El Paso, TX - HDTV - Page 62 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1831 of 1860 Old 11-02-2014, 09:08 AM
Newbie
 
UltraHD4K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KVIA looks good OTA! Las Cruces translator OTA is not feed in HD 16:9.

The Fox London game was a network issue rather than an affiliate issue. I saw the same problem here in Alamogordo with a different TV affiliate.

11/2/14
UltraHD4K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1832 of 1860 Old 11-02-2014, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltraHD4K View Post
KVIA looks good OTA! Las Cruces translator OTA is not feed in HD 16:9.

The Fox London game was a network issue rather than an affiliate issue. I saw the same problem here in Alamogordo with a different TV affiliate.

11/2/14
Fox must be having trouble again with network feed. Pregame audio is all messed up on Dish. OTA it is OK but picture is not HD. It is 16:9 but not good quality, not sharp and clear. Last night just flipping trough channels the college game on fox was also messed up audio. The local commercials seem OK and HD OTA, have not checked Dish.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #1833 of 1860 Old 11-02-2014, 02:21 PM
Member
 
artiepenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NE Las Cruces, NM near Onate HS
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRANK43 View Post
Seemed OK on the OTA antenna and Dish for local news and Good morning America.
Yeah, it looks like the issue is only on DirecTV. Can someone else confirm if KVIA is in HD on Time Warner and Comcast? I guess the local DirecTV site where they get local station feeds and beam them to the satellite cannot use an OTA antenna instead of a direct feed from the station (or at least KVIA).
artiepenguin is online now  
post #1834 of 1860 Old 11-02-2014, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
On Time Warner, I have not seen any video issues on KVIA, just the usual audio stutter especially on local content. My complaint is that the CW is now in 16 X 9 SD (480i). I called the cable company and told them that the only two reasons I take the local channels from them is to get KRWG from NMSU rather than our sad PBS affiliate and to get the CW in HD. Amazingly, the service representative understood my complaint and at least said he would send a report 'further up'.
Also, while I have been gone, it seems Mynetwork programming from 6PM to 8PM on weeknights from KDBC-02 is in 16 X9 SD. It is not too bad and they have some good re-runs from recent primetime shows.
Mister B is offline  
post #1835 of 1860 Old 11-02-2014, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
There were big problems with the KVIA feed of the CW to Time Warner Thursday. Everything was squished into the center of the screen. The picture was probably less than 1/4 of the screen. It was back to 16:9 on Friday but I don't remember if cable had it at 480i or 1080i. Didn't really matter to me since I wouldn't be recording the CW again until Monday night.

Like you, the only reason I have basic cable to get the CW in HD (don't need KRWG since I can get KCOS over the air in HD). Even so, it is getting too expensive to justify that much longer.

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER

Last edited by mreedelp; 11-02-2014 at 06:37 PM.
mreedelp is offline  
post #1836 of 1860 Old 11-03-2014, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by artiepenguin View Post
Yeah, it looks like the issue is only on DirecTV. Can someone else confirm if KVIA is in HD on Time Warner and Comcast? I guess the local DirecTV site where they get local station feeds and beam them to the satellite cannot use an OTA antenna instead of a direct feed from the station (or at least KVIA).
http://www.kvia.com/news/work-being-...rectv/29503510

FRANK43 is offline  
post #1837 of 1860 Old 11-03-2014, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Since Friday KFOX has been airing The Big Bang Theory reruns in really bad quality. Everyone in the show is turning into blocks. Has anyone noticed this happening on other KFOX shows.
cube799 is online now  
post #1838 of 1860 Old 11-04-2014, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes, I noticed the re-run on KFOX in poor quality. I thought they may be degrading their signal as it seems the CW has done. These local stations are just pitiful. I have been staying with relatives and watching TV out of Yuma, AZ. Their DMA is ranked #159 while ours is at 74, according to rabbitears.info. Although they do not even have an ABC affiliate, what they do have seems more professional than ours. I do not like to post negative comments which reflect badly on our city, but there is certainly room for improvement.
Mister B is offline  
post #1839 of 1860 Old 11-13-2014, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yesterday, I dropped the local channels from Time Warner. As I had posted earlier, I was only interested in getting the CW in HD and KRWG from Las Cruces. It appears that either TW or KVIA have no intention of delivering the CW in HD anymore. Now that it is in 16X9 480i they must feel that is good enough. It no doubt cost one or both parties involved some fee to run that dedicated HD line. Although disappointing, the picture on OTA 7-2 is noticeably better than the cable version.
In regards to KRWG, I sat down twice to watch a show and it was just a small square of color bars in the center of the screen. I have never seen any channel with just that size and style of color bars and my inclination is that again the digital line to Las Cruces was down.
All in all, it was just not worth paying for.
Mister B is offline  
post #1840 of 1860 Old 11-13-2014, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister B View Post
Yesterday, I dropped the local channels from Time Warner. As I had posted earlier, I was only interested in getting the CW in HD and KRWG from Las Cruces. It appears that either TW or KVIA have no intention of delivering the CW in HD anymore. Now that it is in 16X9 480i they must feel that is good enough. It no doubt cost one or both parties involved some fee to run that dedicated HD line. Although disappointing, the picture on OTA 7-2 is noticeably better than the cable version.
In regards to KRWG, I sat down twice to watch a show and it was just a small square of color bars in the center of the screen. I have never seen any channel with just that size and style of color bars and my inclination is that again the digital line to Las Cruces was down.
All in all, it was just not worth paying for.
The CW through KVIA 7-2 never was in HD. There is not enough bandwidth allocated by the government to run 2 stations in HD. They are squeezing 4 stations in that small amount of bandwidth and all of them suffer picture quality degradation. At the least they should drop the stupid weather, 7.3 and 7-4 Spanish speaking programs, I think, Like there aren't enough Spanish language programs already locally and from Mexico and use it for 7-1 for a better HD picture.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #1841 of 1860 Old 11-14-2014, 04:55 AM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
He was talking about the HD available on cable, not OTA. TWC provided The CW in 1080i 16:9 until several weeks ago when KVIA had their equipment problems. Now TWC only provides 480i 16:9 via basic cable. Don't know if they still provide it via a set-top box (the high channel numbers) because I refuse to rent one just for one channel.

If the signal from TWC isn't fixed soon, I will be dropping my basic cable at the end of December.

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER
mreedelp is offline  
post #1842 of 1860 Old 11-14-2014, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
No, the picture on the CW was the same 16X9 480i whether tuned to cable channel 13 or 1212. I had the HD DVR.
Speaking of two HD channels on the same frequency, have any other members noticed the two 1080i signals on 32-1 and 32-2 from Juarez as well as the two HD's on 11-1 and 11-2? They both look pretty good at least on my 40 inch set. I even suspected they were not actually transmitting on the same real RF frequency but were using PSIP trickery to display as such. This happens in the Los Angles area where the airwaves are so crowded that a major station will lease space on a minor broadcasters frequency for their sub-channels. However, I dug down through the menu in regards to the Juarez stations and found that they do indeed both broadcast on the same real channel. I believe it is 29 for virtual 32 and 34 for 11. So, it can be done and evidently they have the latest technology across the river.
Mister B is offline  
post #1843 of 1860 Old 11-14-2014, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
(Another Thought) MReedELP, that clear QAM you are using to receive the basic local cable channels without renting a box is rapidly disappearing in other cities as is any analog cable. It has been gone for some time both in the Los Angeles and Phoenix areas. Even here, Time Warner does not offer the option to get cable without any box for new subscribers. They do offer a "free" box which only outputs an SD channel 3. I was surprised that the day after I cancelled cable TV they sent a technician out to climb the pole and put a trap on the line so I could not steal the old analog channels 2 through 99 ( I would not bother) as I still have the internet service from them. That is a great incentive for cable companies to get rid of all analog and clear QAM so internet only customers can not get anything else out of the cable and no traps are needed.
Mister B is offline  
post #1844 of 1860 Old 11-14-2014, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I watched the CW on basic cable digital channel 7-2, not analog channel 13. My TV reported it as 1080i 16:9 while reporting the OTA signal as 480i 16:9 (was 4:3 until recently). Now it reports it as 480i 16:9 on both.

I'm sure when COMCAST takes over we will see a big change. They encrypt everything.

Stations can broadcast in 1080i 16:9 (or even 720p 16:9) on multiple sub-channels if they shell out the money for the equipment. Most stations don't because they aren't making enough profits to do so (or say they aren't). KVIA and KFOX refuse to upgrade to 1080i. KFOX and KDBC are now owned by the same company and work out of the same building now, but they apparently brought the KDBC equipment which broadcasts in 1080i over from the old building. You would hope that they both had the same equipment.
But no.

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER

Last edited by mreedelp; 11-14-2014 at 10:17 AM.
mreedelp is offline  
post #1845 of 1860 Old 11-14-2014, 10:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Why would KFOX or KVIA transmit in 1080i when the FOX and ABC network feeds are provided in 720p?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #1846 of 1860 Old 11-14-2014, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Didn't know that. Then ABC and FOX should upgrade!

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER
mreedelp is offline  
post #1847 of 1860 Old 11-14-2014, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Why would KFOX or KVIA transmit in 1080i when the FOX and ABC network feeds are provided in 720p?

- Trip
A lot of debate over which is better, 720P or 1080I but your HD TV will upgrade or downgrade to what you have it set to display. I have mine set to 1080I, never could see any difference, and figured it was better to have it upgrade 2 networks to 1080 than downgrade 3. Why ABC and FOX picked 720P I don't know.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #1848 of 1860 Old 11-14-2014, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Since the World Cup TV Azteca Channel 11 stopped showing 11-2 in HD, now it's 480I. Televisa Channel 32 has had double HD since June. Both channels are using 9mbps, and the weird thing is that they actually look good even when they show soccer games. I heard that the reason the channel looks good is, because they use mpg4 compression.
cube799 is online now  
post #1849 of 1860 Old 11-14-2014, 10:46 PM
Newbie
 
UltraHD4K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube799 View Post
Since the World Cup TV Azteca Channel 11 stopped showing 11-2 in HD, now it's 480I. Televisa Channel 32 has had double HD since June. Both channels are using 9mbps, and the weird thing is that they actually look good even when they show soccer games. I heard that the reason the channel looks good is, because they use mpg4 compression.
MPEG-4 compression is the answer. Televisa Network (XHJCI) is using MPEG-4 encoders for DTV OTA 32.1 & 32.2. to allow the same HD video signals under the same frequency. The .2 channel is dedicated for local commercials and TWC is getting the .2 channel OTA for cable distribution. When a PPV sports airs on 32.1 they can block 32.2 for TWC this is part of the service agreements.

ABC & FOX Network requirements for local TV affiliates opt for 720p because is better on fast motion like sports events, at least this format was implemented in the late 90's to run sports events at 60fps under MPEG-2 compression.

CBS & NBC choose 1080i standard at 30fps for MPEG-2 compression. At the end it's all about the same mathematical values for 720p and 1080i standards. All this was implementing in the 90's when DTV's lack better technology that now we have with advance video processing DTV's and frame rate doesn't matter too much.

Upconvert from 720p to 1080i don't exist.
Downconvert from 1080i to 720p don't exist.
The right terminology is "crossconvert" because we are cross-converting signals.
UltraHD4K is offline  
post #1850 of 1860 Old 11-17-2014, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
KDBC seems to be screwing up a bit. Early Sunday morning they showed the same episode of Today's Homeowner for the third week in a row. Just now in the time slot for The Price Is Right they started showing The Young and The Restless. Then after about 20 seconds switched to The Price Is Right.

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER
mreedelp is offline  
post #1851 of 1860 Old 11-17-2014, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mreedelp View Post
KDBC seems to be screwing up a bit. Early Sunday morning they showed the same episode of Today's Homeowner for the third week in a row. Just now in the time slot for The Price Is Right they started showing The Young and The Restless. Then after about 20 seconds switched to The Price Is Right.
Missed that flub, but I know KDBC is having some audio problems at times in the beginning of some prime time shows. It clears up in a minute or so.

KFOX, which owns KDBC, via Sinclair broadcasting, and they are both in the same building continues to have HD problems especially on Sunday football games. Falling out of HD and 5.1 Dolby sound. This happens oTA and on Dish satellite.

KVIA continues to have audio hicups and had major outage with direct tv for quite awhile. I guess they got that fixed. Now I can email them again about the audio hic up although it was much worse and they said they were waiting on a part.

KTSM has a PSIP guide data problem. They are about 10 minutes slow. I have a HD OTA recorder and it get its guide information and time via PSIP. I have to add 2 minutes to the start of every program. I have emailed the engineer and the station, through their web site contact us link twice since last week with no response. The PSIP guide info is FCC required to be with in a few seconds and full description of the shows and ratings. The guides are accurate on Dish but that comes from TVGUIDE.

Every major network in this town has gone to hell. They keep getting sold and bought and nobody cares about the viewers only self promoting about how great their Tabloid style news and weather is.


Last edited by FRANK43; 11-17-2014 at 02:10 PM.
FRANK43 is offline  
post #1852 of 1860 Old 11-20-2014, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The CW on channel 7-2 digital basic cable is back to 1080i 16:9. I may not be dropping it next month after all.

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER
mreedelp is offline  
post #1853 of 1860 Old 11-27-2014, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well, it's back to screw up (as far as I can tell, it started on Monday, November 24). The CW on basic cable channel 7:2 is still identifying as 1080i 16:9, but the picture is squished to 4:3. On my TV I can go to widescreen instead of 16:9 and it looks okay. But on my recorder, it only gets slightly bigger. This is getting pathetic. Why can't TWC and KVIA work to maintain the correct aspect?

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER
mreedelp is offline  
post #1854 of 1860 Old 11-29-2014, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yesterday I first noticed extremely low or inconsistent audio on channel 14-1. I did not think much of it until later, I had the same problem on 4-2. I have recently made some changes in my system and one becomes concerned when a problem manifests on different frequencies. I actually checked my cables and settings. Then during "Judge Judy" on channel 4-1 the same thing was happening and I realized that all of these channels are now broadcasting from the same facility. Indeed, as soon as they switched to local commercials the problems was cleared. They really should put up a notice ,"sorry we are experiencing audio difficulties", so viewers don't think it is their problem. By the way I am OTA only now with an older Tivo model and Netflix DVD's.
As long as I am on a rant, I find the "new CBS 4" news to be worse than when it came out of the back room at Channel 9. Yes, they have a new set, but it is the same news pieces that are seen on KFOX. At least the "Old" channel 4 had a real meteorologist. Now the co-anchor gets up for about one minute and gives a very brief weather segment. A couple of days ago she could not even read the script and referred to cold air when it was obviously meant to be dry air and said that skies would be clear for the next 48 days. Now that is a long term forecast!
Mister B is offline  
post #1855 of 1860 Old 11-29-2014, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister B View Post
Yesterday I first noticed extremely low or inconsistent audio on channel 14-1. I did not think much of it until later, I had the same problem on 4-2. I have recently made some changes in my system and one becomes concerned when a problem manifests on different frequencies. I actually checked my cables and settings. Then during "Judge Judy" on channel 4-1 the same thing was happening and I realized that all of these channels are now broadcasting from the same facility. Indeed, as soon as they switched to local commercials the problems was cleared. They really should put up a notice ,"sorry we are experiencing audio difficulties", so viewers don't think it is their problem. By the way I am OTA only now with an older Tivo model and Netflix DVD's.
As long as I am on a rant, I find the "new CBS 4" news to be worse than when it came out of the back room at Channel 9. Yes, they have a new set, but it is the same news pieces that are seen on KFOX. At least the "Old" channel 4 had a real meteorologist. Now the co-anchor gets up for about one minute and gives a very brief weather segment. A couple of days ago she could not even read the script and referred to cold air when it was obviously meant to be dry air and said that skies would be clear for the next 48 days. Now that is a long term forecast!
Noticed same problems. Last night during the last 10 minutes or so of "sleepy Hollow" the switched from HD to standard just like the problems they have been having on some sundays with football. Have eamailed but nobody answers or fixes problems. By the way you must be an "0ld timer" like me, stations haven't put up "we are experiencing technical problems" messages for years. They don't care !! I have OTA and dish and spend lots of time fiddling only to figure out it must be a station problem since everything works OK on other stations. KTSM is so far off on their OTA PSIP guide data time since daylight saving time ended, that I have to add 2 minutes to all my OTA recordings. This town has gone to pot. They all need an FCC investigation, especially PSIP time which is a FCC violation.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #1856 of 1860 Old 11-29-2014, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I recorded Hot In Cleveland on 14.1 OTA at 3:00 AM this morning (Saturday) and the sound was nothing but static. So the problems only got worse overnight.

I'm again getting ready to ditch my basic cable because they can't keep 7-2 (CW) at 1080i 16:9 like they used to. But I can't stand the OTA at 480i 16:9. On a 46" screen, it is terrible.

EDIT 12/2: The CW on basic cable 7-2 is back to a good 16:9 picture aspect. Let's see how long it lasts this time.

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER

Last edited by mreedelp; 12-02-2014 at 05:00 PM.
mreedelp is offline  
post #1857 of 1860 Old 12-09-2014, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How could such a little storm knock out KVIA and KTSM OTA signals? Fortunately, I don't record anything on them tonight until 8PM so they have time to get the signals back.

Edit: Looks like both came back on around 9:30. Thanks a lot!

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER

Last edited by mreedelp; 12-10-2014 at 05:45 AM.
mreedelp is offline  
post #1858 of 1860 Old 12-10-2014, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mreedelp View Post
How could such a little storm knock out KVIA and KTSM OTA signals? Fortunately, I don't record anything on them tonight until 8PM so they have time to get the signals back.

Edit: Looks like both came back on around 9:30. Thanks a lot!
Ya to late for once upon a time and missed most of forever. Unbelievable and no mention of it on either news casts. first commercial I saw was el paso electric bragging about all thier new upgrades for better service. Twice in less than a 2weeks. Once here in the north east on Nov 30 and the stations out last night. didn't loose electric but lights were flickering just before KTSM went off air. Nothing on news or website this morning either. I thought all these stations had backup generators.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #1859 of 1860 Unread Today, 08:32 PM
Member
 
artiepenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NE Las Cruces, NM near Onate HS
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRANK43 View Post
First commercial I saw was El Paso Electric bragging about all their new upgrades for better service. Twice in less than 2 weeks. Once here in the north east on Nov 30 and the stations last night. Didn't loose electric but lights were flickering just before KTSM went off air. Nothing on news or website this morning either. I thought all these stations had backup generators.
They should have backup generators; the issue might have been with the uplink to the transmitting antenna or the downlink from the network satellites.

On another note, the football coverage last night from KVIA was not that good. I only saw the intro and some recaps but it looked like they were using analog equipment somewhere on the transmission chain. The picture looked horrible, 480p scaled up to 720p. It looked analog because there was some slight ghosting in the picture and the overall image was blurry, the type of blur you only get on analog. It's pretty sad that with all their promotions of the game they did not bring the best equipment. They should have, at the very least, recorded everything in HD on hard drives on location so they could show high quality recaps.
artiepenguin is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off