Springfield / Joplin, MO - HDTV - Page 190 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5671 of 5695 Old 06-08-2017, 06:10 AM
Member
 
dbsstephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
But if that's the case then why is KYCW coming in better than KY3 is because I don't even get KY3 anymore since they changed everything around the only stations I get his channel 25 now which carries the CW WeatherNation Cozi TV and antenna TV I don't get none I don't get ABC or NBC anymore over the air here

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
dbsstephen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5672 of 5695 Old 06-08-2017, 07:04 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
FCC ownership rules do not allow a company to own or operate two of the top four stations in a market without using questionably legal maneuvers. Gray bought KYTV and with it came the agreement to run KSPR. Gray couldn't own KSPR outright, and the previous administration's rules made the agreement attributable, so it was as if Gray owned KSPR as well.

Gray kept KYTV and turned in the license for KSPR. However, since LPTV stations do not count toward the ownership limit, they moved KYCW-LD, an LPTV license they bought, to the KSPR facility, and turned the power down to make it into an LPTV license.

- Trip
Odd. The ABC affiliate is still calling themselves "KSPR 33" on their logos, etc. The whole thing has left viewers wondering WTF? And my OTA TiVO is completely FUBAR.
Ozarks is offline  
post #5673 of 5695 Old 06-08-2017, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
scottmo2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsstephen View Post
But if that's the case then why is KYCW coming in better than KY3 is because I don't even get KY3 anymore since they changed everything around the only stations I get his channel 25 now which carries the CW WeatherNation Cozi TV and antenna TV I don't get none I don't get ABC or NBC anymore over the air here
You've got other problems then. RF-44 is still full power and carries ABC, NBC, and standard def CW. I am 50 miles farther away than you and it blows the doors off of RF-19. "Channel 25" is RF-19 and on a low power transmitter. In Lebanon you should get both. So maybe your receiver isn't handling the various PSIP overlap/combination/cluster that they have going on.
scottmo2020 is offline  
 
post #5674 of 5695 Old 06-08-2017, 06:04 PM
Member
 
dbsstephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I can't even pick up 49 they have a tower just 10 miles north of town

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
dbsstephen is offline  
post #5675 of 5695 Old 06-08-2017, 06:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozarks View Post
Odd. The ABC affiliate is still calling themselves "KSPR 33" on their logos, etc. The whole thing has left viewers wondering WTF? And my OTA TiVO is completely FUBAR.
Because the station is legally still KSPR...but its now KSPR-LD (low powered digital station) versus the former KSPR-DT (full powered station). The copy on KYTV is for folks who liver outside of Springfield proper.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5676 of 5695 Old 06-08-2017, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsstephen View Post
I can't even pick up 49 they have a tower just 10 miles north of town

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
as noted right above

You've got other problems then
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5677 of 5695 Old 06-08-2017, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozarks View Post
And my OTA TiVO is completely FUBAR.
If you dont mind me asking how bad is it? At least when they used Tribune (zap2it, screener) I could see what the call sign is. Tvguide they just list the station numbers

It doesnt help when Gray is playing "wheel of stations" all the time
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5678 of 5695 Old 06-09-2017, 07:09 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Because the station is legally still KSPR...but its now KSPR-LD (low powered digital station) versus the former KSPR-DT (full powered station).
On my OTA TiVO, 33-1 is labeled "KYTVDT2"
See screenshot attached.
There are other errors besides this station ever since Gray threw all the channels into the blender.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170609_085127-01-01.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	219.2 KB
ID:	2180361  
Ozarks is offline  
post #5679 of 5695 Old 06-10-2017, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Yeesh! Just that screenshot looks bad when trying to record shows
Hate to see the whole list

You could submit a lineup change to Tivo
https://www.tivo.com/lineup.html


I always remember to be thorough. Use RF numbers and the PSIP numbers. So as example KYCW-LD (33-2) I assume is coming from RF44? If so then just explain that to them. Something like
"On June 1st a couple stations changed RF stations and call signs. Here are the errors
RF19 should have the following programming
25-1 CW (KYCW-LD)
3-2 Weather Nation
25-3 CoziTv
33-3 AntennaTV"

It may take some work going through the RF numbers to verify. Do you how to check that?

Unfortunately I've learned that Tivo doesnt seem to change things unless they are reported by the end user
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5680 of 5695 Old 06-11-2017, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Yeesh! Just that screenshot looks bad when trying to record shows
Hate to see the whole list
The "25s" are just as bad. See attached pic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
You could submit a lineup change to Tivo
https://www.tivo.com/lineup.html


I always remember to be thorough. Use RF numbers and the PSIP numbers. So as example KYCW-LD (33-2) I assume is coming from RF44? If so then just explain that to them. Something like
"On June 1st a couple stations changed RF stations and call signs. Here are the errors
RF19 should have the following programming
25-1 CW (KYCW-LD)
3-2 Weather Nation
25-3 CoziTv
33-3 AntennaTV"
Thanks for the detailed suggestion, but yes, I've done all that; included the correct call signs, RF & virtual ch #s , network names and even a station engineer contact email. Eventually, TiVO sends me an email saying it's been fixed, but no dice, even after reconnecting to the TiVO network and re-downloading the guide info, rescanning, rebooting, etc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	25s.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	208.1 KB
ID:	2183145  
Ozarks is offline  
post #5681 of 5695 Old 06-11-2017, 01:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 73
bummer. Wonder if sending another lineup change would possibly make them relook at the issue.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5682 of 5695 Old 06-12-2017, 07:42 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'll eventually look up the channel mapping for the channels I watch on RF 17, 19 & 44; and report the missing guide data again to Tivo and also KYTV/KSPR/KGHZ/KYCW (or whatever they're calling themselves this week).
Ozarks is offline  
post #5683 of 5695 Old 06-12-2017, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 73
It doesn't help when apparently 25-1 is mapped from THREE different spots (according to rabbitears)
RF17 PSIP 25-1 (the one near Branson that has WXNation and the tourist station)
RF19 PSIP 25-1 (the tower in Fordland that USE to be used for ABC)
RF15 PSIP 25-1 (the short stick in downtown Springfield)

Best thing to do is go through your list via the signal meter and see what RF station those stations are mapping to then submit a update to Tivo.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #5684 of 5695 Old 09-10-2017, 05:36 PM
Member
 
21hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KRBK engineering, on July 20th, replied to a post on their Facebook page, stating that they were going to a single full power tower in Fordland, that the process was underway. presumably in conjunction with their move to RF22
21hawk is offline  
post #5685 of 5695 Old 09-11-2017, 07:03 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by 21hawk View Post
KRBK engineering, on July 20th, replied to a post on their Facebook page, stating that they were going to a single full power tower in Fordland, that the process was underway. presumably in conjunction with their move to RF22
So it's likely that Carroll County, Ark. still won't be able to pick them up, due to interference from LP station K22HS on RF22, in the same DMA & coverage area.
Ozarks is offline  
post #5686 of 5695 Old 09-11-2017, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 130
There's absolutely nothing in the FCC's LMS that indicates such a change has been requested. KRBK applied for the repack changes for their DTS system on 22 as well as filing for a couple of million dollars in repack expenses.

Couldn't find zip on KRBK or their engineering department's FB feeds that would substantiate the above. FWIW, the engineering dept doesn't even have any posts after June...
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #5687 of 5695 Old 09-11-2017, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 831 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
They can't have applied for it yet anyway since the filing window for that type of change has yet to open for KRBK.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #5688 of 5695 Old 09-11-2017, 07:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Any idea when that filing window will open?

So, if they did go to a single "big stick" full power facility at the Fordland site, would they likely displace the channel 22 translator mentioned by 'Ozarks'?
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #5689 of 5695 Old 09-12-2017, 02:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 831 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
It's not yet been announced.

And I believe so, though I would have to look into it.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #5690 of 5695 Old 09-12-2017, 04:33 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
...I believe so, though I would have to look into it.
K22HS used to be on RF 18 (and had different call letters). When KFSM, (CBS Ft Smith/Fayetteville) moved from analog RF 5 to digital RF 18, KFSM forced them to move from RF 18 to RF 22. I remember it well because no one around here could receive KFSM until the LP station moved to 22.

So, if full power still has bumping rights, K22HS will have to move again, if KRBK ever goes full power at Fordland.


K22HS Application history: https://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws...ility_id=11137

Displacement: http://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws....ion_id=1153272
Ozarks is offline  
post #5691 of 5695 Old 09-12-2017, 04:35 AM
Member
 
21hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gentlemen, please allow me to enter this into the inquisition
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20170910-192658_1505215881256.png
Views:	37
Size:	355.1 KB
ID:	2281668  
21hawk is offline  
post #5692 of 5695 Old 09-13-2017, 03:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 130
21hawk,

Thanks for posting that. For the life of me, I still cannot find it in their FB feed.


.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #5693 of 5695 Old 09-13-2017, 05:52 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
21hawk,
Thanks for posting that. For the life of me, I still cannot find it in their FB feed.
It's there, in a nested reply posted on 20 July.
Ozarks is offline  
post #5694 of 5695 Old 09-13-2017, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
Ozarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
From KBRK:
Quote:
...we will displace channel 22 [K22HS] at Eureka Springs when we moved to channel 22...
Good to know, since so far, we've never been able to watch KBRK at all. And more often than not, all that's on K22HS is a placeholder showing that their satellite feed to the holy land is down.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg K22HS.jpg (562.8 KB, 18 views)
Ozarks is offline  
post #5695 of 5695 Old 09-13-2017, 10:13 AM
Member
 
Ingersoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: 64850
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmo2020 View Post
OTA stations get paid per subscriber from the subscription services. They get to double-dip in ad revenue AND subscriber fees. They WANT subscribers to these services rather than giving it away over the air.

Running a transmitter must cost a fortune, just in electrical costs. Add on maintenance, liability insurance, whatever else, and you can see the advantage of shutting these transmitters down. Consolidation was in the cards even before the spectrum auction as a way for TV stations to save money. Why run a megawatt transmitter when you can fiber uplink to a cable or satellite head end at a fraction of the cost?
And that's why KRBK runs several transmitters, right? KOAM asked for 55kw of E.R.P. That's 3.7x the amount of power they have.
http://www.rabbitears.info/static.ph...vhf_nightmares
The broadcaster and viewer are both getting screwed over.
Ingersoll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off