Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 345 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10321 of 10850 Old 03-19-2012, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
swak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. i don't have a stb or dta adapter guess the tv has a qam tuner? it is a bedroom tv and the locals is all i need in the bedroom. the tivo as you suggest must need a card so I guess its time to reconnect the antenna to the tivo. i have one tivo with a card and i can stream from it.
swak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10322 of 10850 Old 03-22-2012, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Just a note that Disney jr is already up and running on channel 125. It appears to be full encryption, so it will probably require Preferred or higher and not be available on a DTA.

Also noticed WSNS 44.2 (Exitos TV) has been added as channels 394 and 658. It is ClearQAM and PSIP's to 44.2 (50-4 is original RF here in Schaumburg).

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
andyross63 is offline  
post #10323 of 10850 Old 03-23-2012, 12:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Just a note that Disney jr is already up and running on channel 125. It appears to be full encryption, so it will probably require Preferred or higher and not be available on a DTA.

Also noticed WSNS 44.2 (Exitos TV) has been added as channels 394 and 658. It is ClearQAM and PSIP's to 44.2 (50-4 is original RF here in Schaumburg).

What QAM is Disney Jr. on in Schuamburg?

Here with TWC in North Texas we got the SD version only as well and the picture for an SD channel is fantastic! it is 704x480i instead of 528x480i like:

ESPN Classic
SoapNET
Disney XD

Disney Channel in my area bounces from QAM to QAM on the frequencies thanks to SDV:
687MHz
693MHz
699MHz
705MHz
711MHz
717MHz
723MHz
729MHz
735MHz
741MHz
747MHz
753MHz
759MHz
765MHz
771MHz
777MHz
819MHz
825MHz
831MHz
837MHz
843MHz
849MHz
855MHz
861MHZ

I believe since the channel is SDV it gets 3.75Mbps as they only do a maximum of 10:1 QAM SD channels or 6 SD/1HD to a QAM or 3 SD/2 HD to a QAM with SDV.

Just curious could you do a QAM chart for your system haven't seen one in a long time you do a very good job at making those
kevin120 is offline  
post #10324 of 10850 Old 03-23-2012, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
As mentioned, DisJr is on RF50.4, PSIP'd to 44.2.

As far as QAM, there are several ways I find them. For many, I can use the cable box by tuning into the channel, then using the diagnostics to find the frequency. For those in Starter on the DTA, the diagnostics have a channel map page that lists the frequency and subchannel. I also have a TV directly connected that I can sometimes use to find some.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
andyross63 is offline  
post #10325 of 10850 Old 03-24-2012, 04:25 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello just a note still get channel 109 soapnet did not sign of march 23,2012
anthony ippolito is online now  
post #10326 of 10850 Old 03-25-2012, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
SOAPnet will be continuing for awhile until all of the agreements for Disney Jr are done.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
andyross63 is offline  
post #10327 of 10850 Old 04-06-2012, 06:12 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman865 View Post

FYI...Received a notice in the mail yesterday from Comcast that on April 3rd, limited basic will be going all digital and you will need a DTA or digital receiver to receive channels 2-15, 18 and 21. Also of note, notice says that if your TV has a QAM tuner you will still receive limited basic channels.

As of this morning, Comcast still has not shut off the anolg broadcast basic channels.

Also, this never happened:
Effective 4/4/12, these channels will be added to
Digital Preferred: Smithsonian Channel (chl. 153);
BBC World News (chl. 154); CNBC World (chl. 155);
and Inspiration Network (chl. 157).
NOTE: CNBC World will also continue to air on its
current Digital Preferred channel 178 until 4/10/12.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10328 of 10850 Old 04-10-2012, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman865 View Post

As of this morning, Comcast still has not shut off the anolg broadcast basic channels.

Also, this never happened:
Effective 4/4/12, these channels will be added to
Digital Preferred: Smithsonian Channel (chl. 153);
BBC World News (chl. 154); CNBC World (chl. 155);
and Inspiration Network (chl. 157).
NOTE: CNBC World will also continue to air on its
current Digital Preferred channel 178 until 4/10/12.

As an update, channel adds will now be 4/12/12 per my latest bill.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10329 of 10850 Old 04-11-2012, 11:19 AM
Member
 
aparch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast Analog finally disabled here in far West Suburbs (St. Charles). (Wheaton feed?)

I have the Digital Transport Adapter box and watch local HD via splitter switch. Flipped the splitter to watch baseball in HD this afternoon, and channel 3 was a white screen with black text that states:
"If you can see this message, the TV you're watching isn't ready for Comcast's digital network enhancements. Call 1-877-634-4434 to restore services."

Local Clear QAM is unaffected.



For giggles, I flipped to analog channel 70, and it's still running the (now two year old?) video showing how to plug in your Digital Transport Adapter.
aparch is offline  
post #10330 of 10850 Old 04-12-2012, 09:20 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aparch View Post

Comcast Analog finally disabled here in far West Suburbs (St. Charles). (Wheaton feed?)

I have the Digital Transport Adapter box and watch local HD via splitter switch. Flipped the splitter to watch baseball in HD this afternoon, and channel 3 was a white screen with black text that states:
"If you can see this message, the TV you're watching isn't ready for Comcast's digital network enhancements. Call 1-877-634-4434 to restore services."

Local Clear QAM is unaffected.



For giggles, I flipped to analog channel 70, and it's still running the (now two year old?) video showing how to plug in your Digital Transport Adapter.


Getting the same message in Joliet. Local Clear QAM is unaffected also.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10331 of 10850 Old 04-16-2012, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Should I get be able to get WCIU 26-1 and WPWR 50-1 without a DTA or STB? All the other local HD channels come in fine with the cable direct to my tv's cable input.

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #10332 of 10850 Old 04-17-2012, 03:08 PM
Member
 
aparch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, My50 and WCIU should be available in clear QAM. Didn't have a problem watching them a few nights ago in HD without the DTA.

Might need to re-scan the channels in case Comcast moved their frequency. They're good for doing that.
aparch is offline  
post #10333 of 10850 Old 04-17-2012, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aparch View Post

Yes, My50 and WCIU should be available in clear QAM. Didn't have a problem watching them a few nights ago in HD without the DTA.

Might need to re-scan the channels in case Comcast moved their frequency. They're good for doing that.

thanks! rescanning worked

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #10334 of 10850 Old 04-19-2012, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Just got snail-mail from Comcast today here in Schaumburg. On May 30, the analogs go bye-bye. I assume this will also apply to many other NW suburbs fed off of Mt. Prospect.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
andyross63 is offline  
post #10335 of 10850 Old 04-19-2012, 02:57 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello i got a letter in mail today with new equipment i can get channel 386 mctv and also
you can get music choice channels on the digital adapter because now you do not get this channel 386 mctv and the music choice channels .
anthony ippolito is online now  
post #10336 of 10850 Old 04-20-2012, 02:59 AM
Member
 
mikey man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Analog cable shut off earlier this week in Alsip.

This sucks! The basic cable was fine for my VCRs, DVDRs, and SD TV sets. Now, I have to connect DTA to everything. What a PITA, more cables, more power plugs, more remotes. If I wanted a box at EVERY viewing location, I would have gone DirectTV.

I have ONLY cable TV through Crapcast, and pay nearly $130 a month. That's for 3 boxes (one a DVR) and NO premium movie channels. Tell me more about all the HD choices you offer. 900 channels of mostly garbage. There is only a dozen channels I watch regularly.

Satellite, offer me a deal. It's time to cut the cable!
mikey man is offline  
post #10337 of 10850 Old 04-20-2012, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else notice the following un-announced channel adds?
239 - WYIN (56) HD
376 - WYIN Kids (56) HD
426 - Word Fishing Network (SD)

What I can't understand is why Comcast is adding SD channels like Smithsonian and WFN when every other MSO is adding HD channels. And still no information as to when they plan on a channel re-alignment like they have done in the North East.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10338 of 10850 Old 04-20-2012, 11:33 AM
Member
 
aparch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman865 View Post

Anyone else notice the following un-announced channel adds?
239 - WYIN (56) HD
376 - WYIN Kids (56) HD
426 - Word Fishing Network (SD)

What I can't understand is why Comcast is adding SD channels like Smithsonian and WFN when every other MSO is adding HD channels. And still no information as to when they plan on a channel re-alignment like they have done in the North East.

For grins, I tried those channels on my DTA, and 376 shows up for me in SD.

I've always wondered why DirecTV can offer HD and SD on the same channel number, yet Comcast separates them and often creates duplicate (or triplicate) SD channels.
aparch is offline  
post #10339 of 10850 Old 04-20-2012, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Here in Schaumburg, I only see 426. It's NOT AUTHORIZED, so I assume it's probably in S&E.

As for SD vs HD, it may be a combination of agreement costs and bandwidth. It may take awhile for Comcast to get new equipment up and running to add new HD frequencies. Also, for national HD stuff, Comcast typically triples them up using high-end combiners in Colorado, then feeds them nationally. They may not have HD feeds of some channels available yet.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
andyross63 is offline  
post #10340 of 10850 Old 04-21-2012, 06:43 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Here in Schaumburg, I only see 426. It's NOT AUTHORIZED, so I assume it's probably in S&E.

As for SD vs HD, it may be a combination of agreement costs and bandwidth. It may take awhile for Comcast to get new equipment up and running to add new HD frequencies. Also, for national HD stuff, Comcast typically triples them up using high-end combiners in Colorado, then feeds them nationally. They may not have HD feeds of some channels available yet.

426-WFN, is part of Sports/Entertainment pack.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10341 of 10850 Old 04-21-2012, 10:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Joe The Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aparch View Post

For grins, I tried those channels on my DTA, and 376 shows up for me in SD.

I've always wondered why DirecTV can offer HD and SD on the same channel number, yet Comcast separates them and often creates duplicate (or triplicate) SD channels.

Iguide? comparably with the older boxes yes the SD boxes can see HD channels on comcast.

Other cable systems have auto HD or HD on sd number + 1000.

as for duplicates well 0-99 is not the same at each area head-end. And parts of the 100's has alot of old analog to digital moves from 5+ years ago.

oddly you see 285 info HD (CSN + HD) in areas that get CSN Chicago even when they have all there HD in 800's or far from the 200's.


also more odd stuff is the use of CLTV for CSN + for some time this year they used 101 for CSN + SD but now back to CLTV?? and if useing CLTV why not add CLTV HD on the info HD slot?

Does any with RCN know if you get CSN + HD on CLTV HD channel?

also CSN + 2 has been on a few different slots.

as for long term planing there may be a need for CSN + 3 or + 4. worst case is 5 feeds (fire + bulls + cubs + sox + and blackhawks.

there may be a plan for Comcast network 100 HD or a part time feed. Also nice to have BIG ten alt HD.

A other good thing with directv is the alt feeds are right next to the main feed no hunting.

and they get NBC Sports Channel alt (so you get all the games in full)
Joe The Dragon is offline  
post #10342 of 10850 Old 04-26-2012, 12:48 PM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else still getting the following on the former analog channels that Comcast took down 2-3 weeks ago? "If you can see this message, the TV you're watching isn't ready for Comcast's digital network enhancements. Call 1-877-634-4434 to restore services." You would think by now Comcast would just shut off the analog feed once and for all.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10343 of 10850 Old 04-26-2012, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,912
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 28
2-3 weeks is a pretty short time.  In the city, or at least in area 2, we still got that message for months after they'd removed all programming from the analog channels.
dattier is offline  
post #10344 of 10850 Old 04-26-2012, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
They would probably keep them up, especially for the most common channels, until they need the frequency for something else.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
andyross63 is offline  
post #10345 of 10850 Old 04-26-2012, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

They would probably keep them up, especially for the most common channels, until they need the frequency for something else.

Hopefully they need those frequencies soon for new HD channels.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10346 of 10850 Old 04-27-2012, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Some of that space will probably be used for more OnDemand space, and maybe even HSI.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
andyross63 is offline  
post #10347 of 10850 Old 04-27-2012, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Some of that space will probably be used for more OnDemand space, and maybe even HSI.

Comcast needs to start using SDV. Look at BHN down in central Florida. Their HD line up is unbelievable and they still have analog. While we may have more on-demand choices, my vote is for more HD channels, especially when it comes to the InDemand sports packages. I would consider MLB Extra Innings, but with 1 or 2 games a night, in HD, it's not worth it. Watching some of those games in SD on the regional Fox Sports Nets with black bars top, bottom & sides, it looked like I was watching the game on 25 inch TV instead of 42!
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10348 of 10850 Old 04-27-2012, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman865 View Post

Comcast needs to start using SDV. Look at BHN down in central Florida. Their HD line up is unbelievable and they still have analog. While we may have more on-demand choices, my vote is for more HD channels, especially when it comes to the InDemand sports packages. I would consider MLB Extra Innings, but with 1 or 2 games a night, in HD, it's not worth it. Watching some of those games in SD on the regional Fox Sports Nets with black bars top, bottom & sides, it looked like I was watching the game on 25 inch TV instead of 42!

my TWC area has 135 HD channels and we have SDV but do not get all of the Indemand Sports Package HD channels Instead we have GAME1 and 2 HD and TEAM HD
kevin120 is offline  
post #10349 of 10850 Old 04-28-2012, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Comcast apparently did some SDV experiments, but decided it wasn't worth the costs right now. It may first show up in older areas where Comcast decides it's cheaper than upgrading a system to 850MHz or more.

As it is, at least by me (850MHz system), there are 9-10 channels already unused. With the analogs dropped, that will add another 29.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
andyross63 is offline  
post #10350 of 10850 Old 05-02-2012, 08:24 PM
Member
 
illiniwek84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried to watch Cook's Country on demand and when it plays, it's just the white screen "you need digital hardware" message. I guess they need to reprogram their source of when they store the programs for on demand viewing.

I'm on the Batavia feed.
illiniwek84 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off