New York, NY - OTA - Page 522 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15631 of 17212 Old 02-29-2012, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

KIN TV is signed with Fox whenever they get that up and running.



No.

- Trip

First of all thanks. Now I have something to ask the board over and over and over. Just joking.

The website looks simple. Not much there,but a flash intro and a little video. I can't really tell what it is. Or what KIN has to do with Rocky 3 as they shown in the video.

Just one follow up question. The only channel my aunt can not get. That she would like to get is WLIW 21 . Any chance there will be a NYC repeater this year? It is a shame they do not do that. Or maybe a huge boost in signal?
keyboard21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15632 of 17212 Old 02-29-2012, 08:36 AM
Newbie
 
fiddlerontheroof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Icemannyr, I have the same issue with my Samsung tv set with virtual channel 25 mapping to 24.3 and 24.4. Also, when I'm able to pick WRNN at times, channel 48 would disappear for several hours during the course of the day and then reappear. My Zenith DTV converter box does not have these two issues. However, now when subchannels 48.1-4 disappears, my Samsung set is able to lock on to 48.5 (NHK World) and this sub was recently added. Does anyone know why this is happening? My Samsung set was manufactured in 2008 and the Samsung 2009 model does not have the mapping issue for virtual channel 25. I don't know if the 2009 model has issues with WRNN because my friend has this set and cannot receive WRNN because of her location.
fiddlerontheroof is offline  
post #15633 of 17212 Old 02-29-2012, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm145 View Post

currently wwor and wnyw are no longer simulcasting each other in sd on x.2

wnyw hd is 5.1
wnyw sd is 5.2 (use to be wwor sd)

wwor hd is 9.1
wwor sd is 9.2 (use to be wnyw sd)
bounce is 9.3

regardless of what giacomo claims
this is still the case for me
2-29-12
2:27PM
dm145 is offline  
post #15634 of 17212 Old 02-29-2012, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icemannyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The guide data for 5.2 says "WNYW simulcast on WWOR-TV Transmitter" and 9.2 says "WWOR-TV simulcast on WNYW Transmitter".
icemannyr is offline  
post #15635 of 17212 Old 02-29-2012, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
dturturro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With all of the changes lately does anyone have a current list of how much bandwidth each channel is transmitting?
dturturro is offline  
post #15636 of 17212 Old 02-29-2012, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm145 View Post


regardless of what giacomo claims
this is still the case for me
2-29-12
2:27PM

U and only u. 5 & 9 simulcast each other in SD to supplement each others coverage just like 41 & 68.
nyctveng is online now  
post #15637 of 17212 Old 02-29-2012, 06:34 PM
NYC
Member
 
NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post

U and only u. 5 & 9 simulcast each other in SD to supplement each others coverage just like 41 & 68.

Same here. Fox 5's SD backup is broadcast from WWOR's transmitter, they just adjust the PSIP to 5.2. It causes my converter box to act strangely, as someone mentioned earlier for their RCA box. I have a Craig digital to analog box, and it also stops at 61% with each scan. Apparently the flip of of channel numbering causes the box to freeze. I do not get Fox 5 nor the back up of WWOR. The simulcasts of 41 and 68 don't have this problem as they don't flip the PSIPs this way. I have not tried unplugging the antenna, but will give that a shot. How much longer will WNYW be transmitting 5.1 and 9.2 and the other way around for WWOR? I also have issues with WNYE on my Samsung TV appearing on 24. WNYE did respond some time ago that they are looking at the problem.
NYC is offline  
post #15638 of 17212 Old 02-29-2012, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post

U and only u. 5 & 9 simulcast each other in SD to supplement each others coverage just like 41 & 68.

nope
not just me
that would be highly improbable

and no, i am not going to rescan
nor do i really care what is on the subs
was just pointing it out to the poster who had channel issues
dm145 is offline  
post #15639 of 17212 Old 02-29-2012, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Giacomo Siffredi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ.
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddlerontheroof View Post

Giacomo,

What antenna are you using to be able to receive wtby, wkob, wrnn and webr at times? And can you receive wsah, wliw and wlny (RF 47 or 45)? And does anyone in this forum know of a good indoor antenna to get that might receive these channels transmitting from the ESB that Giacomo speaks of. I'm about 5miles west of the ESB and I have no issues receiving all the other major networks using a bow-tie or rabbit ears indoor antenna.

An indoor antenna of any kind will prove insufficient for the reception you speak of. I use a large outdoor antenna with long VHF-Lo elements intended to receive stations from up to 200 miles away. However, I have it in my attic as opposed to outside.

My problem is elevation, which is approximately 45 feet. You wouldn't believe how many low-powers I see with a trace of signal that I suspect would decode if only I was at higher elevation And when I've tried using an amplifier, I've only impeded my reliable reception of existing stations.

As to WLIW and WLNY-TV, I again see a trace of signal that is too low to decode. As to WSAH-TV, I do not receive any trace of that signal whatsoever.
Giacomo Siffredi is offline  
post #15640 of 17212 Old 02-29-2012, 08:40 PM
NYC
Member
 
NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenL View Post

CBS programming for their new sub 2.2 is doomed to failure. I tuned in late Sunday night to get a sports update and what I got was a review of the daytime sports schedule of games that already played many hours earlier and for which they should have been giving scores. This is very poor programming and something you would expect from a low budget college facility.

Quite frankly I was looking forward to the format expecting I could drop in on the station periodically and get an update on the weather, sports and news and not have to wait for the 6, 10 or 11 PM news. Considering that CBS has the resources of WINS 1010, CBS 880, and CBS NY TV it is hard to understand how they can run such stale news, weather and sports programming.

By the way this note is being sent to CBS too but will probably go in a black hole like the rest of my notes to them.

I tuned in late Saturday afternoon and saw a tape of the weekday anchors still running. By Sunday afternoon, the weekend anchors added an update which was all of one minute followed by more from the weekday anchors. One to four minutes of news is far too little. Airing the same headlines all day is too repetitive, not to mention all weekend. By the way, the 24 concept isn't correct -- children's programming aired on Sunday morning. I guess you can get your news fix from Sunday Morning, Face the Nation, etc...
NYC is offline  
post #15641 of 17212 Old 03-01-2012, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
fiddlerontheroof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC View Post

Same here. Fox 5's SD backup is broadcast from WWOR's transmitter, they just adjust the PSIP to 5.2. It causes my converter box to act strangely, as someone mentioned earlier for their RCA box. I have a Craig digital to analog box, and it also stops at 61% with each scan. Apparently the flip of of channel numbering causes the box to freeze. I do not get Fox 5 nor the back up of WWOR. The simulcasts of 41 and 68 don't have this problem as they don't flip the PSIPs this way. I have not tried unplugging the antenna, but will give that a shot. How much longer will WNYW be transmitting 5.1 and 9.2 and the other way around for WWOR? I also have issues with WNYE on my Samsung TV appearing on 24. WNYE did respond some time ago that they are looking at the problem.

NYC, I have the same issue with my samsung set (2008 model). What year is your model? My friend has the 2009 model and does not have this mapping problem. I believe that it's from Samsung's end. Do you pick up WRNN (ch.48), and if so, do you have issues locking on to the channel?
fiddlerontheroof is offline  
post #15642 of 17212 Old 03-01-2012, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
fiddlerontheroof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giacomo Siffredi View Post

An indoor antenna of any kind will prove insufficient for the reception you speak of. I use a large outdoor antenna with long VHF-Lo elements intended to receive stations from up to 200 miles away. However, I have it in my attic as opposed to outside.

My problem is elevation, which is approximately 45 feet. You wouldn't believe how many low-powers I see with a trace of signal that I suspect would decode if only I was at higher elevation And when I've tried using an amplifier, I've only impeded my reliable reception of existing stations.

As to WLIW and WLNY-TV, I again see a trace of signal that is too low to decode. As to WSAH-TV, I do not receive any trace of that signal whatsoever.

My single bow-tie antenna picks up all the major English and Spanish local networks in addition to WMBC, WFME, WASA and WDVB. It also picks up WRNN and WPXO (ch. 34) only when it's hooked up to my Zenith DTA converter box. But when I hook it up to my Samsung's digital tuner, it usually doesn't pick it up and then sometimes it doesn't lock on to 48.1-4, but it locks on to 48.5 if it detects a signal. That's why I was asking if anyone knows of a better indoor antenna w/o amplification to try and get these low powered stations.
fiddlerontheroof is offline  
post #15643 of 17212 Old 03-01-2012, 09:56 AM
Member
 
DTVintermods's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for 3 dB improvement get double bow tie for $12:
http://www.summitsource.com/channel-...49-p-7193.html
DTVintermods is offline  
post #15644 of 17212 Old 03-01-2012, 07:53 PM
NYC
Member
 
NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddlerontheroof View Post

NYC, I have the same issue with my samsung set (2008 model). What year is your model? My friend has the 2009 model and does not have this mapping problem. I believe that it's from Samsung's end. Do you pick up WRNN (ch.48), and if so, do you have issues locking on to the channel?

Fiddlerontheroof:

I know I purchased the set in 2009. The model is 2333HD-TV/MTR. It is actually a computer monitor with analog, digital and cable QAM TV tuners. Aside from that one minor problem with WNYE, it works perfectly.

I was able to tune in WRNN only once, and even then it was a very weak signal, using an outdoor antenna, for me in the north east Bronx.

When I have a moment this weekend, I will try rescanning my Craig converter and see if I can get past 61% by detaching the antenna. I am convinced that it freezes when it comes upon channels 5.1 and 9.2 emanating from the same transmitter. I have heard that some other boxes that do process those channels, do it in an odd way by placing 5.2 first, as it is RF 38, then 5.1 at RF 44.
NYC is offline  
post #15645 of 17212 Old 03-02-2012, 06:18 AM
Newbie
 
fiddlerontheroof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTVintermods View Post

for 3 dB improvement get double bow tie for $12:
http://www.summitsource.com/channel-...49-p-7193.html

Thanks DTVintermods, but I've actually tried that one with no luck in receiving the low powered stations.
fiddlerontheroof is offline  
post #15646 of 17212 Old 03-02-2012, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC View Post

Fiddlerontheroof:

I know I purchased the set in 2009. The model is 2333HD-TV/MTR. It is actually a computer monitor with analog, digital and cable QAM TV tuners. Aside from that one minor problem with WNYE, it works perfectly.

I was able to tune in WRNN only once, and even then it was a very weak signal, using an outdoor antenna, for me in the north east Bronx.

When I have a moment this weekend, I will try rescanning my Craig converter and see if I can get past 61% by detaching the antenna. I am convinced that it freezes when it comes upon channels 5.1 and 9.2 emanating from the same transmitter. I have heard that some other boxes that do process those channels, do it in an odd way by placing 5.2 first, as it is RF 38, then 5.1 at RF 44.

My mom's RCA converter box was freezing at 61% and I finally decided to simply pull the antenna feed momentarily till it started scanning again and then I quickly attached it again (the feed is a push on coax) and I picked up everything except 5.1 and 58.1 for some strange reason. I will probably do a scan again in a week or so to see if the issue has corrected itself. She is happy and does not know the difference between 5.1 and 5.2. On an analog TV it doesn't matter.
LenL is offline  
post #15647 of 17212 Old 03-03-2012, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dagger666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyboard21 View Post

Was asking your opinion

Looking at the web site would sum it up in word CRAP!

What is on 13-5 ?
dagger666 is offline  
post #15648 of 17212 Old 03-03-2012, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagger666 View Post

Looking at the web site would sum it up in word CRAP!

What is on 13-5 ?

Trick question?
keyboard21 is offline  
post #15649 of 17212 Old 03-03-2012, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
"What is on 13-5 ?"

According to RabbitEars, Artifact of Update TV - not showing programming.
SnellKrell is offline  
post #15650 of 17212 Old 03-03-2012, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icemannyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WABC needs to give bandwidth from 7.2 back to 7.1 and drop the SD feed on 7.3.
I did a 57min recording of WABC-DT 7.1 this morning and the total file size was only 3.8 GB which is way to small.
Since WNBC dropped 4.2 an hour recording of WNBC-DT 4.1 is now around 6.5 GB, about 2.7 GB more then WABC 7.1.

Here's the info from the recording,
Type: MPEG transport stream
Duration: 0:57:07
Data Size: 3.55 GB
Bit Rate: 8.90 Mbps
Video Tracks: 1984 MPEG-2, 1280 × 720, 16:9, 59.94 fps, 24.00 Mbps, progressive
Audio Tracks: 1985 AC3 3/2, 48 kHz, 384 kbps
Stream Files: Video 008.m2t (3.55 GB)
icemannyr is offline  
post #15651 of 17212 Old 03-04-2012, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
rothe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: 07756
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anybody else having ongoing problems receiving NJTV 50.1? Unlike last time, the PSIP *may be OK* because I can pick up SOMETHING, but for about a week now it's been too weak to record a complete program without dozens of dropouts.

James Rothe
Monmouth County, NJ
(37 miles due S of the ESB)
My Own OTA HDTV Experience: http://www.jimrothe.com/hdtv_ota/
rothe is offline  
post #15652 of 17212 Old 03-04-2012, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
rothe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: 07756
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just an update: I checked this signal with my spectrum analyzer, and again, I have a good, strong signal with no evidence of noise or multipath. I suspect that the problem is upstream of the transmitter, and may again be PSIP-related.

James Rothe
Monmouth County, NJ
(37 miles due S of the ESB)
My Own OTA HDTV Experience: http://www.jimrothe.com/hdtv_ota/
rothe is offline  
post #15653 of 17212 Old 03-05-2012, 05:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by rothe View Post

Anybody else having ongoing problems receiving NJTV 50.1? Unlike last time, the PSIP *may be OK* because I can pick up SOMETHING, but for about a week now it's been too weak to record a complete program without dozens of dropouts.

You did not get any feedback so I will chime in. I had a problem a few weeks back as reported but so far it seems to be back OK. Everything I have tried to record seems to be good. I do watch/record quite a few shows on NJ PBS and so far no recent issues out my way since the hiccup a few weeks back.
LenL is offline  
post #15654 of 17212 Old 03-05-2012, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
rothe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: 07756
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenL View Post

You did not get any feedback so I will chime in. I had a problem a few weeks back as reported but so far it seems to be back OK. Everything I have tried to record seems to be good. I do watch/record quite a few shows on NJ PBS and so far no recent issues out my way since the hiccup a few weeks back.

Thanks for replying. I'm still having problems.

When the WNET/NJTV/WLIW engineer got back to me, he asked me what TV or tuner I was using. What brand and model of TV and/or DVR are you using? List them all, as I'm going to try to determine if there's a common tuner chipset that is having problems with their current configuration. I'm sure that's what he was after with his question.

James Rothe
Monmouth County, NJ
(37 miles due S of the ESB)
My Own OTA HDTV Experience: http://www.jimrothe.com/hdtv_ota/
rothe is offline  
post #15655 of 17212 Old 03-05-2012, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Its tough to make any comparisons for you since I have 3 antennas at varying heights that get different reception issues. Plus I change feeds to TVs etc as the reception issues change.

Right now my CM4228 which is at the top of the chimney feeds with a 3 way splitter my main TV (Samsung LED) and 2 PALDVRs. I have no issues with 50.1 or 58.1 (except when my neighbors LED lights are on for which I have replacements that are supposed to fix the problem when they get installed ...probably in May or June)

My 2 TVs upstairs are fed by my home built antennas which are much lower on the Chimney. They are both Sharp LCDs. The older Sharp I bought before Digital OTA was available and so the tuner is not so good. I checked this AM and it has trouble with 50.1. While the other SHARP LCD can pick it up and they both have the same feed ( I combined the 2 antenna feeds before I send them up to the 2nd floor.
LenL is offline  
post #15656 of 17212 Old 03-05-2012, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone scanned for an Active Analog Channels
in the NYC / Long Island Area recently ?

I saw nothing, have then gone to DTV Low Power ?

Just Curious,

Enjoy,
Keith
Keith is offline  
post #15657 of 17212 Old 03-05-2012, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
rothe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: 07756
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenL View Post

Its tough to make any comparisons for you since I have 3 antennas at varying heights that get different reception issues. Plus I change feeds to TVs etc as the reception issues change.


LenL - the issue last time was not one of RF signal strength or quality, but had to do with the Program and System Information Protocol (PSIP). That's part of the encoded information that is being broadcast, and apparently there were some changes made that impacted some tuner circuits that are built-in to certain TVs and DVRs. In such a case, it wouldn't matter what antenna system was being used because the problem was with the encoded signal. It's analogous to you hearing somebody loud and clear, but if you don't speak the same language, the message isn't going to get through.

That's why I asked what *MAKE and MODEL* of TV and/or DVR you were using. That info can tell me what tuner circuit is used in the device, and we can figure out which tuner circuits are impacted and which are not.

Regardless, thanks for responding on the NJTV 50.1 reception question that I asked. I'm still having problems with it, and I'm about to go and re-aim a second, unused UHF antenna towards Trenton to see if I can pick up NJTV on WNJT 52.1 (real 43).

James Rothe
Monmouth County, NJ
(37 miles due S of the ESB)
My Own OTA HDTV Experience: http://www.jimrothe.com/hdtv_ota/
rothe is offline  
post #15658 of 17212 Old 03-05-2012, 08:27 PM
NYC
Member
 
NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith View Post

Has anyone scanned for an Active Analog Channels
in the NYC / Long Island Area recently ?

I saw nothing, have then gone to DTV Low Power ?

Just Curious,

Last I heard -- months ago, there were two left:

Ch 6 WNYZ, operating as a radio station using a VHF TV signal, since the frequency is near the low end of the FM band. They were transmitting silent movies to fulfill the video requirement. I heard that their license was revoked in error. What happened after that, I do not recall. Did enjoy watching those films. I think I saw each one they had.

Ch46 WMBQ was, if I recall correctly, Cornerstone (a religious network). Again, no idea what the current status is. Have not tried tuning them in since.
NYC is offline  
post #15659 of 17212 Old 03-06-2012, 03:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
WCBS filed to modify the permit for channel 22 on Long Island. They want to put it on the WLNY tower now.

http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...7&site=1&map=Y

I find this interesting, because it makes me wonder if something reciprocal might happen with WLNY, and that might be why WLNY-CD was not included in the sale. It looks like a theoretical DTS could have a pretty decent coverage circle to use.

http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=40.8%2C-73.38

Much to think about.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #15660 of 17212 Old 03-06-2012, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by rothe View Post

LenL - the issue last time was not one of RF signal strength or quality, but had to do with the Program and System Information Protocol (PSIP). That's part of the encoded information that is being broadcast, and apparently there were some changes made that impacted some tuner circuits that are built-in to certain TVs and DVRs. In such a case, it wouldn't matter what antenna system was being used because the problem was with the encoded signal. It's analogous to you hearing somebody loud and clear, but if you don't speak the same language, the message isn't going to get through.

That's why I asked what *MAKE and MODEL* of TV and/or DVR you were using. That info can tell me what tuner circuit is used in the device, and we can figure out which tuner circuits are impacted and which are not.

Regardless, thanks for responding on the NJTV 50.1 reception question that I asked. I'm still having problems with it, and I'm about to go and re-aim a second, unused UHF antenna towards Trenton to see if I can pick up NJTV on WNJT 52.1 (real 43).

Undertand and I think I answered your question but had to clarify about my one TV. I am not having any issues with 50.1. Reception has been good and the program guide has been fine. Later today I will be at my moms and I will try to scan channels and see if her RCA converter box gets hung up at 61% which I think maybe is related to your 50.1 issue or maybe it was the 5.1 issue. No one else responded to your note so it may be something isolated with your location.
LenL is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off