Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 154 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #4591 of 8537 Old 08-24-2004, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
kenrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Confirming what had been written here earlier, Comcast Montgomery's barker channel (channel 5) has a message stating that WBDC-HD and Discovery HD are coming online next Tuesday (9/1). They are also adding 11 SD channels--including, Travel, Hallmark, MTV Hits, Nicktoons, and GAC.
kenrowe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4592 of 8537 Old 08-24-2004, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
ericlhyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I seem to be having more problems with the WETA-HD dropouts with my HD-Tivo than I had when the same CM 8-bay bowtie was connected to my Samsung SIR-T165. Has the station been having more problems later or is this likely to be due to the difference in tuners? Even with the Samsung, dropouts have tended to be worse in summer than winter (blockage from tree leaves?)

ericlhyman
ericlhyman is offline  
post #4593 of 8537 Old 08-24-2004, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UMD_Terp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by michaelggray
UMD_Terp

I'm getting exactly the same thing with COMCAST in central NJ. I get the analog channels and the unencypted digital channels. Basically just the Network HD's. This has been since June 28 with no resolution. I'm confident that its a problem at COMCAST but they're saying its an issue with Sony and Scientific Atlanta. I'm using a Sony KD-34XBR960 and the SA card. What TV and Card are you using?
I have a Mitsubishi WD-52525 and a Motorola card. I called them today and my case has been sent to a supervisor... I should get a call back from them within a few days
UMD_Terp is offline  
post #4594 of 8537 Old 08-24-2004, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Pyrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,

Looks like adelphia is Frederick/WVA/NVA made a huge boo-boo and screwed up a bunch of services for our area for the HD Stuff. They say they are working on it but you know how that goes.

I'll let you know if/when it comes back when i see it.

Later

P.S. CycloneGT you were right adelphia frederick doesn't have HBO, according to the rep she said they may have been adding it right now.
Pyrr is offline  
post #4595 of 8537 Old 08-24-2004, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It just seemed Odd that HBO-HD was missing because it usually the first channel available on every HD service.

Kenrowe, thanks for the update on Comcast.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #4596 of 8537 Old 08-24-2004, 06:53 PM
f44
AVS Special Member
 
f44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Travel Channel!! Finally!!!!

But it says Travel Channel is going to be channel 39, so where is GSN moving to?
f44 is offline  
post #4597 of 8537 Old 08-24-2004, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
According to the TV Guide listings it will now be a digital channel.
PaulGo is offline  
post #4598 of 8537 Old 08-24-2004, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bah! Until Comcast in Mont Co gets Speed Channel & HDNet, I'm off limits to them.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #4599 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 01:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NightHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chaptico Md.
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ericlhyman
I seem to be having more problems with the WETA-HD dropouts with my HD-Tivo than I had when the same CM 8-bay bowtie was connected to my Samsung SIR-T165. Has the station been having more problems later or is this likely to be due to the difference in tuners? Even with the Samsung, dropouts have tended to be worse in summer than winter (blockage from tree leaves?)
More likely the difference in tuners. Doubtful the station is having any problems. One problem with WETA is their analog signal on 26 is very strong and places the sound carrier very close to the digital signal on 27. A challenging situation for your digital tuner.

Winter is certainly better with the absence of tree leaves having the most impact. Also clear dry air and a lower pre-amp temperature all benefit reception in winter.
NightHawk is offline  
post #4600 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 04:47 AM
Member
 
Andun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by CycloneGT
Bah! Until Comcast in Mont Co gets Speed Channel
All I want is the F1 races, they won't even provide them on the Speed On Demand, all we get is some stupid NASCAR stuff, a *ton* of Motorcycle shows, and maybe a good auto show here and there. They even got rid of the WRC races, those where fun to watch!

Does anyone know if Speed is part of the Sports Tier?


At least we are FINALLY getting Discovery HD:D

I got the pulsating rhythmical remedy
Andun is offline  
post #4601 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 06:39 AM
Member
 
Kim Gilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ericlhyman
I seem to be having more problems with the WETA-HD dropouts with my HD-Tivo than I had when the same CM 8-bay bowtie was connected to my Samsung SIR-T165. Has the station been having more problems later or is this likely to be due to the difference in tuners? Even with the Samsung, dropouts have tended to be worse in summer than winter (blockage from tree leaves?)
i live in falls church, and accordg. to antennaweb.org, a mere 3 miles from the WETA digital transmitter. We are situated low, with a flock of trees at the edge of the direction to the transmitter. Have a CM 4248 Yagi corner reflector mounted on 2-story roof with rotator, feeding a MyHD tuner PC card and HR10-250 DirecTv HD Tivo.

This summer experienced significant dropouts. Actually thought to be the transmitter going down sporadically (zero signal for 1-2 minutes, then popped up to 80-90 for awhile, then repeat; worse on windy days).

Since line of sight was less obstructed at opposite corner of my house, decided to set up a RS uhf corner reflector in attic as an experiment, and that did the trick. Dropouts disappeared, and average 84 percent or so signal strength which typically varies from 69 to 96.

These results were pretty identical feeding antenna signal into MyHD card vs. HR10-250, therefore assumed (at least in this case) tuner difference not a factor.

Maybe some of this will help you in getting a more reliable signal for your HR10-250.

Was curious about your 8-bay bowtie antenna--have been tempted to purchase an 8-bay from SolidSignal for about $49, maybe use in my attic.

In case you haven't seen it, check out the following link
http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/types.html
which does an in-depth engineering-level performance comparison of the CM 4248 Yagi Corner Reflector vs. the CM 4228 8-Bay stacked dipole. (See
http://www.solidsignal.com/cat_displ...=2&main_cat=03
for pictures of these antennas; note the 8-Bay stacked dipole appears to be mislabeled as an 8-Bay bowtie; the Yagi reflector actually an elaborate version of the $24 Radio Shack 15-2160)
The 8-Bay appears to outperform the Yagi in the significant portion of the band. According to the diagrams both antennas are quite directional (meaning, pointing is very important). Also in the significant portion of the band, the 8-Bay is actually MORE directional than the Yagi. The Elevation diagrams show the importance of your antenna being mounted perfectly level.

'Imagination is more important than knowledge...' --Einstein
Kim Gilbert is offline  
post #4602 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 10:06 AM
f44
AVS Special Member
 
f44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(Comcast- Mont. Co, MD)

If you look at the new listings, all the HD channels are moving to new numbers, some on Sept. 1, some on Oct. 1. Tons of other channels are switching numbers too, and the NFL Network was just added but will switch numbers as well in October (why don't they just switch it on 9/1, since they haven't really let people known that we now have NFLNet)?
f44 is offline  
post #4603 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 12:36 PM
Newbie
 
avplayer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by steeler
Anyone with a Samsung 360 receiver having this problem? My 360 is not generating the HD icon on my tv that signifies HD content when the info button on the remote is pressed. This just occurs while watching the Olympics OTA or on D*ch 84. I am getting the HD signal, it shows 1080i on my receivers front panel LED and the picture is great. The icon shows up on all other HD programming. Any ideas why?????
Maybe you could set your "Local Network" under Installation to your zipcode, then reboot and it will download the guide again? This might be a channel recently scanned and found after the local setup/guide was downloaded.
avplayer88 is offline  
post #4604 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Gipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Riding, Va
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dg28
I hate to even have to post this and I hope I'm wong here, but... I have noticed that ever since WUSADT began multicasting their weather radar on 9-2 that when 9-1 is showing an HDTV program the graphics (e.g., opening/closing credits) seem to "shake" quite often. Viewing the same program on WJZDT, which does not multicast, this does not occur.

Well last night's Ravens game was a key test. I know there were some problems from the network HDTV telelcast, but if you looked at the scoreboard in the upper right or upper left corner of the screen, it would often shake on WUSADT, but not on WJZDT. Please do this test for yourself.

I know the radar on 9-2 should not take up much bandwith, but multicasting with 1080i is problematic. Just look at WMPTDT or WETADT when there is any sort of motion. I hope I'm wrong about this and WUSA is just having some equipment problem. If not, we all may need to pressure them to turn off 9-2 during HDTV. Who's watching it anyway?
I also noticed this while watching the game. Was hoping others also noticed this. Was kind of annoying...
Gipper is offline  
post #4605 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 01:22 PM
Senior Member
 
xbgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know WBAL-DT is multicasting the olympics in HD and the regular programming as a subchannel, but how is the quality? I'm assuming that the HD stream is re-encoded to leave some bandwidth for the SD stream? What is the quality like compared to O&O WRC-DT? I live in Chantilly and i use the radioshack 15-1880, so I dont get any baltimore channels.
xbgamer is offline  
post #4606 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dg28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boyds, MD
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
xbgamer- I asked the same question at the start of the Olympics, but no one has yet replied. Hopefully someone will soon.
dg28 is offline  
post #4607 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mjones73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 7,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The quality on WBAL-DT compares to what I'm getting from my D* feed but it's not being broadcast with 5.1 DD sound, just 2 channel sound.

Matt
Please don't PM me with technical questions that should be posted in the forum.
mjones73 is offline  
post #4608 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I can't tell the difference between 4.1, 11.1, and Dish Network's HD Olympic feed. But then again, I have a 480p Plasma and I'm 14' back from the screen. All 3 look very good.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #4609 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mjones73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 7,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
By the way, does anyone know if WBFF-DT is broadcasting full power or at all? I can lock ABC, NBC, and CBS fine at home, getting about a 15 on the signal strength for FOX...

Matt
Please don't PM me with technical questions that should be posted in the forum.
mjones73 is offline  
post #4610 of 8537 Old 08-25-2004, 06:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
steeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pittsburgh Steeler country Hamilton, Va
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by xbgamer
I know WBAL-DT is multicasting the olympics in HD and the regular programming as a subchannel, but how is the quality? I'm assuming that the HD stream is re-encoded to leave some bandwidth for the SD stream? What is the quality like compared to O&O WRC-DT? I live in Chantilly and i use the radioshack 15-1880, so I dont get any baltimore channels.
WBAL's picture quality is just as good as WRC in Hamilton using a CM 4221 antenna and and CM7777 preamp.
steeler is offline  
post #4611 of 8537 Old 08-26-2004, 05:09 AM
Newbie
 
HDMontgomery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 60" hd rptv and seems that the WBAL, WRC hd broadcast quality are equal (at least I can't see any diff) and they're both just slightly better than the Dish Network hd feeds on 148 and 9425. While watching the gymnastics balance beam competition, the beam supports seemed to have duller shine on the Sat channels than on the OTA channels, IMHO. I use a DISH 6000 receiver for both sat and ota.
HDMontgomery is offline  
post #4612 of 8537 Old 08-26-2004, 05:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 790 Post(s)
Liked: 770
WRC is running at 17.318 mbs(according to my HiPix card). Not the full bandwidth, but close.
WTTG--17.5mbs
WJLA-7.1--14.000mbs
WJLA-7.2--2.512mbs
WUSA-9.1--16.5mbs
WUSA-9.2--1.924mbs

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #4613 of 8537 Old 08-26-2004, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The funny thing is that Dish Network's bit rate is supposed to be 22/MBs for the Olympic HD Channel.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #4614 of 8537 Old 08-26-2004, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
John_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the feed from WRC is definitely better than WBAL or D*. I have a Sony HD-200 connected to a Mitsubishi RPTV 55" HD Set, and an HDTivo connected to a Sony Grand Wega III 42" LCD with WRC looking better on both setups.
John_D is offline  
post #4615 of 8537 Old 08-26-2004, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
ericlhyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know WETA-HD's mbs rate?

ericlhyman
ericlhyman is offline  
post #4616 of 8537 Old 08-26-2004, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
ericlhyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kim Gilbert

The Channel Master 8-bay bowtie has worked well. Although it is supposed to be UHF only, it also brings in VHF channels 7 and 9 very well (4 and 5 not so well). In Silver Spring, without an amplifier at present on my roof installation, I get digital local NBC, CBS, and ABS stations very well, WETA-HD is dropout prone (more so in summer, but in winter it is fine), and I get 20-1, 32, 50, 50-1, and 56 well (57-1 with a few dropouts in summer). I have a lot of tall trees around, especially on the southern side.

ericlhyman
ericlhyman is offline  
post #4617 of 8537 Old 08-26-2004, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Eben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone in the Fairfax City, Va., area have any success using an indoor (or attic) antenna for local HD channels?
TIA,
Eben
Eben is offline  
post #4618 of 8537 Old 08-26-2004, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
xbgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Eben
Anyone in the Fairfax City, Va., area have any success using an indoor (or attic) antenna for local HD channels?
TIA,
Eben
I live in Chantilly, which is about 7-10 miles away from Fairfax City, in the extreme western part of Fairfax County (near Loudon county, border line is about 1/4 mile from where I live). I am able to get all of the DC locals (WRC (analog channel 4), WTTG (5), WJLA (7), WUSA (9), WETA (26), WPXW (66), WNVC/WNVT (56), and WBDC (50)) with my indoor antenna (RadioShack 15-1880). Since you live closer to the antennas, I expect you to be able to recieve the same. A big problem would be theres alot of tall buildings near where you live, which would result in multipath issues (its about the same as ghosting in analog TV, except in HDTV, you don't see double/triple images; you see massive signal reception percentage spikes and drops (52% -> 60% -> 40% -> 75% -> 80%). Even though multipath would be an issue, as long as you are able to get the signal somewhere in the 40-50% reception range, your picture would be good, crisp, and clear without interference (unlike analog OTA where you get static noise and such).
xbgamer is offline  
post #4619 of 8537 Old 08-26-2004, 05:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 790 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally posted by ericlhyman
Does anyone know WETA-HD's mbs rate?
WETA-26.1-- is 13.8mbs right now.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #4620 of 8537 Old 08-26-2004, 06:14 PM
Member
 
Roscoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, rats...I was really looking forward to Charlie's Angels in HD tonight :)

WJLA goofed this one up...

Roscoe
Roscoe is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off