New York, NY - OTA - Page 619 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 85Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18541 of 18557 Old 01-15-2017, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
DennisHPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hawthorne Lake, Sparta, NJ, 1100 feet above sea level
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Recently? I don't think 2004 is all that recent. And it was off the air due to 9/11 before that.

- Trip
I thought that WWOR had a power output of around 300 kw. We have a summer residence in northwest NJ and pull in the major networks from NYC. I noticed a significant drop in the NM (db) for WWOR for that location from what we had seen for the last several years compared. I could attach the radar plots if that would be any help.
DennisHPC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18542 of 18557 Old 01-24-2017, 09:01 AM
Member
 
Wappingers.dx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Wappingers Falls, NY
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Anyone in the Newburgh area lose Fox 5 via the Mt Beacon translator on real ch 32?

Its been down for over a week now for me.
Wappingers.dx is offline  
post #18543 of 18557 Old 01-28-2017, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,384
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
After a very extended outage, the Live Bandscan receiver at my grandmother's house is back in working order.

https://m.rabbitears.info/index.php?...10343612&tno=1

There were two different issues. First and most obviously, the network cable to the computer running the program had gotten unplugged. But second, the power supply for the HDHomeRun had burned out. It smelled burned, too. So I had a spare that I swapped in.

I'm fidgeting with the antenna placement again trying to get all of the stations to be relatively stable. So far, no luck; at least one is below threshold in any position I try. I'm leaving tomorrow morning, so whatever you see at about 9AM tomorrow is about what it should be going forward until my next visit. I need to find a better antenna than the rabbit ears attached to it now.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
 
post #18544 of 18557 Old 01-31-2017, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Giacomo Siffredi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ.
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Hey Trip,
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
After a very extended outage, the Live Bandscan receiver at my grandmother's house is back in working order.

https://m.rabbitears.info/index.php?...10343612&tno=1

There were two different issues. First and most obviously, the network cable to the computer running the program had gotten unplugged. But second, the power supply for the HDHomeRun had burned out. It smelled burned, too. So I had a spare that I swapped in.

I'm fidgeting with the antenna placement again trying to get all of the stations to be relatively stable. So far, no luck; at least one is below threshold in any position I try. I'm leaving tomorrow morning, so whatever you see at about 9AM tomorrow is about what it should be going forward until my next visit. I need to find a better antenna than the rabbit ears attached to it now.

- Trip
Looking at your tuner log, there is significant RF activity on RF channels 57 through 61 with (at approximately 10:25PM EDT. on 01/31/2017) an especially strong signal on channel 60. Through all the available data, can you please confirm which signals these are?
Giacomo Siffredi is offline  
post #18545 of 18557 Old 02-01-2017, 02:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,384
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giacomo Siffredi View Post
Hey Trip,

Looking at your tuner log, there is significant RF activity on RF channels 57 through 61 with (at approximately 10:25PM EDT. on 01/31/2017) an especially strong signal on channel 60. Through all the available data, can you please confirm which signals these are?
As it is in most of the US, 52/57 is T-Mobile, 53/54/55/56/58/59 is AT&T, 60/61/65/66 is Verizon.

- Trip
reddice likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #18546 of 18557 Old 02-01-2017, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,714
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Anyone have issues with WPIX. You can be watching it and then it just starts to break up bad. It already ruined a few of my programs which is why now I have to record it on my Dish Network feed. I original got the Tivo because of the loss of WPIX on Dish during the summer.

Also I notice when WPIX is a pixilated mess the Dish Network WPIX feed will break up a bit too. This station has to move to 1WTC soon.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-138 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Fire TV Box (2nd Gen), Roku Premier (2016).
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #18547 of 18557 Old 02-01-2017, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
As it is in most of the US, 52/57 is T-Mobile, 53/54/55/56/58/59 is AT&T, 60/61/65/66 is Verizon.

- Trip
Hey Trip, whats the deal with those Airbox encrypted channels on ION. Its been years, the company never happened, but they are still being broadcast. are they being used by customers?

Cord Cutter | OTA - NYC DMA - 6 TB TiVo Roamio - 3 TiVo Mini's | Plex Pass | Netflix | Hulu | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is online now  
post #18548 of 18557 Old 02-01-2017, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,384
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
Hey Trip, whats the deal with those Airbox encrypted channels on ION. Its been years, the company never happened, but they are still being broadcast. are they being used by customers?
The service is actually available in certain markets, just not all of the markets in which the channels are being transmitted.

https://www.airbox.com/content/coming-soon

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #18549 of 18557 Old 02-05-2017, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Anyone have issues with WPIX. You can be watching it and then it just starts to break up bad. It already ruined a few of my programs which is why now I have to record it on my Dish Network feed. I original got the Tivo because of the loss of WPIX on Dish during the summer.

Also I notice when WPIX is a pixilated mess the Dish Network WPIX feed will break up a bit too. This station has to move to 1WTC soon.
No issues here. Have you checked both signal quality and strength?
LenL is offline  
post #18550 of 18557 Old 02-05-2017, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
After a very extended outage, the Live Bandscan receiver at my grandmother's house is back in working order.

https://m.rabbitears.info/index.php?...10343612&tno=1

There were two different issues. First and most obviously, the network cable to the computer running the program had gotten unplugged. But second, the power supply for the HDHomeRun had burned out. It smelled burned, too. So I had a spare that I swapped in.

I'm fidgeting with the antenna placement again trying to get all of the stations to be relatively stable. So far, no luck; at least one is below threshold in any position I try. I'm leaving tomorrow morning, so whatever you see at about 9AM tomorrow is about what it should be going forward until my next visit. I need to find a better antenna than the rabbit ears attached to it now.

- Trip
Thanks Trip for keeping this service going for us! Much appreciated!
LenL is offline  
post #18551 of 18557 Old 02-05-2017, 06:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Anyone have issues with WPIX. You can be watching it and then it just starts to break up bad. It already ruined a few of my programs which is why now I have to record it on my Dish Network feed. I original got the Tivo because of the loss of WPIX on Dish during the summer.

Also I notice when WPIX is a pixilated mess the Dish Network WPIX feed will break up a bit too. This station has to move to 1WTC soon.
Also you can go to Trips website and check his live band scanner results which will show if there are issues with any broadcasters.

It can confirm if your issue is local to you only or widespread.
reddice likes this.
LenL is offline  
post #18552 of 18557 Old 03-07-2017, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Wnet vme

I doubt it will be missed but WNET has followed suit with PBS stations across the country in dropping V-Me
nyctveng is offline  
post #18553 of 18557 Old 03-07-2017, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,384
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Did WNET replace it with anything? If not, did they delete the subchannel or is it running a test pattern or something?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #18554 of 18557 Old 03-07-2017, 05:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Did WNET replace it with anything? If not, did they delete the subchannel or is it running a test pattern or something?

- Trip
pic
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo Mar 07, 8 50 30 PM.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	2013065  

Last edited by Aero 1; 03-07-2017 at 06:01 PM.
Aero 1 is online now  
post #18555 of 18557 Old 03-07-2017, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,384
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Thanks.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #18556 of 18557 Old Yesterday, 10:12 PM
Member
 
roseha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm having an issue I don't understand with WJLP, MeTV from New Jersey. I don't know when this began, but my Tivo Premiere is receiving two versions of this station over the air. one is WJLPHD and the other is WJLPDT I think. The problem is that when I try to record a program my Tivo records both of them at once. This means I can't record a second show at that time because Tivo thinks I'm recording two already. It took me awhile to figure out what was happening, but I don't know how to resolve this. I re-ran my channel scan and it didn't help. I guess I can record the channel on cable instead but the broadcast quality is usually better. Does anyone else have this issue?
roseha is offline  
post #18557 of 18557 Old Today, 03:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by roseha View Post
I'm having an issue I don't understand with WJLP, MeTV from New Jersey. I don't know when this began, but my Tivo Premiere is receiving two versions of this station over the air. one is WJLPHD and the other is WJLPDT I think. The problem is that when I try to record a program my Tivo records both of them at once. This means I can't record a second show at that time because Tivo thinks I'm recording two already. It took me awhile to figure out what was happening, but I don't know how to resolve this. I re-ran my channel scan and it didn't help. I guess I can record the channel on cable instead but the broadcast quality is usually better. Does anyone else have this issue?
Just remove one of them from the channel settings.
Aero 1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off