues that GOV had posted about here earlier. After several calls related to those issues, a "helpful" CSR offered to swap the STARZ! channels for the Cinemax channels. Unfortunately, she didn't tell me that would kill my grandfathered Digital Silver package. Thanks to Carla in the Tinley Park call center, I am finally being put back to where I was.

Scary thing is that one CSR actually told me the $2 increase in my bill was for the use of On-Demand.

Although Comcast can be a pain to deal with, I have found that if you keep calling back you'll eventually get someone who is willing to straighten things out.

XBL = jackalopes

PSN = ChitownJackalope

kblee is online now  
post #3035 of 10839 Old 03-22-2005, 08:11 PM
Gov
AVS Special Member
 
Gov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NW Burbs of Chgo, IL
Posts: 3,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally posted by kblee
After playing CSR roulette, I finally got to the bottom of my issue:

Early this year I was having the same Cinemax-HD issues that GOV had posted about here earlier. After several calls related to those issues, a "helpful" CSR offered to swap the STARZ! channels for the Cinemax channels. Unfortunately, she didn't tell me that would kill my grandfathered Digital Silver package. Thanks to Carla in the Tinley Park call center, I am finally being put back to where I was.

Scary thing is that one CSR actually told me the $2 increase in my bill was for the use of On-Demand.

Although Comcast can be a pain to deal with, I have found that if you keep calling back you'll eventually get someone who is willing to straighten things out.


Unfortunately, Cinemax-HD is still problematic, but atleast I am only paying $5 a month for it (well supposed to be that is!)

Panny TC-P65VT60 (calibrated by Chad B), Denon AVR-4311, Comcast X1 DVR, Apple TV 3, Sony BDP-S5100,  Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers (mains), Horizon (CC) and HTM-200's (Surr), Dual PSA XV15 Subwoofers!!
Gov is offline  
post #3036 of 10839 Old 03-23-2005, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
slapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Frankfort,IL
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm looking to rent the HD box from Comcast for $5 p/mth. Do they allow self installs or do they have to come out to do it? I'd like to go pick it up and do it myself as I have a very erratic schedule.
slapshot is offline  
post #3037 of 10839 Old 03-23-2005, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mount Prospect, IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by slapshot
I'm looking to rent the HD box from Comcast for $5 p/mth. Do they allow self installs or do they have to come out to do it? I'd like to go pick it up and do it myself as I have a very erratic schedule.

They don't allow it in my area. They want their $16 install fee and $16 upgrade fee. They wouldn't even allow me to stop by to swap one hd box for another. THEY WANT THE $16 INSTALL FEE!

The kicker is that I don't let these guys touch my equipment (even though I am hospitable) when they enter my house. I essentially pay them $16 to hand me the box.
HD Rookie is offline  
post #3038 of 10839 Old 03-23-2005, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
LaxStar18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone else wake up to a message on their box this mourning? It appears International News will be turning into AZN an Asian channel, and the part I'm real excited about, Channel 200 will be Comcast Sports Net HD. It appears they are going to a full time channel, just in time for baseball season.

LaxStar18 is offline  
post #3039 of 10839 Old 03-23-2005, 12:12 PM
Newbie
 
oeidesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wheaton, IL USA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That install fee is a rip off. I downgraded from their 6208 HD-DVR to just basic cable with HD and they charged me $15.99 "change of service fee" AND then a $15.99 HDTV install fee. I called them and asked them how they could charge a $15.99 HDTV install fee when I already had HDTV and was just downgrading to a non-DVR version. They willingly credited both install charges (and another misc. charge for my dish buy back)
oeidesign is offline  
post #3040 of 10839 Old 03-23-2005, 12:24 PM
Member
 
DenR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone in the Chicago area received the 9.15 update on their 6412? I'm ready getting tired of this analog channel lockup problem.
DenR is offline  
post #3041 of 10839 Old 03-23-2005, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mount Prospect, IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by DenR
Has anyone in the Chicago area received the 9.15 update on their 6412? I'm ready getting tired of this analog channel lockup problem.

Still 9.12 here. My box has worked relatively flawlessly, except that I don't get VOD. My neighbor with a standard digital box does get vod.
HD Rookie is offline  
post #3042 of 10839 Old 03-23-2005, 12:49 PM
Newbie
 
lorloff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting a 6412 installed in Hoffman on Saturday. Supposedly from their "new" shipment. Will let you know when I know what firmware is on it.
lorloff is offline  
post #3043 of 10839 Old 03-23-2005, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
memnoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by lorloff
I'm getting a 6412 installed in Hoffman on Saturday. Supposedly from their "new" shipment. Will let you know when I know what firmware is on it.

it won't matter what firmware will be on that box. once it connects and downloads from the headend, it will get what everyone currently has (9.12).
memnoch is offline  
post #3044 of 10839 Old 03-23-2005, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Da Truth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Schaumburg, IL; NW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, do you need digital cable to get HD? Can I just get the basic $10 /month sevice and then the HD box for $5 extra?

Also, let's say I want digital cable in the living room (no HD), but just HD in a bedroom, would I have to pay as an additional receiver?

83% of White Sox home games in HD...Yes!
Da Truth is offline  
post #3045 of 10839 Old 03-23-2005, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
blenway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Warrenville, IL
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since there's discussion of firmware versions, I'll jump in with a question. I have a 6200 that is still on 7.07. Shouldn't I be on a newer version? Should I be upset? Will a CSR have a clue what I am complaining about?

While we're at it, anybody know when I can expect to see the new user guide? I hate the current one.

Thanks.
blenway is offline  
post #3046 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mount Prospect, IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Da Truth
So, do you need digital cable to get HD? Can I just get the basic $10 /month sevice and then the HD box for $5 extra?

Yes, you can get the cheapest/basic service and lease the hdbox for 5. You may have to talk to a few CSRs before you get what you want, but many people (including me) have this exact setup.
Quote:


Also, let's say I want digital cable in the living room (no HD), but just HD in a bedroom, would I have to pay as an additional receiver?

This would make your first question obsolete. You would now be paying for digital cable service (which will include a non-hd digital box free), plus $5 for hd box lease. I highly recommend paying 10/month and getting the hd dvr.
HD Rookie is offline  
post #3047 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 07:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
kblee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:


Originally posted by LaxStar18
the part I'm real excited about, Channel 200 will be Comcast Sports Net HD. It appears they are going to a full time channel, just in time for baseball season.

Yes - I received that message last night. Very good news. It only makes sense - now they won't have to interrrupt one of the INHD channels to show a game. I was doubtful that this would happen, but Comcast came through.

XBL = jackalopes

PSN = ChitownJackalope

kblee is online now  
post #3048 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
LaxStar18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow only one person as excited as i am huh? Must not be to many baseball fans in here

LaxStar18 is offline  
post #3049 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:


Originally posted by LaxStar18
Wow only one person as excited as i am huh? Must not be to many baseball fans in here

I think it's more likely that most of us haven't seen the message just yet. As of last night it didn't show up on my box - maybe by the end of the week.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #3050 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sparkman87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: was Waukegan,Il, now Cookeville, Tn
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Msg still not on any of my boxes.
Sparkman87 is offline  
post #3051 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
LaxStar18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weird it always seems like I'm one of the last ppl to get anything from Comcast. Oh well maybe they are tying to make it up to me. Hah yeah I know I'm dreaming, oh well.

LaxStar18 is offline  
post #3052 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 11:02 AM
Member
 
jeff96gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NW Indiana (Chicago)
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a message on my STB saying that as of April 1st Comcast Sportsnet HD will be available on Comcast (at least here in Chicago) on Channel 200. Well, it's not the HD announcement I was hoping for....but it is another HD channel.
jeff96gt is offline  
post #3053 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raidbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CSN has really good HD picture quality baseball for the O's, and I guess we'll get some Nats games too, Angelos and MLB are still working on that. We also get some Wizards home games in HD (would have had Caps if...).

So that's great, you should get some good stuff.

Rich N.
raidbuck is offline  
post #3054 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 11:15 AM
Member
 
jeff96gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NW Indiana (Chicago)
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, we've been getting all of the Bulls home games in HD but they've been playing them on INHD2 instead of their own channel. Once baseball starts we'll have Cubs, Sox, and Bulls in HD....Woo Hoo!
jeff96gt is offline  
post #3055 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
timdgibson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I care a lot about baseball (esp. HD & Cubs), although no message here.

Also, been too busy to even read the thread much this week: working at a church, this tends to be one of our busy times.

tim
timdgibson is offline  
post #3056 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And blackhawks when the season if ever starts

AVS Forum Fold@Home Team Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #3057 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
nywst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mercer County, NJ
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CSN provides the best PQ among all sports channels, at least in my area.
nywst is offline  
post #3058 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 04:22 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Threads merged.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #3059 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Da Truth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Schaumburg, IL; NW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if CSN HD getting it's own channel means they'll do Sportsnite or something in HD too. I know they got that new studio, but I'm not sure if it's an HD studio

Quote:


Originally posted by HD Rookie
Yes, you can get the cheapest/basic service and lease the hdbox for 5. You may have to talk to a few CSRs before you get what you want, but many people (including me) have this exact setup.

Thanks so much for the response! This is such great news, now that I know it's possible, those CSRs better watch out

83% of White Sox home games in HD...Yes!
Da Truth is offline  
post #3060 of 10839 Old 03-24-2005, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
kblee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:


Originally posted by surf_fun85
And blackhawks when the season if ever starts

Doubtful - Wirtz still doesn't allow the home games to be televised in Chicago.

XBL = jackalopes

PSN = ChitownJackalope

kblee is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off