Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 363 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10861 of 10883 Old 10-15-2014, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kezug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have Comcast Chicago HD and lately, especially ABC HD and some other channels, the bass is so boomy and prevelant, that it is exhausting on the ears to listen. I am finding myself having to turn DOWN my bass volume. Other channels are fine.

I have a pioneer receiver, all hooked up via HDMI, and have changed from Pure Direct, Direct, to Auto Surround, to ACL...nothing helps. It is definitely in the mix being transmitted by either the studio or Comcast.

Anyone else hearing this boomy bass?

Edit: I have also found this thread of other mentioning same occurrence. http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Channel...2353813#M54729

Last edited by kezug; 10-16-2014 at 08:29 AM.
kezug is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10862 of 10883 Old 10-16-2014, 07:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
retromzc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Plano, Illinois
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's the same via Directv. I have to switch the Directv receiver to PCM sound to get rid of the much too loud bass. Other channels are fine with Dolby turned on. Seems to point to a problem from either WLS-TV or ABC.

R. B.
retromzc is offline  
post #10863 of 10883 Old 10-16-2014, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I've noticed some weird issue with WLS-HD, too. I didn't seem to notice it yesterday, but I do remember a noticeable rumbling during many shows like "The Middle" and similar.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10864 of 10883 Old 10-16-2014, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I also asked this on the OTA forum, just to verify it's a WLS issue:
Chicago, IL - OTA

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10865 of 10883 Old 10-17-2014, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kezug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
kezug is offline  
post #10866 of 10883 Old 10-18-2014, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
FXX HD is supposed to be on channel 337. It's on the box, but there is no signal. History HD, Animal Planet HD and Velocity are on the same frequency (489MHz, RF 68), and they work. Is this really going to be a 4:1 HD, or is there a mixup?

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10867 of 10883 Old 10-18-2014, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I called Comcast a few days ago about the blank screen on FXX HD 337. A guy with a heavy Indian accent named "Fernando" told me they were working on it and it should go active shortly. It's still dead this morning. It's Comtastic!

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #10868 of 10883 Old 10-20-2014, 10:21 AM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello just a note channel 337 FXX HD is up and running
anthony ippolito is offline  
post #10869 of 10883 Old 10-20-2014, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Working here, too. And yes, that is now FOUR HD's on one frequency.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10870 of 10883 Old 10-23-2014, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kezug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
I also asked this on the OTA forum, just to verify it's a WLS issue:
Chicago, IL - OTA

A response has been posted here
Comcast Forum - ABC Sound - Overpowering Bass Rumble
kezug is offline  
post #10871 of 10883 Old 11-01-2014, 11:42 AM
Member
 
captnem0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast Xfinity HD uDTA Pace DC60Xu

Does anyone know if comcast is using the Xfinity HD uDTA Pace DC60Xu in the Schaumburg/Elgin area?
It a newer HD digital adapter. It does not have on demand or a screen guide. Does it replace the old SD Thompson digital adapter. Is the cost the same? Or is there a different non premium HD DTA?
Thanks
captnem0 is offline  
post #10872 of 10883 Old 11-02-2014, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
HD DTA's are available as far as I know, but I don't know what model it is. I don't think there is an extra charge beyond the standard DTA and HD Tech Fee.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10873 of 10883 Old 11-06-2014, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From my November bill:

Another SD channel I will never watch. When is this company going to get it that if
a channel is available in HD, add that channel as well. This is 2014 Comcast!


Effective 12/15/2014, WGNCN(ch. 499) will be added to
Expanded Basic. (For Comcast Business TV customers,
WGNCNwill be added to Standard/Digital Standard services.)


Effective 12/16/2014, thefollowing changes will occur: National
Geographic(ch. 273) will move from Digital Preferred to
Expanded Basic; National Geographic HD (ch. 206) will move
from Digital Preferred to Digital Starter; both National
Geographic channels will be added to TV 300 Latino and TV 450
Latino;and XFINITY 3D HD (ch. 333) will no longer be
available.(For Comcast Business TV customers, National
Geographic channels will move to Standard/Digital Standard
services.)


Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10874 of 10883 Old 11-06-2014, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
What is WGNCN? I've seen posts about it on Broadband reports of it being added to other areas.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10875 of 10883 Old 11-06-2014, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Evidently CC is adding the national (cable) version of WGN (America) to systems in the Chicago DMA.

Makes sense, since Tribune has added that original programming that is exclusive to WGN-A, as well as having all but stripped away the last vestiges of any local WGN content. About the ONLY local prog left is two 1-hour newcasts weekdays; any remaining sports is expected to be history by next year.

Since Tribune has sunk $$$ into this new prog, they need all the eyeballs they can get - & NOT having them (on cable) in the 3rd largest DMA is shutting out a large chunk of potential viewers. (sat viewers can already get it now) I would expect all the other TV providers (U-verse, RSN, etc.) to eventually add it as well.

As far as those other systems on BR.com, they have not been carrying WGN-A until now; evidently CC is calling it WGNCN (cable network???)

This is exactly the same thing that happened with (W)TBS; once it became cable-only, they added it to all Atlanta DMA systems - the local OTA station became WPCH/Peachtree TV.

Last edited by dishrich; 11-06-2014 at 04:05 PM.
dishrich is offline  
post #10876 of 10883 Old 11-07-2014, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
But I've seen reports of people in areas that already get WGN America getting this. I wonder if it really has anything to do with WGN, and instead is an acronym for something. Given that it's on channel 499, it's mixed in with some religious and other small channels.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10877 of 10883 Old 11-07-2014, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
OK, well look at this post on Comcast's forum:

http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Channel...i/td-p/2381307

Quote:
Latest message on my monthly bill states " effective 12/15/14 - 12/18/14 wgn & wgn-hd will no longer be available." And "effective 12/15/14 wgncn will be available to digital starter & higher levels".
This tells me that all that's happening in those cases where they already carry WGN-A, is the channel is "officially" being re-named "WGN-Cable Network". Of course, leave it to CC to always make something SO simple...SO convoluted. (instead of just saying the channel is changing names...)

Quote:
Given that it's on channel 499, it's mixed in with some religious and other small channels.
And since when has CC always placed channels in a logical place in the lineup; on our system, Hallmark Movie Ch is dropped right in the middle of a block of sports-only channels

I'll make it a point to look at my next bill & see what happens "downstate"; especially since we've ALWAYS have gotten WGN-A on limited basic since the dawn of time.

But in your case (in the Chicago DMA) I stand by what I said.

Last edited by dishrich; 11-07-2014 at 03:52 PM.
dishrich is offline  
post #10878 of 10883 Old 11-07-2014, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I got a reply back from WGN's Twitter account:

Frank:

WGNCN will be the new WGN Cable Network, which will carry what WGN America currently does but without WGN News and Sports.

Thanks for writing.

George
FSugino is online now  
post #10879 of 10883 Old 11-08-2014, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Here's another cable provider confirming this on their own website:

http://www.bltv.net/bltv-news.html

Quote:
October 2014 - WGN America Converting to WGN Cable Network
Ben Lomand has been notified that on January 1, 2015, WGN America will be converted from a cable superstation to a general entertainment cable network known as WGN Cable Network. Because of this change, on January 1, 2015, WGN will be moved from channel 15 on Digital Basic to channel 61 on Expanded Basic.
Interesting to see if CC moves it from limited to expanded basic on our system, now that it's officially a cable network...
dishrich is offline  
post #10880 of 10883 Old 11-09-2014, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
If you read the first mention of the change here, it will be in Expanded Basic. The real WGN will remain in Limited Basic since it's a local broadcast. Outside of Chicagoland, if WGNA is Basic, then it may move to Expanded/Starter.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10881 of 10883 Old 11-14-2014, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman865 View Post
From my November bill:

Another SD channel I will never watch. When is this company going to get it that if
a channel is available in HD, add that channel as well. This is 2014 Comcast!


Effective 12/15/2014, WGNCN(ch. 499) will be added to
Expanded Basic. (For Comcast Business TV customers,
WGNCNwill be added to Standard/Digital Standard services.)


Effective 12/16/2014, thefollowing changes will occur: National
Geographic(ch. 273) will move from Digital Preferred to
Expanded Basic; National Geographic HD (ch. 206) will move
from Digital Preferred to Digital Starter; both National
Geographic channels will be added to TV 300 Latino and TV 450
Latino;and XFINITY 3D HD (ch. 333) will no longer be
available.(For Comcast Business TV customers, National
Geographic channels will move to Standard/Digital Standard
services.)
In addition to the above, my bill also has this:
Effective 1/1/2015, due to increases in business costs,
the charge for both Hourly Service Call and In-Home
Service Visit will go from $60 to $70.

Effective 12/2/2014, TVC+ Latino (via W25DW) will no longer be
available on Limited Basic (ch. 395/659).

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #10882 of 10883 Old 11-16-2014, 06:01 AM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Are they going to get rid of the channel 395 and 659 or not offered in limited basic
because there is no guide programming information or station call letters on my cable box
anthony ippolito is offline  
post #10883 of 10883 Old 11-16-2014, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I have Preferred, and it also lost the names in the guide a few weeks ago. I'm guessing either W25DW is dropping it, or some agreement between Comcast and W25DW is ending.

I tried some searching, but wonder if they are pulling out of the US market. According to RabitEars, there are only 3 affiliates. It was launched in 2012.
http://www.skylark.com.sg/tvcmslatino/

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR

Last edited by andyross63; 11-16-2014 at 06:36 AM.
andyross63 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off