Toledo, OH - HDTV - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1953 Old 04-22-2008, 08:24 PM
Member
 
videditor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh00Si View Post

I have heard rumors of BEX going to synchronous speeds vs. the current industry standard of asynchronous. This would definitely be a big step forward for a local company to offer synchronous service. I think its all dependent upon the new DOCSIS 3.0 standard and how quickly it is adopted.

Bingo again... You guys are good... Speeds tested so far have hit 50mbps, looking at 100,max out @ 200 depending on system.

VE
videditor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1953 Old 04-23-2008, 08:33 AM
Member
 
RU FASTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videditor View Post

Bingo again... You guys are good... Speeds tested so far have hit 50mbps, looking at 100,max out @ 200 depending on system.

VE

I assume the move to DOCSIS 3.0 will require a new cable modem. Does this effect the bandwidth available for TV at all?

And most importantly........when do we get it
RU FASTR is offline  
post #993 of 1953 Old 04-24-2008, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
stewart123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The biggest question is going to be price?
stewart123 is offline  
post #994 of 1953 Old 04-24-2008, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
Josh00Si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RU FASTR View Post

I assume the move to DOCSIS 3.0 will require a new cable modem. Does this effect the bandwidth available for TV at all?

And most importantly........when do we get it

My guess is if 100 Mbps or even 200 Mbps can be an assumed connection speed for internet I don't see how it would really affect HD. I think the minimum standard for 720p is around 12 - 15 Mbps and 1080i is around 25 - 30 Mbps. This is at mpeg2, mpeg4 the requirements drop just a bit. Not to mention, the switch to all digital will give them even more bandwidth.

Buckeye did a lot of work a few years back with their HFC network and I just saw them in my neighborhood last week putting in more cable so I would hope they are prepared. Maybe they will decide to do a little FTTH, wouldn't that be nice.

I still want to see a little HD VOD as well.
Josh00Si is offline  
post #995 of 1953 Old 04-24-2008, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
HDNLUVINIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Toledo, Ohio USA
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh00Si View Post

Not to mention, the switch to all digital will give them even more bandwidth.

Um.......I believe they are going to carry analog and digital - even after 2-17-09.
HDNLUVINIT is offline  
post #996 of 1953 Old 04-25-2008, 07:18 AM
Member
 
RU FASTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A question for those with internet expertise.... How much faster will web browsing really be with these increased speeds? At some point doesn't the speed of the website server determine how fast pages load? Even if you had say, a 1Gbs connection, is it going to be noticeably faster than 100Mbs?
RU FASTR is offline  
post #997 of 1953 Old 04-25-2008, 08:58 PM
Member
 
videditor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDNLUVINIT View Post

Um.......I believe they are going to carry analog and digital - even after 2-17-09.

It may be a year or so (after 2/09) before BCS drops analog and makes every TV in your home require a STB. Especially with the new deliverly system. Most homes have one STB and non converter signals in bedrooms, etc. The general public will be mad when each tv will have to have a STB. Guess you could use the argument that a satellite service needs one for each tv.

VE
videditor is offline  
post #998 of 1953 Old 04-29-2008, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Videditor,

Fox News fires up an HD version of their news channel on Thursday. Seems this would be a natural for Buckeye since they have Fox Buisness HD. Any word of Fox News HD?

Also..I do enjoy the new channels, particularly History HD. I was suprized to find that MGMHD is only pushing 12 mbits. I wonder if this low bitrate is how MGMHD feeds it or if Buckeye is applying extra compression to this particular channel?

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #999 of 1953 Old 05-01-2008, 04:52 PM
Member
 
maxdefcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maumee, OH
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RU FASTR View Post

A question for those with internet expertise.... How much faster will web browsing really be with these increased speeds? At some point doesn't the speed of the website server determine how fast pages load? Even if you had say, a 1Gbs connection, is it going to be noticeably faster than 100Mbs?

I think your web surfing would remain the same. I think the faster speeds will make way for newer services. IPTV, Netflix "Watch it Now" feature looks great with the faster speeds. Personally, I have an AppleTV and having the faster speeds loads HD Podcast/Movies/Trailers in no time. There's definitely pros for these faster speeds and will be used outside of your normal web surfing/email.

maxdefcon is offline  
post #1000 of 1953 Old 05-04-2008, 11:47 PM
Member
 
Charlie Kocis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone noticed that Buckeye's internet speeds have gotten faster? For the last few weeks speed tests have shown up to 8mbps down/600kbps up. Is Buckeye giving everybody a little bit more speed on purpose or is it a goof? Oh and WHERE ARE USA AND SCI-FI HD CHANNELS!!!! Seriously, your breakin my balls here!!!
Charlie Kocis is offline  
post #1001 of 1953 Old 05-05-2008, 09:58 AM
Member
 
jubjub75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Kocis View Post

Has anyone noticed that Buckeye's internet speeds have gotten faster? For the last few weeks speed tests have shown up to 8mbps down/600kbps up. Is Buckeye giving everybody a little bit more speed on purpose or is it a goof? Oh and WHERE ARE USA AND SCI-FI HD CHANNELS!!!! Seriously, your breakin my balls here!!!

They bumped up to 8mbps down on May 1st. It's on purpose
jubjub75 is offline  
post #1002 of 1953 Old 05-05-2008, 12:59 PM
Member
 
maxdefcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maumee, OH
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Kocis View Post

Has anyone noticed that Buckeye's internet speeds have gotten faster? For the last few weeks speed tests have shown up to 8mbps down/600kbps up. Is Buckeye giving everybody a little bit more speed on purpose or is it a goof? Oh and WHERE ARE USA AND SCI-FI HD CHANNELS!!!! Seriously, your breakin my balls here!!!

http://buckeyecable.com/speedincrease/


maxdefcon is offline  
post #1003 of 1953 Old 05-15-2008, 04:01 AM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxdefcon View Post

http://buckeyecable.com/speedincrease/


Nice! Here's what my speed is showing this morning. I sure don't miss that "dial up" connection. LOL!!
fullwave2 is offline  
post #1004 of 1953 Old 05-19-2008, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
PCTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Boy, I see you guys continue to support the Buckeye Cable. I hate their television service. Jeez.

Just installed my horizontal stack this weekend, and it is performing like a champ.

Their internet service is flawless!

Did I mention the following channels in Digital Locks:

Fort Wayne 15.1, 21.1, 33.1, 55 (Analog only)
Detroit 2.1, 4.1, 7.1, 20.1, 50.1, 62.1
Flint 28.1, 66.1
Columbus 44.1
Lansing / Jackson 10.1, 18.1, 47.1, 53.1
South Bend 16.1
Chicago 32 (Analog only)
Indianapolis 20.1, 59.1
Ann Arbor 31.1
Angola 63.1

And all of the Toledo Stations.....

Height is your best friend

Gain = Stacked Antennas

 

DX'ing Machine.pdf 222.2890625k . file
PCTools is offline  
post #1005 of 1953 Old 05-19-2008, 09:25 PM
Member
 
RU FASTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCTools View Post

Boy, I see you guys continue to support the Buckeye Cable. I hate their television service. Jeez.

Just installed my horizontal stack this weekend, and it is performing like a champ.

Their internet service is flawless!

Did I mention the following channels in Digital Locks:

Fort Wayne 15.1, 21.1, 33.1, 55 (Analog only)
Detroit 2.1, 4.1, 7.1, 20.1, 50.1, 62.1
Flint 28.1, 66.1
Columbus 44.1
Lansing / Jackson 10.1, 18.1, 47.1, 53.1
South Bend 16.1
Chicago 32 (Analog only)
Indianapolis 20.1, 59.1
Ann Arbor 31.1
Angola 63.1

And all of the Toledo Stations.....

Height is your best friend

Gain = Stacked Antennas

That's great and all but what happens when there isn't anything to watch on ABC..NBC..CBS..FOX..CBS?
RU FASTR is offline  
post #1006 of 1953 Old 05-19-2008, 10:56 PM
Member
 
maxdefcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maumee, OH
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCTools View Post

Fort Wayne 15.1, 21.1, 33.1, 55 (Analog only)
Detroit 2.1, 4.1, 7.1, 20.1, 50.1, 62.1
Flint 28.1, 66.1
Columbus 44.1
Lansing / Jackson 10.1, 18.1, 47.1, 53.1
South Bend 16.1
Chicago 32 (Analog only)
Indianapolis 20.1, 59.1
Ann Arbor 31.1
Angola 63.1

And all of the Toledo Stations.....

Height is your best friend

Gain = Stacked Antennas

So, what's on Versus? How about ESPN or Food Network? However, it is your right to chose how you want to watch television as everyone else does. Watching TV is a luxury and people may complain about the prices, but is it really a need?

maxdefcon is offline  
post #1007 of 1953 Old 05-20-2008, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Charlie Kocis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So... any news on when we might get USA or SciFi in HD. Just about everyday engadget reports another cable system signing on with them. I like Buckeye, but they're breakin my balls on the overall lack of HD expansion recently.
Charlie Kocis is offline  
post #1008 of 1953 Old 05-20-2008, 04:49 PM
Member
 
NIVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: OH
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it isnt any better here on time warner charlie We have the worst selection of HD available to us because of no competing cable co in our area. I dont even get to choose buckeye as an option. And, Dish HD is a joke too. Alot of the 22 HD just added never have any HD programming on, let alone the "World Fishing Network" They put that channel on instead of Speed HD

I would like to see Fox 36 add a side channel with some movie classics or something of the like. As a kid i used to watch Superhost from the WUAB cleveland station on saturdays(it was on our cable so thats why i got it) as well as Ghoulardi. Even the Fox 36 channel had a modernized version of sci-fi saturdays a few years back. And it was fun to watch. I miss it Fox 36, are you listening out there? Please bring back some of that good stuff :thumbsup:
NIVO is offline  
post #1009 of 1953 Old 05-20-2008, 07:18 PM
Member
 
maxdefcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maumee, OH
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Kocis View Post

So... any news on when we might get USA or SciFi in HD. Just about everyday engadget reports another cable system signing on with them. I like Buckeye, but they're breakin my balls on the overall lack of HD expansion recently.

I know they are working on getting USA HD. However, negotiations don't happen overnight.

maxdefcon is offline  
post #1010 of 1953 Old 05-21-2008, 03:25 AM
Senior Member
 
HDNLUVINIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Toledo, Ohio USA
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Kocis View Post

So... any news on when we might get USA or SciFi in HD. Just about everyday engadget reports another cable system signing on with them. I like Buckeye, but they're breakin my balls on the overall lack of HD expansion recently.

I'd respectfully disagree. I've seen two "big" announcements recently on the HDTV Magazine website regarding Comcast or TWC adding new HD channels that we on Buckeye have been enjoying for nearly two months now. IMHO, for the size market that the Toledo area is - barely in the top 100 DMA's nationwide, I believe Buckeye does a pretty good job of bringing us programming. If there's a market for the channels you desire, I'm sure that Buckeye will eventually add them. Patience, Grasshopper, patience.
HDNLUVINIT is offline  
post #1011 of 1953 Old 05-21-2008, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
stewart123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Buckeye has been good with HD IMHO - however, I think this whole thing is pretty retarded. These channels should make it a priority to get HD in peoples houses instead of screwing around with the carriers. It is not becoming a privilege as much as it has become a norm.
stewart123 is offline  
post #1012 of 1953 Old 05-21-2008, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
trabbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewart123 View Post

Buckeye has been good with HD IMHO - however, I think this whole thing is pretty retarded. These channels should make it a priority to get HD in peoples houses instead of screwing around with the carriers. It is not becoming a privilege as much as it has become a norm.

Cable channels don't care as much what their viewership is. they are more concerned in the $ per subscriber they get, and that is what takes so long to negotiate.

Example. say USA HD wants 2 cents per subscriber per month, Buckeye wants to pay 1 cent, or put them on a pay extra service plan (like HD Extra Pack). While USA wants to be on the free pack. And then you have the issue of what they pay now for SD USA. Buckeye will want to renegotiate that price as well...

I am sure that buckeye could have every channel on HD right now, but our cable bill would triple. I see this as them actually working hard to keep prices down.
trabbic is offline  
post #1013 of 1953 Old 05-21-2008, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
HDNLUVINIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Toledo, Ohio USA
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by trabbic View Post

Cable channels don't care as much what their viewership is. they are more concerned in the $ per subscriber they get, and that is what takes so long to negotiate.

Example. say USA HD wants 2 cents per subscriber per month, Buckeye wants to pay 1 cent, or put them on a pay extra service plan (like HD Extra Pack). While USA wants to be on the free pack. And then you have the issue of what they pay now for SD USA. Buckeye will want to renegotiate that price as well...

I am sure that buckeye could have every channel on HD right now, but our cable bill would triple. I see this as them actually working hard to keep prices down.

Exactly. Well said.
HDNLUVINIT is offline  
post #1014 of 1953 Old 05-21-2008, 08:41 PM
Member
 
videditor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you asking in the past, Buckeye has the capability of 55 HD channels right now, without doing any compression or digital switching. Keep in mind that under some contracts compression is not allowed. If we could get everyone with STBs, the analog bandwidth would totally free up space for more HD!
On the side, I'll be working for the Big Ten Network this weekend, nothing like seeing HD right in the truck! Man, transmission can only get better, because it looks twice as good in the truck!
Have a great holiday weekend! Try to pry your eyes off the screen & enjoy the free 3-d hd outside in your own backyard!
VidEditor
videditor is offline  
post #1015 of 1953 Old 05-22-2008, 03:00 AM
Senior Member
 
HDNLUVINIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Toledo, Ohio USA
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by videditor View Post

For those of you asking in the past, Buckeye has the capability of 55 HD channels right now, without doing any compression or digital switching. Keep in mind that under some contracts compression is not allowed. If we could get everyone with STBs, the analog bandwidth would totally free up space for more HD!
On the side, I'll be working for the Big Ten Network this weekend, nothing like seeing HD right in the truck! Man, transmission can only get better, because it looks twice as good in the truck!
Have a great holiday weekend! Try to pry your eyes off the screen & enjoy the free 3-d hd outside in your own backyard!
VidEditor

Thanks for the update videditor. Enjoy the truck!
HDNLUVINIT is offline  
post #1016 of 1953 Old 05-22-2008, 07:21 AM
Member
 
jubjub75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videditor View Post

For those of you asking in the past, Buckeye has the capability of 55 HD channels right now, without doing any compression or digital switching. Keep in mind that under some contracts compression is not allowed. If we could get everyone with STBs, the analog bandwidth would totally free up space for more HD!
On the side, I'll be working for the Big Ten Network this weekend, nothing like seeing HD right in the truck! Man, transmission can only get better, because it looks twice as good in the truck!
Have a great holiday weekend! Try to pry your eyes off the screen & enjoy the free 3-d hd outside in your own backyard!
VidEditor

What do I have to do to get one of those trucks at my house? Nature is overrated
jubjub75 is offline  
post #1017 of 1953 Old 05-22-2008, 10:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
First post updated. Numbers for the new Buckeye HD would be appreciated.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #1018 of 1953 Old 05-22-2008, 09:21 PM
Member
 
maxdefcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Maumee, OH
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sorry, but what numbers are you looking for?

maxdefcon is offline  
post #1019 of 1953 Old 05-22-2008, 09:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxdefcon View Post

I'm sorry, but what numbers are you looking for?

The ones you posted:

HD Basic
A&E HD
History Channel HD

HD Plus Pack
MGM HD

See the first post of the topic.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #1020 of 1953 Old 05-23-2008, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
HDNLUVINIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Toledo, Ohio USA
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

The ones you posted:

HD Basic
A&E HD
History Channel HD

HD Plus Pack
MGM HD

See the first post of the topic.

http://www.buckeyecablesystem.com/li...ineup-tol.html
HDNLUVINIT is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off