New York, NY - OTA - Page 573 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 77Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2014, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by egold54 View Post

The splitters were the one you posted 1 in 2 out. Sorry if I did not make that clear. The rabbit ears are from radio shack they are amplified and have the loop in the middle. I tried them with the ears fully extended and power to the amplifier.. The scan came back with only 5 channels. After that I tossed it to the side and played with the leaf. I'll have to look around for a long enough cable to run the leaf outside the window. I'll be going back down there in a few weeks and will check out the 2 antenna's i have and with your info. I'll be more prepared to see what is going on. Thanks for your help Doug and will keep you up to date on what I find out.

Next time you visit, please use one antenna, one cable (no splitters) and just the television. You need to start simple and determine the root cause of the reception problem.

Also, bring an un-amplified antenna. If you are receiving multi-path signals, and amplifier just makes the problem worse. noise --> amplifier --> NOISE!!!

Good luck.
George Molnar likes this.
dstoffa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2014, 10:35 PM
Member
 
flatronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12

48.2 on WRNN is now Arise News.

flatronic is offline  
Old 06-09-2014, 11:00 AM
Member
 
csworldwide1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This should be a celebration for the viewers and the engineers at the ABC O&Os.

B&C stated that ABC will discontinue its digital subchannel network, Live Well Network in January 2015.

Now they can put all those bits back into the main channels again.
Kascnef82 likes this.
csworldwide1 is offline  
Old 06-09-2014, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by csworldwide1 View Post

This should be a celebration for the viewers and the engineers at the ABC O&Os.

B&C stated that ABC will discontinue its digital subchannel network, Live Well Network in January 2015.

Now they can put all those bits back into the main channels again.

Finally...party like it's pre 2009. The live well channels were also used for carrying ABC programming when the main abc channels had breaking news. I remember watching ABC HD for the first time and marveled at the decent quality of the feed. For sports programming, ABC should follow ESPN's 16:9 look much like the other networks (NBC was the most recent this year). The only time i watch ABC is Jeopardy, Eyewitness News, the NBA Finals, and the Oscars. Oh, and the world cup, but next year Faux sports will air it with Univision airing it.
Kascnef82 is offline  
Old 06-09-2014, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by csworldwide1 View Post

This should be a celebration for the viewers and the engineers at the ABC O&Os.

B&C stated that ABC will discontinue its digital subchannel network, Live Well Network in January 2015.

Now they can put all those bits back into the main channels again.

 

 

I'm not convinced that a lot of the programming on ABC is worthy of those extra bits. All of American television needs to improve a lot. The programming is currently quite dreadful. Some of the "retro" subchannels are superior to the main channels.

veedon is offline  
Old 06-10-2014, 07:32 AM
Member
 
dtv_junkie87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post


I'm not convinced that a lot of the programming on ABC is worthy of those extra bits. All of American television needs to improve a lot. The programming is currently quite dreadful. Some of the "retro" subchannels are superior to the main channels.

Hey! I actually like ALL of the retro networks available with an antenna!

Anyway, joining in on the conversation: I saw on a WABC story about Donald Duck's 80th birthday that a person suggested that Live Well be replaced with a retro Disney network. Anybody else agree? Personally, I think a night of Jeopardy! and Wheel on 7-1 followed by Pinocchio and Mary Poppins on 7-2 is a smart choice, IMHO.

dtv_junkie87
dtv_junkie87 is offline  
Old 06-10-2014, 08:31 AM
Member
 
Greg2600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who's to say they won't replace Live Well with something else?
Greg2600 is offline  
Old 06-10-2014, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg2600 View Post

Who's to say they won't replace Live Well with something else?

yup exactly. It is valuable space already in the home of every OTA and cable viewer that has ABC main channel that they will not want to give up. Most likely it will be some sort of news channel whether it be local (repurposed content from regular newscasts) or a reborn national service like ABC News Now .They have several months to put together a game plan.
nyctveng is offline  
Old 06-10-2014, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg2600 View Post

Who's to say they won't replace Live Well with something else?

yup exactly. It is valuable space already in the home of every OTA and cable viewer that has ABC main channel that they will not want to give up. Most likely it will be some sort of news channel whether it be local (repurposed content from regular newscasts) or a reborn national service like ABC News Now .They have several months to put together a game plan.

 

 

The Keith Channel: All Olbermann, all the time.

veedon is offline  
Old 06-10-2014, 07:02 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 25,383
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 879 Post(s)
Liked: 1887
in case you have not heard, AVS is moving back to v Bulletin tomorrow: see link in my sig

it will be like coming home again smile.gif

please take the high road in every post
Please do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it to Mods to handle
new forum:High Dynamic Range (HDR) & Wide Color Gamut (WCG)
HDMI.org:what a mess
Kaleidescape closes its doors
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
markrubin is offline  
Old 06-10-2014, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Thanks. Let me know if something shows up on 51-4.

- Trip

It would appear that 51-4 is now showing "Teleuniverso".
dstoffa is offline  
Old 06-10-2014, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstoffa View Post

WZME-DT has added an additional stream.

WZME-DT (43.1) is still Me-TV
WZMD-DT2 (43.2) is now "the Works", while
RetroTV (43.3) has moved to WZME-DT3


The lineup change has yet to be picked up by zap2it et al.

Cheers!
-Doug

WZME-DT is still Me-TV (43.1)
WZME-DT2 is still "the works" (43.2)
WZMD-DT3 is now broadcasting a static title card which reads, "RetroTV is no longer available on WZME 43-3"
dstoffa is offline  
Old 06-11-2014, 04:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 15,090
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstoffa View Post

It would appear that 51-4 is now showing "Teleuniverso".

Thanks!

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Old 06-14-2014, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeSchmoe007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is this my TV or did Thirteen really move from 13.1 to 13.2 in NYC? 13.1 is now Vme channel (Spanish Language).
JoeSchmoe007 is offline  
Old 06-14-2014, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeSchmoe007 View Post
Is this my TV or did Thirteen really move from 13.1 to 13.2 in NYC? 13.1 is now Vme channel (Spanish Language).
It's just you. It's fine for me.
Aero 1 is online now  
Old 06-15-2014, 04:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeSchmoe007 View Post
Is this my TV or did Thirteen really move from 13.1 to 13.2 in NYC? 13.1 is now Vme channel (Spanish Language).
Do a rescan. WNET moved their facilities and reconfigured PIDs.
nyctveng is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeSchmoe007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeSchmoe007 View Post
Is this my TV or did Thirteen really move from 13.1 to 13.2 in NYC? 13.1 is now Vme channel (Spanish Language).
Do a rescan. WNET moved their facilities and reconfigured PIDs.
Did a rescan and WNET is now on 13.1 again. However, I don't have 11.1 anymore. Come to think of it, I stopped receiving it a while ago but never cared about it until now. Were there any changes in 11.1 broadcast?
JoeSchmoe007 is offline  
Old 06-16-2014, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Is WNET still on the Empire State Building?

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.3-138 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
Toshiba 39L2300U - Fire TV (2nd Gen), PS4 (1st Gen), Roku Streaming Stick (3600R), TiVo Roamio OTA.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Old 06-16-2014, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 386
The NY Times reports that the spectrum auction could lead to parts of New Jersey no longer having a public television station available OTA. The governor of NJ wouldn't let something like that happen, would he?
I guess residents of northern NJ would still be OK, though, because they could still receive WNET's signal.

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/06/16/bu...c-tv.html?_r=0
veedon is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Doesn't the mobile phone companies have enough spectrum already. Why are they forcing OTA cord cutters less channels and making them subscribe to expensive cable/satellite packages? The way it is going soon all spectrum including FM radio will be all for the mobile networks.

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.3-138 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
Toshiba 39L2300U - Fire TV (2nd Gen), PS4 (1st Gen), Roku Streaming Stick (3600R), TiVo Roamio OTA.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Doesn't the mobile phone companies have enough spectrum already. Why are they forcing OTA cord cutters less channels and making them subscribe to expensive cable/satellite packages? The way it is going soon all spectrum including FM radio will be all for the mobile networks.
Congress passed a law that requires the FCC to run a spectrum auction.
Apparently the lobbyists for AT&T and Verizon have more clout than OTA viewers have.
veedon is offline  
Old 06-21-2014, 05:02 AM
tld
Member
 
tld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
Do a rescan. WNET moved their facilities and reconfigured PIDs.
Boy they sure did. This made a mess on my MythTV system was was tricky to clean up. The old PIDs (serviceid in MythTV) for 13.1, 13.2, and 13.3 respectively where 5, 3, and 4 respectively. Apparently they decided to "fix" things so that the PIDs for those channels are now 3, 4, and 5.

When I rescanned it effectively found and updated the stations by the frequency and the old PID, making the xmltvid and guide data completely out of whack. Took forever to get straightened out.

Tom
tld is offline  
Old 06-21-2014, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked: 109
But is WNET still broadcasting on the ESB or are they on 4TS or 1WTC?

EarthLink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.3-138 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
Toshiba 39L2300U - Fire TV (2nd Gen), PS4 (1st Gen), Roku Streaming Stick (3600R), TiVo Roamio OTA.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Old 06-21-2014, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
But is WNET still broadcasting on the ESB or are they on 4TS or 1WTC?
Nothing is being broadcast from 1WTC at the moment
nyctveng is offline  
Old 06-22-2014, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cjv123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Suburban NYC (NJ)
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in NJ, and I only receive the World Cup on 68-2 and then in SD, not HD. Can someone explain to me why the WC is not being broadcast (on 68-1) and in HD? Is Univision cowering before the CableCos for some reason?
cjv123 is offline  
Old 06-22-2014, 06:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjv123 View Post
I'm in NJ, and I only receive the World Cup on 68-2 and then in SD, not HD. Can someone explain to me why the WC is not being broadcast (on 68-1) and in HD? Is Univision cowering before the CableCos for some reason?
Cowering? No. You're watching it on the wrong channel. 68.2 is the SD simulcast of Univision 41.1. The World Cup is on 41.1 in HD. 68.1 is Unimas, a whole different channel.
Aero 1 is online now  
Old 06-22-2014, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cjv123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Suburban NYC (NJ)
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
Cowering? No. You're watching it on the wrong channel. 68.2 is the SD simulcast of Univision 41.1. The World Cup is on 41.1 in HD. 68.1 is Unimas, a whole different channel.
Thanks. My mistake- I never noticed 68.1 was "Unimas"- .

Last edited by cjv123; 06-22-2014 at 11:02 AM.
cjv123 is offline  
Old 06-22-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cjv123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Suburban NYC (NJ)
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
Nothing is being broadcast from 1WTC at the moment
They don't even have an antenna, right? I thought I read in here they didn't even install one as they capped the building, and likely making any future install too expensive to justify.
cjv123 is offline  
Old 06-22-2014, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
George Molnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: South Bend, Indiana
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjv123 View Post
They don't even have an antenna, right? I thought I read in here they didn't even install one as they capped the building, and likely making any future install too expensive to justify.
I believe 1WTC's structure is fully roughed in for TV transmission except broadcasters are waiting until the FCC firms up their Spectrum Repacking Initiative so that the proper hardware gets installed. Stations are reluctant to obtain and install transmitters and antenna systems that could become obsolete before the end of their lease period.
George Molnar is online now  
Old 06-25-2014, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
AloEuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjv123 View Post
I'm in NJ, and I only receive the World Cup on 68-2 and then in SD, not HD. Can someone explain to me why the WC is not being broadcast (on 68-1) and in HD? Is Univision cowering before the CableCos for some reason?
Some of the matches are shown on 41-1 like Ecuador-France and second match interests to Latinos like Honduras-Swiss would be on 68-2 which is 41SD, similar concept are applied by Univision 41 to other footbal matches .
Univision 41 is the best FIFA carrier
AloEuro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off