Springfield / Joplin, MO - HDTV - Page 190 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5671 of 5683 Old 06-08-2017, 06:10 AM
Member
 
dbsstephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
But if that's the case then why is KYCW coming in better than KY3 is because I don't even get KY3 anymore since they changed everything around the only stations I get his channel 25 now which carries the CW WeatherNation Cozi TV and antenna TV I don't get none I don't get ABC or NBC anymore over the air here

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
dbsstephen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5672 of 5683 Old 06-08-2017, 07:04 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
FCC ownership rules do not allow a company to own or operate two of the top four stations in a market without using questionably legal maneuvers. Gray bought KYTV and with it came the agreement to run KSPR. Gray couldn't own KSPR outright, and the previous administration's rules made the agreement attributable, so it was as if Gray owned KSPR as well.

Gray kept KYTV and turned in the license for KSPR. However, since LPTV stations do not count toward the ownership limit, they moved KYCW-LD, an LPTV license they bought, to the KSPR facility, and turned the power down to make it into an LPTV license.

- Trip
Odd. The ABC affiliate is still calling themselves "KSPR 33" on their logos, etc. The whole thing has left viewers wondering WTF? And my OTA TiVO is completely FUBAR.
Ozarks is offline  
post #5673 of 5683 Old 06-08-2017, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
scottmo2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsstephen View Post
But if that's the case then why is KYCW coming in better than KY3 is because I don't even get KY3 anymore since they changed everything around the only stations I get his channel 25 now which carries the CW WeatherNation Cozi TV and antenna TV I don't get none I don't get ABC or NBC anymore over the air here
You've got other problems then. RF-44 is still full power and carries ABC, NBC, and standard def CW. I am 50 miles farther away than you and it blows the doors off of RF-19. "Channel 25" is RF-19 and on a low power transmitter. In Lebanon you should get both. So maybe your receiver isn't handling the various PSIP overlap/combination/cluster that they have going on.
scottmo2020 is offline  
 
post #5674 of 5683 Old 06-08-2017, 06:04 PM
Member
 
dbsstephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I can't even pick up 49 they have a tower just 10 miles north of town

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
dbsstephen is offline  
post #5675 of 5683 Old 06-08-2017, 06:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozarks View Post
Odd. The ABC affiliate is still calling themselves "KSPR 33" on their logos, etc. The whole thing has left viewers wondering WTF? And my OTA TiVO is completely FUBAR.
Because the station is legally still KSPR...but its now KSPR-LD (low powered digital station) versus the former KSPR-DT (full powered station). The copy on KYTV is for folks who liver outside of Springfield proper.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5676 of 5683 Old 06-08-2017, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsstephen View Post
I can't even pick up 49 they have a tower just 10 miles north of town

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
as noted right above

You've got other problems then
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5677 of 5683 Old 06-08-2017, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozarks View Post
And my OTA TiVO is completely FUBAR.
If you dont mind me asking how bad is it? At least when they used Tribune (zap2it, screener) I could see what the call sign is. Tvguide they just list the station numbers

It doesnt help when Gray is playing "wheel of stations" all the time
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5678 of 5683 Old 06-09-2017, 07:09 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Because the station is legally still KSPR...but its now KSPR-LD (low powered digital station) versus the former KSPR-DT (full powered station).
On my OTA TiVO, 33-1 is labeled "KYTVDT2"
See screenshot attached.
There are other errors besides this station ever since Gray threw all the channels into the blender.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170609_085127-01-01.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	219.2 KB
ID:	2180361  
Ozarks is offline  
post #5679 of 5683 Old 06-10-2017, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Yeesh! Just that screenshot looks bad when trying to record shows
Hate to see the whole list

You could submit a lineup change to Tivo
https://www.tivo.com/lineup.html


I always remember to be thorough. Use RF numbers and the PSIP numbers. So as example KYCW-LD (33-2) I assume is coming from RF44? If so then just explain that to them. Something like
"On June 1st a couple stations changed RF stations and call signs. Here are the errors
RF19 should have the following programming
25-1 CW (KYCW-LD)
3-2 Weather Nation
25-3 CoziTv
33-3 AntennaTV"

It may take some work going through the RF numbers to verify. Do you how to check that?

Unfortunately I've learned that Tivo doesnt seem to change things unless they are reported by the end user
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5680 of 5683 Old 06-11-2017, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Yeesh! Just that screenshot looks bad when trying to record shows
Hate to see the whole list
The "25s" are just as bad. See attached pic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
You could submit a lineup change to Tivo
https://www.tivo.com/lineup.html


I always remember to be thorough. Use RF numbers and the PSIP numbers. So as example KYCW-LD (33-2) I assume is coming from RF44? If so then just explain that to them. Something like
"On June 1st a couple stations changed RF stations and call signs. Here are the errors
RF19 should have the following programming
25-1 CW (KYCW-LD)
3-2 Weather Nation
25-3 CoziTv
33-3 AntennaTV"
Thanks for the detailed suggestion, but yes, I've done all that; included the correct call signs, RF & virtual ch #s , network names and even a station engineer contact email. Eventually, TiVO sends me an email saying it's been fixed, but no dice, even after reconnecting to the TiVO network and re-downloading the guide info, rescanning, rebooting, etc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	25s.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	208.1 KB
ID:	2183145  
Ozarks is offline  
post #5681 of 5683 Old 06-11-2017, 01:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 72
bummer. Wonder if sending another lineup change would possibly make them relook at the issue.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5682 of 5683 Old 06-12-2017, 07:42 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'll eventually look up the channel mapping for the channels I watch on RF 17, 19 & 44; and report the missing guide data again to Tivo and also KYTV/KSPR/KGHZ/KYCW (or whatever they're calling themselves this week).
Ozarks is offline  
post #5683 of 5683 Old 06-12-2017, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 72
It doesn't help when apparently 25-1 is mapped from THREE different spots (according to rabbitears)
RF17 PSIP 25-1 (the one near Branson that has WXNation and the tourist station)
RF19 PSIP 25-1 (the tower in Fordland that USE to be used for ABC)
RF15 PSIP 25-1 (the short stick in downtown Springfield)

Best thing to do is go through your list via the signal meter and see what RF station those stations are mapping to then submit a update to Tivo.
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off