Washington, DC / Baltimore, MD - HDTV - Page 181 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #5401 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by CycloneGT
At least it was in widescreen with DD5.1 sound.
And the Yankess lost...

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5402 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The torture continues! Titan TV has added WBFF-DT at channel 183 to its Comcast of Baltimore City listing, next to WNUV-DT at 184.

Keep hope alive!:D

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #5403 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mntneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone else had reception problems lately? For the past few nights, I've had reception go from 80-90 on some channels to 0-20. Seems intermitent at times too. I'm not sure if I've got an antenna or cable problem, if it's an atmospheric issue, or something else.

Just curious if I'm alone in this.
Mntneer is offline  
post #5404 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hehe, and it will be like that for the next few years, while negotiations take place.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #5405 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 12:37 PM
Member
 
carlsbadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Annandale, Virginia
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by sasha_j
Thanks for clearing that up. It never occurred to me that the Skins would be broadcast locally via ABC, but via CBS in Baltimore! It was right there in TitanTV.

I do not get that at all.

But I am glad to be able to record my Sun night shows via WMAR-DT.

Just to clear things up a bit more. CBS has the contract for the AFC teams, since the Ravens are a AFC team, and the home team for Baltimore, it would make sense that the local cbs station will carry it even if it is a ESPN game. In many markets the local game will be carried over the air even if it's a ESPN game. It depends on the contract the Team has with the local media.
carlsbadd is offline  
post #5406 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 03:38 PM
f44
AVS Special Member
 
f44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast Montgomery County MD now has a channel immediately after the normal INHD2 that is also labeled on the program guide as INHD2. It is showing a screen that says "HIDEF SPECIAL EVENTS" but watch it tonight at 9pm ET to see NFL Game of the Week from NFL Network in high-definition. Tonight is Colts vs. Jaguars from this Sunday (game is shortened to 60 minutes for the program).
f44 is offline  
post #5407 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 04:50 PM
Member
 
skirjonen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm about 35 miles (Leesburg 20176) from DC and UPN and can't get any signal. Everything else comes in crystal clear and I even get Baltimore stations mostly quite well.

As Star Trek starts, I'm wondering if there is a plan to increase the power any time soon?

Thanks

Sami
skirjonen is offline  
post #5408 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 05:09 PM
Member
 
pigatc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: south riding, VA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Adelphia loudoun has added WJLA-HD 707, HBO-HD 750
pigatc is offline  
post #5409 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mntneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by skirjonen
I'm about 35 miles (Leesburg 20176) from DC and UPN and can't get any signal. Everything else comes in crystal clear and I even get Baltimore stations mostly quite well.

As Star Trek starts, I'm wondering if there is a plan to increase the power any time soon?

Thanks
You may, depending on your location in Leesburg, have luck picking up Digital 23 out of Lancaster PA. The UPN there is broadcasting Enterprise in HD. I get it at about a 60 signal strength (on a MyHD card), and got to watch most all of Enterprise last season in HD.
Mntneer is offline  
post #5410 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
One of my DC high-rise condominiums left a voice-mail message that they have recently lost WMPT digital 42 in their master antenna system, but I haven't received any similar complaints from any other master antenna systems. Is anyone in DC or to the west having any reception problems with WMPT?
AntAltMike is offline  
post #5411 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mike, Its coming in very strong here in Germantown.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #5412 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 06:59 PM
Member
 
BigCB37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So everyone is talking about the great PQ for this show on ABC and how good the DD 5.1 is...

PQ is great...but the last 2 episodes havent been in 5.1 for me... are other people getting the full DD???

Too bad bc the pilot had awesome DD...
BigCB37 is offline  
post #5413 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
4HiMarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure sounded like DD5.1 to me on 2-1 over my new LG LST-3501A.

-Chris
4HiMarks is offline  
post #5414 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Big, are you watching ABC 7 from Washington or ABC 2 from Baltimore? ABC 7 in Washington does not have DD5.1 yet, they are only DD2.0 Stereo.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #5415 of 8537 Old 10-06-2004, 10:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
PGHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Accokeek, MD
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by CycloneGT
Well, people seem to have it in their head that the local broadcast of this game has something to do with ABC or CBS, it doesn't. The locals stations make the deal to carry the games reguardless of their network affiliation. This game could have been on the UPN stations if they had bid for it.

Anyway, we will all be watching on ESPN-HD so it doesn't really matter what the local channels do. The local broadcast are just there to cover the gap of people who do not have Cable/Sat.
I have *no* HD over cable/satellite.

In fact, I am the only person in the house with HD at all (and it's OTA at my PC).

The big barrier? Price.

Until *very* recently, the cost of HDTV sets (even HD-ready sets) had been darn near *impossible* to justify.

Worse, my Mom (who I live with) is a time-shifting fanatic (her daytime dramas in particular). She has not seen her beloved *soaps* in HD yet (and neither Best Buy or Circuit City has a programming loop with either in HD; her two faves, *The Young and the Restless* and *The Bold and the Beautiful*, are both in HD).

If Best Buy or Circuit City had *either* soap in their HD loop, I could actually convince her to take the plunge (at least for the living room).

Throw in DVR, and the deal would close itself.

But I have to be able to convince her, using *her* choice of programming, that HD is worth the money.

It is for precisely this reason that I watch the increase in HD programming (and the decrease in the cost of HDTV sets) with something approaching glee.
PGHammer is offline  
post #5416 of 8537 Old 10-07-2004, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
sasha_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sterling VA
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by PGHammer
I have *no* HD over cable/satellite.

In fact, I am the only person in the house with HD at all (and it's OTA at my PC).

I'm OTA only by choice too, so you're not the only one.

Record some HD soaps with your PC. Take it to a friends house or a willing retailer to demo your mom. Choice of programming aside, that is pretty much what I did to sell my wife on HD.

Easiest sales job I ever did. Took about 30 seconds and she was sold.

Regards,

Sasha Jevtich
sasha_j is offline  
post #5417 of 8537 Old 10-07-2004, 07:59 AM
Member
 
BigCB37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by CycloneGT
Big, are you watching ABC 7 from Washington or ABC 2 from Baltimore? ABC 7 in Washington does not have DD5.1 yet, they are only DD2.0 Stereo.
ABC 7 in Washington...I could have sworn that they had 5.1 in the pilot episode.

They need to pick up the slack if they dont have 5.1 ever! Thats terrible.

I dont think I can pick up the baltimore feed either :(
BigCB37 is offline  
post #5418 of 8537 Old 10-07-2004, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WJLA-DT is supposed to get their DD5.1 encoder in the future. Its been approved, but not yet purchased.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #5419 of 8537 Old 10-07-2004, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
navychop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anybody know the ERP of WPXW 66.1? I'm 3 miles from it, but never get the digital signal. 66 analog doesn't come in very well, but it's certainly watchable. I use the StealthTenna 5 ft above my roof. This is classed as multi directional, although to look at it, it appears directional. It's aimed at almost 60 degrees, where most stations are from me. I doubt that a rotator would help, because 66 (264 degrees) is almost 180 out from my aim point, which should help, not hurt reception on this antenna- besides, I get 30.1, and they're at 227 degrees, off axis. I've considered that the signal might be over amplified, but cutting power to the amp does not improve (or make possible) reception. I'd like to get the station, but I doubt it's worth putting up a rotator. There does not appear to be anything blocking the signal from 66.1, but I do see a significant ghost on analog 66.

Any ideas?

Reunite Pangea!
navychop is offline  
post #5420 of 8537 Old 10-07-2004, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The funny thing is that I received 66.x last night, it was a rare occurance and did not come in very strong. So I know it is still in operation and there are still six sub-channels.

That said, there really isn't anything to watch on there, and unless you find yourself watching the Analog 66, the digital has even less to offer. Note: with six subchannels multicasting, its hard to even suggest that you get a better SD picture from the digtial broadcast.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #5421 of 8537 Old 10-07-2004, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally posted by navychop
Does anybody know the ERP of WPXW 66.1? I'm 3 miles from it, but never get the digital signal. 66 analog doesn't come in very well, but it's certainly watchable. I use the StealthTenna 5 ft above my roof. I've considered that the signal might be over amplified, but cutting power to the amp does not improve (or make possible) reception. I'd like to get the station, but I doubt it's worth putting up a rotator. There does not appear to be anything blocking the signal from 66.1, but I do see a significant ghost on analog 66.
Overloading of the preamp is most likely. I was given a sample Stealth antenna when the product first came out, and mine had a passive interface circuit board to use in place of the amplifier board. Unfortunately, I think I threw it out. You can probably get one cheap from a dealer who has a bunch of them left over from installations that used the preamplifier.

There is nothing wrong with the 66.1 signal, which is actually broadcast on UHF channel 43. if you really want it, from three mles away, you could put up a $1 bowtie or even a $20 2-bay bowtie with a reflector screen and run a separate coax to an A/B switch.
AntAltMike is offline  
post #5422 of 8537 Old 10-07-2004, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Pyrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Any of the Local networks do DD 5.1?

so far i see nothing?

Thanks
Pyrr is offline  
post #5423 of 8537 Old 10-07-2004, 08:21 PM
Member
 
WarrentonHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reading this thread, it seems I am not alone in that out of the four major DC networks, I have most trouble getting 7.1, some trouble getting 9.1 and little problem with 4.1 or 5.1. I am about 40 miles from the towers, the towers are all about the same distance and all in about the same direction from me, and I have tried a couple of different antennas.

Is there a reason for this, does 7.1 broadcast at a lower power than the others? If so do they have any plans to improve their signal?

Any insight into this would be appreciated. Thanks
WarrentonHD is offline  
post #5424 of 8537 Old 10-07-2004, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mntneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I actually get ABC quite well, better than NBC and Fox now. I'm about 60+miles from DC and use a CM Yagi with Pre-Amp.
Mntneer is offline  
post #5425 of 8537 Old 10-07-2004, 10:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I too get ABC and CBS better than Fox and NBC.

I did upgrade my amp from a RS 15-1171 to a CM7777 today. It didn't change my DC reception, but the Baltimore stations are stronger.

Pyrr, Fox should have DD5.1 on for all of their Network programming (although only sports are actually DD5.1 material, the rest is just 2.0 flagged as 5.1). CBS will have DD5.1 during football games, NBC 4 had it for the Olympics, but nothing else. ABC 7 does not have a DD5.1 encoder up and running, so no DD5.1 there. PBS channels sometimes have DD5.1.

You have Adelphia Cable in Frederick, right? I know that I had to set a "setup" in the STB to send out DD5.1 It was called "matrix audio" or some nonsense like that.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #5426 of 8537 Old 10-08-2004, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joblo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by robertforsyth
No, any 'delayed' programming will be in SD.

Sorry :)
Quote:
Originally posted by robertforsyth
We are only allowed to show the SD feed due to agreements in place between ESPN and the cable outlets. I will verify this, and if this is not correct, I will post that information here.

__________________
Robert Forsyth
Director, Operations and Engineering
WJLA-TV
In that case, why not show ABC's HD programming in pattern on 7.1 and show the SD football game on 7.2 at the same time?
joblo is online now  
post #5427 of 8537 Old 10-08-2004, 12:40 PM
QmA
Newbie
 
QmA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it me or has UPN-24 's Digital channel gone dead.

I realize it was of very low power but I live 2 miles from the tower so I had excellent reception but since yesterday afternoon the channel has just gone dead.

Can anyone verify this or has my myHD card gone mad.

QmA.
QmA is offline  
post #5428 of 8537 Old 10-08-2004, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AcuraCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Suburban Baltimore
Posts: 3,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by WarrentonHD
Reading this thread, it seems I am not alone in that out of the four major DC networks, I have most trouble getting 7.1, some trouble getting 9.1 and little problem with 4.1 or 5.1. I am about 40 miles from the towers, the towers are all about the same distance and all in about the same direction from me, and I have tried a couple of different antennas.

Is there a reason for this, does 7.1 broadcast at a lower power than the others? If so do they have any plans to improve their signal?

Any insight into this would be appreciated. Thanks
Yes, this is highly dependent on location/terrain.

I'm 35 miles from DC signals and get 9.1 rock solid, my best channel period at consistent 90% ... 7.1 and 4.1 are consistent at about 80% ... as is 42.2. Other DC and Baltimore stations vary considerably.
AcuraCL is offline  
post #5429 of 8537 Old 10-08-2004, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
QmA, Since WUTB-DT is a low power station, its gonna be hard to find someone who can verify. But there are a few Baltimore OTA folks here.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #5430 of 8537 Old 10-08-2004, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
sasha_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sterling VA
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by joblo
In that case, why not show ABC's HD programming in pattern on 7.1 and show the SD football game on 7.2 at the same time?
Very cool idea seeing as 720P is multicast friendly. WMAR-DT manages to MC very nicely without adversely effecting the HD signal on 2.1:

2.1 720P HD DD 5.1
2.2 480i SD
2.3 480i Doppler

Regards,

Sasha Jevtich
sasha_j is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off