Springfield / Joplin, MO - HDTV - Page 21 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 5454 Old 02-12-2006, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just returned my H10 for a H20. It does seem to have a better OTA receiver. It is picking up some of the weaker signals that the H10 couldnt get before.

It does have a slower menu, but i can live with that.

I do have a question. What is that BBC thing that came with it? something about low ka band stuff.
THX10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 5454 Old 02-12-2006, 06:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KEEP IT in a safe place. You'll need it if you ever upgrade to the new 5LNB dish for local HD via satellite.
arxaw is offline  
post #603 of 5454 Old 02-12-2006, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will Do
THX10 is offline  
post #604 of 5454 Old 02-13-2006, 11:14 AM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night, 2/12/06 looked pretty good HD OTA. I don't know what the problem was the night before. I certainly hope that little bit of spitting snow didn't cause all that mess. If it did, digital is doomed.
tch is offline  
post #605 of 5454 Old 02-13-2006, 01:11 PM
Member
 
trbizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not yet watched the olympics, on kytv, but the limited hd programming I have watched, I have noticed to have a tendancy to be pixelated???
trbizwiz is offline  
post #606 of 5454 Old 02-13-2006, 01:30 PM
Member
 
TJCacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tch View Post

Last night, 2/12/06 looked pretty good HD OTA. I don't know what the problem was the night before. I certainly hope that little bit of spitting snow didn't cause all that mess. If it did, digital is doomed.

At my location in west Springfield (about 1/4 mile past city limits, just east of highway 160), I can only pick up KOZK's PBS-HD broadcast during the time of year when there are no leaves on the trees. As soon as spring comes, and the leaves fully bloom out, I get so much pixilation that the picture is unwatchable, and that's with a rooftop antenna mounted above the top of my chimney.

PLM
TJCacher is offline  
post #607 of 5454 Old 02-13-2006, 02:18 PM
Member
 
trbizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJCacher View Post

At my location in west Springfield (about 1/4 mile past city limits, just east of highway 160), I can only pick up KOZK's PBS-HD broadcast during the time of year when there are no leaves on the trees. As soon as spring comes, and the leaves fully bloom out, I get so much pixilation that the picture is unwatchable, and that's with a rooftop antenna mounted above the top of my chimney.

PLM

have you tried a rotor? I was complaining to a guy that works @ the shaq and he reccomended a rotor. I am not sure I want to invest the time & resources though if my dish will p/u hd locals in the NEAR future
trbizwiz is offline  
post #608 of 5454 Old 02-13-2006, 03:33 PM
Member
 
TJCacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trbizwiz View Post

have you tried a rotor? I was complaining to a guy that works @ the shaq and he reccomended a rotor. I am not sure I want to invest the time & resources though if my dish will p/u hd locals in the NEAR future

Haven't considered one, yet. With only NBC and PBS broadcasting HD locally, it's just not worth the effort considering no guarantee of success. At some point when more local HD is broadcast OTA, I might consider it.

As far as satellite, I have a DirecTivo HD unit, and am really mixed about giving it up to get Springfield's HD locals from DirecTV (apparently Mpeg4 will be used by DirecTV to broadcast Lilo HD, and only the new, non-Tivo-based units will be able to receive MP4 broadcasts). I have heard some discouraging stuff about DTV's non-Tivo DVR, and have been a Tivo user since near the beginning of Tivo availability. Decisions, decisions....

PLM
TJCacher is offline  
post #609 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 05:59 AM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trbizwiz View Post

I have not yet watched the olympics, on kytv, but the limited hd programming I have watched, I have noticed to have a tendancy to be pixelated???

I had not noticed with other programming but during the Snowboarding last night I noticed a tendency for the picture to blur during the runs and it looked bad. When shown in slow motion it was fine. Skating seemed fine too. Does fast action normally have issues?
tch is offline  
post #610 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 06:20 AM
tch
Member
 
tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trbizwiz View Post

have you tried a rotor? I was complaining to a guy that works @ the shaq and he reccomended a rotor. I am not sure I want to invest the time & resources though if my dish will p/u hd locals in the NEAR future

I can't imagine what good a rotor would do for either of you. If the antenna is pointed toward Fordland you should be good. I live in Ozark and have the cheapest antenna from Rat Shack in the attic. Signals come booming in... 95+.
tch is offline  
post #611 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 06:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tch View Post

...during the Snowboarding last night I noticed a tendency for the picture to blur during the runs and it looked bad. When shown in slow motion it was fine. Skating seemed fine too. Does fast action normally have issues?

It often does on stations that choose quantity over quality. KYTV-DT is attempting to do 1 HD channel (NBC) + 1 SD channel (UPN) in the bandwidth originally intended for ONE HD channel with no multicast channels. There just isn't enough bandwidth to do decent MPEG2 HD and multicasting too. Scenes with lots of motion take more bandwidth and if there's not enough bandwidth, you end up with loss of detail and/or pixelization.

KOZK has the same problem only worse. It will get worse on KYTV too, when the olympics end and they start another sub channel for news/weather on 3-3.

Complain to the stations engineers and general mgrs. via their web sites.
arxaw is offline  
post #612 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 06:59 AM
Member
 
trbizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=arxaw]It often does on stations that choose quantity over quality. KYTV-DT is attempting to do 1 HD channel (NBC) + 1 SD channel (UPN) in the bandwidth originally intended for ONE HD channel with no multicast channels. T




I heard on KSGF radio that UPN and The WB are slated to be eliminated very soon.
trbizwiz is offline  
post #613 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 07:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPN & WB networks are merging in September. New network will be called "CW"
Article here.

Not sure where they'll end up being broadcast locally. Hopefully, not on a KYTV-DT sub channel.
arxaw is offline  
post #614 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 09:12 AM
Member
 
trbizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

UPN & WB networks are merging in September. New network will be called "CW"
Article here.

Not sure where they'll end up being broadcast locally. Hopefully, not on a KYTV-DT sub channel.

I am pretty sure an NBC affilliate would not broadcast a CBS affilliated station, but who knows in springfield, IE ksfx & kolr
trbizwiz is offline  
post #615 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 09:48 AM
Member
 
MSpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

It often does on stations that choose quantity over quality. KYTV-DT is attempting to do 1 HD channel (NBC) + 1 SD channel (UPN) in the bandwidth originally intended for ONE HD channel with no multicast channels. There just isn't enough bandwidth to do decent MPEG2 HD and multicasting too. Scenes with lots of motion take more bandwidth and if there's not enough bandwidth, you end up with loss of detail and/or pixelization.

KOZK has the same problem only worse. It will get worse on KYTV too, when the olympics end and they start another sub channel for news/weather on 3-3.

Complain to the stations engineers and general mgrs. via their web sites.


That is true, but the issue he saw with snowboarding was not related. The snowboarding event uses a smaller HD camera on a crane in Tureno. Due to the sun and reflection of the snow the bluring seen was due to the camera. It's a white balance error and is common with many cameras. With some of the smaller HD cameras it is more obvious.
MSpin is offline  
post #616 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 10:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. I didn't see the snowboarding and didn't know about the smaller cam. Thanks for the info.

I do know though, that KYTV-DT HD PQ was obviously worse when they were testing an additional sub channel (3-3) before the olympics. And KOZK's HD channel is barely DVD quality, due to multicasting.
arxaw is offline  
post #617 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am now getting true 5.1 from KYTV? I used to only get 2.1 anyone else notice this?
Blaine Doss is offline  
post #618 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
MRUSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Crane, Mo.
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaine Doss View Post

I am now getting true 5.1 from KYTV? I used to only get 2.1 anyone else notice this?

Yes I did, it's the first 5.1 dd I have saw on KY3. I hope it continues after the Olympics.
MRUSS is offline  
post #619 of 5454 Old 02-14-2006, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have noticed something interesting since i fired up the H20.

21-2 comes in at 720p instead of 1080i. First I thought I had the setting wrong, but it is all native. ESPNHD and ESPNHD2 are 720p and all other HD is 1080i except for 21-2.

Dont know why but i really dont care since it is better than nothing.

Also i have noticed some blurring on some of the events, but i have also noticed it some on UHD as well when they run the Olympics. But the pq seems to be better on UHD over KY3
THX10 is offline  
post #620 of 5454 Old 02-15-2006, 06:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Better than nothing" is a good way to describe the PQ on 21-2.
arxaw is offline  
post #621 of 5454 Old 02-15-2006, 08:14 AM
Member
 
trbizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

"Better than nothing" is a good way to describe the PQ on 21-2.


I agree. I would rather have 720p all day than 480
trbizwiz is offline  
post #622 of 5454 Old 02-16-2006, 09:33 AM
Member
 
chaotic646's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Willard, MO
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just cancelled dish. Now I guess I'll be going a couple weeks with no tv until Mediacom gets their mpeg-4 receivers in. Cant wait to check out some of these locals in hi-def.
chaotic646 is offline  
post #623 of 5454 Old 02-16-2006, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My mediacom install is sat. No DVR until march :-(
Blaine Doss is offline  
post #624 of 5454 Old 02-17-2006, 09:51 AM
Member
 
chaotic646's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Willard, MO
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They told me no hi-def mpeg-4 receivers until March as well. I guess they'll get those and the DVR's in at the same time.
chaotic646 is offline  
post #625 of 5454 Old 02-18-2006, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
THX10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just flipped on the tube this morning and I noticed that TNTHD is now on channel 75 with DirecTv.
THX10 is offline  
post #626 of 5454 Old 02-18-2006, 08:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yep.

D* added TNT-HD on 2/17.
arxaw is offline  
post #627 of 5454 Old 02-18-2006, 03:20 PM
Member
 
BrodyPenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Springfield, Mo
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I just ordered my H20 from DirecTV today. Had to buy the dish, was only $50. I bought it from DirecTV, and not through Circuit City who wanted to charge me $100 for the dish and $150 for the installation on top of the $200 for the reciever. I politley said stick it... and went online and ordered it from DTV's website. Free installation on Sat. Now I just have to "move" Good to see that TNT was added though, so NASCAR in HD all season for me I hope
BrodyPenn is offline  
post #628 of 5454 Old 02-18-2006, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well my cable is installed.. I did get a DVR but its a series II I will be trading it for a series III when they get them in... As for the picture quality lets just say you know when you are on the analog channels :-) Hopefully the series III will improve the picture.. As for the HD channels they look pretty darn good if not better than dishes. The digital channels look about the same with dish having a slight edge. The GUI for the boxs is not as configurable as dishes but OK. Overall considering a $30 monthly difference in price I am pleased for now :-)
Blaine Doss is offline  
post #629 of 5454 Old 02-18-2006, 06:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrodyPenn View Post

... Now I just have to "move" Good to see that TNT was added though, so NASCAR in HD all season for me I hope

TNT-HD is a welcome addition, but I wish they wouldn't stretch the 4:3 upconverts.

Remember if you "move" out of the Springfield DMA, you will get the big 4 networks in HD from NY (free if the address qualifies and you sub to the HD package), but your locals will change too. And if the locals for the city you "move" to are on spot beams, you *may* not be able to view them. There are some places that will qualify for the big 4 nets in the Springfield DMA, allowing you to keep your Spgfld locals. Check low lying addresses in the counties farthest away from Springfield using this eligibility site.
arxaw is offline  
post #630 of 5454 Old 02-19-2006, 12:09 PM
Member
 
chaotic646's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Willard, MO
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaine Doss View Post

Well my cable is installed.. I did get a DVR but its a series II I will be trading it for a series III when they get them in... As for the picture quality lets just say you know when you are on the analog channels :-) Hopefully the series III will improve the picture.. As for the HD channels they look pretty darn good if not better than dishes. The digital channels look about the same with dish having a slight edge. The GUI for the boxs is not as configurable as dishes but OK. Overall considering a $30 monthly difference in price I am pleased for now :-)

What were you paying for dish??? When I compared the two the cable was about $8 a month more for the same package I was getting on dish.
chaotic646 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off