New York, NY - OTA - Page 571 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17101 of 17232 Old 03-14-2014, 03:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
none of the 114 stations I get carry more than 36 hours of data.

You don't get 114 stations, you likely can get no more than about 35-45 or so stations, at most. However, with digital broadcasting, each station can multi-cast additional sub-channels. Some operators cram as many as 10 subs of sub-par quality into a single station while most have up to two or three subs in addition to their primary channel.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17102 of 17232 Old 03-14-2014, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post


You don't get 114 stations, you likely can get no more than about 35-45 or so stations, at most. However, with digital broadcasting, each station can multi-cast additional sub-channels. Some operators cram as many as 10 subs of sub-par quality into a single station while most have up to two or three subs in addition to their primary channel.

My mistake, I meant 114 channels, off of 43 stations (not including inversion channels). I simply meant that even with that large of a number, culled between 4 markets (most all of them from 2), that like @LenL PSIP program data rarely extends more than 24 hours (if it does it is only by a few), and receiving a large number of LPTV stations, I get no PSIP guide data on those.


Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #17103 of 17232 Old 03-30-2014, 01:45 AM
Member
 
NYC10033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Me-TV has a good lineup of shows but I wish one of these Retro TV channels would start broadcasting "The Wild Wild West" series in NYC metro area.
NYC10033 is offline  
post #17104 of 17232 Old 04-07-2014, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Giacomo Siffredi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ.
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
PMCM TV LLC. still does not have a construction permit for KVNV, the Middletown Township television station. In fact, a revised application specifying minimally reduced ERP and a minimally higher antenna was recently submitted to the FCC. Both applications are still outstanding.

As most of you are aware, KJWP Wilmington, in the Philadelphia, PA. market, is also owned by PMCM TV LLC. It is therefore likely that when KVNV signs on in Manhattan, NY. to serve Middletown Township, New Jersey, its programming will be nearly identical to KJWP, given that both stations are intended to serve as primary affiliates of the Me TV Network.

But here is a heads up for those who wonder what the programming will be like. According to another discussion forum, and specifically a sub-forum which discusses television in the Philadelphia market, "Paid Programming" was observed at 6AM ET. on KJWP Wilmington. So I checked the programming listings for that market. Sure enough, a four-hour block of paid programming airs weekdays from 5AM - 9AM, Saturday from 5AM - 8AM followed by mandatory E/I programming from 8AM - 11AM, and Sunday from 6AM - 9AM followed by additional mandatory E/I programming from 9AM - 11AM. It should be noted that the block of E/I programming carried by Me TV includes a Canadian television series, Edgemont, which aired from 2001 to 2005 on CBC Television.

What this all comes down to is that when KVNV signs-on, the overwhelming majority of New York City market viewers will finally have access to the Chicago-based classic television network Me TV. It has been long-awaited. So long, in fact, that about two months ago, some overly eager individuals twice went over to the KVNV Wikipedia page and vandalized it to reflect that the station was now airing in the NYC market. Apparently they felt, "so let it be written, so let it be done" But, unlike the direct feed that is presently enjoyed by the lucky bastards hooked up to the Time Warner Cable Manhattan system, the PMCM TV local affiliates will apparently not be providing an uninterrupted 24/7 feed from the Windy City. But despite the early morning interruption, viewers should still embrace this new programming service. KVNV will, after all, provide more hours of coverage than the Bridgeport, CT. affiliate did and be available to a significantly larger viewing population.
Giacomo Siffredi is offline  
post #17105 of 17232 Old 04-11-2014, 07:46 AM
Senior Member
 
AloEuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have opened 46- 3 EEE Spanish Christian broadcasting
46- 1 was running, now color bars
46- 2 I see only commercials
46- 4 color bars
AloEuro is offline  
post #17106 of 17232 Old 04-16-2014, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
WZME-DT has added an additional stream.

WZME-DT (43.1) is still Me-TV
WZMD-DT2 (43.2) is now "the Works", while
RetroTV (43.3) has moved to WZME-DT3


The lineup change has yet to be picked up by zap2it et al.

Cheers!
-Doug
dstoffa is offline  
post #17107 of 17232 Old 04-19-2014, 07:22 PM
Newbie
 
unsmiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am not getting any of the channel 43's; I am in Manhattan.

unsmiley is offline  
post #17108 of 17232 Old 04-22-2014, 02:10 PM
Member
 
Giacomo Siffredi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ.
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey unsmiley,
Quote:
Originally Posted by unsmiley View Post

I am not getting any of the channel 43's; I am in Manhattan.

You should try manually entering in channel 42; that is the RF channel WZME Bridgeport transmits over.

But I wouldn't be surprised if you ultimately cannot receive this station. Receiving New York City stations can be a challenge in Manhattan, and I would guess it could be even harder to receive rimshot signals from Connecticut.
Giacomo Siffredi is offline  
post #17109 of 17232 Old 04-23-2014, 06:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by unsmiley View Post

I am not getting any of the channel 43's; I am in Manhattan.

Don't count on getting WZME unless you're on the northern tip of Manhattan with an outdoor antenna.
nyctveng is offline  
post #17110 of 17232 Old 04-23-2014, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post

Don't count on getting WZME unless you're on the northern tip of Manhattan with an outdoor antenna.

I receive it on the South Shore of long Island, less than 5 miles from JFK (I am south of the Southern State Pkwy) with an outdoor antenna that isn't even facing the right way....
dstoffa is offline  
post #17111 of 17232 Old 04-23-2014, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstoffa View Post

I receive it on the South Shore of long Island, less than 5 miles from JFK (I am south of the Southern State Pkwy) with an outdoor antenna that isn't even facing the right way....

Sorry I should have been more clear on my post. I was replying to user unsmiley from an unspecified Manhattan location.
nyctveng is offline  
post #17112 of 17232 Old 04-23-2014, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post

WLIW will be going HD by end of summer

After much delay, it's finally going to happen in the next 30 days!
rothe likes this.
nyctveng is offline  
post #17113 of 17232 Old 04-23-2014, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post

After much delay, it's finally going to happen in the next 30 days!
About time. This day and age a full power TV station should not be in 480i.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony S5100 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
post #17114 of 17232 Old 04-23-2014, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
rothe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: 07756
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post

After much delay, it's finally going to happen in the next 30 days!

Well, yay! I can actually receive that at the Jersey shore, even though it's not a line-of-sight signal for me. Since WNET is VHF, and arguably a bit underpowered, I can't get it. This will fill that need.

James Rothe
Monmouth County, NJ
(37 miles due S of the ESB)
My Own OTA HDTV Experience: http://www.jimrothe.com/hdtv_ota/
rothe is offline  
post #17115 of 17232 Old 04-24-2014, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I can barely receive WLIW OTA but I know Dish Network will carry it in HD eventually as they have all the local stations in HD except ION channel 31.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony S5100 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
post #17116 of 17232 Old 04-24-2014, 09:06 PM
Newbie
 
unsmiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am on the Upper East Side of Manhattan.  For Channel 42 I get "weak signal" message but no picture or sound; same thing for Channel 43.

unsmiley is offline  
post #17117 of 17232 Old 04-24-2014, 09:08 PM
Newbie
 
unsmiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post


After much delay, it's finally going to happen in the next 30 days!

This may be a stupid question, but going HD won't make it any easier to receive in WLIW 21 in Manhattan, correct?  I cannot get WLIW OTA now with my unamplified rabbit ears.

unsmiley is offline  
post #17118 of 17232 Old 04-25-2014, 03:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by unsmiley View Post

This may be a stupid question, but going HD won't make it any easier to receive in WLIW 21 in Manhattan, correct?  I cannot get WLIW OTA now with my unamplified rabbit ears.

It will make no difference.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #17119 of 17232 Old 04-29-2014, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post

After much delay, it's finally going to happen in the next 30 days!

Looks like Thursday May 1 st
dm145 is offline  
post #17120 of 17232 Old 05-07-2014, 05:21 AM
Newbie
 
flatronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

WLIW is in HD now on FiOS – not sure about OTA.

flatronic is offline  
post #17121 of 17232 Old 05-07-2014, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
dturturro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flatronic View Post

WLIW is in HD now on FiOS – not sure about OTA.

OTA up and running too.
dturturro is online now  
post #17122 of 17232 Old 05-08-2014, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dturturro View Post

OTA up and running too.

720p or 1080i ?
dm145 is offline  
post #17123 of 17232 Old 05-08-2014, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I think I remember seeing 1080i OTA.

As a sidenote, Cablevision has it in HD on 721, but on Ch 21 it shows it in SD.

It does not appear they have mapped the SD channes to the HD channel, like they do with the other channels ( ex, if you tune to Ch 2 or 702, the HD picture is shown)
mikepier is offline  
post #17124 of 17232 Old 05-08-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Disk Network still does not have it yet but it will come soon as they have all the other networks even channel 31 now in HD.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony S5100 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Toshiba 39L2300U 39-Inch 1080p. Nexus 5 on T-Mobile and
Nexus 7 (2013).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
post #17125 of 17232 Old 05-09-2014, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
AloEuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Lately WABC ch.7 signal breaks, showing pixelation
AloEuro is offline  
post #17126 of 17232 Old 05-09-2014, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
dturturro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm145 View Post

720p or 1080i ?

Yes, it's broadcasting at 1080i.
dturturro is online now  
post #17127 of 17232 Old 05-11-2014, 08:30 PM
Newbie
 
unsmiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AloEuro View Post

Lately WABC ch.7 signal breaks, showing pixelation

Yes I have been getting the same thing (in Manhattan), with both WABC 7 and WNET 13 for about the last month.  Never had any problems for about a year before.  Now I have to move my rabbit ears around and that is a pain.  What could be the cause and how to remedy it?

unsmiley is offline  
post #17128 of 17232 Old 05-12-2014, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
AloEuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Unsmiley, You in Manhattan me in Brooklyn having the same problem means to me that moving Antenna would not solve the problem, I blame the studio WABC 7. maybe Trip knows
AloEuro is offline  
post #17129 of 17232 Old 05-12-2014, 08:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 53
ABC working perfectly for me 18 miles away in NJ.

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is online now  
post #17130 of 17232 Old 05-12-2014, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstoffa View Post

WZME-DT has added an additional stream.

WZME-DT (43.1) is still Me-TV
WZMD-DT2 (43.2) is now "the Works", while
RetroTV (43.3) has moved to WZME-DT3


The lineup change has yet to be picked up by zap2it et al.

Cheers!
-Doug

It would seem that as of the time of this posting, WZME has dumped all three streams above and is now sending:

43-1 CCTV News
43-2 CCTV4
43-3 CCTV Spanish

I wonder if they flipped the switch at midnight this morning. My DVR recording "The Rockford Files" yesterday (5/11) afternoon, but failed to record "The Saint" this morning (5/12) at 4am. Can anyone else confirm the change in programming?


Cheers!
-Doug
dstoffa is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off