Springfield / Joplin, MO - HDTV - Page 174 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5191 of 5454 Old 01-30-2012, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpushplay View Post

Just checked, and no, my guide stops at 33.1. It does show the subchannels for KY3 and KOZK, however.

I just wondered because my DTVPal DVR shows all the OTA channels,
but since the CW moved from 3.2 to 33.2 all I get for it is PSIP info, not TVGOS.
Chuck44 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5192 of 5454 Old 01-30-2012, 11:51 AM
Member
 
justpushplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

I just wondered because my DTVPal DVR shows all the OTA channels,
but since the CW moved from 3.2 to 33.2 all I get for it is PSIP info, not TVGOS.

Same here, but my Dish OTA tuners channel lineup still show ky3's no longer active 3.3 subchannel, which was AccuWeather, or something like that.
justpushplay is offline  
post #5193 of 5454 Old 01-30-2012, 12:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Dish OTA tuners quit showing the non-existent KYTV 3-3 channel after I rescanned the boxes for OTA channels. These are model 722K boxes with OTA modules, so YMMV.
arxaw is offline  
post #5194 of 5454 Old 01-30-2012, 12:20 PM
Member
 
justpushplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

My Dish OTA tuners quit showing the non-existent KYTV 3-3 channel after I rescanned the boxes for OTA channels. These are model 722K boxes with OTA modules, so YMMV.

Yup, my mileage varied. I have the 622 and the 211, and both refuse to drop 3.3 in the guide. If you go to 3.3, you get that horrid Windows 3.1 style dialog box #739 stating that you have lost signal.
justpushplay is offline  
post #5195 of 5454 Old 01-30-2012, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpushplay View Post

Same here, but my Dish OTA tuners channel lineup still show ky3's no longer active 3.3 subchannel, which was AccuWeather, or something like that.

It was "KY3 24/7" weather, which was moved to 3.2.
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5196 of 5454 Old 02-09-2012, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
whoveam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Springfield, Mo
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i tend to thing that channel 8 is closed up shop for good, i think a simple retooling would not take more than a month,,, so it looks like no more Happy Days
whoveam is offline  
post #5197 of 5454 Old 02-10-2012, 10:04 AM
 
mgsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They could be putting something else on 3.3
What's on Channel 8 besides Happy Days?
mgsports is offline  
post #5198 of 5454 Old 02-12-2012, 09:53 AM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone recommend a signal booster for OTA TV? Here is the situation:

I live in Ozark and get all OTA signals fine, except Fox. I actually can get Fox but I have to split the signal four ways and that kills it (although other channels are not impacted by the split). I run one cable to the TV, two to a network tuner and one to a Win 7 computer used exclusively as a DVR. I thought a booster might work in this situation although I am unsure how much of a boost I really need. I'm a bit baffled by all the options and wonder if anyone can recommend a specific brand/model.
tch is offline  
post #5199 of 5454 Old 02-12-2012, 10:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
arxaw is offline  
post #5200 of 5454 Old 02-15-2012, 07:38 AM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the recommendation. I'll give that one a shot.
tch is offline  
post #5201 of 5454 Old 02-24-2012, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
rhoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't heard any recent reports on KRBK's various transmitter sites.

Have they completed the synchronization process and come up to full power?

Are there any reports from viewers roughly equidistant from two transmitter sites?

I'm line of sight to the Division St antenna so, of course, they come in like gangbusters.
rhoops is offline  
post #5202 of 5454 Old 02-24-2012, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoops View Post

I haven't heard any recent reports on KRBK's various transmitter sites.

Have they completed the synchronization process and come up to full power?

Are there any reports from viewers roughly equidistant from two transmitter sites?

I'm line of sight to the Division St antenna so, of course, they come in like gangbusters.

They have not posted any updates on Facebook for quite a while now.
Edit:
They did post a short update on Wednesday 22 Feb here.
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5203 of 5454 Old 02-24-2012, 11:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone in SW MO picking up KXNW?
arxaw is offline  
post #5204 of 5454 Old 02-24-2012, 12:19 PM
Member
 
justpushplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

Anyone in SW MO picking up KXNW?

Nothing so far here near Branson West. I noticed you had asked if anyone else had lost their signal the other day on the Fort Smith thread. Are they installing the new transmitter?
justpushplay is offline  
post #5205 of 5454 Old 02-24-2012, 12:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know. I never could get an engineer to reply to my email. I called KFSM, who runs KXNW, and all they would tell me is that they were off the air for a while and were working on it. No info on power upgrade, but if you're not seeing them, I suspect it's not completed and may have been pushed back.

They are back on the air, though.
34-1 IDs as "KXNW-MY" (in SD) and 34-2 as "KFSMCBS" (in HD).
arxaw is offline  
post #5206 of 5454 Old 02-24-2012, 12:40 PM
Member
 
justpushplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post


They are back on the air, though.
34-1 IDs as "KXNW-MY" (in SD) and 34-2 as "KFSMCBS" (in HD).

They must still be at low power, I just scanned again with no results. If they were running the same ERP as they used to, I would have no trouble seeing them.
justpushplay is offline  
post #5207 of 5454 Old 02-24-2012, 12:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They haven't run at that power level in a long time.
arxaw is offline  
post #5208 of 5454 Old 02-24-2012, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
rhoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think this on-channel multicast, or whatever it's called has ever been done in practice and at full power levels.

It could be a while before they get it all to work. Or maybe it will never work all that well.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

They have not posted any updates on Facebook for quite a while now.
Edit:
They did post a short update on Wednesday 22 Feb here.

rhoops is offline  
post #5209 of 5454 Old 02-25-2012, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoops View Post

I don't think this on-channel multicast, or whatever it's called has ever been done in practice and at full power levels.

It could be a while before they get it all to work. Or maybe it will never work all that well.

Its called an SFN (Single Frequency Network) and supposedly this one is only the third in the US.
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5210 of 5454 Old 02-26-2012, 04:06 AM
Senior Member
 
rhoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or maybe a distributed transmission system (multiple transmitters) in FCC parlance.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Distrib...mission_system

In any case it's pushing the limits of technology. That's a wonderful thing unless you just want to watch TV and can't do it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

Its called an SFN (Single Frequency Network) and supposedly this one is only the third in the US.

rhoops is offline  
post #5211 of 5454 Old 02-26-2012, 04:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoops View Post

...That's a wonderful thing unless you just want to watch TV and can't do it.

Reminds me of trying to watch kolr10 during severe thunderstorm season.
arxaw is offline  
post #5212 of 5454 Old 02-26-2012, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
sneaky snooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

Reminds me of trying to watch kolr10 during severe thunderstorm season.

Or KOLR in general. That VHF signal is TRASH.
sneaky snooper is offline  
post #5213 of 5454 Old 02-26-2012, 08:10 AM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

Reminds me of trying to watch kolr10 during severe thunderstorm season.

I recorded a couple of shows on the 20th (KRBK) and they were so broken up and pixelated I just deleted them as unwatchable. I am unsure what the weather was on that day... Shows recorded on the 21st are fine.
tch is offline  
post #5214 of 5454 Old 02-26-2012, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaky snooper View Post

Or KOLR in general. That VHF signal is TRASH.

That depends on where you live. In my location (about 20 miles south of the tower farm) the signal is great.
Edit:
If you're using a UHF only antenna I imagine the signal might be trash...
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5215 of 5454 Old 02-26-2012, 09:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Their weak VHF signal is the problem.

KAFT to the south of us on VHF ch 9 at 40kW works fine, except during the worst of lightning events in the region. Since kolr can't raise power, they should get off the VHF band. Hell, swap with kozl, nothing's on that channel anyway.
arxaw is offline  
post #5216 of 5454 Old 02-28-2012, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
sneaky snooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

Their weak VHF signal is the problem.

KAFT to the south of us on VHF ch 9 at 40kW works fine, except during the worst of lightning events in the region. Since kolr can't raise power, they should get off the VHF band. Hell, swap with kozl, nothing's on that channel anyway.

..except crap. Makes me long for Equity and My31. Oh wait, KRBK is even more entertaining (if you can get them)
sneaky snooper is offline  
post #5217 of 5454 Old 02-29-2012, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
kalrith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tch View Post

I recorded a couple of shows on the 20th (KRBK) and they were so broken up and pixelated I just deleted them as unwatchable. I am unsure what the weather was on that day... Shows recorded on the 21st are fine.

I'm about 13 miles west of the towers and get an excellent signal with all of them (even KOLR10) except KRBK. I'm trying to watch American Idol, and I typically make it about 30 minutes into an episode before just turning it off, because sometimes the signal pauses for 5 seconds every minute or so. If it's going to be that bad, then I'm just going to watch online or download a non-pixelated version of the show.
kalrith is offline  
post #5218 of 5454 Old 02-29-2012, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalrith View Post

I'm about 13 miles west of the towers and get an excellent signal with all of them (even KOLR10) except KRBK. I'm trying to watch American Idol, and I typically make it about 30 minutes into an episode before just turning it off, because sometimes the signal pauses for 5 seconds every minute or so. If it's going to be that bad, then I'm just going to watch online or download a non-pixelated version of the show.

They still have a long way to go before KRBK is at full capacity.
See their latest status update.
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5219 of 5454 Old 02-29-2012, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
kalrith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

They still have a long way to go before KRBK is at full capacity.
See their latest status update.

Well, that's encouraging. I can endure short-term hardship if they're working towards a good signal in the long term.
kalrith is offline  
post #5220 of 5454 Old 03-01-2012, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
rhoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've gotta admire KRBK for advancing the state of the broadcast art. Bob Koplar has never been afraid to experiment.

Several decades ago when interactive TV appeared to be the coming thing he was at the forefront.

If they get this to work, maybe they will add yet another site to the south.

Would that be too far from their city of license?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kalrith View Post

Well, that's encouraging. I can endure short-term hardship if they're working towards a good signal in the long term.

rhoops is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off