Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 375 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2016, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
There was no mention of it in any bill that I can see, but FYI and Viceland have moved from Starter to Preferred. The only notice appears to have been on the Comcast forums.
http://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Channel...11/m-p/2803351

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2016, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Last two nights I am having issues of not getting channel 5. I get it fine the daytime, and I was getting it fine the last two years. Just issues the last two nights. I am getting all the other channels fine and have reprogrammed the tv, so not snl or sunday night football. Just curious if it is all on my end.

Thanks
DBall75 is offline  
Old 11-21-2016, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Are you sure you are talking about through Comcast? Reprogramming the TV should have nothing to do with reception, as that will be done by the cable box or DTA.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
 
Old 11-21-2016, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My fault wrong section. I ment OTA section. I did get reception back last night at 11. I also have it a strong signal this morning. Just have never had issues before, and I suppose I was not patient enough.
DBall75 is offline  
Old 11-21-2016, 06:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by wymann View Post
I clearly hear what sounds like very low bitrate audio, with a constant aliasing or ringing static noise and crackling that gets worse during loud action scenes. I clearly hear it on a 5.1 system and also just on TV speakers.
I sampled tonight's Supergirl episode and checked the audio.

Audio
ID : 4012 (0xFAC)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : 129
Duration : 1mn 0s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 384 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 2.76 MiB (4%)
Language : English

In short, it's a 384 Kbps audio stream (range for other channels is 128 - 448). So the bandwidth is there for a high fidelity audio. Whatever is making the sound come out crappy appears to be an encoder somewhere upstream from Comcast.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
Old 11-21-2016, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,640
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2211 Post(s)
Liked: 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSugino View Post
I sampled tonight's Supergirl episode and checked the audio.

Audio
ID : 4012 (0xFAC)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : 129
Duration : 1mn 0s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 384 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 2.76 MiB (4%)
Language : English

In short, it's a 384 Kbps audio stream (range for other channels is 128 - 448). So the bandwidth is there for a high fidelity audio. Whatever is making the sound come out crappy appears to be an encoder somewhere upstream from Comcast.
I'm in the SF bay area and our CW(KBCW) is a CBS affiliate and Supergirl should be a 5.1 audio signal. That may or may not have something to do with your audio problem.
Keenan is offline  
Old 11-21-2016, 07:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I'm in the SF bay area and our CW(KBCW) is a CBS affiliate and Supergirl should be a 5.1 audio signal. That may or may not have something to do with your audio problem.
Here in the Chicago area the CW used to be on WGN, which broadcasts in 1080i/5.1. They recently switched to WPWR (owned by our Fox affiliate), which broadcasts in 720p/2.0. So yeah, we've got some sort of re-encoding problem somewhere.

As I mentioned before, if the audio on WPWR is too annoying, you can always catch the episode in 1080i/5.1 via On Demand.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.

Last edited by FSugino; 11-22-2016 at 08:07 AM.
FSugino is online now  
Old 11-22-2016, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
The WPWR audio issue is NOT Comcast. It exists OTA, too. As I had mentioned in the OTA thread, WPWR is also owned by Fox, and is an obvious second step-child. It may be an older or misconfigured encoder/combiner for the main/CW, Movies!, and Buzzr channels.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old 12-04-2016, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
videoguy60467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Does anyone have any additional insight into why we now have the duplicate channels at 1000+ ???
videoguy60467 is offline  
Old 12-05-2016, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
It's Comcast trying to start laying out a national channel number setup.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old 12-05-2016, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right on cue, my December bill has the annual rate increase notice that other markets have received.
IE, regional sports fee increase, local broadcast fee increase and DTA increase to name just a few.

And as always, increase rates and delete channels.

Effective January 1, 2017:
Comcast will no longer carry Fox College Sports Atlantic, Fox College Sports Central
and Fox College Sports Pacific.
Spiderman865 is offline  
Old 12-08-2016, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Does anyone else have issues with recordings of programs on Outdoor Channel HD (330 and 1236)? They look like they've got all sorts of restrictions on them: when I try to play a file, I can't rewind, pause, or fast forward. When I try, I get a forbidden icon on the screen (screenshot below). Sometimes when I try to play it, I get a PROGRAM CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE message. None of my other recordings of other channels are affected, just programs on Outdoor Channel HD. The SD channel (406) records and plays back normally.

Another goofy problem: if I tune to the channel and decide to record whatever I'm watching on OCHD, I'll press the record button on the remote and get a message onscreen that my recording has started, but nothing is recorded to the DVR.




Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
Old 12-08-2016, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
oriolesmagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 74
This is the first these channel numbers have been seen. They don't correspond with the areas in Michigan, Indiana, Connecticut and the Southeast that have their HD channel numbers in the 1000's at all.
oriolesmagic is offline  
Old 12-09-2016, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSugino View Post
Does anyone else have issues with recordings of programs on Outdoor Channel HD (330 and 1236)? They look like they've got all sorts of restrictions on them: when I try to play a file, I can't rewind, pause, or fast forward. When I try, I get a forbidden icon on the screen (screenshot below). Sometimes when I try to play it, I get a PROGRAM CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE message. None of my other recordings of other channels are affected, just programs on Outdoor Channel HD. The SD channel (406) records and plays back normally.

Another goofy problem: if I tune to the channel and decide to record whatever I'm watching on OCHD, I'll press the record button on the remote and get a message onscreen that my recording has started, but nothing is recorded to the DVR.
I haven't seen something like that before. I did take a look at the diagnostics info (hit OK/Select quickly after turning box OFF, then go to CURRENT CHANNEL STATUS) for OCHD, but the DRM code and other info seem to match other channels.

On some channels (SyFy, BBC America and probably more), I have noticed that if I do a 30-sec skip too fast (not wait a second for the video to 'restart' between presses), then the 15-sec review doesn't really work, just backing up to the same point. This started with the MPEG4 changeover, although I don't have issues with most other MPEG4 channels.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old 12-09-2016, 09:21 AM
Member
 
TimfromSpfdIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oriolesmagic View Post
This is the first these channel numbers have been seen. They don't correspond with the areas in Michigan, Indiana, Connecticut and the Southeast that have their HD channel numbers in the 1000's at all.

And Comcast's ex-Insight systems downstate (at least here in Springfield) still have yet to see any channels in the 1000s (other than the test channel at 1995 that has since disappeared). And my latest bill included a revised channel lineup effective Jan. 1--doesn't look like any channel numbers above 1000 are coming here anytime soon.


I wouldn't be surprised if the next time Comcast is involved in a merger and has to divest some of their service territories, if most of the ex-Insight systems downstate might be on top of the list for being dumped off to Charter, Mediacom, etc.
TimfromSpfdIL is offline  
Old 12-09-2016, 10:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimfromSpfdIL View Post
I wouldn't be surprised if the next time Comcast is involved in a merger and has to divest some of their service territories, if most of the ex-Insight systems downstate might be on top of the list for being dumped off to Charter, Mediacom, etc.
Considering that Insight cable was actually a 50/50 partnership between themselves & Comcast before Insight started divesting their systems...I wouldn't be so sure about that...

http://corporate.comcast.com/news-in...st-partnership
dishrich is offline  
Old 12-13-2016, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Saw the price changes in my latest bill. Unlike previous lists, this one only lists the new prices, other than a summary at the front for some common ones. Older bills had two columns for old and new.

For me, the changes are:
Broadcast Fee: +$2 ($5 --> $7)
Sports Fee: +$2 ($3 --> $5)
DTA: +$2 ($3.99 --> $5.99)
Digital Preferred: No change
HD Tech: No change
DVR: No change
Performance HSI: +$9 ($55.95 --> $64.95) There is no longer a discount for having video service. What a ripoff, especially since I still only have 25/5!!!!!! (Blast! also goes up a nosebleed $9). It's obvious they don't want cord cutters.

This will put me just under $200, depending on how much taxes go up, or if I missed something.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old 12-14-2016, 06:44 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Just a note new channel 488 impact
anthony ippolito is online now  
Old 12-25-2016, 03:41 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Just a note my digital adapter shows up with channel 1436 VICEH and channel 1486 FYIHD
anthony ippolito is online now  
Old 12-26-2016, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I see them on my SD DTA, but only in the channel map in the diagnostics. Since they are otherwise locked out, I still have 3-digit auto-tuning. It looks like Comcast may eventually roll out that 1000 series 'national' numbering scheme to the DTA's soon.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old 01-13-2017, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Just got the first bill that includes the new prices. The main price went up $15 (9 + 2 + 2 + 2), but my bill was a bit less than $15 higher. The franchise fee (Schaumburg) fell from $7.44 to $7.18.

Otherwise, the only notes were that some Xfinity Latino packages were available, and others were changing names.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old 01-17-2017, 04:41 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Just a note in this month bill on March 14,2017 Esquire will no longer be available in the Digital Starter Package
anthony ippolito is online now  
Old 01-18-2017, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony ippolito View Post
Hello Just a note in this month bill on March 14,2017 Esquire will no longer be available in the Digital Starter Package
According to this article, it will no longer be available on cable at all.
Quote:
Esquire network will transition from cable to online channel
https://www.yahoo.com/news/esquire-n...210735230.html

Quote:
NBCUniversal to Shut Down Esquire Network Cable Channel, Relaunch Brand as Digital Platform (EXCLUSIVE)
http://variety.com/2017/tv/news/esqu...rk-1201962261/

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR

Last edited by andyross63; 01-18-2017 at 02:56 PM. Reason: More detailed info
andyross63 is offline  
Old 01-19-2017, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Just a note that V-me didn't renew it's PBS carriage agreement, so Comcast 368 (WTTW 11.4) is now airing PBS Kids. WYIN 56.3 Lakeshore Kids was dropped. Not sure if there is a broadcast signal, but Comcast has removed channel 376.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old 01-30-2017, 02:49 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony ippolito View Post
Hello Just a note my digital adapter shows up with channel 1436 VICEH and channel 1486 FYIHD
Hello Just a note the digital adapters no longer have channel 1436 VICEH and channel 1486 FYIHD
anthony ippolito is online now  
Old 01-31-2017, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Just saw WGN America HD is now on 223 and 1420.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Old Today, 06:11 AM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Just a note in this month bill no new channels added
anthony ippolito is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off