Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 339 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2011, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Does anybody actually use them? The updated mini-menu (with the giant Search button) dropped the link that used to go to the main Central channel.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2011, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 36
A reminder that some of the suburbs will be getting several new HD channels (mostly in the Preferred Tier), while losing some premium movie HD 'subchannels', tomorrow, 8/24.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Old 08-23-2011, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
A reminder that some of the suburbs will be getting several new HD channels (mostly in the Preferred Tier), while losing some premium movie HD 'subchannels', tomorrow, 8/24.
A good news/bad news situation. Hopefully they remove the duplicate local sub channels in the 200's which was originally scheduled to happen in January.
Spiderman865 is offline  
Old 08-24-2011, 01:35 AM
Member
 
Big Bears Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

A reminder that some of the suburbs will be getting several new HD channels (mostly in the Preferred Tier), while losing some premium movie HD 'subchannels', tomorrow, 8/24.

We got ours around 1:30 this morning,they haven't removed the premiums yet probably later in the day.
Big Bears Fan is offline  
Old 08-24-2011, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Everything is there now as of 7AM, although Hub/Cooking/DIY are dead. The premiums have been removed. BBCA and NatGeoWild are on 471MHz (RF65) and shared with HDNet. Hub/Cooking/DIY are currently trying to tune on 651MHz, which is impossible as that is a cable modem downstream frequency. They probably haven't finished updating the channel map yet.

RAI Italia has moved from 679 to 681. Jewelry TV still hasn't moved from 129 to 56.

In an unannounced change, Polvision has been added as 397/679. It's ClearQAM as 24.4 (45-13 raw QAM here in Schaumburg). None of the other WPVN subchannels have been added (it would be nice to see RTV/TuffTV).

Other than 242, which was taken over by HubHD, the old 200-based broadcast subchannels are still there.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Old 08-24-2011, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,938
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

In an unannounced change, Polvision has been added as 397/679.

It's also on those channels on a DTA in Chicago Area 2, but maybe it has been for a while.
dattier is offline  
Old 08-24-2011, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bears Fan View Post

We got ours around 1:30 this morning,they haven't removed the premiums yet probably later in the day.

All up this morning at 5:00am in Joliet as well.
Spiderman865 is offline  
Old 08-24-2011, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just checked - DIY/Cooking/Nat Geo are up and running now here in Schaumburg.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
Old 08-24-2011, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
TWinbrook46636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My TiVo got the updated channel list but the old channels are still showing on them, DIYHD is still showing PBS Create for example. Also, BBCAmericaHD is nowhere to be found, not even in the channel list and it cannot tune to it manually.

EDIT: Channels are up as of 1:30 pm

TWinbrook46636
TWinbrook46636 is offline  
Old 08-24-2011, 05:01 PM
Member
 
kb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When will Comcast add HDnet in the Chicago South region?
kb11 is online now  
Old 08-26-2011, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
FYI - For any FireWire recorders out there, the new channels (BBC America, DIY, Cooking, Nat Geo Wild) are all recordable.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
Old 09-05-2011, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I noticed a new channel 682: MNet. I can get it on the box (Preferred package), but not the DTA, so it's probably Preferred or higher.

Appears to be this Korean pop music network (the TV and site logo's match):
http://www.mnetamerica.com/

Lots of music videos, some anime (Eureka Seven, Outlaw Star). Mixed English and presumably Korean.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Old 09-05-2011, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Joe The Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

I noticed a new channel 682: MNet. I can get it on the box (Preferred package), but not the DTA, so it's probably Preferred or higher.

Appears to be this Korean pop music network (the TV and site logo's match):
http://www.mnetamerica.com/

Lots of music videos, some anime (Eureka Seven, Outlaw Star). Mixed English and presumably Korean.

Web site says D-1 tier
Joe The Dragon is offline  
Old 09-16-2011, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,938
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Chicago Area 2 (and I would presume Area 3, probably the whole city) is getting Oxygen HD in 1080i on channel 315 now.  There is no mnemonic and the only schedule info is a fresh "To Be Announced" every thirty minutes, but the guide info would be the same as Oxygen SD on channel 73 anyway.

I believe one of the axed premium movie channels in HD was on 315 before.
dattier is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 36
315 was unused before, at least here in Schaumburg. It's between TMC HD and the now-dead 5StarMaxHD.

Otherwise, no 315 here yet.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Old 09-20-2011, 04:07 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello just a note i do not know when they added jewelry channel 56
and took off jewelry channel 129 .
anthony ippolito is online now  
Old 09-20-2011, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Finally. It was supposed to happen over a month ago!

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Old 09-21-2011, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
dkelber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how I find out what area I am in?
dkelber is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,938
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Which municipality do you live in?

If you're in Chicago (the actual city), where roughly are you located?
dattier is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:49 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Just a note that channel 386 mctv is move to digital channel that why you
cannot get it on the digital adapter that what comcast representative told me.
anthony ippolito is online now  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,938
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I've no idea of where in the area Anthony is located, but MCTV comes in just fine on the DTA on channel 386 in Chicago Area 2.
dattier is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:16 AM
Member
 
keithj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithj View Post

I called Comcast today so sign up for their phone service and after a bunch of button clicks on their side, the lady told me it is not available in my area (Oswego). Really? That can't really be right can it? Anyone in the area with Comcast phone?

Comcast customer support really kills me sometimes. Monday I got home from work and my internet was out. I've kinda learned how to deal with their internet customer support so the first thing I asked was if there was an outage in my area. They are able to do a proximity search to see if users around me have service or not. Sure enough, there was an outage. Here's the stupid part. In order for them to report the outage, I had to schedule a service call for Tuesday because they needed a ticket number on it. Without a ticket number, they can't report an area outage (WTF?). Anyway, I set up the service call for Tuesday. Of course, since it was an outage, service was back up Tuesday morning so I called to cancel my appointment.

When I was on the phone cancelling my appointment, the lady on the phone asked if I was interested in their phone service since I already had internet and cable through them. I told her I tried ordering it 4 months ago and was told it was unavailable. She seemed a little perplexed and said that didn't make sense since if one service was available, all three should be available. I called from work so I didn't have time to investigate further until this morning.

I called this morning asking to add phone to my service. This lady found the package I wanted, asked all the required questions, and quoted me a price. When it came time to schedule a service time, she stopped and said that phone is not available in my area. I told her about my call yesterday and she put me on hold. She came back a few minutes later saying it doesn't make sense because she put in one of my neighbor's addresses and it's available for them but not me? She has now created a ticket for my address and said she will be calling me back when it is determined why phone is not available for my address even though it seems like it's available right down the street.

Very odd.
keithj is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 02:50 PM
Member
 
radioinsomnia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithj View Post

Comcast customer support really kills me sometimes.

They really kill me all the time.

My Customer Owned Equipment credit, which appeared a few months ago, disappeared on my most recent bill. I had been getting three credits of $2.50 each for having three CableCARDs - two in TiVos, one in a TV. So I called to ask about it. The rep, of course, was completely unfamiliar with Comcast's policy. Even though I had told her when the credit started and when it disappeared, she went back in my account several months and noticed some credits from Executive Care for a previous CableCARD screwup on Comcast's part. "There's no indication here that it would be a continuing credit." I told her this is a separate issue, and then read the language straight from the first bill where it appeared.

After several minutes on hold, she said she was giving me two credits. I explained I was previously getting three credits for the three CableCARDs I have. She grudgingly gave me the third credit. And to think this is the least of my CableCARD-related woes with them. I can't wait until this happens again next month!
radioinsomnia is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 07:22 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Live in skokie ill we do not get this channel 386 mctv on the digital adapter
anthony ippolito is online now  
Old 10-02-2011, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I noticed that the Comcast Central channels are now gone.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Old 10-02-2011, 01:41 PM
Member
 
pqfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, Illinois, Near North Side
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Comcast Central channels seem to be gone in the city, too. I found those channels to be pretty useless. I hope it means Comcast is going to be using the space for something better.
pqfan is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 05:35 PM
Member
 
JTH182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I drove all the way to my local office today in McHenry to swap out my 5 year old box for one with a 500GB HD, and when I asked the woman said they don't give those out. They're only available to people with multi-room service and MUST be professionally installed.

We don't have nor want multi-room, so how are you guys getting 3400s or 3501s from your office? She only offered me a box with 160GB (which is what I already have).

I took my old box back home and re-hooked it up.
JTH182 is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTH182 View Post

We don't have nor want multi-room, so how are you guys getting 3400s or 3501s from your office? She only offered me a box with 160GB (which is what I already have).

It's been a couple of years since I upgraded to my DCX3425, but I simply took my old DCH6416 to my local office (Schaumburg) and asked the woman at the customer service window for a newer box. She pulled out the new unit, typed in the info into her computer, and that was that. Total time was less than five minutes.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
Old 10-06-2011, 06:03 PM
Member
 
JTH182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSugino View Post

It's been a couple of years since I upgraded to my DCX3425, but I simply took my old DCH6416 to my local office (Schaumburg) and asked the woman at the customer service window for a newer box. She pulled out the new unit, typed in the info into her computer, and that was that. Total time was less than five minutes.

Well I did that, but she offered me the same HD size as what I've had for 5 years. So instead of having to reset all my series recordings I decided to take the old box back. I'd like to get a newer box that has the 5ooGB HD.
JTH182 is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 11:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Joe The Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is CSN+ now on channel 101 and no longer useing CLTV?

http://xfinitytv.comcast.net/tv-listings

shows College Football on channel 101 and 285 (CSN + HD) with CLTV showing cltv stuff.
Joe The Dragon is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off