Toledo, OH - HDTV - Page 56 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1651 of 1953 Old 04-14-2010, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I received an email from someone at 13 who claimed that the signal that left the station was 720p. To be honest he seemed confused. I emailed back and asked him if he was claiming that the cameras used were 720p and the editing equipment was 720p. If that is what he is claiming then he is either deceived or lying. This is nasty 16:9 480i. even the station promo does NOT claim it is HD...it only says "widescreen digital".

We'll see what he says.

Tom

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1652 of 1953 Old 04-14-2010, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
the end result IS probably 720p, as everything they broadcast is 720p. but inside that 720p signal is just an upscaled 480i 16x9 source.

I must say, it looks pretty good on my 47". Not as good as the Detroit news stations look in real HD, but still pretty good considering.
sitlet is offline  
post #1653 of 1953 Old 04-14-2010, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio Metro: North Baltimore
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star56 View Post

I received an email from someone at 13 who claimed that the signal that left the station was 720p. To be honest he seemed confused. I emailed back and asked him if he was claiming that the cameras used were 720p and the editing equipment was 720p. If that is what he is claiming then he is either deceived or lying. This is nasty 16:9 480i. even the station promo does NOT claim it is HD...it only says "widescreen digital".

We'll see what he says.

Tom

I heard them say the exact same thing today about their new "widescreen digital" broadcast. Although it's pretty much confirmed now that it's not 720p, in my opinion it's still far more enjoyable to watch without the side bars.
skatingrocker17 is offline  
post #1654 of 1953 Old 04-14-2010, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am getting emails from a guy named Barry Gries and he is seriously confused. He thinks that since 13 uses a 720p standard that everything that goes out the transmitter tower is 720p. I have explained to him that RF signals do not have a resolution.

He honestly seems baffled by my question...when will the local news be in 720p? Barry thinks if I take video with a 1988 VHS camcorder....it magically becomes 720P when it leaves 13's transmitter.

Amazing.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #1655 of 1953 Old 04-14-2010, 07:43 PM
Member
 
RU FASTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star56 View Post

Barry thinks if I take video with a 1988 VHS camcorder....it magically becomes 720P when it leaves 13's transmitter.

Amazing.

Hahaha
RU FASTR is offline  
post #1656 of 1953 Old 04-14-2010, 08:58 PM
Senior Member
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio Metro: North Baltimore
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star56 View Post

I am getting emails from a guy named Barry Gries and he is seriously confused. He thinks that since 13 uses a 720p standard that everything that goes out the transmitter tower is 720p. I have explained to him that RF signals do not have a resolution.

He honestly seems baffled by my question...when will the local news be in 720p? Barry thinks if I take video with a 1988 VHS camcorder....it magically becomes 720P when it leaves 13's transmitter.

Amazing.

Well "TECHNICALLY", it's displayed at 1280x720 so it is 720p, just upscaled like everything else they show except for the national broadcasts. Like you can upscale 480p DVDs to 1080p but does that make them 1080p quality? Defiantly not. Their source isn't 720p.
skatingrocker17 is offline  
post #1657 of 1953 Old 04-14-2010, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by skatingrocker17 View Post

Well "TECHNICALLY", it's displayed at 1280x720 so it is 720p, just upscaled like everything else they show except for the national broadcasts. Like you can upscale 480p DVDs to 1080p but does that make them 1080p quality? Defiantly not. Their source isn't 720p.

Yes I understand the difference but I am not sure that Barry does. My initial question to him was now that the news is 16:9 when will we get it in 720p vs 480i. Barry seems to think (like early HD newbies did) that if it lights up the 720p indicator on your TV, then you are watching HD material. If 13 sends out a 1280x720 signal, then by golly you have your HD news!

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #1658 of 1953 Old 04-28-2010, 03:13 PM
Member
 
MV400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toledo
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

As we all know we had some severe weather this past weekend during the NASCAR race. We are required to show severe weather information and the only way to do that at the moment was with a SD 4:3 image. Because the FOX network HD stuff is essentially a MPEG-2 pass through, it looks better and doesn't suffer from conversion artifacts. BUT during severe weather, putting things on the air at the local station is a problem. Fox broadcasting is aware of the need for severe weather information in HD and is working to address the issue. I have seen their prototype system in action and it will be nice to have the best of both worlds.

Stay Tuned,
Take Care,

Steve Pietras
Fox Toledo
MV400 is offline  
post #1659 of 1953 Old 04-28-2010, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio Metro: North Baltimore
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV400 View Post

Hi all,

As we all know we had some severe weather this past weekend during the NASCAR race. We are required to show severe weather information and the only way to do that at the moment was with a SD 4:3 image. Because the FOX network HD stuff is essentially a MPEG-2 pass through, it looks better and doesn't suffer from conversion artifacts. BUT during severe weather, putting things on the air at the local station is a problem. Fox broadcasting is aware of the need for severe weather information in HD and is working to address the issue. I have seen their prototype system in action and it will be nice to have the best of both worlds.

Stay Tuned,
Take Care,

Steve Pietras
Fox Toledo

This good. I'm happy something is being done about it because I hate letterboxed SD especially when I could be watching HD.
skatingrocker17 is offline  
post #1660 of 1953 Old 05-01-2010, 08:14 AM
Member
 
RU FASTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Buckeye is deploying SDV beginning June 1st.

http://www.buckeyecablesystem.com/sdv/
RU FASTR is offline  
post #1661 of 1953 Old 05-02-2010, 01:37 AM
Member
 
Charlie Kocis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ru fastr View Post

buckeye is deploying sdv beginning june 1st.

http://www.buckeyecablesystem.com/sdv/

It's about time! Maybe now Buckeye can play catch-up with all the other providers' HD offerings.
Charlie Kocis is offline  
post #1662 of 1953 Old 05-02-2010, 08:09 AM
Member
 
adam856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lets hope the bandwidth they open up is already reserved for more HD channels.
adam856 is offline  
post #1663 of 1953 Old 05-05-2010, 06:32 PM
Member
 
MV400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toledo
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are doing something different tonight with our HD and severe weather info.

It is simple, but meets requirements for weather. The maps and alert system come up during the breaks.

Steve Pietras
MV400 is offline  
post #1664 of 1953 Old 05-06-2010, 08:47 PM
Member
 
videditor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star56 View Post

I am getting emails from a guy named Barry Gries and he is seriously confused. He thinks that since 13 uses a 720p standard that everything that goes out the transmitter tower is 720p. I have explained to him that RF signals do not have a resolution.

He honestly seems baffled by my question...when will the local news be in 720p? Barry thinks if I take video with a 1988 VHS camcorder....it magically becomes 720P when it leaves 13's transmitter.

Amazing.

Yeah... Barry is one of the main engineers @ WTVG, I've been to NAB with him (years back). Any signal converted to "said" reso will be output @ that res...It's not magic, it's about a $4000 black box. Like it was said before, does not mean it's a native res.
Also... the 16x9 SD output WTVG is using, basically if it's like the gear I have, is a SD widescreen chip set camera. It is actually 50 scan line less res, but will output 16x9 signal. We used several production trucks in this config for SPEED channel races during their switch to all HD. This way, while the res was not HD, at least the aspect was correct and the home viewer did not have to watch letterbox or edge crop video.
VE
videditor is offline  
post #1665 of 1953 Old 05-06-2010, 08:48 PM
Member
 
videditor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam856 View Post

Lets hope the bandwidth they open up is already reserved for more HD channels.

That is exactly what the plan is...
videditor is offline  
post #1666 of 1953 Old 05-06-2010, 08:52 PM
Member
 
videditor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RU FASTR View Post

Buckeye is deploying SDV beginning June 1st.

http://www.buckeyecablesystem.com/sdv/

Been testing SDV for over a month now... Had some bugs with different STBs, but all has been smooth now for weeks. Channel surfing is OK... not the speed of light, but I'll take that and more HD over nothing. Sure would be nice to get everyone on a STB and cut off analog. That's what they would have to do if they went satellite anyway-right?
videditor is offline  
post #1667 of 1953 Old 05-06-2010, 09:07 PM
Member
 
videditor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star56 View Post

Yes I understand the difference but I am not sure that Barry does. My initial question to him was now that the news is 16:9 when will we get it in 720p vs 480i. Barry seems to think (like early HD newbies did) that if it lights up the 720p indicator on your TV, then you are watching HD material. If 13 sends out a 1280x720 signal, then by golly you have your HD news!

Just to make clear... just because it's 16x9 does not make it HD. I have had broadcast cameras able to do 16x9 for years, but it's still SD. They just flipped some switches on SD gear... I think it's cool that they are using that capability... I mean it's right there, flip a few switches on cameras, monitors & switchers... I would be surprised if any Toledo news station goes HD this year.
Who wants to see Toledo news in HD anyway? Anything local programming for that matter. Let's say the market is not friendly to local origination. BTW - HD is not just a "plug & play" swap.
videditor is offline  
post #1668 of 1953 Old 05-09-2010, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio Metro: North Baltimore
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV400 View Post

We are doing something different tonight with our HD and severe weather info.

It is simple, but meets requirements for weather. The maps and alert system come up during the breaks.

Steve Pietras

I think WTVG switches to standard definition when they display the counties with the warnings because I noticed that ET looked fuzzy but it was still 16x9.
skatingrocker17 is offline  
post #1669 of 1953 Old 05-11-2010, 02:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
http://www.buckeyecablesystem.com/tvguide/

So apparently we are getting a minor update to iGuide this month, similar to what Comcast deployed a month or so ago. Looks like a few good features are added, but we are still missing the internet DVR programming that Comcast got last month. Seriously, I could care less about any other feature out DVR's have, I just want the ability to schedule recordings online. I can't count how many times I'm not at home and remember I forgot to record something. But I can't do anything about that cause I don't have Comcast.
sitlet is offline  
post #1670 of 1953 Old 05-18-2010, 06:23 PM
Member
 
RU FASTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well they said the update would happen on the 17th....well I don't have it yet
RU FASTR is offline  
post #1671 of 1953 Old 05-18-2010, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
 
trabbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RU FASTR View Post

Well they said the update would happen on the 17th....well I don't have it yet

+1 still on a25 here...
trabbic is offline  
post #1672 of 1953 Old 05-19-2010, 04:54 PM
Member
 
RU FASTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-day +2.......still no iGuide update
RU FASTR is offline  
post #1673 of 1953 Old 05-20-2010, 07:06 PM
Newbie
 
elph31337's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone else on TimeWarner in the Perrysburg/Waterville area just lose all of the local HD channels (ClearQAM)? All I have now are the music channels, some movie preview channel and Military TV.

Isn't there an FCC mandate that the locals are carried in the clear?

If others are having the same issue, does anyone know who to call?
elph31337 is offline  
post #1674 of 1953 Old 05-21-2010, 10:24 AM
 
Gamereviewgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by elph31337 View Post

Isn't there an FCC mandate that the locals are carried in the clear?

Only in SD.
Gamereviewgod is offline  
post #1675 of 1953 Old 05-23-2010, 01:32 PM
Member
 
schwa73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perrysburg, Ohio
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any other Buckeye subscribers out there experiencing severe macroblocking/pixelization on several HD stations? Affected stations include TOLHD, WTVGD, History Channel, etc.

It's producing a nearly unwatchable channel at this point. The sound keeps cutting out as well.

Anyone else?
schwa73 is offline  
post #1676 of 1953 Old 05-23-2010, 06:49 PM
 
Gamereviewgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa73 View Post

Any other Buckeye subscribers out there experiencing severe macroblocking/pixelization on several HD stations? Affected stations include TOLHD, WTVGD, History Channel, etc.

It's producing a nearly unwatchable channel at this point. The sound keeps cutting out as well.

Anyone else?

Today or has this been going on for a while?
Gamereviewgod is offline  
post #1677 of 1953 Old 05-23-2010, 07:07 PM
Member
 
schwa73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perrysburg, Ohio
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamereviewgod View Post

Today or has this been going on for a while?

Just started today. It's only the HD channels, and only on one TV in our house.

Buckeye says it could be a weak signal, and they're coming out to the house on Tuesday.
schwa73 is offline  
post #1678 of 1953 Old 05-23-2010, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa73 View Post

Just started today. It's only the HD channels, and only on one TV in our house.

Buckeye says it could be a weak signal, and they're coming out to the house on Tuesday.

It must be a local issue. NO macroblocking at my location. Looks great.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #1679 of 1953 Old 05-26-2010, 08:38 AM
 
Gamereviewgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa73 View Post

Any other Buckeye subscribers out there experiencing severe macroblocking/pixelization on several HD stations? Affected stations include TOLHD, WTVGD, History Channel, etc.

It's producing a nearly unwatchable channel at this point. The sound keeps cutting out as well.

Anyone else?

Watched some History last night and yeah, it looks bad for me too. Kinda looks like a 480i/p signal upscaled, or a 720p feed downsampled.
Gamereviewgod is offline  
post #1680 of 1953 Old 05-26-2010, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamereviewgod View Post

Watched some History last night and yeah, it looks bad for me too. Kinda looks like a 480i/p signal upscaled, or a 720p feed downsampled.

FYI, History HD routinely upscales SD content, so that could be why it looks bad.
sitlet is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off