Springfield / Joplin, MO - HDTV - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 5467 Old 12-06-2005, 03:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re KOLR & KSFX:
Nexstar is finally working on full power for their Little Rock station KARK-DT. The power company (Entergy) is working this weekend to "up" the electric supply capacity at their transmitter. Maybe Springfield's Nexstar stations will be full power soon.

Little Rock thread
arxaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 5467 Old 12-07-2005, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh Man that would be so nice. Just send those contractors up our way!
THX10 is offline  
post #453 of 5467 Old 12-09-2005, 06:15 PM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX10 View Post

Oh Man that would be so nice. Just send those contractors up our way!

Why do you care? I would get excited about HD... but digital? I doesn't look any better than analog to me.
tch is offline  
post #454 of 5467 Old 12-09-2005, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am making the assumption that they are going to full power with HD. If it is just full power digitial they can save the money
THX10 is offline  
post #455 of 5467 Old 12-10-2005, 07:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The nexstar station in Little Rock KARK - NBC is going full power and HD in '06. That will leave WB as the only non-HD network left in LR.

ABC (HD), PBS (HD) & WB (SD) are still operating with extremely low power STAs in that market.

Time will tell what Nexstar does in Springfield...
arxaw is offline  
post #456 of 5467 Old 12-14-2005, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lawdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Springfield, MO USA
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KOLR (Lack of) HD update.

From : David Smith
Reply-To :
Sent : Tuesday, November 29, 2005 9:39 AM
To : "'adam litchy'"
CC : "Dean Wasson"
Subject : RE: HDTV


We have been told by corporate that we will be broadcasting full power
HD in 2006. At this point it's looking like the 3rd quarter but we're
not far enough into the project to get a date locked down. We don't give
waivers of any kind to viewers in the counties we have the rights to
serve. There's no temporary waiver system to help viewers like yourself
until we go full power but we can't give waivers to everyone that asked
for one because we would have to close shop & go home. Sorry for any
inconvenience this is causing.

-----Original Message-----
From: adam litchy
Sent: Tuesday, November 29, 2005 9:10 AM
To:
Subject: HDTV


Hello,

I was curious if/when your station has plans to actually broadcast in High
Definition? I really enjoy a varitety of CBS shows, but am now currently
downloading them off the internet, so I can see them in a 16 x 9 aspect
ratio. It is not true high def, I know, but it beats the 4 x 3 digital
signal your station is putting out now. Actually I am guessing at this
because I can not even recieve your digital signal where I live (near
Battefield.) But I do know that the stuff I can download over the
internet looks better than the SD KOLR 10 feed from directv.

You probably get tons of e-mails asking this, and I underestand it most
be boring answering this over and over, but is it possible that I could
recieve a waiver for HD feeds of of Directv?

Thanks and I appreciate any background or information you can provide me
on KOLRs plans to go to HD.

Adam Litchy
lawdawg is offline  
post #457 of 5467 Old 12-15-2005, 08:12 AM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdawg View Post

KOLR (Lack of) HD update.

From : David Smith
Reply-To :
Sent : Tuesday, November 29, 2005 9:39 AM
To : "'adam litchy'"
CC : "Dean Wasson"
Subject : RE: HDTV


We have been told by corporate that we will be broadcasting full power
HD in 2006. At this point it's looking like the 3rd quarter

That looks very hopeful, thanks for the info. I honestly thought it would be many years before they went HD, if ever. I guess this also includes KSFX as they are both owned by Nexstar?
tch is offline  
post #458 of 5467 Old 12-15-2005, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
MRUSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Crane, Mo.
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was last told from KSFX that they would be full power HD in March. That was awhile back so things might have changed. I think FOX has helped more than the other networks to get converted to full power HD.

I think if our locals are not doing full power by the end of 2006 we can buy it from satellite. It should be this way now.

If KOLR and the others thinks I will watch them anyway if they won't give me a waiver, they are wrong.I would think much more of them if they would give me a temporary waiver until they go full power.

Sounds like we will have more HD programming coming Jan. 5th from dish, that will keep me satisfied for now.
MRUSS is offline  
post #459 of 5467 Old 12-15-2005, 12:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRUSS View Post

... Sounds like we will have more HD programming coming Jan. 5th from dish, that will keep me satisfied for now.

What channels are they adding?
arxaw is offline  
post #460 of 5467 Old 12-15-2005, 11:02 PM
Member
 
jliehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dish is adding ESPN2, 5 more Voom channels and maybe HD DNS, and they are going to start rolling out HD LIL.
jliehr is offline  
post #461 of 5467 Old 12-16-2005, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
MRUSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Crane, Mo.
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Voom has spent more than 100 million on new programming for us next year, I hope it turns out good.

Maybe I will qualify for ABC and FOX if they launch the distants HD.
MRUSS is offline  
post #462 of 5467 Old 12-16-2005, 11:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't get too excited about ESPN2. HD programming on that channel is pretty sparse.
arxaw is offline  
post #463 of 5467 Old 12-16-2005, 05:03 PM
Member
 
jliehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's still a channel that I don't have now, and will be in better quality that Directv. Even if it's only a few more hd games a week i'll take it!!!
jliehr is offline  
post #464 of 5467 Old 12-19-2005, 08:07 AM
Newbie
 
JonnyG24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if all the local channels are broadcast in HD then will they transmit over a cable line or a dish so an antenna is not necessary? Can anyone give me the scoop on this?
JonnyG24 is offline  
post #465 of 5467 Old 12-19-2005, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
MRUSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Crane, Mo.
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyG24 View Post

So if all the local channels are broadcast in HD then will they transmit over a cable line or a dish so an antenna is not necessary? Can anyone give me the scoop on this?

I think it will be 2 or 3 years before we get local HD from satellite. I believe we will see all local networks (3 10 27 33) doing HD before the end of 2006 OTA.

I helped my son, (who lives N of Springfield and E of fantastic caverns turn off) put up an antenna we got at radio shack, ($25.00 uhf only) and it done a good job picking up all the digital and HD locals. It even picked up 33 digital.
MRUSS is offline  
post #466 of 5467 Old 12-21-2005, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jliehr View Post

It's still a channel that I don't have now, and will be in better quality that Directv. Even if it's only a few more hd games a week i'll take it!!!


Better quality? please explain. I have DirecTV and think their HD is of good quality.

Just curious.
THX10 is offline  
post #467 of 5467 Old 12-21-2005, 09:19 PM
Member
 
jliehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX10 View Post

Better quality? please explain. I have DirecTV and think their HD is of good quality.

Just curious.

Directv is notorious for "downrezzing" programs, it really only effects the 1080i channels, but even on 720p channels Dish tends to allow a little more bandwidth to their channels.
jliehr is offline  
post #468 of 5467 Old 12-22-2005, 07:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like Dish Network, DirecTV does downrez 1920x1080i HD channels.
http://www.widemovies.com/directv-resolution.html
And for a while, picture quality did suffer. But they have really improved compression schemes to the point that on most channels, it's difficult to tell an A/B difference between the downrezzed pic and a local OTA pic. And if the local station multicasts (e.g. KYTV-DT 3-1 & 3-2), there is no noticeable difference in the OTA image quality and DirecTV's image quality. Example: I get NBC-HD from KYTV-DT OTA and from WNBC-DT on DirecTV. WNBC-DT's picture quality on D* looks noticeably better than KYTV-DT.

Bottom line: IMO, Local station OTA multicasts affect picture quality a lot more than D* downrezzing.

[edited to correct URL]
arxaw is offline  
post #469 of 5467 Old 12-22-2005, 07:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another example of really bad OTA HD due to mulitcasting: KOZK-DT.

I get PBS-HD OTA from both KAFT-DT in Fayetteville and KOZK-DT in Springfield. When KAFT-DT broadcasts HD programming, they turn off muliticasting (they normally run a total of 4 DT channels). But KOZK-DT attempts to run the HD channel, along with 2 extra SD multicasts. The result: KAFT-DT looks like true HD, while KOZK-DT looks more like bad DVD quality. If there's lots of motion in the scene, KOZK-DT can look like a blurry, pixelated mess in an A/B comparison.
arxaw is offline  
post #470 of 5467 Old 12-22-2005, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
MRUSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Crane, Mo.
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

Another example of really bad OTA HD due to mulitcasting: KOZK-DT.

I get PBS-HD OTA from both KAFT-DT in Fayetteville and KOZK-DT in Springfield. When KAFT-DT broadcasts HD programming, they turn off muliticasting (they normally run a total of 4 DT channels). But KOZK-DT attempts to run the HD channel, along with 2 extra SD multicasts. The result: KAFT-DT looks like true HD, while KOZK-DT looks more like bad DVD quality. If there's lots of motion in the scene, KOZK-DT can look like a blurry, pixelated mess in an A/B comparison.

I do like the HD channel running 24hrs a day though. They could do away with the pbsyou channel as far as I'm conscerned.
MRUSS is offline  
post #471 of 5467 Old 12-22-2005, 05:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Being on 24/7 is ok but it hardly looks "hd" compared to KAFT-DT's HD. Looks like they could at least turn off the multicasts in prime time.
arxaw is offline  
post #472 of 5467 Old 12-23-2005, 08:16 PM
Member
 
MrBeReady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 37° 11' 55" N, 93° 17' 4" W
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradpatton View Post

I'm having a hard time getting listings for the PBS-HD channel. If you go to KOZK's website, they only have listings for the DT channel. TitanTV and the Mediacenter guides are no better.

www.optv.org now has listings for the HD service on 21-2. So far it seems to be correct. The listings for the OPT-2 service on 21-3 (Missouri State telecourses and PBS YOU) are incomplete.

The TitanTV listings are still messed up. Tribune, though, has had correct DTV listings for a while now if you use any service or software that gets its listings from them (e.g. Zap2It, DataDirect).
MrBeReady is offline  
post #473 of 5467 Old 01-03-2006, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
am_pcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I looking for advice on getting a second antenna. We've cut off cable over 6 months ago. I have a fixed antenna in my attic that picks up KY3, KSPR, KLOR10, KSFX, PBS, UPN, and KY3, PBS, and KSPR on the digital side.

I'm thinking about moving my antenna to the roof or just getting a new antenna with a rotor. I live on the south side of Nixa, I'm on a hill and have good line of site in nearly every direction.

Is it worth the money? Is anyone near Springfield getting HD channels other than KY3 and PBS?
am_pcguy is offline  
post #474 of 5467 Old 01-04-2006, 09:24 PM
Senior Member
 
MRUSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Crane, Mo.
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Springfield is listed as one of the cities for local HD on satellite from dish. I'm sure we will be getting local HD OTA before this can happen on satellite.

Hope this happens before the end of this year.
Got this info at satelliteguys.
MRUSS is offline  
post #475 of 5467 Old 01-05-2006, 07:54 PM
Member
 
MSpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw that also, That could actually make me switch to dish.
MSpin is offline  
post #476 of 5467 Old 01-08-2006, 08:43 AM
Member
 
jliehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is an interesting artice...

http://www.news-leader.com/apps/pbcs...WS01/601080370

Basically Nexstar is using is stake in both KOLR 10 and FOX 27 to extort money from the cable company in a local retrasmission agreement. They are going as far as looking to strip both companies broadcasting agreements. This will be interesting indeed to see how it plays out.
jliehr is offline  
post #477 of 5467 Old 01-11-2006, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
MRUSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Crane, Mo.
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone saw anything on KY3's test channel. (003-03)
MRUSS is offline  
post #478 of 5467 Old 01-12-2006, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRUSS View Post

Springfield is listed as one of the cities for local HD on satellite from dish. I'm sure we will be getting local HD OTA before this can happen on satellite.

You are correct. The station would have to broadcast HD before D* or D* could carry the station in HD.

Saw this post regarding dish network HD over on the Little Rock, AR thread. Click here.
arxaw is offline  
post #479 of 5467 Old 01-12-2006, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
MRUSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Crane, Mo.
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is just my opinion in why E* choose Springfield to go up HD on sat. When E* X is launched all Springfield locals will move to spotbeam. The spotbeam can't really be used for anything else because Springfield is so far from any other citi. That will leave room for local HD also on that spotbeam so they just as well use it and maybe get more customers with local HD on sat.

Also dish has lots of subs in this area because they were first to bring locals on sat.

Thats just my opinion, but what do I know?
MRUSS is offline  
post #480 of 5467 Old 01-12-2006, 04:46 PM
Member
 
MSpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The spot beam is not as small as you think. It would cover Tulsa, Fayetville, and other areas. In springfield we can see Kansas City's spot and St. Louis' spot. Springfield was chosen (in my opinion) because this is the first market to see the percent of satellite customers that is larger than the percent of cable customers. Plus they only need space for 2 channels to be broadcast in HD where in some cities they need 6 or 7. Of course if stations like KOLR , KSFX and KSPR get their butt in line it would start to change that second idea.
MSpin is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off