Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 365 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10921 of 10948 Old 04-08-2015, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Channel 377 (NHK World via WYIN) is now on the main cable box, but not the DTA.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10922 of 10948 Old 04-08-2015, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
Channel 377 (NHK World via WYIN) is now on the main cable box, but not the DTA.
It's been on my cable box for about a week now in glorious 720p.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is offline  
post #10923 of 10948 Old 04-09-2015, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Figured out why it's not on the DTA. It's in 720p HD, so my SD DTA will not show it. It is listed in the virtual channel map in the diagnostics, though. Silly as I know it can downconvert HD as the HD copy of MundoFox was accidentally allowed for awhile.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #10924 of 10948 Old 04-09-2015, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
Silly as I know it can downconvert HD as the HD copy of MundoFox was accidentally allowed for awhile.
But not ALL SD-DTA's can necessarily do this feat; (think all the 1st gen units they probably have out in the field) we had the very same thing happen here w/one of our local HD PBS stations, when our SD DTA's first came out. When you attempted to view it, you got sound but only a black screen.
They never got around to correcting this (the SD DTA channel maps) until right before they introduced HD-DTA's here...almost 2 years later!
dishrich is offline  
post #10925 of 10948 Old 04-14-2015, 04:22 AM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello My DTA get channel 377 (NHK World via WYIN) This morning channel 338 DECADES
is not up and running shows up on my cable box with programming guide channel 338 DECADES DTA shows the channel but not up on running

Last edited by anthony ippolito; 04-14-2015 at 04:48 AM.
anthony ippolito is offline  
post #10926 of 10948 Old 04-14-2015, 06:47 AM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Channel 338 DECADES is now up and running this morning at 8:00 am
anthony ippolito is offline  
post #10927 of 10948 Old 04-15-2015, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The note about Comcast dropping 345 is true. WLS 7.3 is now LAFF, but Comcast is not carrying it. I guess they couldn't come to an agreement.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #10928 of 10948 Old 04-17-2015, 04:09 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HELLO Just a note no new channels added on my cable bill just mention effective 6/3/2015 Hallmark
Channel (ch.131) and Hallmark Channel HD (ch.321) will be added to Digital Economy.
anthony ippolito is offline  
post #10929 of 10948 Old 04-22-2015, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Joe The Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Again Comcast fails to have own rsn feeds in hd ad only u-verse and Directv will have csn chicago + 2 HD
Joe The Dragon is offline  
post #10930 of 10948 Old 04-23-2015, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe The Dragon View Post
Again Comcast fails to have own rsn feeds in hd ad only u-verse and Directv will have csn chicago + 2 HD
If you're complaining about the White Sox game, since the source (Cozi via NBC 5.2) is only 480 widescreen, the lack of HD doesn't matter. Comcast is showing it in 480 widescreen, and so is everyone else. AT&T and DirecTV may have it on an HD channel but the video itself is not HD.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is offline  
post #10931 of 10948 Old 04-24-2015, 07:08 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSugino View Post
If you're complaining about the White Sox game, since the source (Cozi via NBC 5.2) is only 480 widescreen, the lack of HD doesn't matter. Comcast is showing it in 480 widescreen, and so is everyone else. AT&T and DirecTV may have it on an HD channel but the video itself is not HD.
Game was on MLB network, (233-HD), last night and was not blacked out like it should have been.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10932 of 10948 Old 05-15-2015, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Latest bill shows that beIN SPORTS (English) will be added to Digital Preferred on June 16.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #10933 of 10948 Old 05-20-2015, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I don't know how widespread it was, but my box was updated to iGuide A31. A bit of a scare this morning when the DVR portion didn't seem to be recognized. I had to reboot the box to get it working.

The most noticeable change will be that the PLAY button is now treated as PLAY/PAUSE, because newer Comcast remotes use a merged key instead of separate. You can use the DAY+ button to make the timebar pop up without pausing the video.

If you have a DCX model, there are options to set the hard drive to shut down after 1, 2, 4, or 8 hours of inactivity, or never turn off.

You can configure the A, B, C, D keys on the remote. Mine had defaulted to Help/Day-/Day+/DVS on/off. I changed the "C" key to CC On/Off.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #10934 of 10948 Old 05-21-2015, 07:17 AM
Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Anybody else notice WTTWHD ch 191 on my system is now in 720p? I just noticed it last night and the picture just flat out sucks compared to what it used to be. I don't know the exact term for the distortion I saw but small parts across the whole picture were locking up for a very short time and them "releasing" to catch up with the realtime action. It would occur every few seconds and was even present in a practically still image. This happened throughout both shows last night (Nature and Nova). I never saw this when it was 1080i. Can someone with OTA capability confirm they are broadcasting the main channel in 720p now?
dryeye is offline  
post #10935 of 10948 Old 05-21-2015, 07:56 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
I don't know how widespread it was, but my box was updated to iGuide A31. A bit of a scare this morning when the DVR portion didn't seem to be recognized. I had to reboot the box to get it working.

The most noticeable change will be that the PLAY button is now treated as PLAY/PAUSE, because newer Comcast remotes use a merged key instead of separate. You can use the DAY+ button to make the timebar pop up without pausing the video.

If you have a DCX model, there are options to set the hard drive to shut down after 1, 2, 4, or 8 hours of inactivity, or never turn off.

You can configure the A, B, C, D keys on the remote. Mine had defaulted to Help/Day-/Day+/DVS on/off. I changed the "C" key to CC On/Off.
Update received in Joliet also.(DCX 34XX)
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #10936 of 10948 Old 05-21-2015, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryeye View Post
Anybody else notice WTTWHD ch 191 on my system is now in 720p? I just noticed it last night and the picture just flat out sucks compared to what it used to be. I don't know the exact term for the distortion I saw but small parts across the whole picture were locking up for a very short time and them "releasing" to catch up with the realtime action. It would occur every few seconds and was even present in a practically still image. This happened throughout both shows last night (Nature and Nova). I never saw this when it was 1080i. Can someone with OTA capability confirm they are broadcasting the main channel in 720p now?
I just checked with an antenna, and it is 720p. With the 3 subchannels, maybe they realized they were just cramming in too much, as 11.3 and 11.4 tended to look really horrible. 11.2 Prime was actually pretty good.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #10937 of 10948 Old 05-21-2015, 08:43 AM
Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Thanks Andy. Hopefully what I saw was teething pains as they adjust their equipment. I've seen this distortion before when Comcast was making changes. As I write this Sesame Street isn't nearly as bad as last nights shows but if you look at the lower right corner you might be able to see the distortion around the "wttw kids " logo. It's kind of like mosquito noise that changes with definite regularity and I don't see it on other 720p channels like ESPN. I see it on my plasma, my LCD and my projector so I doubt it's my setup.
dryeye is offline  
post #10938 of 10948 Old 05-21-2015, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
I don't know how widespread it was, but my box was updated to iGuide A31.
Is this the update that allows 2TB eSATA drives? I don't have a spare drive to test right now, and my 1TB drive is almost full.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is offline  
post #10939 of 10948 Old 05-21-2015, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryeye View Post
Anybody else notice WTTWHD ch 191 on my system is now in 720p?
Yes, and as mentioned in the OTA section, the Create channel is broadcasting in widescreen.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is offline  
post #10940 of 10948 Old 05-21-2015, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryeye View Post
Thanks Andy. Hopefully what I saw was teething pains as they adjust their equipment. I've seen this distortion before when Comcast was making changes. As I write this Sesame Street isn't nearly as bad as last nights shows but if you look at the lower right corner you might be able to see the distortion around the "wttw kids " logo. It's kind of like mosquito noise that changes with definite regularity and I don't see it on other 720p channels like ESPN. I see it on my plasma, my LCD and my projector so I doubt it's my setup.
You can't really blame Comcast for anything. They just pass on what they pick up from broadcast channels. There is no additional compression.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #10941 of 10948 Old 05-21-2015, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 41
From the Comcast forums, these are the changes in A31. There is a mistake as the C key is set as Day+, which is what the C key is labeled as on the Comcast remote. As I think I mentioned, I put the CC on/off onto the A key.

Quote:
This is more than just a FW update so in addition to the external drive support fix for the DCX 3400 and the ability to use up to a 2 TB external drive, there will be some on-screen guide improvements and enhancements:

Remote Control Improvements
Allows the set-top box to now use the XR2 remote. New option in the Setup menu allowing customers to personalize the A, B, C or D keys on their remote to better meet their needs and usage of the guide with the new remote control.

Improved Closed Captioning Options

Simplifies customer access to Closed Captioning and allows one-touch on/off option to be customized for any of the color keys (the default is C) using the XR2 remote control. Main Menu > Setup > Closed Caption Setup.

Descriptive Video Service (DVS) Support
DVS allows customers with visual impairments to enhance their XFINITY entertainment experience by enabling audio descriptions. Enables customers find programs that have the DVS audio track via icon and browse options. Simplifies customer access to DVS audio selection and allows one-touch on/off option to be customized by the user for any of the Color Keys (Default is D) using the XR2 remote control. Main Menu > Setup > Audio Setup

DVR Power Save
DVR Power Save enables customers to save money and reduce the amount of energy used by their set-top box by automatically entering a power save mode when not used for a period of time.
Customers have option of disabling or modifying the inactivity timer to 1, 2 4 (default) or 8 hours. Limited to supported DCX set-top boxes: DCX 3200N, 3400N, 3501. Main Menu > Setup > Power Save


Aspect Ratio for Standard Definition (SD) that stretches the screen to a 16:9 aspect ratio
This eliminates the black bars on the sides of the picture on High Definition/HD televisions. This will now be the default resolution, but customers can change back to the 4:3 aspect ratio if they desire to do so.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #10942 of 10948 Old 05-22-2015, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Firewire Video Disabled?

Anyone else using Firewire have the video disabled? Using mythtv with a DCH-3200 converter, I can tune/lock channels and get audio but no video.
avs_ccy is offline  
post #10943 of 10948 Old 05-23-2015, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,999
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I'd also noticed the stretching of 4:3 images on my DCX-3501 (had to go into the menus to turn that off again; I'm an OAR kind of viewer and consider pillarboxing a negligible price to pay for realistic proportions).  The first time I saw it a recording was in progress, so I couldn't turn the DVR off and had to change the television's aspect ratio setting.

I'd also noticed that PLAY now pauses.  That truly is a step backwards in my view: occasionally during playback of a recording I like to see how far along I am in it, and now I can't do it without pausing, so I have to wait for a commercial break and remember to wait for a commercial break, or put up with the pause.  Is there still a working way to find out one's viewed time while playing a recording back without pausing?

Finally, the update zapped all the guide information, just the way a power drop does.  Senseless.
dattier is offline  
post #10944 of 10948 Old 05-25-2015, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 41
See my earlier posts. You can use DAY+ (C key) to pop up the timebar.

The stretching is also the new default if you have the box 'upconvert' SD. I have mine set so that 480i material is passed on as-is, so no stretching.

One thing I noticed is that my ancient DCT-6412 now has a NATIVE option.

I have also noticed that after switching from a recording (like using STOP or LAST), the box will not respond to the remote for 10-15 seconds.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #10945 of 10948 Old 05-25-2015, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dattier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago IL, Northwest Side
Posts: 2,999
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
See my earlier posts. You can use DAY+ (C key) to pop up the timebar.
Sorry, Andy; that had just washed over me when I read your earlier post.  Thank you for the reminder.  It works the same on my DCX-3501, though the remote has no D key.
dattier is offline  
post #10946 of 10948 Old 05-25-2015, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
I have also noticed that after switching from a recording (like using STOP or LAST), the box will not respond to the remote for 10-15 seconds.
Since the upgrade, my DVR takes a long time to switch between tuners. It's very annoying.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is offline  
post #10947 of 10948 Old 05-26-2015, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 41
On my 6412, the tuner swap isn't all that different than before.

I don't know if I posted it before, but this is the 'official' thread on the A31 update:
Upcoming Bundled Guide release (A31) Motorola set tops

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #10948 of 10948 Unread Today, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kezug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
In regards to the NHL Playoffs/Stanley Cup final Chicago COMCAST feeds on these games show that the signal is 5.1, but I swear all the audio is coming out of the Center or just the 2 fronts. Horrible. (I have checked my setup, its the feed on the game broadcast only). Why is it broadcasting 5.1 but only producing sound out of 1 or 2 speakers? Commercials are fine, all speakers are in use, but come back to the game and the sound is back to only 1 or 2 spearkers!

Please, someone ping the audio engineers that can help fix this!
kezug is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off