Orange County, CA - Cox - Page 231 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2011, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Whitearrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 51
BTW, if you haven't been following the saga over on TCF, I'll make a long story short and say that a TiVo VP and a Cox resolution rep are now talking to both each other and to Tribune about getting this resolved. Probably not tonight, so make some ugly manual recordings, but fingers crossed, tomorrow.
Whitearrow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2011, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
MJCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RSM, CA
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
moyekj do you happen to know the freq of channels 1002-1012?

I can manually set my media center to tune to a specific freq in the mean time.
MJCS is offline  
Old 12-06-2011, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
MJCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RSM, CA
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MJCS is offline  
Old 12-06-2011, 08:20 PM
Member
 
jflogerzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stupid Cox. I knew this was going to happen. Now we are blocked from all HD channels till they fix this.
jflogerzi is offline  
Old 12-06-2011, 11:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJCS View Post

moyekj do you happen to know the freq of channels 1002-1012?

I can manually set my media center to tune to a specific freq in the mean time.

Code:
CHANNEL  FREQ (MHz)
1002     105
1004     657
1005     597
1006     237
1007     267
1008     111
1009     105
1010     597
1011     267
1012     291

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Visiting zap2it.com, entering 92692 and selecting Aliso Viejo Digital listings I now see the updated channel list, so that is a good sign! Now it's up to TiVo to make sure they enter them in their database today. Hopefully a net connect in the afternoon will get us updated listings on TiVos. I did the daily cancel To Do entries and re-schedule manual recordings already but hopefully they will now record with proper guide information attached.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 10:13 AM
Member
 
civerson4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Irvine guide data has still not been updated at zap 2 it.
civerson4 is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by civerson4 View Post

The Irvine guide data has still not been updated at zap 2 it.

Check again. Close browser/clear cache and then re-type zip code and choose digital listings. I think you'll see it.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Whitearrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Just got this from Margret (TiVo VP):

"Hi Lynn,

The updates have made it from Cox to Tribune. They will be available to TiVo DVRs that connect to the TiVo Service after Thursday at Noon Pacific.

--Margret"
Whitearrow is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitearrow View Post

Just got this from Margret (TiVo VP):

"Hi Lynn,

The updates have made it from Cox to Tribune. They will be available to TiVo DVRs that connect to the TiVo Service after Thursday at Noon Pacific.

--Margret"

Thanks for the update. Disappointing we have to wait one additional day and it means I'll have a whole bunch of recordings without descriptions to contend with but at least this is last day to deal with this.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Whitearrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post

Check again. Close browser/clear cache and then re-type zip code and choose digital listings. I think you'll see it.

I think what he means is if you select "Cox Communications - Digital (Irvine)" from the provider list instead of "Cox Communications Orange Cnty - Digital (Aliso Viejo)" you get the old lineup.

Hopefully this discrepancy won't keep us Irvine dwellers from getting the proper lineup pushed to us, or at least we can change it through guided setup, though a season pass nightmare that would be.
Whitearrow is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 11:19 AM
Member
 
nocturne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitearrow View Post

I think what he means is if you select "Cox Communications - Digital (Irvine)" from the provider list instead of "Cox Communications Orange Cnty - Digital (Aliso Viejo)" you get the old lineup.

Hopefully this discrepancy won't keep us Irvine dwellers from getting the proper lineup pushed to us, or at least we can change it through guided setup, though a season pass nightmare that would be.

Is there even a difference between the 2 areas for channels? I thought all Cox OC had the same lineup.....
nocturne1 is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, now looks like zap2it.com doesn't have the updated listings anymore either for Irvine Digital or Aliso Viejo Digital. Strange...

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Whitearrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post

Well, now looks like zap2it.com doesn't have the updated listings anymore either for Irvine Digital or Aliso Viejo Digital. Strange...

Seems to be back again under Aliso Viejo, with some big mistakes, like it's missing all the HBO's and Showtimes from the 1200's.
Whitearrow is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Net connect did get the channel updates now on one of my TiVos (via slingbox). The To Do List is still not updated properly so I'll have to check it again in a few hours. As expected looks like all season passes will update to new channel numbers automatically.

I think the premiums in the 1200s and some channels under 1300s are not correct in this update, but I'm not concerned about those right now.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Whitearrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I posted about the 1200 and 1300 channels over on TC, and sent a follow up to the people I've been speaking to about it.

BTW, Margret did say that "It looks like several of the cities did get updated today, but a few more are coming in tomorrow."
Whitearrow is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 03:22 PM
Member
 
nocturne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post

Net connect did get the channel updates now on one of my TiVos (via slingbox). The To Do List is still not updated properly so I'll have to check it again in a few hours. As expected looks like all season passes will update to new channel numbers automatically.

I think the premiums in the 1200s and some channels under 1300s are not correct in this update, but I'm not concerned about those right now.

I had a recording start at 2PM. Still had the 700 number in the to-do list before time came around, but it indeed recorded on the new channel number.
nocturne1 is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My To Do List and Season Passes are mostly correct now. I cancelled manual recordings I set this morning and re-scheduled them.
NOTE: Season Passes only update if there is current guide information available for the show in question. So, for example "Falling Skies" on TNT is currently not in guide listings and my Season Pass is still not updated and tied to 718. My other Season Passes that actually have guide data were automatically updated.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Whitearrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 51
For those not on TC -- there's an issue where the guide data is for the east coast feed, but Cox carries the west coast feed for certain channels. Data on those channels will be 3 hours off. It's been reported. Here are a list of affected channels:

1017 FX HD
1018 TNT HD
1019 ABC Family HD
1020 Disney HD
1027 TBS HD
1049 MTV HD
1050 VH1 HD
1052 Spike HD*
1058 Lifetime HD
1060 Comedy Central HD
1070 Nick HD
1071 Cartoon Network HD
1074 CMT HD

*Spike can't be confirmed (happens when you show the same thing all day) but we're fairly sure that we get the west coast feed.
Whitearrow is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Whitearrow (Lynn) thanks again for all your work in getting these corrected. Much appreciated.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 09:20 PM
Member
 
jflogerzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here in zipcode 92782 we no updated channel info. This is really pissing me off. I am going to call and complain and get a credit.
jflogerzi is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 11:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
JETninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No issues here that I can find (92691), just did a manual walk through all the channels and only ones that didn't work shouldn't. (don't pay for Max or Starz)

Happy to see BBCHD finally, maybe now I'll watch Dr Who....Ha Ha..

JET
JETninja is offline  
Old 12-08-2011, 06:02 AM
Member
 
civerson4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zap2it.com has the correct guide info for the Aliso Viejo Digital Lineup--but the Irvine digital lineup is still the old one. I don't think there is a difference--so I will probably set my HTPC to use the Aliso version.

Weird....I have no idea why it is so difficult for Cox to update this stuff, very frustrating for non-Cox DVR users.
civerson4 is offline  
Old 12-08-2011, 08:47 AM
Member
 
jflogerzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by civerson4 View Post

Zap2it.com has the correct guide info for the Aliso Viejo Digital Lineup--but the Irvine digital lineup is still the old one. I don't think there is a difference--so I will probably set my HTPC to use the Aliso version.

Weird....I have no idea why it is so difficult for Cox to update this stuff, very frustrating for non-Cox DVR users.

I don't see the correct lineup under zip 92782 on zap2it.com. Still none of the 1000 channels show. Still all listed in the 700's
jflogerzi is offline  
Old 12-08-2011, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitearrow View Post

For those not on TC -- there's an issue where the guide data is for the east coast feed, but Cox carries the west coast feed for certain channels. Data on those channels will be 3 hours off. It's been reported. Here are a list of affected channels:

1017 FX HD
1018 TNT HD
1019 ABC Family HD
1020 Disney HD
1027 TBS HD
1049 MTV HD
1050 VH1 HD
1052 Spike HD*
1058 Lifetime HD
1060 Comedy Central HD
1070 Nick HD
1071 Cartoon Network HD
1074 CMT HD

*Spike can't be confirmed (happens when you show the same thing all day) but we're fairly sure that we get the west coast feed.

Just checked Aliso Viejo digital lineup on zap2it.com and it seems to have the correct West Coast channel info now.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-08-2011, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Irvine digital also has the channel lineup update with proper west coast channels on zap2it.com when I just checked now.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-08-2011, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajwees41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 2,798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by civerson4 View Post

Zap2it.com has the correct guide info for the Aliso Viejo Digital Lineup--but the Irvine digital lineup is still the old one. I don't think there is a difference--so I will probably set my HTPC to use the Aliso version.

Weird....I have no idea why it is so difficult for Cox to update this stuff, very frustrating for non-Cox DVR users.

It's tribune not cox who needs to update.
ajwees41 is offline  
Old 12-08-2011, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I now have updated lineup complete with the channels in the 1200s & West Coast fix etc. so mostly back to normal now. Thanks all who helped make it happen quickly.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
Old 12-08-2011, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
rickdsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no revised guide for Media Center 7. The Cox Digital Irvine guide is still the same. I switched over to Aliso Viejo and it was missing tons of channels.

Just checking, but this is happening to others and not just me, right? Can't imagine it is taking this long to update the guide.
rickdsp is offline  
Old 12-08-2011, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moyekj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickdsp View Post

Still no revised guide for Media Center 7. The Cox Digital Irvine guide is still the same. I switched over to Aliso Viejo and it was missing tons of channels.

Just checking, but this is happening to others and not just me, right? Can't imagine it is taking this long to update the guide.

zap2it.com has updated listings for both Irvine and Aliso Viejo Digital lineups. There are a few remaining problems left that Whitearrow is reporting but it's mostly OK now. I don't know if Media Center sources data from Zap2it and how long it takes to propagate to Microsoft, but TiVo guide data sourced from zap2it is mostly good now.

TiVo 6 tuner Roamio Pro, Elite & Premiere + MoCA networking.
kmttg - Tivo To Go and Advanced Remote Control

moyekj is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off