Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 374 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11191 of 11209 Old 08-11-2016, 11:47 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else notice that Mundomax-HD via WOCK is airing English infomercials? Guide reflects the infomercials that are airing on Channels 178 & 388 (Romeoville system).
Spiderman865 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11192 of 11209 Old 08-11-2016, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Saw this mentioned last week in the LasVegas thread...this might have something to do with it:
Quote:
For MundoMax, an increasingly uncertain future

Network has gone off the air in New York and may lose other affiliates
http://www.medialifemagazine.com/mun...ertain-future/
Spiderman865 likes this.
dishrich is offline  
post #11193 of 11209 Old 08-11-2016, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I updated the Wikipedia page.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WOCK-CD

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #11194 of 11209 Old 08-13-2016, 05:13 PM
Member
 
TimfromSpfdIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony ippolito View Post
Hello Just a note in this month bill no new channels added
Same here in Springfield, but did you get this same vague note in your recent bill in the Chicago area?

"In September we're introducing new XFINITY services. To learn more go to xfinity-productupdates.com." I checked that site out and other than perhaps new packages that might be coming to Illinois, I'm not sure what to think of that statement. Anyone in Chicago heard anything about what Comcast might be having in store for our region this fall?

Also, any chance Comcast might start phasing out SD offerings in the next few years?
TimfromSpfdIL is offline  
post #11195 of 11209 Old 08-14-2016, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I doubt they will phase out SD for a VERY long time. There are literally millions of SD boxes out there that would cost $$$$$$ to replace.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #11196 of 11209 Old 08-14-2016, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Saw this on my latest bill. Finally getting rid of the Weigel duplicates:
Quote:
Beginning 8/24/2016, Me-TV (ch. 223/357) will only be available on channel 357, Heroes & Icons (ch. 247/358) will only be available on channel 358 and The U Too (ch. 248/360) will only be available on channel 360.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #11197 of 11209 Old 08-14-2016, 05:52 AM
Senior Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
I doubt they will phase out SD for a VERY long time. There are literally millions of SD boxes out there that would cost $$$$$$ to replace.
And some Comcast systems don't even have HD channels.

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #11198 of 11209 Old 08-14-2016, 12:09 PM
Member
 
TimfromSpfdIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
Saw this on my latest bill. Finally getting rid of the Weigel duplicates:
Now if Comcast can only do the same thing downstate on all of the pre-2008 Insight systems with all the duplicate channels on them (which Insight had introduced in fall 2006 by going to a theme-based lineup). For example in Springfield, CNN is on 26 & 407, ESPN 27/506, and even QVC is 13/241. Maybe put channels that are on higher tiers than Digital Economy on the 3di channels only.
TimfromSpfdIL is offline  
post #11199 of 11209 Old 08-14-2016, 12:16 PM
Member
 
TimfromSpfdIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
I doubt they will phase out SD for a VERY long time. There are literally millions of SD boxes out there that would cost $$$$$$ to replace.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
And some Comcast systems don't even have HD channels.
But can you see Comcast phasing out SD on a limited basis in some areas--perhaps on any channels available only on Digital Preferred and up for where both SD and HD feeds exist? Particularly the premium channels (e.g., HBO, Cinemax, Showtime) and higher-tier sports channels. Meaning that the only SD channels left will be on Digital Starter and below.

And only on larger systems such as Chicago, Springfield, Peoria, etc.--not on "cursed" Comcast lineups like the one in Monmouth, IL, which is basically a throwback to the TCI digital cable days (and few changes/additions on that lineup since the late '90s):

http://affiliate.zap2it.com/tvlistin...aid=quadcty0zb
TimfromSpfdIL is offline  
post #11200 of 11209 Old 08-16-2016, 04:34 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Just a note when going to channel 385 wjys prism2 a new channel is going to take over call eden tv coming soon
anthony ippolito is online now  
post #11201 of 11209 Old 08-17-2016, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 53
It's been saying that for several weeks...

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #11202 of 11209 Old 09-12-2016, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Noticed that channel 1050, the 'Xfinity Help & Support' channel is gone from the main cable box. There are no more 1000+ channel numbers, so auto-tune now happens after 3 digits.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #11203 of 11209 Old 09-17-2016, 03:46 AM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Just a note in this month bill no new channels added
anthony ippolito is online now  
post #11204 of 11209 Old 09-27-2016, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Is anyone else having a problem with AMC in channel 171? Instead of recording Halt and Catch Fire my box is showing a ONE MOMENT PLEASE box with a ref code. AMC on channel 36 is okay.

10:30pm UPDATE: Turns out it's a Comcast system problem and it's far worse than just one channel. I only checked from 169 - 220 and found about a dozen HD channels were out. Comcast support says their scheduled fix time is 2:00 am. If you've got problems, call and complain and ask for credit for the down time. I got a little over $16 in credit for my troubles.

Last edited by FSugino; 09-27-2016 at 08:48 PM.
FSugino is online now  
post #11205 of 11209 Old Yesterday, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSugino View Post
Is anyone else having a problem with AMC in channel 171? Instead of recording Halt and Catch Fire my box is showing a ONE MOMENT PLEASE box with a ref code. AMC on channel 36 is okay.

10:30pm UPDATE: Turns out it's a Comcast system problem and it's far worse than just one channel. I only checked from 169 - 220 and found about a dozen HD channels were out. Comcast support says their scheduled fix time is 2:00 am. If you've got problems, call and complain and ask for credit for the down time. I got a little over $16 in credit for my troubles.
Same here. Not sure when, but it's still an issue this morning. I lost my TruTV recordings overnight since it is down. I did call in, and they ended up resetting things, but still no change. I wonder if there was a channel map change. On my DTA, tuning into some channels took a few seconds delay. I tend to notice it does that if there is some mapping change. SciFi and TCM HD's are working. I went into the diagnostics on a 'dead' channel, and there was a signal there. It just won't tune it for some reason.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #11206 of 11209 Old Yesterday, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
Same here. Not sure when, but it's still an issue this morning. I lost my TruTV recordings overnight since it is down. I did call in, and they ended up resetting things, but still no change. I wonder if there was a channel map change. On my DTA, tuning into some channels took a few seconds delay. I tend to notice it does that if there is some mapping change. SciFi and TCM HD's are working. I went into the diagnostics on a 'dead' channel, and there was a signal there. It just won't tune it for some reason.
Yeah, the same channels are still dead here, too. I just spoke with Comcast support and they claim their issue was fixed last night at 2:00 am. They had me reset my box but still no progress. Ugh.

And look what I see on my Xfinity home page:



UPDATE 1: And as of 9:30, it looks like the channels are back. Finally.


UPDATE 2: And as of 9:40, it looks like the channels are dead again. Grrr...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2016-09-28 at 09.21.14.png
Views:	6
Size:	28.2 KB
ID:	1688681  

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.

Last edited by FSugino; Yesterday at 07:42 AM.
FSugino is online now  
post #11207 of 11209 Old Yesterday, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 53
At 9:45, seem to be back. I'm guessing they lost one or two MPEG4 bundle feeds.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
post #11208 of 11209 Old Yesterday, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 93
My On demand has flickering and sparkles (both picture and sound). I complained and they issued a $15 credit to my fee, but still no solution

______________
Thanks,
Jay
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #11209 of 11209 Old Today, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 53
From about 8:30pm to 9:00pm, my Internet went down, with the upstream light on the modem flashing (cannot establish upstream signal.) OnDemand also didn't work during that time.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off