El Paso, TX - HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 1798 Old 01-22-2006, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it seems like every sunday we have no signal from them it needs to be taken care of this is getting bad here
sf49ersnfl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 1798 Old 01-22-2006, 12:00 PM
Member
 
mkztg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rural OK between Lawton and Cache
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
try this:

http://www.kdbc.com/contact

Give them a call, if that doesn't work email the GM, I'll bet he/she doesn't even know about the problems. I'm going to email the "troubleshooter" and tell them how to fix the lack of signal in the NE of El Paso.
mkztg is offline  
post #363 of 1798 Old 01-22-2006, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
emailed got a failed to send email back

Final-Recipient: rfc822;troubleshooter@kdbc.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.1.1
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #364 of 1798 Old 01-22-2006, 12:25 PM
Member
 
mkztg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rural OK between Lawton and Cache
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried to email the GM, they have you do it through a web form and when you click submit it returns "Page can not be displayed"

At least they take care of their web site like they do their HD signal.... NOT.

just pathetic and typical work ethic here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sf49ersnfl View Post

emailed got a failed to send email back

Final-Recipient: rfc822;troubleshooter@kdbc.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.1.1

mkztg is offline  
post #365 of 1798 Old 01-22-2006, 12:33 PM
Member
 
mkztg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rural OK between Lawton and Cache
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the email I sent to troubleshooter bounced back too.

I tried the mmorgan address (programming)

We'll see. I can't believe the GM email form is broken... actually I can.
mkztg is offline  
post #366 of 1798 Old 01-22-2006, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hd signal is back up now but im still disappointed in their overall work with hd
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #367 of 1798 Old 01-22-2006, 12:57 PM
Member
 
mkztg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rural OK between Lawton and Cache
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At least you get their signal. These guys don't know how to plan for the future and the expansion of the city to the North East.

They need to put, if nothing else, a low power transmitter higher on the mountain so the whole city (ie North Hills) can get their signal.

I am so glad they aren't carrying the superbowl this year.. ABC is much better here... So is NBC and Fox.

Is it really in HD or 480i? Just curious.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sf49ersnfl View Post

hd signal is back up now but im still disappointed in their overall work with hd

mkztg is offline  
post #368 of 1798 Old 01-22-2006, 03:08 PM
Member
 
mkztg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rural OK between Lawton and Cache
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am glad the NFC game is on Fox and not CBS. At least I'll get to watch that one in HD.
mkztg is offline  
post #369 of 1798 Old 01-22-2006, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fox is the best as far as signal strength. Ive been able to get it for at least 2 years no problem here in cruces. I cant get abc too well but i know comcast will be trying to add it to its lineup like they added fox last year
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #370 of 1798 Old 01-27-2006, 03:40 PM
Member
 
KVIA Engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All:

I have not been to the site in quite a few days as some other responsibilites have been requiring my attention, so I am sorry for the late replys:

KVIA is having a problem with our HD system as I am sure you are noticing. Currently we are not able to Delay our HD programming. None of the TV networks feeds a live feed to the mountain time zone. That means that all the network programming is recorded and "delayed" by one hour. It is a real pain, as every other time zone gets a live feed from the networks!
Anyway, the piece of equipment is the ACSI receiver made by Tandberg, which feeds our Delay server. We can still broadcast LIVE HD, so the superbowl is not in jeopardy! All the regular primetime line up is not airable in HD now. We have already ordered an new ACSI receiver from a different manufacturer (KTECH). We are pushing them along as fast as possible, but they say it will probably arrive Thursday, Fed 2. Please bear with us. The good news is that the Tandberg receiver has been problematic and unreliable since we first installed it, and I am glad to be getting it out of our system.

Some of you had some questions on HD broadcasts over the cable systems. These negotiations are handled by our corporate ownership, and us local guys have no say or control over what happens. It has taken a long time, but I have been told that we are very close to signing an agreement with both Comcast and Time Warner. I know that the Super Bowl has been a big bargaining chip for both sides and my gut feeling is that we will be on both systems in time for the super bowl. Now I warn you, that is just a hunch on my part. I have no real information to go on, so if the super bowl comes and goes and we are not on the cable systems in HD, don't be too mad at me!

Everyone take care and I will be visiting this site frequently over the next few days to update you on the progress of our HD repair.

Chris
KVIA Engineering is offline  
post #371 of 1798 Old 01-28-2006, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your info Chris! I also have a hunch that kvia-hd will be on comcast before the super bowl because comcast had fox up just in time for the super bowl last year.
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #372 of 1798 Old 01-30-2006, 06:12 AM
Member
 
HarryinLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info Chris. It sounds like a lot of the equipment for the DTV/HD transmission and such are a real pain. I guess you can attribute it to being new technology. Keep up the good work.
HarryinLC is offline  
post #373 of 1798 Old 01-30-2006, 10:51 AM
Member
 
KVIA Engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HarryinLC:

Your right about the equipment problems being unusually high in the HD world. It is really embarrassing to be having as many problems as we have had.
When the FCC mandated Digital Transmission, no stations wanted to do it as it meant they had to spend a lot of money for something that had no revenue stream. So all the stations in the country dragged their feet. Equipment manufactures did not want to manufacture a bunch of equipment that was going to sit on the shelves and become outdated before it was even sold so they dragged their feet.
As the deadlines approached, all of a sudden, every station in the country needed equipment at the same time, and the manufactures had a massive number of orders to fill in a very short time period. As a result, the market got flooded with "slapped together" encoders, receivers, transmitters, and on and on.
Just now are we starting to see improved equipment coming on the market, and a varitey of manufactures getting into the game, so there are some purchasing options which did not exist 3 years ago.
Things will get better, thanks for hanging in there with us!!!

Chris
KVIA Engineering is offline  
post #374 of 1798 Old 01-30-2006, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

Any news on the negotiations with the cable companies yet?
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #375 of 1798 Old 01-31-2006, 04:15 PM
Member
 
KVIA Engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi sf49ersnfl:

I can't say anything today on the cable issue, but check back tomorrow. I think I will have some good news to announce!

Chris
KVIA Engineering is offline  
post #376 of 1798 Old 01-31-2006, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hopefully its better then this an email from comcast but they have been wrong before!

Thank you for your recent email regarding the addition of new channels.

Unfortunately, with the time remaining and due to the lengthy process of contract negotiations, Comcast will not broadcast the Super Bowl in HDTV.

We apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Charlotte
Customer Care Specialist

Original Message Follows:
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #377 of 1798 Old 02-01-2006, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kvia-Hd on comcast channel 210! Thank You Chris and KVIA for keeping us informed and getting your channel on comcast for us in cruces!
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #378 of 1798 Old 02-01-2006, 11:22 AM
Member
 
KVIA Engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

KVIA HD will indeed be on Comcast channel 210. Its a done deal. From our end we are already working to hook everything up. I hope to have some good news regarding Time Warner later this afternoon.

Chris
KVIA Engineering is offline  
post #379 of 1798 Old 02-01-2006, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great sounds like its running smoothly. Chris, can you let us know when the signal is up on comcast. Thanks!
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #380 of 1798 Old 02-01-2006, 03:22 PM
Member
 
KVIA Engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All

KVIA HD is going to be on Time Warner channel 1305. Hopefully we will be on Time Warner in a couple of hours with the HD. I will let everyone know when we patch to Comcast, but I hope it will be before friday.

Remember, our Delay system is still messed up. The new receiver should be here on Friday, so that will obviously affect the product we are sending to the cable companies. The Super Bowl is not in jeopardy though!

Chris
KVIA Engineering is offline  
post #381 of 1798 Old 02-02-2006, 12:15 PM
Member
 
memikee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for keeping us informed Chris,

Remember us folks up north in Alamogordo don't get TimeWarner/Comcast so we appreciate your efforts on keeping the OTA signal up!

42P-HDRA
H-10
memikee is offline  
post #382 of 1798 Old 02-02-2006, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

Im just curious is your station capable of dolby digital 5.1?
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #383 of 1798 Old 02-02-2006, 02:26 PM
Member
 
KVIA Engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All

Don't worry about our OTA signal. Those are still our highest prioriety. Unfortunately, we are not 5.1 dolby digital. That was cut for cost savings when we installed our system. That is a bad reason I know, but it is the truth. We don't have a deadline yet to correct this. I would like to say we will address it in late 2006, but I can't say for sure as it depends on other expenses. If too many things break, we spend our money fixing them! I will let you all know if I get any positive news...or negative for that matter!

Enjoy the game.
Chris
KVIA Engineering is offline  
post #384 of 1798 Old 02-05-2006, 02:40 PM
Member
 
mkztg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rural OK between Lawton and Cache
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Super Bowl pre-game is lookin' good.. Thanks Chris!

Thank god it isn't on CBS....

EDIT:

The whole game was great quality, thanks Chris. you had me scared when the audio went out right before the kick off and the video switched to SD.... then everything kicked back in correctly before the game actually started.

some of the commercials were even in HD. That was cool.

Thanks again Chris for your hard work at making the game in HD a success.
mkztg is offline  
post #385 of 1798 Old 02-05-2006, 08:30 PM
Member
 
mkztg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rural OK between Lawton and Cache
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

What the heck was the surround sound test with the space shuttle for right after Gray's Anatomy?

just wondering.
mkztg is offline  
post #386 of 1798 Old 02-05-2006, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
maybe testing dd 5.1
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #387 of 1798 Old 02-06-2006, 10:29 AM
Member
 
HarryinLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to add my cudos to Chris on a great job for the game. Was very enjoyable to watch and no problems in Las Cruces.

Good job Chris and KVIA.
HarryinLC is offline  
post #388 of 1798 Old 02-06-2006, 11:03 AM
Member
 
KVIA Engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All:

Glad the game aired well. That always makes me nervous. Sorry about that test pattern thing after the game. That was the end of the HD transmission from network and the Master Control Operator forgot to switch the HD back to our Delay system off our live system. Pretty sloppy on our part. He has been reprimanded.

I really want to thank everyone here for your help with our HD product. I know it takes time to come here and note issues and problems; however your comments are invaluable to us in helping us identify and troubleshoot problems. As always, let me know where you are seeing the glitches so we can clean it up.

Chris
KVIA Engineering is offline  
post #389 of 1798 Old 02-08-2006, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 1,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Time Warner in El Paso has recently added not only ABCHD (Yes! Thanks KVIA/Chris!) they have also added Universal HD and an NBA PPV HD channel to the lineup.
Abaddon is offline  
post #390 of 1798 Old 02-08-2006, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
EricT43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you need the HD package from them to get these channels? Or is that only for HBO and Showtime?
EricT43 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off