New York, NY - OTA - Page 477 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14281 of 17366 Old 07-08-2011, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Another Question. Did Channel 5 (FOX) change formats? I am not getting black lines on the sides. It does not seem like 16.9 but that new format. What is it called 5.2? Something like that

thanks
keyboard21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14282 of 17366 Old 07-08-2011, 11:14 AM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyboard21 View Post
Ok had an issue. Not sure if it is a NYC/OTA thing or a Dtvpal drv problem. So I am posting in both threads.

Last week my aunt got 2 add-on channels. 13-102 13-103 this in in addition to 13.1 .2 .3.

Anyone else get 13. 101 13.102?

When you change the station the DVR Froze for like 30 seconds to 1 minute. Every-time this happened When I flipped through the stations and got to 13.101 and 13.102

I did a factory restore and the problem went away. What is the cause of this?

Anyone have this done to them?

ty
I'm sure is just a dsp signal error on your dvr nothing more or less. maybe you can try manually adjusting your channel, on my stb i can manually tune in channel it bypass all the subchannels.
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14283 of 17366 Old 07-08-2011, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycdigital09 View Post
I'm sure is just a dsp signal error on your dvr nothing more or less. maybe you can try manually adjusting your channel, on my stb i can manually tune in channel it bypass all the subchannels.
dsp?


I did a factory restore and problem is fixed. I wonder if it will happen again?
keyboard21 is offline  
post #14284 of 17366 Old 07-08-2011, 01:32 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dsp short for digital signal processing
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14285 of 17366 Old 07-08-2011, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycdigital09 View Post

dsp short for digital signal processing

The guys on the DtVpal board are saying that channel 13 (PBS) is the culprit. That channel 101/102 are for UPDATE TV.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UpdateTV

The UpdateTV network can deliver updates to many types of devices - not just television sets. Devices such as Blu-ray players, mobile/handheld TVs, set-top boxes and gaming consoles are capable of using the service - since they are connected to the Internet, a cable network, and/or a digital TV antenna.


I guess I can see how an UPDATE channels (101, 102) Would drive the DTVpal crazy. It is trying to update a DVR that can not accept updates.

You would think that other TV/Dvr would have this problem. Funny how no one else who owns my DVR has had this issue?

Or that you guys had NOT had this issue.
keyboard21 is offline  
post #14286 of 17366 Old 07-09-2011, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyboard21 View Post

I am sure your neighbors must luv this Ugly thing in their view. lol But as long as it works to get in more stations.

Actually since it is up against the chimmney it is not all that visible. There are trees about 20-30 feet in front hiding it pretty much from the road. The only one who can really see it is the neighbor right next door.

We have people with 2 and 3 satellite dishes on their roofs that are far more visible.

I don't complain about their dog barking all hours of the day and night so they should not mind my quiet antennas.
LenL is offline  
post #14287 of 17366 Old 07-09-2011, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 108
OPtimum was out in my town and a neighbroing town from about 2 PM till 8 PM last night. No TV, internet ot phone service!

While I was enjoying OTA TV everyone around me was w/o TV! Ain't OTA great! I wonder if I will get a credit on my bill for the phone and internet outage? hahahahha jokes on me for eben thinking it!
LenL is offline  
post #14288 of 17366 Old 07-09-2011, 08:41 AM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenL View Post

OPtimum was out in my town and a neighbroing town from about 2 PM till 8 PM last night. No TV, internet ot phone service!

While I was enjoying OTA TV everyone around me was w/o TV! Ain't OTA great! I wonder if I will get a credit on my bill for the phone and internet outage? hahahahha jokes on me for eben thinking it!

I doubt give you much of refund, they most likely give you an excuse of tree down in your area. Looking at good tropo tonite. http://www.dxinfocentre.com/tropo.html#hour24
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14289 of 17366 Old 07-09-2011, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenL View Post
Actually since it is up against the chimmney it is not all that visible. There are trees about 20-30 feet in front hiding it pretty much from the road. The only one who can really see it is the neighbor right next door.

We have people with 2 and 3 satellite dishes on their roofs that are far more visible.

I don't complain about their dog barking all hours of the day and night so they should not mind my quiet antennas.
Oh I got the perfect thing for your problem. PM sent
keyboard21 is offline  
post #14290 of 17366 Old 07-11-2011, 06:00 AM
Senior Member
 
R.F. Burns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyboard21 View Post

The guys on the DtVpal board are saying that channel 13 (PBS) is the culprit. That channel 101/102 are for UPDATE TV.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UpdateTV

The UpdateTV network can deliver updates to many types of devices - not just television sets. Devices such as Blu-ray players, mobile/handheld TVs, set-top boxes and gaming consoles are capable of using the service - since they are connected to the Internet, a cable network, and/or a digital TV antenna.


I guess I can see how an UPDATE channels (101, 102) Would drive the DTVpal crazy. It is trying to update a DVR that can not accept updates.

You would think that other TV/Dvr would have this problem. Funny how no one else who owns my DVR has had this issue?

Or that you guys had NOT had this issue.

I have a DVD burner with a atsc tuner. Subchannels 101/102 drive my DVD burner crazy. The entire unit locks up if I tune to those channels. My work around is to delete those channels from my lineup after I've done a channel scan.
R.F. Burns is offline  
post #14291 of 17366 Old 07-11-2011, 09:07 AM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
was watching bloodsport last night on wpix sub 11.3 thistv, on the action scenes the pq was boxie and really gross. btw good tropo last night, anyone get good catches. I had wgbh ch19 a pbs from boston come for awhile.
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14292 of 17366 Old 07-11-2011, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
nycdigital09 -

just curious, what kind of antenna are you using and where in nyc are you?

i am sure you posted it earlier in the thread but you have a lot of posts
jmsnyc is offline  
post #14293 of 17366 Old 07-11-2011, 10:23 AM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post

nycdigital09 -

just curious, what kind of antenna are you using and where in nyc are you?

i am sure you posted it earlier in the thread but you have a lot of posts

hello jim, I'm presently living in north queens less than mile from lga. i'm using a 91xg roof mounted at 30 ft. my impressions of this antenna is not too favorable, I had smaller uhf yagi antenna at the same height that was better, when it gets windy around here i get pixelation.
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14294 of 17366 Old 07-11-2011, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am extremely close (half mile) to the ESB. I am in apt building facing north. I have the Terk HDTVa which I keep near the window but with the uhf part pointed towards wall in direction of ESB.

People have suggested not to use the preamp that is included with the HDTVa since I am so close but I find if I do not use it my reception is worse.

I am using WMC and I just ran the signal strength and it seems to be excellent on almost all the channels I am expected to get. Also get clear qam from TWC (only basic - no box) on another tuner so for many channels I have duplicate sources.

RTV sometimes has pixelation. I tried to get 32.1 as someone posted earlier but nothing.

In my situation, with my antenna, is it even worth is it feasible to try and get channels from CT. or elsewhere?
jmsnyc is offline  
post #14295 of 17366 Old 07-11-2011, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.F. Burns View Post

I have a DVD burner with a atsc tuner. Subchannels 101/102 drive my DVD burner crazy. The entire unit locks up if I tune to those channels. My work around is to delete those channels from my lineup after I've done a channel scan.

DTVpal does not allow that. You have to wait till it puts it in the lineup
keyboard21 is offline  
post #14296 of 17366 Old 07-11-2011, 01:41 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post

I am extremely close (half mile) to the ESB. I am in apt building facing north. I have the Terk HDTVa which I keep near the window but with the uhf part pointed towards wall in direction of ESB.

People have suggested not to use the preamp that is included with the HDTVa since I am so close but I find if I do not use it my reception is worse.

I am using WMC and I just ran the signal strength and it seems to be excellent on almost all the channels I am expected to get. Also get clear qam from TWC (only basic - no box) on another tuner so for many channels I have duplicate sources.

RTV sometimes has pixelation. I tried to get 32.1 as someone posted earlier but nothing.

In my situation, with my antenna, is it even worth is it feasible to try and get channels from CT. or elsewhere?

you can try to lock on to other frequencies like 23 26 35 43 they all show the same, with retrotv you can try moving your antenna perpindicular to direction of signal, that seems to work for me. ct stations you can aim your antenna due northeast, wtnh ch 10 is pretty easy to get also 49 both their signals are strong here 50 miles away. you mention that you are using your preamp, i'm sure that its helping tame multipath in your situatiion.
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14297 of 17366 Old 07-11-2011, 02:03 PM
Member
 
fredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here in central NJ I lost every NYC station except CBS-2 last night from about 9PM to 10:30. Anyone know if there were transmitter problems or local storms?
fredd is offline  
post #14298 of 17366 Old 07-11-2011, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycdigital09 View Post

you can try to lock on to other frequencies like 23 26 35 43 they all show the same, with retrotv you can try moving your antenna perpindicular to direction of signal, that seems to work for me. ct stations you can aim your antenna due northeast, wtnh ch 10 is pretty easy to get also 49 both their signals are strong here 50 miles away. you mention that you are using your preamp, i'm sure that its helping tame multipath in your situatiion.

Frequency
23 will give me Mexicanal, 26 - WRNN, 35 infomercials?
jmsnyc is offline  
post #14299 of 17366 Old 07-12-2011, 08:55 PM
Member
 
jam-h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi,

Gonna replace an old antenna, and for a couple of years NYC outer boro VHF/UHF Antenna recommendations seem to be to get either the Winegard HD7694P or Antennacraft HBU-22.

Structurally, it looks like the HD7694P has a 75 ohm only "box", while the HBU-22 is 300 ohm native and uses an outdoor balun. The specs list the HBU-22 as having the same max width, boom 5% longer, and 2X the vertical height (corner reflector difference?), compared with the HD7694P.

(I never quite got whether the HBU-22 was given extra points because it was once - but no longer is - available at local Radio Shacks.)

Anyone with real-word experience with these models see a functional difference for the major ESB stations (RF channel range 28-44)? This would be a roof mount, 20 ft above ground, 10 miles from ESB. I'm told there was some occasional minor ghosting visible from this location in the analog days (only VHF was viewed).

Thanks for any comments.
jam-h is offline  
post #14300 of 17366 Old 07-12-2011, 09:04 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post

Frequency
23 will give me Mexicanal, 26 - WRNN, 35 infomercials?

sorry I meant ch26 is wrnn but show the same programming as other channels
Quote:
Originally Posted by jam-h View Post

Hi,

Gonna replace an old antenna, and for a couple of years NYC outer boro VHF/UHF Antenna recommendations seem to be to get either the Winegard HD7694P or Antennacraft HBU-22.

Structurally, it looks like the HD7694P has a 75 ohm only "box", while the HBU-22 is 300 ohm native and uses an outdoor balun. The specs list the HBU-22 as having the same max width, boom 5% longer, and 2X the vertical height (corner reflector difference?), compared with the HD7694P.

(I never quite got whether the HBU-22 was given extra points because it was once - but no longer is - available at local Radio Shacks.)

Anyone with real-word experience with these models see a functional difference for the major ESB stations (RF channel range 28-44)? This would be a roof mount, 20 ft above ground, 10 miles from ESB. I'm told there was some occasional minor ghosting visible from this location in the analog days (only VHF was viewed).

Thanks for any comments.

no real world experience with those antennas but I have a winegard ya1713 vhf antenna I can tell you that is solid built antenna.
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14301 of 17366 Old 07-13-2011, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
icemannyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I noticed today that the video on WNBC-DT 4.2 is 16:9 SD.
When did they change it?
It makes sense since just about all of the programming is 16:9.
WABC should do the same with 7.2 and get rid of 7.3.
icemannyr is offline  
post #14302 of 17366 Old 07-13-2011, 11:48 AM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
icemann do you get wkob retrotv? I asked cos their signal is much stronger in manhattan than other boros their signal might still come thru with indoor antenna. btw maverick is your wingman jk
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14303 of 17366 Old 07-13-2011, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemannyr View Post

I noticed today that the video on WNBC-DT 4.2 is 16:9 SD.
When did they change it?
It makes sense since just about all of the programming is 16:9.
WABC should do the same with 7.2 and get rid of 7.3.

ABC will not get rid of 7.3. Even though it's a SD simulcast of 7.2, it has carriage in every cable system in the metro area so every customer including basic customers with an SD box can see it whereas only customers with HD box or tv was able to see 7.2. If anything the content on 7.3 may change down the road but ABC folks are really behind this Live Well crap.
nyctveng is offline  
post #14304 of 17366 Old 07-13-2011, 01:42 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post

ABC will not get rid of 7.3. Even though it's a SD simulcast of 7.2, it has carriage in every cable system in the metro area so every customer including basic customers with an SD box can see it whereas only customers with HD box or tv was able to see 7.2. If anything the content on 7.3 may change down the road but ABC folks are really behind this Live Well crap.

any thoughts on what cbs will be have as programming on their subs come september
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14305 of 17366 Old 07-13-2011, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycdigital09 View Post


any thoughts on what cbs will be have as programming on their subs come september

probably nothing worth watching
nyctveng is offline  
post #14306 of 17366 Old 07-13-2011, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycdigital09 View Post

any thoughts on what cbs will be have as programming on their subs come september

How do you know it is in SEPT? I read only 3rd quarter.

Any new links on info?


BTW are you not getting my pms?
keyboard21 is offline  
post #14307 of 17366 Old 07-13-2011, 08:06 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyboard21 View Post

How do you know it is in SEPT? I read only 3rd quarter.
3rd qtr is usually september
Any new links on info?
not sure

BTW are you not getting my pms?

thats funny you said that, i found out that under preferences I had messages off
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14308 of 17366 Old 07-13-2011, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyboard21 View Post

BTW are you not getting my pms?

Sorry, I also thought it was funny for different reason - I do not think pms is contagious so of course he didnt get it - unless its that time of the month
jmsnyc is offline  
post #14309 of 17366 Old 07-14-2011, 07:35 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post

Sorry, I also thought it was funny for different reason - I do not think pms is contagious so of course he didnt get it - unless its that time of the month

jim to quote ralph k, your riot, a regular riot. one of these youre gonna get yours. right on the kisser.
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #14310 of 17366 Old 07-14-2011, 07:40 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
keyboard, is it that time of the month for ya. jk
nycdigital09 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off