Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 157 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #4681 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 05:26 AM
Senior Member
 
kenrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to their ad in last week's Gazette, there is going to be a second realignment of channels on October 1st. At that point, all of the HD channels will be together in the 200's and the PPVs will be in the 500's. It is a bit odd that you have to pass a soft-core porn channel to go between Discovery and the DC HD channels.

All of the other new channels (Travel and Hallmark) went on overnight. But, GSN (now at 128) wasn't authorized on our boxes this morning.
kenrowe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4682 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 06:33 AM
Member
 
Andun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Discovery-HD!!!
My long wait has materialized. I wonder when they'll start trying to charge us for all this "free" progrmmming?

Browsing thru the new channel lineup is kinda funny, I never noticed the silly Adult-PPV movie names until now. I bet those with kids are pretty upset at this one.

If anyone is into chill down-tempo music, check out the music ch. 440. It's called sounds of the seasons (whatever that means) and they play some nice chill ambient music on there.

I got the pulsating rhythmical remedy
Andun is offline  
post #4683 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 07:02 AM
Member
 
Kim Gilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ericlhyman
DW Perrone

My experience with the red and blue stations is that an indoor antenna does not work very well. I have tried the Silver Sensor and several Radio Shack and Jensen models. I am closer to the stations than you are, but there are large trees surrounding the development. A rooftop 8-bay bowtie is doing well with all of the stations except WETA-HD, which is dropout-prone in summer.
ericlhyman-

Since the WETA signal source isn't co-located with the other DC digital channels and since the 8-bay is so directional, was just wondering if not being precisely pointed at WETA is perhaps contributing to your dropout problem...

If so, only solution would be a rotator...or attempt to find a 'hotter spot' on your roof and relocate antenna, as per the info on the hdtvprimer website, which is a real wealth of antenna info...

IMHO, done properly, setting up to find hotspots would be a real challenge, but possibly worth it in the long run. But also have been reading that WETA is going to relocate their digital signal source sometime within a year to be closer to the others...

Actually i have a rotator, but tree problem in falls church was so bad (even tho only 3 miles from the WETA transmitter), had to set up 2nd antenna at opposite side of attic to get a reliable signal.

Did you say you were receiving a usable UPN (ch.35) low power signal? Would sure love to be able to get that one! Currently, signal meter barely off the stop.

'Imagination is more important than knowledge...' --Einstein
Kim Gilbert is offline  
post #4684 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I actually got a "Jointenna" to receive WETA-DT. Its like a splitter but it only pass ch 27 from one connection, and everything else through the other. They are then joined together for the run to the tuner. With this I was able to get a 2nd UHF antenna soley for WETA-DT.

I was able to fix my Drop out problems this way without the rotator.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #4685 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maximum360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is Discovery HD on Comcast up in PG County, MD?

As of 12:30 am it wasn't but I wasn't able to check this morning before I left for work.

They're already two weeks late.

"Guns? Guns are easy."
maximum360 is offline  
post #4686 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Kim Gilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by CycloneGT
I actually got a "Jointenna" to receive WETA-DT. Its like a splitter but it only pass ch 27 from one connection, and everything else through the other. They are then joined together for the run to the tuner. With this I was able to get a 2nd UHF antenna soley for WETA-DT.

I was able to fix my Drop out problems this way without the rotator.
CycloneGT

i saw that JoinTenna after putting up 2nd antenna. Currently have the roof-mounted rotored CM 4248 on separate line, and the RS UHF for WETA in attic diplexed into a sat line, and use a RS coax IR switcher to switch between the two to feed the directv receiver. Convoluted, huh?
But it works :-))

May eventually get that JoinTenna to simplify things...
If i could ask, where'd you get it, and for how much

'Imagination is more important than knowledge...' --Einstein
Kim Gilbert is offline  
post #4687 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had to special order it from Mark Electronics in Beltsville. You have to specify which channel you want the Jointenna to "pass through". In the case of WETA-DT, this is UHF 27. They then have to order it from Channel Master. It took over month for it to arrive and it cost about $40 if I remember correctly.

But it does work, and I get WETA-DT stable now, where it was dropping out and impossible to watch before.

You can see them on Channel Masters Website under products, passives.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #4688 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 01:06 PM
Member
 
umbighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 21054 (Maryland)
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Warren Electronics also carries these. Because they say they need a 2 week lead time, I assume they get them from Channel Master, too.

Click here to see the link.

VHF models $12.53 ea.
UHF models $25.34 ea.
umbighouse is offline  
post #4689 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
sullender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the DirecTV guy coming tomorrow to install my new HD box and he is bringing an OTA antenna (presumably the clip-on-the-dish kind). I live in Centreville and had pretty good reception of the 4 major networks (but that's it) last time I had an HD box with an indoor antenna - although I did have to turn the antenna for each channel.

Should I pay the extra $50 for this DirecTV antenna mounted outside? My wife is pretty excited about getting rid of the indoor model, to say the least. Will it work for me?

Thanks for your feedback.
sullender is offline  
post #4690 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Flyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would assume that they are installing a Terk antenna. Although I have never used one, from reviews of those on these boards they are rated pretty poorly. Have said that I don't think it can hurt to try it. I thought the antenna was part of their overall solution and didn't cost anything extra - you may want to question that charge.
Flyer1 is offline  
post #4691 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 01:38 PM
Member
 
umbighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 21054 (Maryland)
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think in most cases, you'll do better to mount an antenna outside rather than inside, so it doesn't have to fight through walls, insulation, roofing, etc. If you can mount a bow-tie type antenna up high (i.e., roof or chimney), you'll probably do well. For a more professional installation, many forum members have had very good praise for Fairfax Antenna. They'll do a sight survery and tell you what channels you can/can't expect to receive.
umbighouse is offline  
post #4692 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 01:42 PM
f44
AVS Special Member
 
f44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By the way,

GSN's new channel lineup spot has been authorized. HSN and Interfaith Channel also moved but are still in the Basic lineup.
f44 is offline  
post #4693 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
sullender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. This is part of D*s upgrade special that has been discussed in other threads - and they do charge $50 extra for the OTA antenna.

Frankly, I was just curious to let him install it and if I don't get good reception then I could "bitch and moan" to D* about it, get a refund of the $50 and go buy my own.

Just didn't know if anyone had any experience with them.
sullender is offline  
post #4694 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Scott R. Scherr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WBFF and WNUV update:

I spoke with Mark in engineering who is very nice.

WBFF

The splicer has been installed. They are doing some additional wiring and hope to switch over to the splicer next Tuesday.


WNUV

They expected to receive the HD equipment today, but it did not come. They expect to receive the dolby digital equipment on September 15th. They of course will need to install the equipment so hopefully by the end of this month, WNUV will be doing HD and DD 5.1.

Scott
Scott R. Scherr is offline  
post #4695 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scott: I'm really bad at Channel names..what are the channels #s for WBFF & WNUV? Thanks.
mallu2u is offline  
post #4696 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Scott R. Scherr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
45 (Fox) and 54 (WB)
Scott R. Scherr is offline  
post #4697 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The WB Network won't begin DD5.1 until it airs the Lord of the Rings movie. I think that will be some time in November. So WB54 WNUV likely won't start off as DD5.1 when they begin HDTV programming.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #4698 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks scott
mallu2u is offline  
post #4699 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 03:52 PM
 
jeffthurmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Thurmont,Maryland
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Scott R. Scherr
WBFF and WNUV update:

I spoke with Mark in engineering who is very nice.
Scott
Any word on increasing power? Wnuv is pretty low power.
jeffthurmont is offline  
post #4700 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
ericlhyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Antennaweb indicates that for me WETA-DT is within the 231 to 238 degrees location of the other digital stations so it's not a rotor issue, but an underpowered station issue. Rotors are useless for me because almost all of my viewing is through time-shifting on tivos.

The Jointenna solution with a separate antenna for WETA-DT sounds promising. Perhaps that could also allow me to get WMPT-DT.

Kim Gilbert: I get UPN 50-DT. You are correct that WETA-DT will relocate to the WJLA tower and increase power within a year.

ericlhyman
ericlhyman is offline  
post #4701 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally posted by ericlhyman
Antennaweb indicates that for me WETA-DT is within the 231 to 238 degrees location of the other digital stations so it's not a rotor issue, but an underpowered station issue.

The Jointenna solution with a separate antenna for WETA-DT sounds promising. Perhaps that could also allow me to get WMPT-DT.
In Silver Spring, you are about 15 miles from the WETA transmitter. Your problem is probably caused by the lack of height of the transmitter, rather than by lack of transmitter power.

Before you waste money on a Jointenna, you should experiment with your present antenna and others until you get a reliable channel 27 signal lock. Only then should you consider buying a Jointenna to couple it to another antenna.

If your reception of other Washington, DC stations is reliable, you might be able to get the DC stations, Annapolis and even Baltimore by taking the back screen off a Channel Master 4-bay bowtie. You could then couple that with a dedicated channel 27 antenna.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #4702 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 06:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1053 Post(s)
Liked: 853
You could also get a combiner that joins all frequencies from both antennas. I am getting excellent results using one with my two Squareshooters. I had a problem getting 48.1 along with the other DC stations and this solved my problem. I needed to have one of my SqS pointed around 45 degrees away and now I have been getting a solid , strong signal on all channles since I installed it in early Spring.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #4703 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Scott R. Scherr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WBFF and WNUV both have installed equipment to increase power, but are waiting on approval from BGE.

Scott
Scott R. Scherr is offline  
post #4704 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
xbgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody having a really HUGE super sized FOX watermark bug on WTTG-DT?

I have attached an image of it (sorry for the compression artifacts). its in the lower right and is turquoiseish-blue.
LL
xbgamer is offline  
post #4705 of 8537 Old 09-01-2004, 07:39 PM
f44
AVS Special Member
 
f44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by xbgamer
anybody having a really HUGE super sized FOX watermark bug on WTTG-DT?

I have attached an image of it (sorry for the compression artifacts). its in the lower right and is turquoiseish-blue.
See this...

FOX HD Master Thread - Affiliates going online NOW - HD Scheduled for 9/12.

Good news.
f44 is offline  
post #4706 of 8537 Old 09-02-2004, 05:43 AM
Member
 
Kim Gilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by AntAltMike
If your reception of other Washington, DC stations is reliable, you might be able to get the DC stations, Annapolis and even Baltimore by taking the back screen off a Channel Master 4-bay bowtie. You could then couple that with a dedicated channel 27 antenna.
AntAltMike

Just curious, how would taking the back screen off ChannelMaster bowtie antenna increase chances of receiving distant stations (ie Balto and Annap)? Thought doing so would merely decrease front to back ratio and perhaps make it slightly less directional...
Or would taking off screen just facilitate coupling with 2nd ant?

Always interested in gain enhancement ideas, having to deal with low location in falls church with much signal reflection. Since back of house almost exactly faces the cluster of DC stations, was wondering how affixing an 8-bay channelmaster flat against back outside wall would compare to mounted on mast on roof (house has vinyl siding). Anybody ever try something like that?

One of these days, am going to have to do the 'hot spot' test and check out various positions, roof locations, heights etc. They say uhf is less dependent on height of antenna than vhf...

'Imagination is more important than knowledge...' --Einstein
Kim Gilbert is offline  
post #4707 of 8537 Old 09-02-2004, 06:20 AM
Newbie
 
weaverjk8875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone live in the Chantilly/South RIding area and have trouble receiving NBC and WB HD? Antennaweb says I should be able to receive NBC but not WB. Its weird that every zip code around me, even points further west, get WB but mine. Any thoughts?
weaverjk8875 is offline  
post #4708 of 8537 Old 09-02-2004, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
rickypicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Franklin Farms (between Centerville Road and Fairfax County Parkway) and get NBC HD and WB HD just fine.

I have a friend who lives in Ashburn, and he gets NBC HD but not WB HD.

I know there is somebody who lives in South Riding that frequents this board, so hopefully he'll weigh in...
rickypicky is offline  
post #4709 of 8537 Old 09-02-2004, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally posted by Kim Gilbert
... how would taking the back screen off ChannelMaster bowtie antenna increase chances of receiving distant stations (ie Balto and Annap)? Thought doing so would merely decrease front to back ratio and perhaps make it slightly less directional...

One of these days, am going to have to do the 'hot spot' test and check out various positions, roof locations, heights etc. They say uhf is less dependent on height of antenna than vhf...

Baltimore and Annapolis are not distant stations. You are within the so-called "Grade A" contours for all the transmitters in both of those markets. Removing the back screen will reduce the gain by about 3dB, from about 8dB to about 5dB. A Square Shooter antenna has less gain than that. On the other hand, it reduces the front-to-back ratio to neutral. Lots of people in Silver Spring can get the Baltimore and Washington stations with a single omnidirectional antenna. A 4 bay bowtie with no screen on the back will be a wide beamwidth, bi-directional antenna. On the other hand, it will be more vulnerable to rear reflections. This solution has worked reliably for me in Laurel, and has occasionally worked in Silver Spring.

UHF is generally more dependent on height that is VHF. On the other hand, the debilitating reflections sometimes have relatively narrow vertical beamwidths, and so moving a poorly performing UHF antenna up or down a little bit generally won;t change the strength of the desired signal very much, but may affect (and hopefully, reduce) the strength of the multipath reflection.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #4710 of 8537 Old 09-02-2004, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Woah!! Fox5 has the movie "Big Momma's House" in DD5.1 tonight. Did FOX launch HDTV tonight?

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off