Pittsburgh, PA - Comcast - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2382 Old 01-29-2004, 03:42 PM
Member
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by WRL
Is it that big of a difference in PQ from the component output?

Looks pretty good to me -- just in time for Sunday.

mds
mdscott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2382 Old 02-02-2004, 07:25 PM
Member
 
jbablak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you have to do anything for DVI, or is the box just able to do it now?
jbablak is offline  
post #183 of 2382 Old 02-03-2004, 03:31 AM
Member
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did nothing (besides hooking up cable), Once you have the right firmware it will work.

mds
mdscott is offline  
post #184 of 2382 Old 03-12-2004, 01:11 PM
Member
 
scott12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no InHD 1 or 2 in the North Hills. At least the people answering their e-mails know that InHD is not an On Demand channel...unlike the telephone rep that I spoke with a month ago...

Here's the response. It almost looks automated.
--------------------------------------------------------------------


Dear Scott,

Thank you for contacting us through our website.

We will be happy to assist you with your programming inquiry.
Unfortunately we do not have a tentative date as to when INHD and INHD2 will broadcast in your area.

Most HDTV markets currently offer ESPN HD, INHD and INHD2 and the services will be added in additional markets in the future.

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause you. If you have any other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We value your business.

Sincerely,

Stacey
Comcast Customer Care Specialist
scott12v is offline  
post #185 of 2382 Old 03-26-2004, 01:58 PM
Member
 
daverph1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wexford, PA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
heard from a pretty knowledgeable CSR that the 6208s are in town, but they won't be releasing them until their people have been through training. he guessed that the beginning of April might be a good time to start requesting one. anyone have any more info on this subject?

just recently came back to cable after a year with D*TV, any word on when DiscoveryHD, HDNET, and WPXIHD might be available?
daverph1 is offline  
post #186 of 2382 Old 03-28-2004, 05:26 AM
Newbie
 
Joeyd27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: GBG, PA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Greensburg and just had my 6200 Box put in yesterday. When Comcast was out putting it in they told me that the 6208 DVR's will be available on April 15th. I was also told that it will be a single tuner and that the 2 tuner boxes won't be out for quite a while. As for the other channels, they didn't know.
Joeyd27 is offline  
post #187 of 2382 Old 03-28-2004, 06:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
wstanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Steeler Country)
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Joeyd27
II was also told that it will be a single tuner and that the 2 tuner boxes won't be out for quite a while.

Wow, that sure does take the level of anticipation down a couple levels. All of the flexibility of watching one while recording another----gone.

I wonder how much extra a month this is going to be.
wstanko is offline  
post #188 of 2382 Old 03-31-2004, 06:06 PM
Member
 
Louie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Steubenville, Ohio
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone from the Steubenville area have any word on when HD is arriving from Comcast? In Jan. they told me the beginning of Feb.

My girlfriend lives in Greentree and her dad has HD through Comcast, and we were watching WTAE's NHL broadcast and it wasn't in HD anyone else experience this?
Louie is offline  
post #189 of 2382 Old 04-15-2004, 03:36 PM
Member
 
scott12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my 6208 today!

For once, I won't use the list to complain that I don't yet have InHD1 and InHD2.

I called Comcast this morning and somehow got through to the local office (I started by calling 1-800-Comcast, but chose the right menu items to get the local office). Anyway, they said that the 6208 was available and all I had to do was go to the local office and make the exchange.

Well, I have the 6208 now and just got it plugged in. I'm just waiting for all of the channels to filter in.
scott12v is offline  
post #190 of 2382 Old 04-16-2004, 03:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
wstanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Steeler Country)
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by scott12v
I got my 6208 today!

Scott,
Does that 6208 only have the one tuner? Do you pay $9.95 for the DVR feature?
wstanko is offline  
post #191 of 2382 Old 04-16-2004, 05:19 AM
Member
 
scott12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just one tuner. The two-tuner version won't be available until late summer or fall (that's in general, not sure about Pittsburgh).

The charge is $9.95 for the DVR feature, but I'm not sure if that includes the box rental or if that is an additional charge (I don't even know if there was a box rental charge for the 5100???) I'll check my bill, but it will probably be a while before I get it.

I have played with the box a little more, and I've got to say that I'm more impressed than I thought I would be. I am a TIVO user, and this can't touch the TIVO's user interface, but it is a lot closer than I thought it would be.
scott12v is offline  
post #192 of 2382 Old 04-17-2004, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
MrGonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know if the firewire ports on the 5100 boxes were activated when the dvi ports were? i wanna record!

"There's a... big machine in the sky... Some sort of... electric snake. It's headed right for us..."
"Shoot it."
"Not yet. I want to study its habits."
MrGonk is offline  
post #193 of 2382 Old 04-20-2004, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by scott12v
Just one tuner. The two-tuner version won't be available until late summer or fall (that's in general, not sure about Pittsburgh).

The charge is $9.95 for the DVR feature, but I'm not sure if that includes the box rental or if that is an additional charge (I don't even know if there was a box rental charge for the 5100???) I'll check my bill, but it will probably be a while before I get it.

I have played with the box a little more, and I've got to say that I'm more impressed than I thought I would be. I am a TIVO user, and this can't touch the TIVO's user interface, but it is a lot closer than I thought it would be.

I get mine Thursday (Imperial area) - Comcast is charging 39.99 for installation (I don't like that as all they are doing is swapping out my other HD box from them), but I think the 9.95 is a reasonable price for the DVR part.

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #194 of 2382 Old 04-20-2004, 03:38 PM
Member
 
scott12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was able to pick mine up at their office and skip the $39.99 charge. They are open on Saturdays, so its not a big deal to run up there and get it (it took less than 5 minutes once I got there).
scott12v is offline  
post #195 of 2382 Old 04-20-2004, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmmmmmmm they told me they HAD to come install, I asked the same thing. I work in TV production, I think I know how to hook up a component source.

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #196 of 2382 Old 04-22-2004, 09:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
hondo21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Jeannette, PA
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keep the reports coming on your experiences with the 6208. I think I'd like to go swap my 5100 some time, but I may wait a couple months.

They'd better let me swap it and install myself, because it's a trivial thing to do. Failing that they'd better waive the installation fee if they want to get additional monthly revenue from me.

On another topic, what's the likelihood that Sinclair-owned WPGH-53 will start doing HD when Fox throws the switch this summer/fall? What's the chances they would be on Comcast if they did? It's going to get ugly if we get no Fox NFL HD for awhile, and once again the Super Bowl looms.
hondo21 is offline  
post #197 of 2382 Old 04-22-2004, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no reason not to upgrade from a 5100 to a 6208. The 6208 has been more stable for me...it never locks up whereas my 5100 would lock up every couple of weeks. And with the DVR features it should be a no brainer. About the only thing that would make it worse than a 5100 is the noise level - the 5100 is virtually silent and the 6208 has a fan.

I'm crossing my fingers about Sinclair going HD but it's not very likely at all given their past track record.
agtiny is offline  
post #198 of 2382 Old 04-22-2004, 10:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
hondo21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Jeannette, PA
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the comments. The only reason I may wait on upgrading is that with vacation and otherwise being busy I may have little use for time-shifting HD for awhile. No sense paying an additional $10 for little or no use of the feature.

It would be nice to get a two-tuner model. I wonder if they will charge more for that when it comes out or just replace the 6208 model at no additional charge.
hondo21 is offline  
post #199 of 2382 Old 04-22-2004, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
wstanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Steeler Country)
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by agtiny
About the only thing that would make it worse than a 5100 is the noise level - the 5100 is virtually silent and the 6208 has a fan.


Agtiny,
Since you mention it, what about that fan. When I was with Dish, all the people who had the receiver with the OTA tuner always complained about the fan noise. Some even tried modifying it.

If I have this 6208 behind glass doors, will I still hear it? Of course this is subjective, but how do you feel about this fan?
wstanko is offline  
post #200 of 2382 Old 04-22-2004, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well right now we don't have the 6208 enclosed at all, and we have 2 laptops in the same room which tend to produce more noise than the 6208 since they are closer to the couch. I've also got an HTPC next to it but it is quieter. If the 6208 was the only noise source in the room it might be annoying. Some of the time the fan runs at a slower speed at a much lower volume. I'm planning on getting an enclosed component case with glass doors but I don't know how much that will muffle the noise. Noise isn't the reason we're getting one - it's for child proofing - so any noise reduction is just an added bonus.
agtiny is offline  
post #201 of 2382 Old 04-23-2004, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wife works at WPGH. It's pretty much set in stone they will be pushing HD by time NFL rolls around, and WCWB will be HD shortly.

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #202 of 2382 Old 04-23-2004, 05:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
!!! Woo, an insider.
agtiny is offline  
post #203 of 2382 Old 04-23-2004, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it's actually pretty common knowledge even though that she works there. I work in TV as well (I freelance in sports), we all knew in December.

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #204 of 2382 Old 04-25-2004, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, folks...I got my box Thursday. Anyone else think the HD channels are grainy? ESPNHD looked especially bad tonight during Sunday Night Baseball.

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #205 of 2382 Old 05-12-2004, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
wstanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Steeler Country)
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was a painless swap with the 5100 at the Comcast store front. Installation was 2 minutes and I do see improvement in some areas. The channel response is faster and smoked glass does not effect a remote from across the room like before.

The fan is there, but to tell the truth, behind glass it can only be heard when everything is off. Even then it is quite acceptable; I was worried about that.

Has anyone figured out a use for the HD Zoom button?

This is an upgrade that really works. I figure that I'll watch TV with the direct antennae input when I get in a pinch for needing to record one and watch another (unless they are both HD and I'm screwed.
wstanko is offline  
post #206 of 2382 Old 06-10-2004, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
wstanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Steeler Country)
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread is so quiet it's like a funeral parlor! Can anyone write something about a HD rumor, gossip, or tell an amusing anecdote? Is there nothing going on with Comcast HD in Pittsburgh?

I have sent email to every address I could find for WPXI but I never got any replies. I also notice that Pittsburgh is not on the list of cities already to launch Fox HD. That wasn't much news was it?
wstanko is offline  
post #207 of 2382 Old 06-10-2004, 12:06 PM
Member
 
scott12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only news that I have is that I STILL don't have InHD 1 or 2. This is driving me crazy. Apparently the Ross headend needs to be upgraded before they will add these channels.
scott12v is offline  
post #208 of 2382 Old 06-10-2004, 01:07 PM
WRL
Member
 
WRL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by wstanko

This is an upgrade that really works. I figure that I'll watch TV with the direct antennae input when I get in a pinch for needing to record one and watch another (unless they are both HD and I'm screwed.

The 6208 has an OTA antenna input? Are they available in Pittsburgh yet? I may have to call to see what is available
WRL is offline  
post #209 of 2382 Old 06-10-2004, 01:11 PM
WRL
Member
 
WRL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by wstanko
This thread is so quiet it's like a funeral parlor! Can anyone write something about a HD rumor, gossip, or tell an amusing anecdote? Is there nothing going on with Comcast HD in Pittsburgh?

I have sent email to every address I could find for WPXI but I never got any replies. I also notice that Pittsburgh is not on the list of cities already to launch Fox HD. That wasn't much news was it?

I got a reply from WPXI when I emailed to gm@wpxi.com I sent my email back in Dec '03. Only reply I got was that HD brodcasting will begin real soon (I guess real soon means a few years??)
WRL is offline  
post #210 of 2382 Old 06-10-2004, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by WRL
The 6208 has an OTA antenna input? Are they available in Pittsburgh yet? I may have to call to see what is available

No, all you can do is run coax from the RF passthrough out to a TV, but this simply displays the currently tuned channel. It's not a true bypass, i.e. you can't tune to any analog channel. To do that, you need to split the line prior to entering the 6208. The 6208 doesn't have any working inputs aside from the cable line.
agtiny is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off