Fort Wayne, IN - HDTV - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 4216 Old 03-23-2006, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oryan_dunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Auburn, IN
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I've noticed that the late late night (early morning) Leno and Conan are not in HD anymore. Is this just a setting on your new equipment, or is NBC not passing them in HD anymore?

Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime
oryan_dunn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 4216 Old 04-01-2006, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
John W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Huntington, Indiana
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The last few days, stellar reception of everything out of Fort Wayne except WANE.Perfect timing.
John W is offline  
post #1173 of 4216 Old 04-01-2006, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jckrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it locking for you today John?
jckrac is offline  
post #1174 of 4216 Old 04-02-2006, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
John W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Huntington, Indiana
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jckrac View Post

Is it locking for you today John?

Eventually it did.Much better today.
John W is offline  
post #1175 of 4216 Old 04-03-2006, 05:40 PM
Newbie
 
mattcav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone picking up the fox channel or any other chanels out of south bend from fort wayne if so what is your setup i cannot wait for wfft to sit on their thumbs. I want the hd now.
mattcav1 is offline  
post #1176 of 4216 Old 04-04-2006, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
vereekej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Lots of people are. Read back a few pages and you'll see some discussion on different setups. You basically need a good quality antenna mounted on roof with amp.

When purchasing HT equipment remember that it's always easier to beg for forgiveness than ask for permission.
vereekej is offline  
post #1177 of 4216 Old 04-17-2006, 06:20 PM
Member
 
bwohlgemuth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's see, no digital signal decent enough to reach the boonies + no signal on DIRECTV tonight = VERY @#^@# ANGRY CUSTOMER!!!!
bwohlgemuth is offline  
post #1178 of 4216 Old 04-17-2006, 06:28 PM
Member
 
matthpd195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Huntington,In
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Must be something wrong with your setup, Im in huntington also & receiving DirecTV fine, as well as all Ft Wayne digital - Fox of course. Nothing different then any other night here.
matthpd195 is offline  
post #1179 of 4216 Old 04-17-2006, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
NoToLowPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Waterloo, IN
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwohlgemuth View Post

Let's see, no digital signal decent enough to reach the boonies + no signal on DIRECTV tonight = VERY @#^@# ANGRY CUSTOMER!!!!

Analog is out in the 'Loo. WSJV, thankfully, isn't.

EDIT: Nevermind, it's back up. Not like I'm gonna watch it or anything...
NoToLowPower is offline  
post #1180 of 4216 Old 04-17-2006, 06:38 PM
Member
 
bwohlgemuth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthpd195 View Post

Must be something wrong with your setup, Im in huntington also & receiving DirecTV fine, as well as all Ft Wayne digital - Fox of course. Nothing different then any other night here.

So you are watching 24 on the DIRECTV signal right at this moment?

/Antenna won't pick up 24
bwohlgemuth is offline  
post #1181 of 4216 Old 04-17-2006, 06:46 PM
Member
 
matthpd195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Huntington,In
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recieving 24.1 over antenna at 90-95% on the HD Tivo. I dont subscribe to locals via directv.
matthpd195 is offline  
post #1182 of 4216 Old 04-17-2006, 06:47 PM
Member
 
matthpd195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Huntington,In
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My mistake if I misread your first post, with your stating no digital recption for ft wayne, i believed you to mean OTA.
matthpd195 is offline  
post #1183 of 4216 Old 04-17-2006, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oryan_dunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Auburn, IN
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Analog OTA 55 was out until 9:30 or so, as was wfft over our cable here in auburn.

Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime
oryan_dunn is online now  
post #1184 of 4216 Old 04-18-2006, 06:44 AM
Member
 
bwohlgemuth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like the OTA transmitter was on the blink, which affected DIRECTV since that's where they get their signal.
bwohlgemuth is offline  
post #1185 of 4216 Old 04-18-2006, 07:53 AM
Member
 
bwohlgemuth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Note from one of the producers at the station on another board...

Here's the deal.

Our transmitter has issues so If you are receiving FOX via off the air, or DirectTV or DISH, you had drop outs last night.

Cable is and will be fine. They have a fiber optic feed.

We are currently on low power and will be for a couple days until the issue is fixed.

We are currently petitioning FOX to allow a rebroadcast of 24 and Prison Break. Possibly Sunday, but we will know more soon about that.

I will let you guys know when I am sure.
bwohlgemuth is offline  
post #1186 of 4216 Old 04-18-2006, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oryan_dunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Auburn, IN
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What board is that from? Its interesting they are posting elsewhere, but not here. Maybe because they do not know about this board?

The cable in Auburn was out because our cable gets its feed from an antenna, not a fiber link (which really stinks since wfft is usually one of the worst quality pictures on our cable system).

Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime
oryan_dunn is online now  
post #1187 of 4216 Old 04-18-2006, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
John W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Huntington, Indiana
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oryan_dunn View Post

What board is that from? Its interesting they are posting elsewhere, but not here. Maybe because they do not know about this board?

The cable in Auburn was out because our cable gets its feed from an antenna, not a fiber link (which really stinks since wfft is usually one of the worst quality pictures on our cable system).

We all know why they aren't on this board.
John W is offline  
post #1188 of 4216 Old 04-18-2006, 07:05 PM
Member
 
bwohlgemuth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What board is that from? Its interesting they are posting elsewhere, but not here. Maybe because they do not know about this board?

It's another board and it was from a "known employee" of the station. I'm hesitant to post where since I don't want him deluged with requests since

a). He has no control of the station.
b). He feels our pain.
bwohlgemuth is offline  
post #1189 of 4216 Old 04-18-2006, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oryan_dunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Auburn, IN
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm not going to deluge him, I send letters to the head of Nexstar. I was merly curious as to where, for other future updates, inside info. I would like to think those here on AVS would understand if he were to post here, even if he doesn't have control, but to keep us updated.

Regarding WFFT, anyone that is not satisfied with them, should send a letter to Nexstar. I typed up a letter and sent it snail mail to them. I got a call back from the GM of WFFT. The more intrest generated from this area can only be a good thing when Nexstar evaluates teh stations that get an HD upgrade.

Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime
oryan_dunn is online now  
post #1190 of 4216 Old 04-27-2006, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
mattcav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont know why you feel you cant tell us about the other board. I thought we were all in this together.
mattcav1 is offline  
post #1191 of 4216 Old 04-27-2006, 03:34 PM
Member
 
JJacobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ahh, an explanation of why my replaytv didn't record prison break last week...i had to download a crappy torrent of it...blah! on another note, is prison break's audio off from the video? maybe it's just my old age of 24...but it drives me crazy 0_0
JJacobs is offline  
post #1192 of 4216 Old 04-28-2006, 08:52 AM
Member
 
bwohlgemuth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Huntington, IN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I dont know why you feel you cant tell us about the other board. I thought we were all in this together.

Because it's a non-television related board. And he has no control and feels our pain.

I'm not trying to hold back info, but there's no reason to harass him about how crappy of a job his employer is doing.
bwohlgemuth is offline  
post #1193 of 4216 Old 05-10-2006, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
NoToLowPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Waterloo, IN
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Granite now has the affiliations for both the CW and My Network TV, which respectively will go on the digital channels of WPTA and WISE when the WB and UPN cease. Can anybody say "10 PM edition of Indiana's Newscenter?" I guess the bright side to this is that now the Fort Wayne area doesn't need cable to see all the networks. Still, four network affiliations is a bit over the edge.

(Why didn't WANE get the CW? Seems like they do a decent job of running the UPN station and showing some local content. Does this mean more bandwidth for HD, or even the radar?)
NoToLowPower is offline  
post #1194 of 4216 Old 05-11-2006, 07:58 AM
Member
 
entourage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boss302j View Post

I live in Leo and can just about always lock on to Fox. I have a Channlemaster 4228.

I PM'd Boss302j about his setup, but he must not check it anymore. So, I'll post it publicly.
I live in Leo and am receiving all of the digital channels except FOX (of course)
I'm using a HDTV PCI card in a mythtv setup. I've got a 70-90% lock on all the channels, however FOX won't lock at all. My outdoor antenna isn't expensive, it's from Radio Shack.
50" Boom Length, 18 Element Antenna
Model: VU-75 XR | Catalog #: 15-2151
VHF range: 75 miles UHF range: 50 miles FM range: 50 miles

My 1st question is this:
Is anyone in Leo getting FOX and what are you using to receive it digitally?

2nd question:
Should I purchase the ChannelMaster 4228 and amp that everyone raves about and 'possibly' get digital FOX or wait it out until who knows when for Nexstar to get their behinds in gear with the rest of the country.

Thanks!
entourage is offline  
post #1195 of 4216 Old 05-11-2006, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Can anybody tell me which stations in Fort Wayne, Indiana broadcast in HD?
andy sullivan is online now  
post #1196 of 4216 Old 05-11-2006, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
NoToLowPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Waterloo, IN
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post

Can anybody tell me which stations in Fort Wayne, Indiana broadcast in HD?

WANE (CBS), WPTA (ABC), and WISE (NBC) do.

WFWA (PBS) used to. (PBS wants stations to pay for HD programming; WFWA dropped it for 4 SD channels.)

WFFT (FOX) doesn't; 2007 at the earliest.
NoToLowPower is offline  
post #1197 of 4216 Old 05-20-2006, 04:57 AM
Member
 
diehard_1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is a Fort Wayne discussion board, but I also know alot of people here get the South Bend stations.

The other day WNDU stopped coming in on the HDTV channel. It said no signal. After looking around I found the following on their web site. Looks like they are alot more serious about HDTV than the Fort Wayne market. Also looks like more people here in Fort Wayne should be able to get WNDU after they upgrade to the higher power antenae.

Keep up the good work WNDU !!!!!!!

3. WNDU Digital Upgrade Project: WNDU is proceeding with a project to raise the antenna height for its digital channel. Beginning week of May 8, 2006, the transmitting antenna will be removed and reinstalled over a period of several weeks during which a temporary antenna will be used to continue transmissions with lower power. The higher transmitting antenna will eliminate terrestrial and geographical signal blockages to many viewers, and will increase the coverage circle of the channel. Comcast cable viewers will not be affected. LATEST INFORMATION: Temporary antenna was activated @ 3:00 PM on Sunday, May15th.
diehard_1955 is offline  
post #1198 of 4216 Old 05-20-2006, 05:02 AM
Member
 
diehard_1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another thing I found on WNDU's web site was some information about Alert Warnings. I know there were a couple threads discussing programs being interupted becasue of this. Here is a posting from WNDU'd web site explaining why:

2. Emergency Information for HD Viewers: FCC enforcement has been fining stations for not transmitting emergency

messages and WNDU will do the best it can to adhere to all FCC regulations. When there is bad weather or school

closing or other emergencies WNDU will squeeze-back programming and crawl this information across the bottom of

the screen and the HD channel will be switched to upconversion to include the emergency information. WNDU

apologizes for any inconvenience to high definition viewers.
diehard_1955 is offline  
post #1199 of 4216 Old 05-24-2006, 09:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
justalurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michiana, South of the Border
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WNDU is sketchy right now even close to the tower. Hopefully George and the gang can get the project done soon.

South Bend Thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=318679
justalurker is offline  
post #1200 of 4216 Old 05-26-2006, 11:08 AM
Newbie
 
mattcav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any one know if the 500 will be in hd?
mattcav1 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off