El Paso, TX - HDTV - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1797 Old 05-25-2006, 08:16 PM
Member
 
JoBoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris had mentioned earlier in this thread that they do not get a 'live' feed from ABC for a lot of primetime programming so they have to record said programming and then replay it as needed.(I think our timezone was the reason) The equipment needed to record this feed is what has been giving them problems (which is why live events are fine, they bypass that piece of equipment). Still, this has been going on for a good while and it's getting rather bothersome. Thankfully they were able to get Lost going about 15 minutes into the finale, so that made me happy. Now I wont have to worry about it for some time as there's not much else I watch on ABC that isn't sports.
JoBoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1797 Old 05-25-2006, 08:43 PM
Member
 
mkztg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rural OK between Lawton and Cache
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JoBoo: thanks for the info, I must have missed that from earlier, it makes sense because of our time zone.

Thanks.
mkztg is offline  
post #453 of 1797 Old 06-01-2006, 12:34 AM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its been about a month or so and no sign of kdbc-hd on comcast
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #454 of 1797 Old 06-12-2006, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
tom_servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everybody. I recently got an Air2PC (1st generation) tuner card for my PC. And I cannot get the blasted thing to work; I bought one of those UHF rabbit eared antenna - shouldn't I be getting at least some fuzz or is that not possible? Anybody else own this card and has gotten it to work? How? Thanks!
tom_servo is offline  
post #455 of 1797 Old 06-12-2006, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for las cruces comcast viewers, espn 2 hd has been added to the lineup. The comcast hd lineup is now as follows.

210- KVIA-HD(ABC)
211- KTSM-HD(NBC)
213- KFOX-HD(FOX)
220- PBS-HD
225- Discovery HD
226- InHD
227- Inhd2
228- HBO HD
233- Cinemax HD
238- Showtime HD
248- Starz HD
249- TNT HD
252- ESPN HD
253- HD PPV
254- ESPN 2 HD
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #456 of 1797 Old 07-09-2006, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
KVIA Blows it again!!!!!!!!! No HD OTA for the World Cup Finale. This station should have their license revoked or who ever was in charge of the control room should be fired. !

FRANK43 is offline  
post #457 of 1797 Old 07-09-2006, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wow i was at work during the world cup finals. I would of been one unhappy camper!
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #458 of 1797 Old 07-16-2006, 10:30 AM
Newbie
 
bzlnv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any1 knows what happened to PBS-HD in El Paso?
bzlnv8 is offline  
post #459 of 1797 Old 07-16-2006, 11:34 AM
Member
 
memikee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its been out all week up here in Alamo...0% signal

42P-HDRA
H-10
memikee is offline  
post #460 of 1797 Old 07-17-2006, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
KCOS OTA HD siganl has not been on in El Paso since they moved. I e-mailed them again today. Let you know when I get a reply or they are back up.

Frank

FRANK43 is offline  
post #461 of 1797 Old 07-19-2006, 09:58 PM
Member
 
memikee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks Frank

42P-HDRA
H-10
memikee is offline  
post #462 of 1797 Old 07-23-2006, 08:44 PM
Newbie
 
bzlnv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.
bzlnv8 is offline  
post #463 of 1797 Old 07-30-2006, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
HI All,

This is from the KCOS web site, I never did receive any e-mail reply.

ALL KCOS PROGRAMMING IS BACK TO ITS REGULAR SCHEDULE!

KCOS DIGITAL IS BACK ON TIME WARNER CABLE!

WE ARE STILL WORKING ON DIGITAL OVER THE AIR. WE HOPE TO HAVE THIS BACK EARLY NEXT WEEK.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATIENTS!!!

FRANK43 is offline  
post #464 of 1797 Old 08-02-2006, 01:46 PM
Newbie
 
prthealien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone able to get KDBC-DT? I live in the Northeast side (North Hills) and its the only station that I can't get . I'm wondering if its my antenna or their station ...
prthealien is offline  
post #465 of 1797 Old 08-02-2006, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi

They have been of the OTA since yesterday and today so far. Have you ever been able to recieve them? Do you have line of site with their antenna. It is the last one or second to last on the mountain towards the city. I have always been able to get thier signal unless the are off the air.

Frank

FRANK43 is offline  
post #466 of 1797 Old 08-03-2006, 11:00 PM
Newbie
 
prthealien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRANK43 View Post

Hi

They have been of the OTA since yesterday and today so far. Have you ever been able to recieve them? Do you have line of site with their antenna. It is the last one or second to last on the mountain towards the city. I have always been able to get thier signal unless the are off the air.

Frank

No, I've never been able to get the station, except for 2-3 times ever. I don't know if I have line of site with their antenna. What kind of antenna are you using? I have an indoor antenna that's similar to this one:

prthealien is offline  
post #467 of 1797 Old 08-04-2006, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi,

Can you pick up thier analog signal with you indoor antenna? If you can't then you probably don't have a good line of site. Try going farther up in you house or attic! or even on your roof just to see if you can get a signal. I live down near Veterans Park and I can see all the stations antennas. I have an outside antenna from Radio Shack . With digital it is all or nothing but you don't need much signal strength maybe even a 2 on a full strength of 10. Channel 4 is about 9. By the way can you pick up kvia, ktsm and fox? KDBC AND KCOS are currently of the air. I'll let you know when KDBC is back up

FRANK43 is offline  
post #468 of 1797 Old 08-05-2006, 11:54 AM
Member
 
memikee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Frank, I hope you (and everyone else!) and your friends weathered the storms allright.

-mike

42P-HDRA
H-10
memikee is offline  
post #469 of 1797 Old 08-07-2006, 05:54 AM
Member
 
KennyEddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this has been covered before. I haven't watched much NBC since getting my HD but now that football season is back, I see that their feed pixelizes something awful when the camera pans. It's not TWC because the OTA signal shows it too.

Is this KTSM or is this the NBC feed?? Do you know if anyone has tried to contact whoever is at fault?
KennyEddy is offline  
post #470 of 1797 Old 08-07-2006, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
sf49ersnfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the pixelated football game last night was a nationwide thing, not just a ktsm thing, check out the hdtv programming topic on the game.
sf49ersnfl is offline  
post #471 of 1797 Old 08-08-2006, 04:50 PM
Member
 
c_hernandez32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Far West Texas
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will KVIA broadcast the news in HD? Yesterday or Sunday for a minute there was a high def feed of someone closing the clapper to check for audio sync at 10pm. It happened for a minute. Nothing special just a pair of hands repeatedly clapping the clapper. But the image was crystal clear and sharp, very life like. I'll be stunned if I see KVIA broadcast the news in HD.
c_hernandez32 is offline  
post #472 of 1797 Old 08-09-2006, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So will I, since they don't broadcast Good Morning America and Good Morning America Weekend in HD even thought he programs are in HD nationally. They are to busy bragging about thier news ratings than worring about what they show in HD.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #473 of 1797 Old 08-12-2006, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Channell 13, (30) El Paso PBS' OTA signal is back up today Saterday!

FRANK43 is offline  
post #474 of 1797 Old 08-12-2006, 09:34 PM
Newbie
 
bzlnv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PBS-HD for El Paso is back on, but KDBC-DT CBS still out, Any updates on this one?

Thanks
bzlnv8 is offline  
post #475 of 1797 Old 08-13-2006, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I e-mailed KDBC' engineering Aug 04 and they said they expected replacement equipment, which was damaged in the rains, to be in no later than Aug 09 06, which has obviously past. I'll try to email them later this week.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #476 of 1797 Old 08-14-2006, 03:51 PM
Newbie
 
trstock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anyone who can pick up KSCE-DT? I thought I saw it several weeks ago, but I have since done some channel scans and I'm not getting it anymore.
trstock is offline  
post #477 of 1797 Old 08-14-2006, 04:28 PM
Member
 
Viking 29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by memikee View Post

Its been out all week up here in Alamo...0% signal


Hey Memikee, ive got a few questions for you about getting HDTV in alamogordo. Can u tell me what equipment youre running to get it all the way up here? I am tired of watching national games in SD. I live down on Snow Drive close to college and Indian wells and i was wondering how hard it's gonna be to get the signal here. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Viking 29 is offline  
post #478 of 1797 Old 08-15-2006, 08:16 AM
Member
 
memikee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a ChannelMaster 4228 antenna, a CM 7777 amp (helps but can get by without it), and use a Voom receiver, an ATI HDTV card for the PC, and DirecTv HD box as my three tuners. Signal runs without artifacts or interruptions, especially during the games. PBS and CBS can be iffy, Fox, ABC, and NBC are very solid. My locale is upper Tenth St (next to mountain). You're welcome to stop by and check out my setup.

42P-HDRA
H-10
memikee is offline  
post #479 of 1797 Old 08-15-2006, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
KDBC was back on with thier OFA signal as of Monday Afternoon.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #480 of 1797 Old 08-15-2006, 05:20 PM
Member
 
Viking 29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That sounds good, what is your address? Sounds to me like u live up in the sun streets. I also have Directv so i definitely would be interested in seeing how u set it up. Thanks a bunch man.
Viking 29 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off