Springfield / Joplin, MO - HDTV - Page 180 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5371 of 5467 Old 11-11-2012, 07:01 PM
Member
 
oletheos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does fox pixelate and break up really bad for anyone else? some times it gets to the point its unwatchable.
im a little worried its my tv, but its wierd its only this station. it did it through ota thru mediacom and now im on my attenena and it still does it some
oletheos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5372 of 5467 Old 11-11-2012, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
What is your location?
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5373 of 5467 Old 11-11-2012, 07:29 PM
Member
 
oletheos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
middle of springfield, near st johns. like right now. trying to watch family guy. every few seconds its pixelateing
oletheos is offline  
post #5374 of 5467 Old 11-11-2012, 07:34 PM
Member
 
motorhead0922's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Springfield
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oletheos View Post

does fox pixelate and break up really bad for anyone else? some times it gets to the point its unwatchable.
im a little worried its my tv, but its wierd its only this station. it did it through ota thru mediacom and now im on my attenena and it still does it some

Yeah, it's been bad today. My antenna is still pointed toward Fordland. KRBK isn't worth getting a second antenna to point to Springfield.
motorhead0922 is offline  
post #5375 of 5467 Old 11-16-2012, 12:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaky snooper View Post

MundoFOX has arrived on 8.1, its in letterboxed SD, and TNN is on 8.2. INSP is GONE from 8.3.
I've been wondering how is TNN on 8.2 when TNN doesn't exist anymore? Didn't it change to SpikeTV like 10 years ago?
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #5376 of 5467 Old 11-16-2012, 04:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
TNN has returned. http://www.watchtnn.com

Full disclosure: I am employed by the parent company of the new TNN.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #5377 of 5467 Old 11-16-2012, 06:51 AM
 
mgsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How about Charter Osage Beach/Warsaw,Sudderlink and so on for it that get Springfield Channels?
mgsports is offline  
post #5378 of 5467 Old 11-16-2012, 10:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

TNN has returned. http://www.watchtnn.com
Full disclosure: I am employed by the parent company of the new TNN.
- Trip
Interesting. Thanks for the info.
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #5379 of 5467 Old 11-24-2012, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
rhoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel 8? Probably not going to happen in your area unless they have a remote receiver site and fiber to backhaul the signal.

Channel 8 is low power on a comparatively short tower, so the signal doesn't get very far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgsports View Post

How about Charter Osage Beach/Warsaw,Sudderlink and so on for it that get Springfield Channels?
rhoops is offline  
post #5380 of 5467 Old 11-24-2012, 11:59 AM
 
mgsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks and because it's a Digital Sub Channel of a Channel Charter Osage Beach gets then maybe.
mgsports is offline  
post #5381 of 5467 Old 01-13-2013, 07:21 AM
Member
 
DjinniMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having issues with ota reception of KOLR-10? Yesterday in the last couple minutes of the Ravens/Broncos game, the signal was lost. Before this, it had been plenty strong enough to watch. I am using this rooftop antenna, pointed at Fordland, and live in Bolivar. I was thinking it might be ice accumulation on the antenna, but only KOLR-10 is affected. I use a small indoor antenna for KRBK, but KOLR-10 still has an unusable signal with this antenna. Is this related to KOLR-10 being VHF, possibly? Thanks in advance for your help.
DjinniMan is offline  
post #5382 of 5467 Old 01-13-2013, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjinniMan View Post

Anyone else having issues with ota reception of KOLR-10? Yesterday in the last couple minutes of the Ravens/Broncos game, the signal was lost. Before this, it had been plenty strong enough to watch. I am using this rooftop antenna, pointed at Fordland, and live in Bolivar. I was thinking it might be ice accumulation on the antenna, but only KOLR-10 is affected. I use a small indoor antenna for KRBK, but KOLR-10 still has an unusable signal with this antenna. Is this related to KOLR-10 being VHF, possibly? Thanks in advance for your help.
In spite of the hype on the web page about your antenna, it might be a little weak on VHF, which is what KOLR is.
You might try aiming it for the best KOLR10 signal - the other channels in Fordland would probably still come in OK.
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5383 of 5467 Old 02-04-2013, 09:48 PM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I absolutely HATE KRBK. One week it is fine and the next it has completely disappeared. Again. Talk about undependable... I've never seen anything like it.
tch is offline  
post #5384 of 5467 Old 02-04-2013, 11:05 PM
Newbie
 
bvinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fordland, MO
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tch View Post

I absolutely HATE KRBK. One week it is fine and the next it has completely disappeared. Again. Talk about undependable... I've never seen anything like it.
Yep. Me too.
bvinson is offline  
post #5385 of 5467 Old 02-05-2013, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by tch View Post

I absolutely HATE KRBK. One week it is fine and the next it has completely disappeared. Again. Talk about undependable... I've never seen anything like it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bvinson View Post

Yep. Me too.

Something broke in KWBM's transmitter (KRBK piggybacks on their signal south of Springfield).
They're waiting on parts, and hope to have it fixed this afternoon.
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5386 of 5467 Old 02-05-2013, 07:34 AM
 
mgsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Theirs other Digital Sub Channels coming to your area.
mgsports is offline  
post #5387 of 5467 Old 02-05-2013, 08:18 AM
Member
 
JopMan3305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Finally some traffic (KRBK) after days of inactivity! Four posts. I was beginning to think there's something wrong with my AVS Forum setup. Also, I haven't seen traffic here by arxaw of near Eurkea Springs, Ark., 10,909 posts, since 5-18-12. A fountain of reception information for this longtime mostly lurker. I hope arxaw is still with us. Does anyone know? Thanks

jopman3305
JopMan3305 is offline  
post #5388 of 5467 Old 02-08-2013, 09:00 AM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post


Something broke in KWBM's transmitter (KRBK piggybacks on their signal south of Springfield).
They're waiting on parts, and hope to have it fixed this afternoon.

I don't know how you know these things but it appears you were right. Thanks for posting.
tch is offline  
post #5389 of 5467 Old 02-08-2013, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by tch View Post

I don't know how you know these things but it appears you were right. Thanks for posting.
I was in touch with the KRBK engineer via E-Mail, plus I called Daystar, the owner of KWBM. smile.gif
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5390 of 5467 Old 04-22-2013, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
Ingersoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: 64850
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know how old this thread is, but I have to ask why is it so difficult (nearly impossible) to receive KOAM and KFJX out of Pittsburg?
Ingersoll is offline  
post #5391 of 5467 Old 04-23-2013, 04:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Since we don't know where you are at or what you're using for an antenna, it is impossible to answer accurately.

However, since those are the two VHF stations, it's quite possible you're using the wrong antenna.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #5392 of 5467 Old 04-23-2013, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post

Since we don't know where you are at or what you're using for an antenna, it is impossible to answer accurately.

However, since those are the two VHF stations, it's quite possible you're using the wrong antenna.
His zipcode is in Neosho, Missouri.
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5393 of 5467 Old 04-24-2013, 12:55 PM
Member
 
JopMan3305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ingersoll. Your KOAM reception problem may improve if the station ever takes advantage of a construction permit to go from their low 15 kw power up to 45 kw. My info comes from a subscription web site showing such a move would involve dropping their tower height from 1102 ft to 1045 ft however. From my location in Joplin, with an average rooftop height VHF/UHF antenna, pointed toward Springfield, I get almost daily momentary signal dropouts from backside antenna reception, both KOAM and KFJX. My info shows KFJX at only 6 kw with no CP to go any higher.

jopman3305
JopMan3305 is offline  
post #5394 of 5467 Old 04-24-2013, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 73
You pay a subscription for the same information that's available for free on the FCC's public website? Where's the added value of that? biggrin.gif
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #5395 of 5467 Old 04-24-2013, 05:29 PM
Member
 
JopMan3305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You "pays yer money and you take yer cherce!

jopman3305
JopMan3305 is offline  
post #5396 of 5467 Old 04-26-2013, 10:44 AM
Newbie
 
hesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
total newbie - north arkansas - help with antenna selction

tv fool
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d1ddaf874ebc787
hesse is offline  
post #5397 of 5467 Old 04-27-2013, 01:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Looks like you're in a tough area for reception, but it doesn't look impossible. You'll want something large and outdoor, likely with an amplifier. I'll let local people make the actual recommendations.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #5398 of 5467 Old 06-12-2013, 11:19 AM
 
mulliganman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Not sure if anyone still checks this thread, but if so I would like to know if anyone is having success picking up KRBK as well as the other broadcast networks ota. If so, would you please share what your setup is including which antenna you are using?
mulliganman is offline  
post #5399 of 5467 Old 06-12-2013, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulliganman View Post

Not sure if anyone still checks this thread, but if so I would like to know if anyone is having success picking up KRBK as well as the other broadcast networks ota. If so, would you please share what your setup is including which antenna you are using?
I get KRBK via their piggyback signal through KWBM ch 31.1 (KRBK shows as 49.1 but is actually on RF 31.2).
From where I live (about 10 miles southwest of Ava) that signal is strong enough I don't even need to aim my antenna away from pointing towards
the antenna farm in Fordland.
If you are having trouble with the KRBK signal, you should give your location.
Chuck44 is online now  
post #5400 of 5467 Old 06-12-2013, 12:27 PM
 
mulliganman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Located in ozark, mo. Coordinates are 37.032086, -93.222382. Don't have anything set up yet. I am trying to figure out whether I can pickup KRBK along with my other broadcast networks. KRBK is the one that worries me. Thinking about a clearstream2v antenna with an Antennas Direct CPA 19 preamp if I can find one. Any recommendations on an installer?
mulliganman is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off