El Paso, TX - HDTV - Page 63 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 1878 Old 12-18-2014, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Frank, We finally got some good news from the encoder manufacturer about improving the handling of 5.1. Please keep me posted if you notice any changes; as we make the change on 12-18-14, we should be done by Noon. Elias ----- Original Message ----- From: Frank Hoegler <fhoegler@elp.rr.com> To: Elias Ventanilla <elias.ventanilla@kvia.com> Sent: Tue, 16 Dec 2014 14:53:38 -0600 (CST) Subject: audio Hi Elias, The audio (hicup) has still not gone away. It is pretty rythmatic every 5-10 seconds. It happens on local, and network shows and OTA as well as Dish network.There doesn't seem to be any picture breakup and it is not long enough to trip my 5.1 receiver, but it is very annoying !! Frank

Guys, let me know if your notice the audio fix. Next up KTSM which has extremely loud audio and on the Today show it constantly out of nowhere increases until I hit volume up or down and then randomly will increase again usually after a commercial

FRANK43 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 1878 Old 12-18-2014, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As of today KVIA made changes. They made 7.3 480p, and they switched 7.2 and 7.4 to 4:3. The weird thing is that they are showing 16:9 shows in 4:3 squish-o-vision on 7.2. Also now that 7.3 is 480p, I can't receive it on 2 TVs.
cube799 is online now  
post #1863 of 1878 Old 12-20-2014, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
On one of my TVs (a Samsung bought in late 2007 and the one I use most), the aspects for OTA 7-2 and 7-4 show as 1:1 (squished picture), not 4:3. It no longer gets 7-3, even after rescanning. On another older Samsung (2006), 7-2, 7-3 and 7-4 have aspects of 4:3 (this one gets 7-3). An RCA (2013) gets them the same as the older Samsung.

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER
mreedelp is online now  
post #1864 of 1878 Old 12-20-2014, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mreedelp View Post
On one of my TVs (a Samsung bought in late 2007 and the one I use most), the aspects for OTA 7-2 and 7-4 show as 1:1 (squished picture), not 4:3. It no longer gets 7-3, even after rescanning. On another older Samsung (2006), 7-2, 7-3 and 7-4 have aspects of 4:3 (this one gets 7-3). An RCA (2013) gets them the same as the older Samsung.
Just checked my OTA and Dish Sat. I get all 7-1 through 7-4 All except 7-1 are squished top and bottom and sides. not even the CW which used sizing to get the 4:3 to 16:9 but not true 16:9 HD. Not possible 2 have 2 HD's with the allotted bandwidth. Do either of your TV's use PSIP to get their guide data? most don't OTA but people who still have a converter box or a HD recorder use PSIP for the program guide. KVIA is now off time and throws the average of about 1:40 seconds slow. Also the FIX, refered to in my above 1861 post from Elias, kvia engineer about the sound hiccup does NOT seem to have been fixed. They were doing something Thursday noon because during the news the sound was going in and out. Do you have this problem? takes a discerning ear to hear it.


Last edited by FRANK43; 12-20-2014 at 11:45 AM.
FRANK43 is offline  
post #1865 of 1878 Old 12-20-2014, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Use PSIP only to get current show information. Not watching KVIA much right now, but hadn't noticed any sound problems--probably because when I have it on (usually during news at noon and 4) it is mostly just background while I'm in the kitchen cooking.

Watching Sabadazo on 26-1 and they are blurring out Cecilia's chest. She is wearing a low cut yellow dress that shows quite a bit (they let a few shots get thru). Will have to check out the show again at 7 tonight on 32-1 to see what I'm missing. Doesn't look like the dress shows any more than she has shown in the past. Maybe it's because it is the Christmas show that they don't want anyone to see some major cleavage.

EDIT: Thank you 32-1 for airing Sabadazo without blurring. Nice little (well Cecilia is not little!) Christmas present.

5 MAGNAVOX 2160 & 7 PHILIPS 3576 OTA
TWC ROADRUNNER

Last edited by mreedelp; 12-21-2014 at 09:39 AM.
mreedelp is online now  
post #1866 of 1878 Old 12-21-2014, 04:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I can get all of 7-1 through 7-4 on my Sony TV but no 7-3 on the Tivo. I went through this years ago as the PSIP information (video PID's and such) were not being sent out correctly and Tivo dictates what all of the technical settings should be. Some receivers are better at handling this type of problem than others. Yes, I also tried a recorder that depended on over-the -air time. It was a nightmare, some stations were close others never even go to daylight savings time. As I recall a couple of Juarez channels were always 12:00 midnight.
Frankly, I am so tired of dealing with these Mickey Mouse local stations that I just watch everything from Netflix, on the Tivo, and read the news on the computer.
Mister B is offline  
post #1867 of 1878 Old 12-21-2014, 06:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Friday at about Noon The PSIP Data for KVIA messed up on the Sanyo 55 inch TV and all of a sudden 7-3 started to work on that TV, when before it didn't work. The PSIP Data started to work again at about 1 PM and 7-3 messed up again. I'm surprised that KVIA hasn't fixed the problem with 7-3, not working on some TVs, they've probably gotten lots of E-mails about it not working.
cube799 is online now  
post #1868 of 1878 Old 12-22-2014, 08:42 PM
Member
 
UltraHD4K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Grit-tv

Taking about PSIP... Check out GRIT-TV on 14.3!
I noticed this "new" old movie channel over the weekend when I was flipping channels.
UltraHD4K is offline  
post #1869 of 1878 Old 12-23-2014, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltraHD4K View Post
Taking about PSIP... Check out GRIT-TV on 14.3!
I noticed this "new" old movie channel over the weekend when I was flipping channels.
Noticed it also last week when my recorder auto tuned it. Showed good signal then when to "no Service, but today picture and audio where there. The picture was boxed top, bottom and sides.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #1870 of 1878 Old 12-29-2014, 06:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well it seems that KVIA finally fixed the problem with 7-3. I noticed it sometime around 3 PM, when it worked on my Sanyo TV. Also it seems that KFOX is showing 14-3 in Squeeze-o-Vision.
cube799 is online now  
post #1871 of 1878 Old 12-30-2014, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube799 View Post
well it seems that KVIA finally fixed the problem with 7-3. I noticed it sometime around 3 PM, when it worked on my Sanyo TV. Also it seems that KFOX is showing 14-3 in Squeeze-o-Vision.
7-2 (the CW ) and 14-3 are SoV, guess I'll wait till after holidays to e-mail. KTSM audio is also extremely loud compared to other stations.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #1872 of 1878 Old 12-30-2014, 09:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Grit is provided in widescreen via satellite and has been having aspect ratio problems from day one. When I looked at Grit on Christmas Eve locally where I am, it was showing a movie stretched and letterboxed in a 4:3 frame.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #1873 of 1878 Old 12-30-2014, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As of today KFOX is showing Grit in 16:9. I noticed this at 2PM. The problem is that the movie they are showing should be in 4:3, Maybe the have problems switching from 16:9 to 4:3 and Vice a versa.
cube799 is online now  
post #1874 of 1878 Old 12-31-2014, 07:02 PM
Member
 
UltraHD4K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Grit is provided in widescreen via satellite and has been having aspect ratio problems from day one. When I looked at Grit on Christmas Eve locally where I am, it was showing a movie stretched and letterboxed in a 4:3 frame.

- Trip
Looks like is a nationwide problem with GRIT-TV Network. I wonder if the local TV affiliates can do something about it by manipulating the aspect ratio. GRIT used to be only a web service and I guess they still need to adjust the video aspect ratio for TV.


12/31/14
UltraHD4K is offline  
post #1875 of 1878 Old 01-08-2015, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone else have trouble with KTSM audio cutting out? OTA, and Dish. Whole words at times and quite often. Also much louder than other stations and on Today show volume jumping up loudly.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #1876 of 1878 Old 01-17-2015, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Frank, I didn't want you to think that no members were responding to your inquiry. I, myself have been out of town. I had to disconnect my TV antenna to fish the Ethernet cable through the wall and it is just the type of frustration that you are quoting that keeps me unmotivated to get the antenna reconnected. Trying to get reliable reception from these local stations is like swatting flies, as soon as you hit one, another pops up.
Mister B is offline  
post #1877 of 1878 Old 01-17-2015, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister B View Post
Frank, I didn't want you to think that no members were responding to your inquiry. I, myself have been out of town. I had to disconnect my TV antenna to fish the Ethernet cable through the wall and it is just the type of frustration that you are quoting that keeps me unmotivated to get the antenna reconnected. Trying to get reliable reception from these local stations is like swatting flies, as soon as you hit one, another pops up.
Some updates: From KVIA and KTSM' Barba who I emailed 12-15 2015 responded they will check for problems I mentioned.

Frank, The Chief Engineer at KTSM is Peter Barba, I do not have his e mail, but you can call the main number. Also, the Operations Manager is Osvaldo Carrillo, he is very helpful. Jaime Martinez is no longer with KTSM, but Peter or Osvaldo can help you. We are scheduled to perform the upgrade next Tuesday. Regards, Elias ----- Original Message ----- From: Frank Hoegler <fhoegler@elp.rr.com> To: Elias Ventanilla <elias.ventanilla@kvia.com> Sent: Wed, 14 Jan 2015 10:58:50 -0600 (CST) Subject: Re: audio Thanks Elias, I'll keep and ear on it. If possible maybe you could let me know when the new software upgrade has been installed. By the way I mentioned KTSM having similar issues, more like you had months ago with picture and audio breakup. Just seemed to start recently. The engineer that I have is J. Martinez, jmartinez@ktsm.com I figure all you engineers know each other. Is he the current engineer and correct e-mail. I know a lot of personnel changes happened at KTSM when Nexstar purchased them. I would appreciate getting their contact information so I can e-mail directly with who ever is the engineer. By the way I live in the north east just behind Veterans Park. I have clear line of site to all the antennas and can see them from my house. Frank On 1/13/2015 4:41 PM, Elias Ventanilla wrote: Frank, It is very possible that we still have an issue with compatibility, specially because as an ABC affiliate, we handle audio (and video) slightly different than the rest. I am sharing with you part of an email with the vendor that I received today: "-this new version has the code change for the ABC AC3 framerate vs sample issue. You will want to upgrade that encoder with the 2.6.2 build to see if that helps make a difference on the downstream" The rhythmic "hiccup" might be related to this "framerate" issue we are working on. It is also possible that Toshiba is more sensitive to these "clocking"-"framerate" discrepancies. This upgrade is scheduled to be released next week, and is only for ABC stations using the encoder we use. I hope this helps with the issue, if not, we are replacing hardware first quarter 2015. I appreciate all the information, with so many devices and distribution systems out there, is difficult to tell if things are actually working properly. Regards, Elias

FRANK43 is offline  
post #1878 of 1878 Old Yesterday, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Update Jan 19 2015:
Frank, we performed the upgrade this morning, but only on the system feeding Direct TV, we are scheduled to do the OTA/Dish system next Tuesday the 27 or Wed the 28. elias

FRANK43 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off