Toledo, OH - HDTV - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1953 Old 09-16-2004, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes in fact I believe they do. I also believe the local WB affiliate is owned by the same parent company as Buckeye Cablevision and the Toledo Blade newpaper. One big happy family. I may not be totally accurate but I think I am.
fullwave2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1953 Old 09-20-2004, 12:36 PM
Member
 
Nate Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toledo, OH USA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, they snuck NBC into the lineup without me noticing. Now that they finally have all the local affiliates onboard, I just might have to get their HD package.
Nate Thompson is offline  
post #33 of 1953 Old 09-28-2004, 07:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Regarding FOX Toledo WUPW:

Full DD 5.1 and 16:9 HD 720p should running by October 6th, in preparation for NFL on games for the weekend of 10/10/04.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #34 of 1953 Old 09-29-2004, 03:37 AM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Ken. This is the reply I got from WUPW's Chief Engineer earlier this week:
"FOX has been supplying us with some upgrades. Currently they are installing new IFL lines from the dish to the receivers. We are now in upconverted 720P on 36-2 and should have the network pass thru operational by this weekend. I think FOX, and the FCC for that matter, is making a lot of this stuff up as they go along. We have been making a lot of changes to the digital stream and some new rules have just been published that will require even more changes. It continues to be a work in progress as the technology evolves. A lot of the changes are software related. You may have to reboot your receiver at some point. "

Also, if Buckeye Cable's latest timing is correct the Motorola 6412 box should be coming out around the same time. They claim the only thing holding it up is their waiting for TV Guide to do their part. This is what they said on 9/24:
"We are still waiting for TV Guide to finish up their end of the process. At this point we are hoping that in about 3 weeks we will have a go from them."
fullwave2 is offline  
post #35 of 1953 Old 09-30-2004, 06:44 AM
Newbie
 
hammer400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently dropped D* for Buckeye HD. The quality is better than I expected but the WB on 605 is NOT HD. It is just their regular TV5 feed stretched and upconverted. I have not seen anything in HD on that channel since subscribing shortly after Labor Day. I was misled by their customer service and their web page since both claim the network HD programming offered in HD is passed through on channel 605. It is not. Beyond that, all of the other local HD and subchannels are carried and are of decent quality with the exception of FOX WUPW which should start HD next week.
hammer400 is offline  
post #36 of 1953 Old 10-06-2004, 09:56 AM
Member
 
tcotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At this point, no changes to the WUPW digital channel 36-2. Bummer! Was hoping to catch the MLB Division series in HD tonight. Does anybody have any further info on the status FOX 36's upgrade? They won't return any phone calls to me at the station.
tcotter is offline  
post #37 of 1953 Old 10-06-2004, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tcotter,
Sent you a PM with the Chief Engineer's name and email address.
fullwave2 is offline  
post #38 of 1953 Old 10-06-2004, 12:38 PM
Member
 
tcotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fullwave:

Thanks a bunch. Check PM for reply.
tcotter is offline  
post #39 of 1953 Old 10-06-2004, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problem. Check your PM's.
fullwave2 is offline  
post #40 of 1953 Old 10-06-2004, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. Here's the latest from Fox WUPW:

We are still doing the upconverted 720p. FOX has to make some adjustments to a piece of equipment they had us install. It has to be done during prime time programming, which doesn't thrill me since it will most likely cause some disruption to our viewers. Sometimes I wonder what they're thinking in Hollywood
Hopefully, this weekend's games will be in full 720p.

Thanks for your patience.
fullwave2 is offline  
post #41 of 1953 Old 10-06-2004, 02:42 PM
Member
 
tcotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info fullwave.
tcotter is offline  
post #42 of 1953 Old 10-08-2004, 06:00 AM
Member
 
tcotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the latest from the Chief Engineer at FOX 36 on their progress with HD:

We are currently working with FOX network to upgrade our network equipment to allow pass thru of the network's 720p programming. Currently we are upconverting our master control output to 720p, so our HDTV channel 36-2 is in widescreen. Channel 36-1 is a standard definition digital simulcast of the analog signal. Soon we will have something special on the standard def channel and the upconverted simulcast/HD network in full 720p on the HD channel. Not all of FOX's programming is produced in 720p, but they are telling us 50% of the new shows are being produced in HD. At some point you may have to turn off your receiver (like rebooting a computer) and do a new channel scan. As a company with 21 stations we have found that some receivers require a reboot after changes are made at the station or the receiver experiences a power glitch. Unlike the old television systems where we actually broadcast an electrical picture and sound, the digital transmitter is just a big, powerful, wireless modem sending digital packets of information to a computer that turns it back into something viewable. Many of the changes we make here are software changes. We are now spending a lot of our time downloading upgrades from manufacturer's websites and then uploading them into the equipment. Please bear with us as the technology evolves. We hope to have the HD working for this weekend's games. If not, it should be up for next weekend.
tcotter is offline  
post #43 of 1953 Old 10-12-2004, 05:37 PM
Member
 
MV400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toledo
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THE GAME IS ON TONIGHT IN 720P 16x9 5.1 surround sound.
MV400 is offline  
post #44 of 1953 Old 10-13-2004, 05:25 AM
Member
 
tcotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was worth the wait. PQ and sound was terrific!
tcotter is offline  
post #45 of 1953 Old 10-25-2004, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
trabbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any news on the motorola 6412 rollout? I am really itching for a DVR! I am willing to be a beta tester...
trabbic is offline  
post #46 of 1953 Old 10-25-2004, 10:05 AM
Member
 
paulr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Perrysburg OH
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See http://www.robichaux.net/archives/000978.php, which I posted earlier today. Starting 11/7, you can call Buckeye and they'll hook you up with a 6412 for an additional $5/month (over and above the existing $11.95/month fee). In general, I try to post Toledo-specific HD news at my blog, so check it out occasionally for the latest (or, more accurately, "the latest that I've heard about" )
paulr is offline  
post #47 of 1953 Old 10-25-2004, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
trabbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, that is great news, my bill will be over 150, but oh well I have communicated with Judy over at buckeye before, but I had not heard back from her about the 6412.

It is funny because I just checked your Blog not even two days ago for updates about this!

Do you know if it will have the new iGuide? And if both tuners will be enabled?

Thanks again!

-Chris
trabbic is offline  
post #48 of 1953 Old 10-25-2004, 10:14 AM
Member
 
paulr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Perrysburg OH
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know the answer to either question, but I'm trying to find out I'll update my blog post when I have answers.
paulr is offline  
post #49 of 1953 Old 10-25-2004, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Judy did say that what was holding this up was TV Guide. Don't know if that answers your question or not but does tell me they are staying with TV Guide.
fullwave2 is offline  
post #50 of 1953 Old 10-25-2004, 11:40 AM
Member
 
paulr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Perrysburg OH
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Judy says yes to both.
paulr is offline  
post #51 of 1953 Old 10-25-2004, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool! Thanks.
fullwave2 is offline  
post #52 of 1953 Old 10-25-2004, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
trabbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a call from a CSR that I had talked to a couple of weeks ago, she had put me on her personal "list" for the DVR's. She said that they would be ready on the 8th, unless something else went wrong.

Is Buckeye even open on Sunday the 7th to pick one of these up? Or will I have to wait until the 8th?

I am suprised that they actuallly called me to let me know... But I have never had a problem with their customer service...

I can't wait, I actually could be using it right now!
trabbic is offline  
post #53 of 1953 Old 10-26-2004, 06:37 AM
Senior Member
 
trabbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone notice channel 901 and 902 last night? Nothing but music right now, Maybe PPV High Def?
trabbic is offline  
post #54 of 1953 Old 11-08-2004, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up my DCT6412 this morning at the Buckeye Southwyck office. Won't be able to hook it up until I get home tonight. They said they were getting a fair amount of traffic coming in for the box. Not too surprised but pretty impressive considering they did no promotion other than word of mouth.
fullwave2 is offline  
post #55 of 1953 Old 11-08-2004, 09:37 AM
Member
 
paulr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Perrysburg OH
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heh, you're ahead of me, Bob. They're bringing mine out tomorrow; I don't have time to run over there. Post here and let us know how you like it!
paulr is offline  
post #56 of 1953 Old 11-08-2004, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will do. They don't have documentation yet but Judy referred me to this for the basic idea about the DVR functionality. You can check it out here.
fullwave2 is offline  
post #57 of 1953 Old 11-08-2004, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
trabbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am up and running, the i guide is pretty nice, and I have not noticed any quality loss on SD or HD stations.

It is taking a while to load all the program data, after 3 hours, it is still pretty spotty (still saying "to be announced")

As a bonus, I have taught my remote to do the 30 second skip, a VERY nice feature.

Program Fast Forward button to be the Skip button. You can do this with any button you want:



Press and hold Setup until red LED blinks twice.

Enter 994. LED blinks twice.

Press Setup once but don't hold it.

Enter 173.

Press Fast Forward key (or any other key). LED blinks twice.

Try it out!

I then tought my Universal remote to reuse this command.
trabbic is offline  
post #58 of 1953 Old 11-08-2004, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's great! Thanks for the info. Where did you get that information? BTW, for other's here's a better demo than the one I listed earlier. Click Here
fullwave2 is offline  
post #59 of 1953 Old 11-08-2004, 10:43 AM
Member
 
maxdefcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maumee, OH
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see the box has 2 firewire ports on the back, will "you" be able to extract the recorded video from the 120GB that's inside of it? I just got the box & will have to wait until I get home from work (Buckeye Express) to start playing with it.

maxdefcon is offline  
post #60 of 1953 Old 11-08-2004, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
trabbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the information on reprograming the remote from a previous post about the 30 second skip feature of the 6208 (which was held over to the 6412). It is great for commercials, about 4 skips, and the show is back!


About the Firewire ports, you SHOULD be able to record to D-VHS Recorder or to PC, unless Buckeye has disabled these ports. But you won't be able to watch anything else, it will only record what is playing.

There are several posts about how to do this. The PC one is a sticky in the DVR Forum, and it is a little complicated.

The D-VHS option is plug and play, if you have a D-VHS VCR.


Oh yeah, I just found out that when recording something, you must change the tuner manually to watch something else. Use the Swap button on the remote to do this.
trabbic is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off