Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 10842 Old 10-18-2003, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Mine say SHOHD and HBOHD.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 10842 Old 10-19-2003, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
LaxStar18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hum wierd, oh well i guess they did change then, not a big deal just good to know im not crazy

LaxStar18 is offline  
post #633 of 10842 Old 10-20-2003, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Lee K's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would just like to say that I am extremely disappointed that we haven't recieved any new channels mid month.
Lee K is offline  
post #634 of 10842 Old 10-20-2003, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Lee K
I would just like to say that I am extremely disappointed that we haven't recieved any new channels mid month.

That's what will happen when you rely on a Comcast CSR to provide information regarding new channels.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #635 of 10842 Old 10-21-2003, 02:16 PM
Member
 
Diehardfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hanover Park, Illinois
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got Comcast's HD installed yesterday, they kind of pushed me along as my latest bill indicated that their digital garbage was going up in price. A quick phone call and 4 days later it was up and running with the bonus of them waiving the install fee. My installer was quite glad that I had everything good to go for him as his previous customer was insisting on HD with no HDTV. I gotta tell you, its a remote button push for me to bounce back n forth from Comcast's HDTV and OTA and the difference is so small that only the most discerning of viewers would notice it. In some cases, Comcasts clarity is even better than OTA...but OTA is just marginally, I mean VERY marginally better. Overall, Im very pleased with Comcast's product plus the bonus of by dropping Digital and going to Basic cable with the HD lowered my bill by $8 a month...ya cant go wrong with that. The only thing Im not getting are the 2 INHD channels...is that part of the package or are they pay channels like HBO or Showtime? I thought I read in another thread that they were NOT pay channels, anyone know for sure?
Diehardfan is offline  
post #636 of 10842 Old 10-21-2003, 04:52 PM
Member
 
trk306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After a long go around I can tell you that the INHD channels are not premium channels, however you do have to subscribe to a certain level of the digital packages to get them....kinda screwy?? i did the same thing as you and dropped to just basic cable + HD and now can't get 2 of the HD channels!
trk306 is offline  
post #637 of 10842 Old 10-21-2003, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Evanston IL
Posts: 2,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
comcast should let everyone with the HD channels have the INHD channels without digital[ripoff]cable

If a movie or concert video or a TV show isn't on blu ray it darn well should be.

kevin j is offline  
post #638 of 10842 Old 10-21-2003, 06:40 PM
Member
 
trk306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah i agree, its like their teasing us....you can have the bare minimum HD content but if you want all the good stuff, you will have to pay us more! I am anxious to see as they add more HD channels if they will all be part of the upgraded services.....on a seperate note i understand that Comcast is testing an HDTV PVR box in the california market right now anybody know if such a thing is planned here anytime soon?
trk306 is offline  
post #639 of 10842 Old 10-21-2003, 08:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikek747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Highland Park, IL
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by kevin j
comcast should let everyone with the HD channels have the INHD channels without digital[ripoff]cable

And exactly why is that they should provide these extra channels at no additional charge? Though I am no great lover of Comcast, I do appreciate their effort in bringing us HD programming. Let's remeber that this is a business for Comcast, and that they are in it to make money. If they have programming which has value to someone, then it is logical that they will be charging for it, just as they do with premium movie channels, and other step up tiers of programming. We all make choices. I choose a tier that includes those stations. You have chosen not to. But why complain about it.

They are providing us with most of the local channels of HD broadcast at no charge except for the HD STB, (only $5.00 per month, pretty reasonable). You would have significantly higher costs for an OTA STB or HD satellite service. I am sure that WGN will be falling in at some time in the future. I would guess that those negotiations are a part of the overall package that will involve the move of the Cubs, Sox, Bulls, and Blackhawks from Foxsportsnet to a Comcast operated Sports Channel in conjunction with the Tribune, Reinsdorf and Wirtz.

In regards to the inHD channels, I feel their programming is visually stunning, but am disappointed at the lack of diverse programming they are providing at this time. This, by the way, applies to WTTW, also. How many times can we watch Peter Cetera on Soundstage? I'm hoping they all add some new shows to watch.

Mike K.
mikek747 is offline  
post #640 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 04:34 AM
Member
 
bkozlowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by trk306
yeah i agree, its like their teasing us....you can have the bare minimum HD content but if you want all the good stuff, you will have to pay us more! I am anxious to see as they add more HD channels if they will all be part of the upgraded services.....on a seperate note i understand that Comcast is testing an HDTV PVR box in the california market right now anybody know if such a thing is planned here anytime soon?

I have been told that the Motorola DCT-6208 will be available in Chicago 1st Q of 2004. It has a 80 gig hard drive, can record HD, and the box and the service will be about $10 per month.
bkozlowski is offline  
post #641 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 05:57 AM
Senior Member
 
gtcharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else lost the INHD channels. I don't watch them very often but checked what was on yesterday morning and noticed I was getting the "channel will be available shortly" message. I didn't thnk much of it as it is comcast after all but when I checked this morning the channels were still out. Is this problem specific to me or is it a system problem?
gtcharlie is offline  
post #642 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 06:04 AM
Member
 
trk306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too have the same message on the INHD channels....and I do not even receive them normally. As for comcast charging for the INHD channels I completley understand that they are profit driven and not there just to provide me with entertainment. However, why not set up an HDTV package where I can pay more and get all the HD channels. I have no need for all the digital chopice channels. Just my thoughts!
trk306 is offline  
post #643 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mount Prospect, IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by gtcharlie
Has anyone else lost the INHD channels

I briefly watched both inhd channels last night without problem.

Has anyone else noticed that comcast rarely broadcasts in dolby digital? The "info" button often shows that a broadcast is Dolby Digital, but the signal is always prologic. For days I thought I had a problem with my setup until NYPD Blue came on last night and the signal was DD.
HD Rookie is offline  
post #644 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 06:41 AM
dwk
Senior Member
 
dwk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vernon Hills, Illinois
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by HD Rookie

Has anyone else noticed that comcast rarely broadcasts in dolby digital? The "info" button often shows that a broadcast is Dolby Digital, but the signal is always prologic. For days I thought I had a problem with my setup until NYPD Blue came on last night and the signal was DD.


I also thought it was my setup until I saw a DD signal come through.

Does anyone know if it is channel or show specific?
dwk is offline  
post #645 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 07:05 AM
Member
 
trk306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it must be show specific.....because ABC seems to have the most DD programs, yet last night the 8:00pm According to Jim was not in DD but the 8:30 show (forgot the name already) was in DD and then NYPD Blue was also in DD.
trk306 is offline  
post #646 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD Rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mount Prospect, IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by trk306
I think it must be show specific

Absolutely, but when you talk about network shows, comcast is at the mercy of what the networks are transmitting.

What ticks me off is that comcast movies are not DD. I don't think I've ever gotten DD from HBOHD, INHD or INHD2, not to mention the other dozen hbo channels. Its pretty crappy that they transmit a movie in hd, but send analog audio.
HD Rookie is offline  
post #647 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
gtcharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So most people are receiving INHD? I don't understand why just two channels would go out but I will give Comcast a call. If others are having problems maybe put up a post and if I see others are having problems I will post the results of my phone call.
gtcharlie is offline  
post #648 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
mikek747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Highland Park, IL
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by HD Rookie
Absolutely, but when you talk about network shows, comcast is at the mercy of what the networks are transmitting.

What ticks me off is that comcast movies are not DD. I don't think I've ever gotten DD from HBOHD, INHD or INHD2, not to mention the other dozen hbo channels. Its pretty crappy that they transmit a movie in hd, but send analog audio.

I have gotten some programming on HBOHD and the INHD channels in Dolby Digital. I have also gotten some ABC and CBS programming in DD. Part of the reason is that not all the source material is provided in Dolby Digital to Comcast. I am curious though why the same shows change audio output from week to week.

Mike K.
mikek747 is offline  
post #649 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by HD Rookie
What ticks me off is that comcast movies are not DD. I don't think I've ever gotten DD from HBOHD, INHD or INHD2, not to mention the other dozen hbo channels. Its pretty crappy that they transmit a movie in hd, but send analog audio.

I've watched movies and shows in DD from SHOHD, HBOHD, INHD, INHD2, ABC, CBS, and PBS (I've never seen an NBC program in DD). However, please keep in mind that not all movies/shows are in 5.1 surround.

For example, the premiere showing of Soundstage on PBS is in 5.1 surround, but the reruns shown in the 3 hour demo loop is Pro Logic. Go figure.

Even HBO and HBO-W feeds on channels 550/551 are passed along in DD from time to time.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #650 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 12:05 PM
Member
 
omard.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Berwyn, Illinois
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My INHD channels are out also. Just spend the whole day talking to customer support and even had a tech come out. They were no help what so ever. I spoke to four different people got four different answers. These are ppv channels, I had them as a test channel, I never had them, And the last girl told me that they are aware of the situation and are trying to fix it. Finally somebody with a good answer.
omard. is offline  
post #651 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
SamR.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by FSugino
I've watched movies and shows in DD from SHOHD, HBOHD, INHD, INHD2, ABC, CBS, and PBS (I've never seen an NBC program in DD). However, please keep in mind that not all movies/shows are in 5.1 surround.

For example, the premiere showing of Soundstage on PBS is in 5.1 surround, but the reruns shown in the 3 hour demo loop is Pro Logic. Go figure.

Even HBO and HBO-W feeds on channels 550/551 are passed along in DD from time to time.

Same thing for me. I have no problems with 5.1 from Comcast when the show is being broadcast(ed?) that way.

SR
SamR. is offline  
post #652 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 02:58 PM
dwk
Senior Member
 
dwk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vernon Hills, Illinois
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am watching both INHD and INHD2 right now......

I have the basic digital and HBO only... ?

I have had much less misery with Comcast HD than I have with OTA!!


All I need is the 6208 (or better the 6408) PVR and I'm in heaven!!!
dwk is offline  
post #653 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by gtcharlie
Has anyone else lost the INHD channels. I don't watch them very often but checked what was on yesterday morning and noticed I was getting the "channel will be available shortly" message. I didn't thnk much of it as it is comcast after all but when I checked this morning the channels were still out. Is this problem specific to me or is it a system problem?

Both 174 and 175 were up and running when I was home during lunch. I caught the end of the program documenting the blind climber going up Mt. Everest.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #654 of 10842 Old 10-22-2003, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
LaxStar18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah my inHD and inHD2 are out also, has a call to CS fixed this for anyone or should i just wait it out instead of dealing with all the crap?

LaxStar18 is offline  
post #655 of 10842 Old 10-23-2003, 06:05 AM
Member
 
timgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oak Park,IL
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My INHD1 and 2 have been out for a couple of days.I thought they might come back but they haven't so I called Comcast last night and got the same run-around mentioned above.No one there had any idea what they were.Finally I was transferred to a "video technician" who tried to send out some "hits" to my box but said my box was "busy".He then said he had to send someone out for service which I scheduled for tomorrow evening.I doubt it'll do any good but we'll see.
timgo is offline  
post #656 of 10842 Old 10-23-2003, 06:55 AM
dwk
Senior Member
 
dwk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vernon Hills, Illinois
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am still getting INHD and INHD2 (last night at least), so the outage in the area seems strange. Are we sure it is not because the digital pack is required?
dwk is offline  
post #657 of 10842 Old 10-23-2003, 07:27 AM
Member
 
omard.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Berwyn, Illinois
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the channels up until Tuesday night i was watching TB and my reception got real bad allot of snow on the screen I looked at my HD and they where all out I got that Channels will com back message. Then all the HD channels came back except for INHD 1 &2. I emailed CS last night and they don't even mention INHD & INHD2 as a HD channel? Are they backing out of these two channels? God I hate dealing with Comcast.
omard. is offline  
post #658 of 10842 Old 10-23-2003, 08:18 AM
Member
 
omard.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Berwyn, Illinois
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out these responses from Comcast.


Dear Mr. Diaz,

Thank you for contacting Comcast Cable.
The networks in question on HDTV Digital 174, and 175 are HDTV feeds of
Pay-Per-View. I have analyzed your account, and do see that you
subscribe to the HDTV level of service and have all appropriate
equipment.

We have no reported issues with these networks area wide at this time.
If you are receiving the "One Moment Please" message on your television
screen it is usually caused by a signal problem, and would need a
technician visit to correct. Please be sure to check any other digital
channels above channel number 101 for this problem, then call the
Customer Care Center for an appointment. They can be reached at
888-266-2278.

Thank you again for your e-mail. We appreciate you taking the time to
contact us.

Sincerely,
Charles
Comcast Customer Care Specialist

My reply


These Channels are not ppv they are 24 hour HD channels. As mentioned in
www.inhd.com . I had a tech come out on 10/22/03 and said that
everything is
fine. Also I see all my other channels just fine. This is a problem that
other subscribers are experiencing. How can I solve this problem?


His Reply

Dear Mr. Diaz,

The channels have been reserved for future HD use. The channels will be
used for PPV access featured in HD. I am sorry that the message that
you receive on the screen has lead you believe that you are missing
channels. My hope is this has not caused a great impact on you or your
household, and if it has again my apologizes.

At this writing no launch date information has released for these
channel. Once they become available you will be notified.

Thank you again for your e-mail. We appreciate you taking the time to
contact us.



Sincerely,
Reginald
Comcast Customer Care Specialist

My Reply

How did I get these channels for a month. I had them from September 15th
till the 21st of October? These are not ppv channels I have been watching
them for over a month and they have regular programming.
omard. is offline  
post #659 of 10842 Old 10-23-2003, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Four words for you: Customer service knows nothing.

You have to go several layers of bureacracy higher than you have. Try a tech supervisor, for example.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #660 of 10842 Old 10-23-2003, 08:53 AM
Member
 
omard.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Berwyn, Illinois
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the advise
omard. is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off