Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 375 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11221 of 11233 Old 11-20-2016, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 55
There was no mention of it in any bill that I can see, but FYI and Viceland have moved from Starter to Preferred. The only notice appears to have been on the Comcast forums.
http://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Channel...11/m-p/2803351

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11222 of 11233 Old 11-20-2016, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Last two nights I am having issues of not getting channel 5. I get it fine the daytime, and I was getting it fine the last two years. Just issues the last two nights. I am getting all the other channels fine and have reprogrammed the tv, so not snl or sunday night football. Just curious if it is all on my end.

Thanks
DBall75 is offline  
post #11223 of 11233 Old 11-21-2016, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Are you sure you are talking about through Comcast? Reprogramming the TV should have nothing to do with reception, as that will be done by the cable box or DTA.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #11224 of 11233 Old 11-21-2016, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My fault wrong section. I ment OTA section. I did get reception back last night at 11. I also have it a strong signal this morning. Just have never had issues before, and I suppose I was not patient enough.
DBall75 is offline  
post #11225 of 11233 Old 11-21-2016, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by wymann View Post
I clearly hear what sounds like very low bitrate audio, with a constant aliasing or ringing static noise and crackling that gets worse during loud action scenes. I clearly hear it on a 5.1 system and also just on TV speakers.
I sampled tonight's Supergirl episode and checked the audio.

Audio
ID : 4012 (0xFAC)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : 129
Duration : 1mn 0s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 384 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 2.76 MiB (4%)
Language : English

In short, it's a 384 Kbps audio stream (range for other channels is 128 - 448). So the bandwidth is there for a high fidelity audio. Whatever is making the sound come out crappy appears to be an encoder somewhere upstream from Comcast.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #11226 of 11233 Old 11-21-2016, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,360
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2073 Post(s)
Liked: 1801
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSugino View Post
I sampled tonight's Supergirl episode and checked the audio.

Audio
ID : 4012 (0xFAC)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : 129
Duration : 1mn 0s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 384 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 2.76 MiB (4%)
Language : English

In short, it's a 384 Kbps audio stream (range for other channels is 128 - 448). So the bandwidth is there for a high fidelity audio. Whatever is making the sound come out crappy appears to be an encoder somewhere upstream from Comcast.
I'm in the SF bay area and our CW(KBCW) is a CBS affiliate and Supergirl should be a 5.1 audio signal. That may or may not have something to do with your audio problem.
Keenan is online now  
post #11227 of 11233 Old 11-21-2016, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I'm in the SF bay area and our CW(KBCW) is a CBS affiliate and Supergirl should be a 5.1 audio signal. That may or may not have something to do with your audio problem.
Here in the Chicago area the CW used to be on WGN, which broadcasts in 1080i/5.1. They recently switched to WPWR (owned by our Fox affiliate), which broadcasts in 720p/2.0. So yeah, we've got some sort of re-encoding problem somewhere.

As I mentioned before, if the audio on WPWR is too annoying, you can always catch the episode in 1080i/5.1 via On Demand.

Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.

Last edited by FSugino; 11-22-2016 at 08:07 AM.
FSugino is online now  
post #11228 of 11233 Old 11-22-2016, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 55
The WPWR audio issue is NOT Comcast. It exists OTA, too. As I had mentioned in the OTA thread, WPWR is also owned by Fox, and is an obvious second step-child. It may be an older or misconfigured encoder/combiner for the main/CW, Movies!, and Buzzr channels.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #11229 of 11233 Old 12-04-2016, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
videoguy60467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Does anyone have any additional insight into why we now have the duplicate channels at 1000+ ???
videoguy60467 is offline  
post #11230 of 11233 Old 12-05-2016, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 55
It's Comcast trying to start laying out a national channel number setup.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #11231 of 11233 Old 12-05-2016, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right on cue, my December bill has the annual rate increase notice that other markets have received.
IE, regional sports fee increase, local broadcast fee increase and DTA increase to name just a few.

And as always, increase rates and delete channels.

Effective January 1, 2017:
Comcast will no longer carry Fox College Sports Atlantic, Fox College Sports Central
and Fox College Sports Pacific.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #11232 of 11233 Old Today, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FSugino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Does anyone else have issues with recordings of programs on Outdoor Channel HD (330 and 1236)? They look like they've got all sorts of restrictions on them: when I try to play a file, I can't rewind, pause, or fast forward. When I try, I get a forbidden icon on the screen (screenshot below). Sometimes when I try to play it, I get a PROGRAM CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE message. None of my other recordings of other channels are affected, just programs on Outdoor Channel HD. The SD channel (406) records and plays back normally.

Another goofy problem: if I tune to the channel and decide to record whatever I'm watching on OCHD, I'll press the record button on the remote and get a message onscreen that my recording has started, but nothing is recorded to the DVR.




Flicks? Here's my collection. And I've seen a lot, too.
FSugino is online now  
post #11233 of 11233 Old Today, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
oriolesmagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 74
This is the first these channel numbers have been seen. They don't correspond with the areas in Michigan, Indiana, Connecticut and the Southeast that have their HD channel numbers in the 1000's at all.
oriolesmagic is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off