Minneapolis, MN - Comcast - Page 103 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 40Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2015, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I watched Spring Lake Park's City Council public hearing on the agreement. They will be adopting the it officially on December 7th. The CenturyLink MN VP said they have been working on the infrastructure for the last year and a half. Homes qualifying to receive 25 Mbps or higher will be able to get Prism TV while they upgrade the network to 1 Gig.
I am qualified for 40 in NE Blaine. Blaine City Council should be adopting the agreement December 3rd.
blitzen102 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2015, 12:40 PM
DolbyVision Rocks!
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2217 Post(s)
Liked: 4233
Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzen102 View Post
I watched Spring Lake Park's City Council public hearing on the agreement. They will be adopting the it officially on December 7th. The CenturyLink MN VP said they have been working on the infrastructure for the last year and a half. Homes qualifying to receive 25 Mbps or higher will be able to get Prism TV while they upgrade the network to 1 Gig.
I am qualified for 40 in NE Blaine. Blaine City Council should be adopting the agreement December 3rd.
It was crickets from Centurylink where I was with them at 8mbps down. Had no choice but to switch to Xfinity when they showed up and put new line in the ground for 150mbps down service. Timely competition from Centurylink would have been welcome.
thomasfxlt is online now  
Old 11-23-2015, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
It's nice to see what Centurylink is doing but I didnt like their internet service and their customer service is just as bad as Comcast's is if not worse. Their Prisim service, or whatever you call it, may be nice but I dont trust them and from what I hear it wont be cheap. I'll stick with Comcast.
steve1971 is offline  
Old 11-23-2015, 08:38 AM
DolbyVision Rocks!
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2217 Post(s)
Liked: 4233
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
It's nice to see what Centurylink is doing but I didnt like their internet service and their customer service is just as bad as Comcast's is if not worse. Their Prisim service, or whatever you call it, may be nice but I dont trust them and from what I hear it wont be cheap. I'll stick with Comcast.
Agree. Comcast is hiring big time in the Twin Cities btw (for customer service). Good sign for them and I've been super pleased so far with X1 and the 150mbps internet
steve1971 likes this.
thomasfxlt is online now  
Old 11-23-2015, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
Agree. Comcast is hiring big time in the Twin Cities btw (for customer service). Good sign for them and I've been super pleased so far with X1 and the 150mbps internet

I heard that from my wife who works at Comcast so this weekend I'm putting in my application! And I, like you, am also very pleased with X1 and their internet speeds which are continueing to climb it seems every other month.
steve1971 is offline  
Old 12-09-2015, 04:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Coon Rapids, Blaine, Spring Lake Park, and Ham Lake have approved the agreement for PrismTV. Lino Lakes set to approve December 12th, Circle Pines December 10th.
blitzen102 is offline  
Old 12-09-2015, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzen102 View Post
Coon Rapids, Blaine, Spring Lake Park, and Ham Lake have approved the agreement for PrismTV. Lino Lakes set to approve December 12th, Circle Pines December 10th.

Good for them. I will stick with Comcast.
steve1971 is offline  
Old 12-09-2015, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JBaumgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzen102 View Post
Coon Rapids, Blaine, Spring Lake Park, and Ham Lake have approved the agreement for PrismTV. Lino Lakes set to approve December 12th, Circle Pines December 10th.
Is this an exclusive agreement, or will there be competition between Prism and another cable company, like Comcast?

Vizio M80-C3
Denon AVR-X7200WA
Odyssey HT-3 Plus
Infinity Prelude MTS
HSU ULS-15 MK2 DualDrive
Oppo BDP-83
JBaumgart is offline  
Old 12-09-2015, 10:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,038
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
Good for them. I will stick with Comcast.
Considering you get it free, or for a discount since your wife works for CC, I bet you will
For the rest of us who overpay, it will be nice for the competition
blitzen102, NNate and steve1971 like this.
jjeff is offline  
Old 12-09-2015, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBaumgart View Post
Is this an exclusive agreement, or will there be competition between Prism and another cable company, like Comcast?
Competition - the North Metro Cable Commission, Minneapolis and St. Paul all have existing franchise agreements with Comcast.

The remaining cities in the NMCC - Centerville and Lexington should/will all approve by the end of December. There have been no complaints by citizens or city council members on the agreement that I have seen.

Mailings will go out to customers that will be able to get Prism (some customers will start getting them as soon as the service is active, others will get them as network upgrades to add more bandwidth are completed in areas).
blitzen102 is offline  
Old 12-09-2015, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JBaumgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzen102 View Post
Competition - the North Metro Cable Commission, Minneapolis and St. Paul all have existing franchise agreements with Comcast.

The remaining cities in the NMCC - Centerville and Lexington should/will all approve by the end of December. There have been no complaints by citizens or city council members on the agreement that I have seen.

Mailings will go out to customers that will be able to get Prism (some customers will start getting them as soon as the service is active, others will get them as network upgrades to add more bandwidth are completed in areas).
Any other suburbs in Prism's growth plans? Competition is always good for the consumer!

Vizio M80-C3
Denon AVR-X7200WA
Odyssey HT-3 Plus
Infinity Prelude MTS
HSU ULS-15 MK2 DualDrive
Oppo BDP-83
JBaumgart is offline  
Old 12-09-2015, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBaumgart View Post
Any other suburbs in Prism's growth plans? Competition is always good for the consumer!
When I watched the replay of the Spring Lake Park public hearing which was at the city council meeting, the CenturyLink VP said something to the effect of "we are very actively working with other cities/commissions in Minnesota for agreements with them as well". He did not mention any specific cities or areas.

Agreed on the competition - let the price wars begin!
blitzen102 is offline  
Old 12-10-2015, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Considering you get it free, or for a discount since your wife works for CC, I bet you will
For the rest of us who overpay, it will be nice for the competition

Oh trust me I will enjoy it and all the benefits that come with it! That being said. Comcast will be rolling out Dolby Atmos next year along with 4K. 4K will have its own seperate channel like 3D and its own On Demand channel as they did with 3D. Word is their will be no seperate set top box for 4K it will just be a simple firmware update going to the X1 set top boxes to add the 4K channel and Dolby Atmos. In closing Comcast is gearing up for the Prisim challenge from CenturyLink and they are going to meet it head on. Like someone already said let the price wars begin!!!!
steve1971 is offline  
Old 12-10-2015, 09:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,038
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 211
IMO what Comcast should do(and it sounds like they are) is what Verizon (the cell phone division) seems to be doing, that is work on improving it's quality more than trying to chase the bottom dollar pricing. Some people will always chose the cheaper price over quality but many(like many Verizon users) will pay more for a more reliable faster service.
Unfortunately in my area CentryLink is no match whatsoever for Comcast, if one wants to be able to stream HD one has to chose CC but maybe some day CL will offer competition to CC but if CC is smart by that time they'll already be offering more than what CL comes up with
steve1971 likes this.
jjeff is offline  
Old 12-11-2015, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Ray''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
4K will have its own seperate channel like 3D and its own On Demand channel as they did with 3D.
It's going to be that bad? The same few shows played over, and over and over? I have a 3D set and I don't miss that channel at all.
Ray' is offline  
Old 12-11-2015, 08:48 PM
Member
 
eherberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I wonder if the requirement to have one of Prism's other services comes with them? Or the rule about not having your internet with anybody else?

http://www.centurylink.com/common/di...l.html#prismtv
eherberg is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray' View Post
It's going to be that bad? The same few shows played over, and over and over? I have a 3D set and I don't miss that channel at all.
I wouldnt call it bad Ray. I mean the 4K loyalists have been begging for more 4K material so Comcast is delivering. Maybe not the way they would like it but I always something is better then nothing right?
steve1971 is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 04:05 PM
Member
 
Ray''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
I wouldnt call it bad Ray. I mean the 4K loyalists have been begging for more 4K material so Comcast is delivering. Maybe not the way they would like it but I always something is better then nothing right?
I agree. Something is better than nothing. I was just giving you a hard time Steve.

That said I'm in no hurry to buy a 4K set. I'm reading too many reviews that say 720p and 1080i content looks worse on a 4K display. That's the majority of what I watch. Maybe someone here with a 4K set can chime in.
steve1971 likes this.
Ray' is offline  
Old 12-13-2015, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
[QUOTE=Ray';39696418]I agree. Something is better than nothing. I was just giving you a hard time Steve.

That said I'm in no hurry to buy a 4K set. I'm reading too many reviews that say 720p and 1080i content looks worse on a 4K display. That's the majority of what I watch. Maybe someone here with a 4K set can chime in.[/QUOTE

I have heard the opposite Ray from some here on the forum's. They claim 720p and 1080i look really good on their 4K sets because of the upscaling. Honestly though I could care less because there is no new tv's for me until my 55W900A burns itself out and knock on wood that wont happen for a very long time. And when that time does come I will be going the OLED route.
steve1971 is offline  
Old 12-13-2015, 10:33 AM
Member
 
Mdcastleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I keep getting nags every time I call them, through email, and now even on-screen popups to switch to X1.

What's in it for me. I'm satisfied with my regular HD boxes (aside from the SD only On-Demand menu which means I can't use it). Have no interest in a DVR or digital phone.

Do the boxes output 1080P, or native 1080i or 720P, or do they all convert it to 1080i?

What's in it for them that they're pushing it so hard. Is Comcast's plan to eventually phase out non-X1 service? Or do they want to make it easy for me to order more services and be so enamored I'd never ever think about dropping their service?
steve1971 likes this.
Mdcastleman is offline  
Old 12-14-2015, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdcastleman View Post
I keep getting nags every time I call them, through email, and now even on-screen popups to switch to X1.

What's in it for me. I'm satisfied with my regular HD boxes (aside from the SD only On-Demand menu which means I can't use it). Have no interest in a DVR or digital phone.

Do the boxes output 1080P, or native 1080i or 720P, or do they all convert it to 1080i?

What's in it for them that they're pushing it so hard. Is Comcast's plan to eventually phase out non-X1 service? Or do they want to make it easy for me to order more services and be so enamored I'd never ever think about dropping their service?

The new X1 boxes output all three resolutions 720p, 1080i and 1080p. However I have my X1 box set at 1080i because cable stations output only 720p and 1080i. As far as phasing out non-X1 service I dont think they will but you never know in this ever changing world of technology. But I will say when we switched to the X1 platform we love it and the PQ seems to be much much better and we love the voice control feature.
steve1971 is offline  
Old 12-14-2015, 11:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,038
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdcastleman View Post
Do the boxes output 1080P, or native 1080i or 720P, or do they all convert it to 1080i?
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
The new X1 boxes output all three resolutions 720p, 1080i and 1080p. However I have my X1 box set at 1080i because cable stations output only 720p and 1080i.
Just to clarify, are you saying the new X1 boxes have a native setting where whatever the channel is, thats what the output will be(480i,720p,1080i) or do you select the output(720p,1080i,1080p) and the X1 box will output all channels as that?
I prefer the native setting and let my TV do any scaling, the downside is slower channel changes as your TV has to switch resolutions as you change the channel.
jjeff is offline  
Old 12-14-2015, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Just to clarify, are you saying the new X1 boxes have a native setting where whatever the channel is, thats what the output will be(480i,720p,1080i) or do you select the output(720p,1080i,1080p) and the X1 box will output all channels as that?
I prefer the native setting and let my TV do any scaling, the downside is slower channel changes as your TV has to switch resolutions as you change the channel.
You have to select the output of what you want to use 720p, 1080i, or 1080p. Like I said for cable broadcast I use 1080i.
steve1971 is offline  
Old 12-14-2015, 01:09 PM
DolbyVision Rocks!
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2217 Post(s)
Liked: 4233
Minneapolis, MN - Comcast

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Just to clarify, are you saying the new X1 boxes have a native setting where whatever the channel is, thats what the output will be(480i,720p,1080i) or do you select the output(720p,1080i,1080p) and the X1 box will output all channels as that?
I prefer the native setting and let my TV do any scaling, the downside is slower channel changes as your TV has to switch resolutions as you change the channel.

No native setting. I'd prefer this as well.

Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Home Theater Geeks: The Vizio P Series 2016 Show w/Scott, Tyler & Tom
Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV Gen 4
thomasfxlt is online now  
Old 12-14-2015, 02:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,038
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Thanks guys for the clarification. Not sure why so few devices offer a native setting, other than a Tivo that is. If I had to guess they probably don't want calls from customers asking why it takes so long to change channels as their TV syncs to various resolutions...
steve1971 likes this.
jjeff is offline  
Old 12-16-2015, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Ray''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a question on 2 channel buffering on the new X1 boxes. Let's say the Wolves and the Wild are playing at the same time. On my Motorola DCX3400 I can swap between both channels in HD with about a 25 minute buffer on each game. I'm reading that's it's not possible with an X1 box. Can anyone confirm or deny? Thanks
Ray' is offline  
Old 12-16-2015, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JBaumgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
You have to select the output of what you want to use 720p, 1080i, or 1080p. Like I said for cable broadcast I use 1080i.
I find that the X1 box does an excellent job of upscaling all HD programming (whether it's 720p or 1080i) to 1080p. I've tried all three settings, and if there's any difference I can't see it, so I set mine to 1080p. Whatever setting you use on your X1, your TV will then upscale to its native resolution. On my 4K set you would never know there's any upscaling going on - all HD programming looks great.

I haven't done much 4K streaming, but what I have done looks better still. I hope that someday it will become standard practice for networks to send all their programming in 4K to the cable channels, and that will become the native resolution so no upscaling will be necessary. Of course by then the TV manufacturers will be several steps ahead, just like they always have, and we'll still have upscaling, just at higher resolutions. I don't really care how they do it as long as the consumer gets ever-improving picture quality possible at prices that are truly affordable!
steve1971 likes this.

Vizio M80-C3
Denon AVR-X7200WA
Odyssey HT-3 Plus
Infinity Prelude MTS
HSU ULS-15 MK2 DualDrive
Oppo BDP-83
JBaumgart is offline  
Old 12-17-2015, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,673
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBaumgart View Post
I find that the X1 box does an excellent job of upscaling all HD programming (whether it's 720p or 1080i) to 1080p. I've tried all three settings, and if there's any difference I can't see it, so I set mine to 1080p. Whatever setting you use on your X1, your TV will then upscale to its native resolution. On my 4K set you would never know there's any upscaling going on - all HD programming looks great.

I haven't done much 4K streaming, but what I have done looks better still. I hope that someday it will become standard practice for networks to send all their programming in 4K to the cable channels, and that will become the native resolution so no upscaling will be necessary. Of course by then the TV manufacturers will be several steps ahead, just like they always have, and we'll still have upscaling, just at higher resolutions. I don't really care how they do it as long as the consumer gets ever-improving picture quality possible at prices that are truly affordable!


Last night while reading your post I set my X1 box at 1080/60p and I dont know if its my eyes or my W900A's upscaling but HD broadcast's actually looked better and sharper then when it was set at 1080i! Thats just my opinion and what I see so thank you for saying you had your box set at 1080/60p. Even my wife noticed the difference. Now onto your 4K comments. Honestly I doubt networks will go the 4K route because of all the bandwith that is used ect but I do see them adding the 4K feature on their X1 boxes like they have with the 1080/60p feature that you and I now use. It will be all upscaling if used because again I doubt networks will go 4K because as of now half their channels are still at 720p or 1080i. Down the road that could change but I just dont see it happening and who knows by that time 8K could be the new tech on the block! We shall see.
steve1971 is offline  
Old 12-17-2015, 10:22 AM
DolbyVision Rocks!
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2217 Post(s)
Liked: 4233
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
Last night while reading your post I set my X1 box at 1080/60p and I dont know if its my eyes or my W900A's upscaling but HD broadcast's actually looked better and sharper then when it was set at 1080i! Thats just my opinion and what I see so thank you for saying you had your box set at 1080/60p. Even my wife noticed the difference. Now onto your 4K comments. Honestly I doubt networks will go the 4K route because of all the bandwith that is used ect but I do see them adding the 4K feature on their X1 boxes like they have with the 1080/60p feature that you and I now use. It will be all upscaling if used because again I doubt networks will go 4K because as of now half their channels are still at 720p or 1080i. Down the road that could change but I just dont see it happening and who knows by that time 8K could be the new tech on the block! We shall see.

I think everyone is shooting for Bluray quality broadcasting... I doubt anyone will complain. The upscaling of good 1080p is more than sufficient with a MVP 9-10ft. Even the best 1080i channels look amazing right now.
steve1971 likes this.

Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Home Theater Geeks: The Vizio P Series 2016 Show w/Scott, Tyler & Tom
Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV Gen 4
thomasfxlt is online now  
Old 01-04-2016, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Prism TV is now available to me in north Blaine. Previously, CenturyLink was showing 40 Mbps internet download speed for me. If I select Prism TV, it drops down to 20 Mbps (essentially - Prism needs/consumes 20 Mbps). Also, CenturyLink was in my neighborhood last week running fiber to the main network nodes (from 125th/Main Street). Checking the Prism channel guide, I don't see any glaring channel omissions. As expected, Prism has a lot more HD channels than Comcast. I will upload the channel lineup tonight.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Twin Cities Prism TV Channel Lineups.zip (145.3 KB, 25 views)

Last edited by blitzen102; 01-05-2016 at 09:52 AM.
blitzen102 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off