Springfield / Joplin, MO - HDTV - Page 20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 5466 Old 02-06-2006, 07:16 AM
Member
 
trbizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirData View Post

Review of Super Bowl XL on Mediacom:

PQ was good. Sound was not too good. Had several breaks in the audio in my area. But, at least it was in HD!

I had audio issues w/ audio as well and i was watching via dish, I assumed it was my marantz receiver freaking out or something. ( my audio was coming in faint through surround speakers after commercial break)
trbizwiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 5466 Old 02-06-2006, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Stoped by mediacom today on my way home from work and asked some questions about the HD-DVR she said they were out of them right now BUT she said the new ones coming in would be series III. She quoted me $75 for 3 tvs 1 hd-dvr and 2 regular boxes that included the family teir, the stars encore pack and the HD pack plus 5mb internet.. The price is good for one year.. NOT BAD I maybe dumping dish after the olympics..
Blaine Doss is offline  
post #573 of 5466 Old 02-07-2006, 06:02 AM
Member
 
trbizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaine Doss View Post

Stoped by mediacom today on my way home from work and asked some questions about the HD-DVR she said they were out of them right now BUT she said the new ones coming in would be series III. She quoted me $75 for 3 tvs 1 hd-dvr and 2 regular boxes that included the family teir, the stars encore pack and the HD pack plus 5mb internet.. The price is good for one year.. NOT BAD I maybe dumping dish after the olympics..

why after the olympics, m/c carries kytv in hd?
trbizwiz is offline  
post #574 of 5466 Old 02-07-2006, 06:50 AM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nj829 View Post

That's true you will get a jump since they are rolling out Springfield this year.

Who is rolling out HD locals this year? DirecTV or Dish?
THX10 is offline  
post #575 of 5466 Old 02-07-2006, 06:53 AM
Member
 
trbizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=THX10]Who is rolling out HD locals this year? DirecTV or Dish?[/QUOTE

I dont have the link for you but dish has springfield in the top 50 markets to receive hd locals through mpeg4 spot beam, rumopr has it that it is an easier spot beam because of the limited hd availability, and the number of dish subs vs cable subs.
trbizwiz is offline  
post #576 of 5466 Old 02-07-2006, 07:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like many E* announcements, it may or may not happen, so I'll believe it when I see it.

According to this screen grab supposedly from another A/V forum
http://tinypic.com/nd28v8.jpg
Springfield is on a list of possible HD cities. But notice it says Dish will make HD available in some of the following markets.... not all.
arxaw is offline  
post #577 of 5466 Old 02-07-2006, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by trbizwiz View Post

why after the olympics, m/c carries kytv in hd?

Dish has a special olympics channel during the games
Blaine Doss is offline  
post #578 of 5466 Old 02-07-2006, 01:52 PM
Member
 
MSpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's nice to see that dish supports the special olympics.
MSpin is offline  
post #579 of 5466 Old 02-07-2006, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSpin View Post

It's nice to see that dish supports the special olympics.

Blaine Doss is offline  
post #580 of 5466 Old 02-09-2006, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well just got an install date from Mediacom here is the deal I am getting.. This is for cable only I am still under a contract for DSL

Family Cable
Digital Plus
Encore/Starz Group
HBO Group
Cinemax Group
HDTV Tier
HDTV Group
3 boxes 2 sd 1 HD-DVR

52.99 for 1 year

When I was on the phone she said that I would need dishes last months' bill.. I also stopped by today after work to verify what I was getting and also to ask about the series III boxes.. She said they are out of DVR's right now and would not have any till March.. They are going to give me a regular box until the HD-DVR is in stock.. And prorate the service until the equipment comes in
Blaine Doss is offline  
post #581 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 07:30 AM
Member
 
BrodyPenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Springfield, Mo
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok.. quick question. I have had the H10 reciever for sometime now and have been using it to get the OTA digital signals.... (not much at that) but I don't have the HD dish itself. I bought the reciever off of eBay so I only had a basic dish installed. Well, I am thinking of upgrading my dish to a HD dish so I can get the HD programming but also I plan to "move" so I can get Fox, CBS and ABC as well. My question is, will I ever need the 5 LNB dish in the Springfield area? Or, can I just go with the 3 LNB and be fine for a good amount of time. I am aware that if I were to get a 5 LNB dish I would have to upgrade to atleast an H10 to use it.

thanks
BrodyPenn is offline  
post #582 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 07:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 5LNB dish will work with all DirecTV receivers. But you can only receive MPEG4 HD channels with it using the H20 receiver, not the H10. Your H10 is not MPEG4 capable. As for HD locals on DirecTV in Springfield, they are waaay down the waiting list for that. So the 3LNB dish is all you'll need for a long time.

Go ahead and upgrade now to an H20 receiver and 3LNB dish before 2/28. That's the last day to get an H20 free (after rebate). (NOTE: DirecTV will start renting equipment instead of selling it, on 3/1/06 - just like cablecos do.)

After you get the H20 and 3LNB dish installed, then call and "move". Keep your mailing address as-is.

When the HD locals do eventually become available (5LNB dish will be required), just call and "move" back to your mailing address. Then order the 5LNB local HD dish upgrade, which will be free at that time.
arxaw is offline  
post #583 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 08:16 AM
Member
 
BrodyPenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Springfield, Mo
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the reply. I guess I will go ahead and order the H20, will I still get the rebate even though I am already a subrscriber? And also, does anybody have a link with some good info about where and how to "move" Thanks again
BrodyPenn is offline  
post #584 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 08:18 AM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=arxaw]Go ahead and upgrade now to an H20 receiver and 3LNB dish before 2/28. That's the last day to get an H20 free (after rebate). (NOTE: DirecTV will start renting equipment instead of selling it, on 3/1/06 - just like cablecos do.)[quote]


Wait a sec! DirecTV is going to start RENTING their boxes? What is up with that? So if I want to upgrade my components (which is frustrating because i just bought a H10 a few months ago) i need to do it now?

Also, when/who is broadcasting in the mpeg4
THX10 is offline  
post #585 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 08:37 AM
Member
 
BrodyPenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Springfield, Mo
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya, I feel the same way, I just bought the H10 about 6 months ago. However, since the H20 is basically free.... after rebates, I don't mind too much. However, if I buy it from Circuit City with the $200 rebate, does it come with the upgraded dish? Or, do I have to buy that seperately, because I check DirecTV's site and you have to buy the dish for $50 with the reciever. So, it is $250 with a $200 rebate.
BrodyPenn is offline  
post #586 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 08:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, renting their equipment. Just like cable. If you want the free (after rebate) H20 receiver, better get one before 2/28/06.
DirecTV switching to lease business model 3/1/06:
http://www.multichannel.com/article/CA6301293.html

DirecTV is migrating to MPEG4 on a market by market basis, and they've already started in 12 larger markets. Requires a new 5LNB dish and an H20 receiver. Initially, only local HD channels will be MPEG4, but soon new HD networks will be added. IIRC, very long term plan is to completely go to MPEG4 for everything, probably as satellites age and are replaced. With MPEG4 and spot beams, they will be able to carry literally thousands of local and national HD channels.

But I don't think springfield will get HD locals on DirecTV for quite a while.
arxaw is offline  
post #587 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 09:06 AM
Member
 
MSpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D* is also moving to the 5LNB dish for all new installs with HD. So you might look into that dish instead of the phase 3.
MSpin is offline  
post #588 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 09:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MSPin,
Interesting.

Do you have a source? I was told that 3LNB installs would still be the standard dish for HD installs in non-MPEG4 markets.
arxaw is offline  
post #589 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what i need to do is the buy as many H20 and then stick them on ebay after a while. just kidding

so what will happen to mt h10 and samsung? will they still work?
THX10 is offline  
post #590 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 05:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Existing boxes will continue to work, and will also work with the newer AT9 5LNB dish, except they will not receive the new MPEG4 channels. NO MPEG4 channels are available in Springfield market yet, and probably won't be for a while, so you're not missing anything with the H10 & Samsung boxes, except a better OTA tuner and sharper picture with the H20. The H20's menu and guide is a lot slower than the H10 and Samsung boxes, too.
arxaw is offline  
post #591 of 5466 Old 02-10-2006, 11:37 PM
Member
 
MSpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

MSPin,
Interesting.

Do you have a source? I was told that 3LNB installs would still be the standard dish for HD installs in non-MPEG4 markets.

I had a copy of an email that went to installers that mentioned that in Feb. I forgot the date. All HD installs would recieve an AT9 dish. It's a smart move, it makes it a single trip instead of a second trip to upgrade later.
MSpin is offline  
post #592 of 5466 Old 02-11-2006, 04:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw that on another forum, but an installer (in the springfield DMA) told me he hadn't even seen any AT9 dishes yet. And he had an H20 on his list of installs for the day.

The "do it all in one truck roll" does make sense though.
arxaw is offline  
post #593 of 5466 Old 02-11-2006, 06:49 PM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm finding the KY3 Olympic coverage nearly unwatchable tonight 2/11/06. I find the many dropouts very irritating. So many dropouts it isn't even worth trying to watch. Anyone else have issues?
tch is offline  
post #594 of 5466 Old 02-11-2006, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Same here very disapointing
Blaine Doss is offline  
post #595 of 5466 Old 02-12-2006, 04:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched it on WNBC-DT and there were no dropouts. The audio got out of sync a couple of times though.

Were there both audio & video dropouts? Or just video? Or was it just pixelization?

Be sure and let the station know you were having problems. Email the Chief Engineer and General Mgr. at:
http://www.ky3.com/contact
arxaw is offline  
post #596 of 5466 Old 02-12-2006, 06:05 AM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

Were there both audio & video dropouts? Or just video? Or was it just pixelization?

When I say "dropouts" I mean the loss of audio and video (black screen) for differing lengths of time from a fraction of a second to several seconds. They were extremely frequent, I don't think I saw a single complete race or performance uninterrupted by technical difficulty. I also saw instances of pixelization but that was not nearly as frequent or annoying.
tch is offline  
post #597 of 5466 Old 02-12-2006, 06:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I thought you meant, both audio & video dropouts.

I did not see any dropouts while watching the olympics on DirecTV HD channel 82 (WNBC-DT NY), but there may have been some before or after I was watching.
arxaw is offline  
post #598 of 5466 Old 02-12-2006, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tch View Post

I'm finding the KY3 Olympic coverage nearly unwatchable tonight 2/11/06. I find the many dropouts very irritating. So many dropouts it isn't even worth trying to watch. Anyone else have issues?


It was bad. I had to turn it over to the SD DirecTV feed.
Arkie is offline  
post #599 of 5466 Old 02-12-2006, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkie View Post

It was bad. I had to turn it over to the SD DirecTV feed.


Yeah it was bad, but at least it was also happening during those STUPID "human/emotional my dog died and i couldnt train" segments.

I just ended up turning it off and going to bed.

Though the UHD feed isnt bad.
THX10 is offline  
post #600 of 5466 Old 02-12-2006, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The pairs figure skating was the only time I saw issues on WNBC on D*, it didn't seem to be an issue for a long time though, just about 20 minutes maybe tops.
nj829 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off