Springfield / Joplin, MO - HDTV - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 5454 Old 12-12-2006, 08:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoops View Post

I couldn't imagine any significant level change. Increasing from 1000 KW to 2000 KW would only be a 3 db increase, and there's no way you could push it that hard.

I was thinking of more like from 200kW to 1,000kW. The station I received (for just a short time during initial "fire up") is KFTA-DT. It came in at 100%, then disappeared a couple days later.

They are currently authorized to broadcast at 200kW, but have an application for 1000kW. Info here.
arxaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 5454 Old 12-12-2006, 04:14 PM
Member
 
vette41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

I was thinking of more like from 200kW to 1,000kW. The station I received (for just a short time during initial "fire up") is KFTA-DT. It came in at 100%, then disappeared a couple days later.

They are currently authorized to broadcast at 200kW, but have an application for 1000kW. Info here.

You might try it again, its on now
vette41 is offline  
post #1173 of 5454 Old 12-12-2006, 07:02 PM
Newbie
 
JonnyG24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any news on Mediacom having KOLR & KSFX in HD. Does anyone have these channels in their guide?
JonnyG24 is offline  
post #1174 of 5454 Old 12-13-2006, 06:32 AM
Member
 
trbizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just switched to mediacom from dish, and I have an lg 3410 qam tuner, but I have not been able to get the hd channels with it is anyone using one of these and how do you get it to work?
trbizwiz is offline  
post #1175 of 5454 Old 12-13-2006, 06:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vette41 View Post

You might try it again, its on now

vette41,
I can't receive KFTA-DT. I occasionally get blips on the signal strength meter up to 60% or more, but it rapidly drops to zero again, and will not lock. The reason is because KFTA-DT and KSFX analog in Springfield are both on channel 27. I can get analog KSFX analog fine, but it's jamming KFTA-DT on the same frequency. So I won't be able to get KFTA-DT until either:
1. KFTA-DT increases power.
2. KSFX analog shuts down or reduces power.
arxaw is offline  
post #1176 of 5454 Old 12-13-2006, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
rhoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyG24 View Post

Any news on Mediacom having KOLR & KSFX in HD. Does anyone have these channels in their guide?

Mediacom knows what it has to do to make it work. They need get another brand of IRD / Decoder that is compatible with KOLR / KSFX's Tandberg Encoder.

They won't make the channels active until it's working properly.

Their current Scopus IRD / Decoder, just doesn't "get along" with a Tandberg.
rhoops is offline  
post #1177 of 5454 Old 12-13-2006, 03:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So it's conceivable that KOLR/KSFX may actually be available to us free OTA antenna viewers before they get on cable?
arxaw is offline  
post #1178 of 5454 Old 12-13-2006, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
rhoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

So it's conceivable that KOLR/KSFX may actually be available to us free OTA antenna viewers before they get on cable?

Conveivable, but not likely. I think Medicom has the proper decoder / IRD on order and they could walk in with it tomorrow afternoon.

Things are going remarkably well at the transmitter site. The antenna and transmission are complete and were tested today. The transmitter rep is in town.
The chief engineer still won't "guarantee" a Christmas air date, but I think we are very close.
rhoops is offline  
post #1179 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 05:38 AM
Member
 
langlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Norfork, Mt. Home, AR & San Antonio, TX
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rhoops, since I can receive 44 and 23 here in Arkansas, I would be very interested in the HAAT of KOLR and KSFX compared to KY3, you have been kind enough to give the location north and south but since i'm almost due south of Fordland, I'm interested in HAAT.
-Leon

G'day
Leon

31 miles OTA San Antonio
70 Miles OTA Ozarks
langlin is offline  
post #1180 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 07:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
langlin, I'm sure rhoops will answer your question, but you can look up all sorts of station info, including ERP, HAAT, frequency, etc. at:
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/video/tvq.html
Just enter the station's 4 call letters in the "Call Sign" field.

To get info about all Springfield stations at once, leave the call sign field blank and type Springfield into the "City" field, and hit ENTER.

For each station's info, look under the "digital" heading in red for DTV info.
"STA" means Special Temporary Authority to operate at low power and/or temp. tower locations.
arxaw is offline  
post #1181 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 07:58 AM
Member
 
langlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Norfork, Mt. Home, AR & San Antonio, TX
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks arxaw, ouch that means KOLR and KSFX are 270 feet lower than KY3, sure hope I can still skim in and receive them, I sometime get pixelation on KOZK when the leaves are on the trees and they are 231 feet higher than KOLR will be but at 100kW, I will just keep my fingers crossed, my antenna is 40 feet high now so I won't be going higher.

G'day
Leon

31 miles OTA San Antonio
70 Miles OTA Ozarks
langlin is offline  
post #1182 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 08:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
langlin,
If you click the "coverage maps" that will give you a conservative estimate of whether or not you will be able to receive the stations. I am right on the edge of KYTV-DT & KOZK-DT's coverage maps, and I get them at 100% signal strength. Of course, elevation helps.

What's the elevation at your house? If you don't know, a mouseover of your house address using Google Earth software will tell you. You can also determine the height of hills between you & the Fordland/Spgfld area.
http://earth.google.com
(broadband required)

What antenna are you using? Do you have a peramp?
arxaw is offline  
post #1183 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 08:27 AM
Member
 
langlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Norfork, Mt. Home, AR & San Antonio, TX
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
arxaw, I'm at 592 ft (36.19.11 92.15.56) and there is nothing higher than Fordland between us, but I don't know how to account for the curvature of the earth. My antenna is an old all channel Channel Master 1985 vintage with a preamp and I could certainly up grade that.

G'day
Leon

31 miles OTA San Antonio
70 Miles OTA Ozarks
langlin is offline  
post #1184 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 08:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If your OTA equipment is over 20 yrs old, replacing it with something newer would likely help. A high gain CM 4228 antenna + CM 7777 preamp usually work well at your distance. The 4228 should also work for KOLR-DT when they move from UHF ch 52 back to VHF ch 10 in 2009. I currenty use this combo for VHF chs 9 & 13, plus the UHF chs.

Are you using RG6 or RG59 coax?
arxaw is offline  
post #1185 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 10:36 AM
Member
 
langlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Norfork, Mt. Home, AR & San Antonio, TX
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RG59 and your right it will probably help,

G'day
Leon

31 miles OTA San Antonio
70 Miles OTA Ozarks
langlin is offline  
post #1186 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
rhoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by langlin View Post

arxaw, I'm at 592 ft (36.19.11 92.15.56) and there is nothing higher than Fordland between us, but I don't know how to account for the curvature of the earth. My antenna is an old all channel Channel Master 1985 vintage with a preamp and I could certainly up grade that.

I was really surprised to hear your elevation above sea level. Ground level at the KOLR / KSFX / KSPR tower is 1577 ft AMSL. Even Bull Shoals is 653 ft, so you are quite a ways "downstream".

I think the best test is how well you pull in channels 27 and 33. RG6 and a new preamp would be a good start.
rhoops is offline  
post #1187 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 12:16 PM
Member
 
langlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Norfork, Mt. Home, AR & San Antonio, TX
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoops View Post

I was really surprised to hear your elevation above sea level. Ground level at the KOLR / KSFX / KSPR tower is 1577 ft AMSL. Even Bull Shoals is 653 ft, so you are quite a ways "downstream".

I think the best test is how well you pull in channels 27 and 33. RG6 and a new preamp would be a good start.

Yeah we are lower than Bull Shoals, I get 10 and 3 analog clear but the Uhf's 33 and 27 are "watchable" but with snow. To be honest, I was surprised to get a perfect signal from 44 so maybe yours will be there too, I still need to fix up my antenna system anyway but I really had no incentive until you guys started HD. I spent 35 years in broadcasting so I feel your excitement. Thanks for your effort.

G'day
Leon

31 miles OTA San Antonio
70 Miles OTA Ozarks
langlin is offline  
post #1188 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am sitting right at 1,400 feet and get KY3 and KOZK at about 93 signal strength. Occasionally, I have picked up 10 and 27 even at their reduced power. I would assume the new and improved versions of those channels won't be a problem.

Even though I am quite a bit west of you, I would bet you have a pretty good shot of landing the new channels when they fire up.

Do you ever catch any of the Jonesboro stations at your location?
Arkie is offline  
post #1189 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 02:26 PM
Member
 
langlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Norfork, Mt. Home, AR & San Antonio, TX
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can receive the abc analog from Jonesboro but I don't have a roter and haven't seen any digital from there yet. I get the Digital PBS (KETS AETN) from Mountain View, AR like gangbusters even though they are directly behind my antenna. 1400 feet sounds like you are on a mountain top .

G'day
Leon

31 miles OTA San Antonio
70 Miles OTA Ozarks
langlin is offline  
post #1190 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
haley-SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern SE Arkansas
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by langlin View Post

I can receive the abc analog from Jonesboro but I don't have a roter and haven't seen any digital from there yet. I get the Digital PBS (KETS AETN) from Mountain View, AR like gangbusters even though they are directly behind my antenna. 1400 feet sounds like you are on a mountain top .

KAIT-DT is on RF channel 9 (VHF). I've received them a few times via tropo scatter/ducting in upper-Southeastern Arkansas. They do pass HD, but also mulitcast a local weather channel, and The Tube. Pointing the antenna toward Eqypt AR during evening or early morning may bring in KAIT.

BTW I'll give ya a shout the first time KOLR/KSFX digitals shows up here with the trop enhancements.

H.
in the southern Little Rock DMA (and soon to be grade B for KTVE-DT)


haley-SEA is offline  
post #1191 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 04:59 PM
Member
 
vette41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm able to pickup Springfield PBS dt but not KYTV dt does that sound logical or am I just not finding it? I'm on Table Rock. Thanks
vette41 is offline  
post #1192 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by langlin View Post

I can receive the abc analog from Jonesboro but I don't have a roter and haven't seen any digital from there yet. I get the Digital PBS (KETS AETN) from Mountain View, AR like gangbusters even though they are directly behind my antenna. 1400 feet sounds like you are on a mountain top .

No mountain top, just a ridge. 1400 is a fairly common elevation here in the Harrison area.... I think the airport sits at 1362 or so.......

The elevation helps though, as I get all 4 of the majors from the Fayetteville DMA, and quite often pull in some of the Little Rock stations......
Arkie is offline  
post #1193 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 05:08 PM
Member
 
langlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Norfork, Mt. Home, AR & San Antonio, TX
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vette41 View Post

I'm able to pickup Springfield PBS dt but not KYTV dt does that sound logical or am I just not finding it? I'm on Table Rock. Thanks

Sounds unlikely to me, have you tried to manually put in channel 44?

G'day
Leon

31 miles OTA San Antonio
70 Miles OTA Ozarks
langlin is offline  
post #1194 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 05:10 PM
Member
 
langlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Norfork, Mt. Home, AR & San Antonio, TX
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkie View Post

No mountain top, just a ridge. 1400 is a fairly common elevation here in the Harrison area.... I think the airport sits at 1362 or so.......

The elevation helps though, as I get all 4 of the majors from the Fayetteville DMA, and quite often pull in some of the Little Rock stations......

I guess one of the disadvantages of being on the lake shore is that puts me in kind of a hole for DT but the fishing is great.

G'day
Leon

31 miles OTA San Antonio
70 Miles OTA Ozarks
langlin is offline  
post #1195 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
jtdhistory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live near St Johns (On South Side so no obstructions accept some trees toward Fordland) and am looking to get an antenna. I am looking at the 4228. I have a SAMSUNG SIR-T451 HDTV TUNER on the way and a samsung hdtv.
My questions are
1) Will I get all major networks with this 4228 antenna? in anolog or hdtv?
2) Will 4228 do vhf/uhf?
3)Any indoor antenna that might work?
4)My attic is wood and regular shingles. Okay to put 4228 in attic?
5)Any other possibilities for OTA?

Thank you in advance, really like this forum very helpful.
jtdhistory is offline  
post #1196 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 05:28 PM
Member
 
vette41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by langlin View Post

Sounds unlikely to me, have you tried to manually put in channel 44?

No I haven't, but I will try it. Thanks
vette41 is offline  
post #1197 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 05:50 PM
Senior Member
 
sneaky snooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtdhistory View Post

I live near St Johns (On South Side so no obstructions accept some trees toward Fordland) and am looking to get an antenna. I am looking at the 4228. I have a SAMSUNG SIR-T451 HDTV TUNER on the way and a samsung hdtv.
My questions are
1) Will I get all major networks with this 4228 antenna? in anolog or hdtv?
2) Will 4228 do vhf/uhf?
3)Any indoor antenna that might work?
4)My attic is wood and regular shingles. Okay to put 4228 in attic?
5)Any other possibilities for OTA?

Thank you in advance, really like this forum very helpful.

1) Yes and no. You'll get 4 HD channels (well, when KSFX and KOLR go full power any day now) You will NOT get ABC in HD anytime soon. Its just not going to happen (see previous posts)
sneaky snooper is offline  
post #1198 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 05:54 PM
Member
 
vette41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtdhistory View Post

I live near St Johns (On South Side so no obstructions accept some trees toward Fordland) and am looking to get an antenna. I am looking at the 4228. I have a SAMSUNG SIR-T451 HDTV TUNER on the way and a samsung hdtv.
My questions are
1) Will I get all major networks with this 4228 antenna? in anolog or hdtv?
2) Will 4228 do vhf/uhf?
3)Any indoor antenna that might work?
4)My attic is wood and regular shingles. Okay to put 4228 in attic?
5)Any other possibilities for OTA?

Thank you in advance, really like this forum very helpful.

Believe me there are others here that know a whole lot more than me but I can tell you a little. You can get all the networks but KY3-DT is the only one that is in HD right now. That will soon change as CBS-Fox are close to being ready. The other 2 questions you'll have to try it to know for sure.
vette41 is offline  
post #1199 of 5454 Old 12-14-2006, 07:19 PM
Member
 
BrodyPenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Springfield, Mo
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 4228 in my attic and I am not too far away from you jtdhistory. I receive everything in digital just fine, except for 33. Occasionally I can get it, but only if the stars are aligned correctly It does come in fine analog though If you were to get a pre-amp 33 might be fine. I don't know, I am going to buy one after the first of the year. 33 sits around 33-48 percent signal strength atm
BrodyPenn is offline  
post #1200 of 5454 Old 12-15-2006, 09:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoops View Post

...Ground level at the KOLR / KSFX / KSPR tower is 1577 ft AMSL....

Isn't the top of the tower around 3,000 ft AMSL?
arxaw is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off