Minneapolis, MN - Comcast - Page 88 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2611 of 2934 Old 02-27-2012, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnxmfan View Post

I'm seeing this as less and less likely as time goes on. Yes, it would be better for both consumers and Comcast to unify the systems to either Motorola or Cisco (probably Motorola) but doing so would be a long and painful process.

....

Yes, in Houston they had a somewhat simliar situation except something like 80% was SA/Cisco and 20% was Motorola and they converted everybody to Cisco.

I think what Comcast learned from that (it was painful) led them to decide to leave the split systems here in MSP.
blitzen102 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2612 of 2934 Old 03-23-2012, 09:26 AM
Member
 
cmotomn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Based on the price list from my most recent Comcast invoice, it appears the basic $29.95 Economy Internet 1.5 Mbps service is changing to Economy Plus Internet 3 Mbps service starting April 1st. Double the speed for the same price! Can anyone else confirm this?
cmotomn is offline  
post #2613 of 2934 Old 03-23-2012, 12:04 PM
Member
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12


My rate card in this months bill states that Economy Plus is $29.95 with voice service, $39.95 without. Not sure what the upload/download spreeds are.
worachj is offline  
post #2614 of 2934 Old 03-23-2012, 12:12 PM
Member
 
cmotomn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Comcast website states the following...

Economy Plus

"Way faster than dial-up with downloads up to 3 Mbps and uploads up to 768 Kbps."
cmotomn is offline  
post #2615 of 2934 Old 03-23-2012, 05:50 PM
Member
 
sketchr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the subject of internet packages - does anyone know what the difference between "Blast!" and "Blast Plus" is? There is no distinction listed on the website. Yet to use the new service called streampix for no additional cost, one needs to have either a triple play package or Blast plus or higher. I don't have a triple play package - no interest in the phone...and I have Blast for 58.95 per month. Not seeing any additional speed or feature description online.
sketchr is offline  
post #2616 of 2934 Old 03-24-2012, 07:20 AM
Newbie
 
nosnhojm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this has already been asked, but does anyone know when Minnesota (MSP/STP) will be getting the new Spectrum DVR (quad tuner) and the new Xfinity guide (cloud based)? I believe the DVR is made by Pace, so how does that affect the different Motorola or Cisco systems currently used?
nosnhojm is offline  
post #2617 of 2934 Old 03-24-2012, 08:50 PM
Member
 
CaptMorn2374's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sketchr View Post

On the subject of internet packages - does anyone know what the difference between "Blast!" and "Blast Plus" is? There is no distinction listed on the website. Yet to use the new service called streampix for no additional cost, one needs to have either a triple play package or Blast plus or higher. I don't have a triple play package - no interest in the phone...and I have Blast for 58.95 per month. Not seeing any additional speed or feature description online.

Blast Plus is a double play. Blast Speed Internet plus Economy Video service. Streampix is online content and available On Demand in some areas.
CaptMorn2374 is offline  
post #2618 of 2934 Old 04-05-2012, 06:05 PM
Member
 
cmotomn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Confirmed! Comcast Economy "Plus" Internet is 3.0 Mbps download / 768 Kbps upload for $29.95/mo with TV or Voice service. Current Comcast Economy Internet subscribers (1.5 Mbps / 384 Kbps) must contact customer service to have their billing code changed in order to receive faster speeds for the same price.
cmotomn is offline  
post #2619 of 2934 Old 04-05-2012, 09:58 PM
Member
 
omarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmotomn View Post

Confirmed! Comcast Economy "Plus" Internet is 3.0 Mbps download / 768 Kbps upload for $29.95/mo with TV or Voice service. Current Comcast Economy Internet subscribers (1.5 Mbps / 384 Kbps) must contact customer service to have their billing code changed in order to receive faster speeds for the same price.

Do you know if this works with the "Starter XF Triple Play" package? I currently get the 1.5/384 service.
omarr is offline  
post #2620 of 2934 Old 04-19-2012, 01:42 PM
Member
 
berg0449's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I heard comcast is starting to test On Demand with Tivo. I know its only in specific areas so far but would welcome it when it comes locally.

http://www.tivo.com/comcast
berg0449 is offline  
post #2621 of 2934 Old 04-20-2012, 06:45 AM
Member
 
sketchr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by berg0449 View Post

I heard comcast is starting to test On Demand with Tivo. I know its only in specific areas so far but would welcome it when it comes locally.

http://www.tivo.com/comcast

I'm interested.
sketchr is offline  
post #2622 of 2934 Old 04-20-2012, 09:21 PM
Member
 
mnxmfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by berg0449 View Post

I heard comcast is starting to test On Demand with Tivo. I know its only in specific areas so far but would welcome it when it comes locally.

http://www.tivo.com/comcast

I have a Tivo HD currently. As soon as this is offered here, I'll be DEFINITELY upgrading to the Premiere. I'm also waiting for their streaming boxes to come out to do the same. I'd absolutely love having 1 4 tuner Tivo in the house with the streamers on each of the other two TV's. One cable card, and no need to download shows from one box to the other.
mnxmfan is offline  
post #2623 of 2934 Old 04-27-2012, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
Jargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any experience with CenturyLink? I'm currently paying 220 for a comcast preferred triple play, which is just too much. I'm going to switch to a VOIP service and one of the dish services. Dish is cheaper than Directv but Directv can be bundled with Centrylink. Comcast would want 62.95 for preffered internet (20/4) whereas the promotional price for Centurylink (20 down) is only 25 bucks. Any testimonials good or bad?
Jargo is offline  
post #2624 of 2934 Old 06-02-2012, 11:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Demolition Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Well folks I finally made the jump over to DirecTV this week. Been one strange ride with Comcast but glad to be gone.

Demolition Man
Fan of New England/Boston & Minnesota teams!
Demolition Man is offline  
post #2625 of 2934 Old 06-04-2012, 06:01 AM
Newbie
 
continuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southwest Minneapolis
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demolition Man View Post

Well folks I finally made the jump over to DirecTV this week. Been one strange ride with Comcast but glad to be gone.

I hear you. Our apartment building don't allow no satellite dishes, and we slog on with the cable monopoly that rhymes with Vomcast.
continuo is offline  
post #2626 of 2934 Old 06-04-2012, 04:20 PM
Member
 
Ray''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This blurb came in today's bill.

"Effective July 1, 2012, Comcast will charge $1.99 per month for
each new Digital Adapter Additional Outlet service subscribed to
on or after July 1, 2012 by customers with Digital Starter and
above video services. Pricing is subject to change."

Good luck with your DirecTV Demolition Man.
Ray' is offline  
post #2627 of 2934 Old 06-08-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by continuo View Post


I hear you. Our apartment building don't allow no satellite dishes, and we slog on with the cable monopoly that rhymes with Vomcast.

Federal law requires apartment buildings to allow their renters to place dishes on their patios or balconies.

Of course your balcony or patio needs to have line-of-sight to the satellites or it won't do you much good...
blitzen102 is offline  
post #2628 of 2934 Old 06-12-2012, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
georule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.deadline.com/2012/06/fcc-says-pay-tv-providers-can-just-offer-digital-feeds-of-broadcast-channels/#more-285091

As of Dec 12, cable providers will no longer be required to carry analog feeds of broadcast channels as part of their, err, "voluntary", agreement with FCC to assist in the digital transition. So, maybe 2013 sees a further increase in HD capacity for Comcast.
georule is offline  
post #2629 of 2934 Old 06-14-2012, 12:46 PM
Member
 
AJD84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Blaine, Mn
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by georule View Post

http://www.deadline.com/2012/06/fcc-says-pay-tv-providers-can-just-offer-digital-feeds-of-broadcast-channels/#more-285091
As of Dec 12, cable providers will no longer be required to carry analog feeds of broadcast channels as part of their, err, "voluntary", agreement with FCC to assist in the digital transition. So, maybe 2013 sees a further increase in HD capacity for Comcast.

As long as they leave the Digital Locals in ClearQAM, i think this is awesome.... gives ~20 or so more channels to digital use.
AJD84 is offline  
post #2630 of 2934 Old 06-18-2012, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Demolition Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJD84 View Post

As long as they leave the Digital Locals in ClearQAM, i think this is awesome.... gives ~20 or so more channels to digital use.

And the remaining anti-digital folks more hissy fits that "their TV" is being taken away from them.

Demolition Man
Fan of New England/Boston & Minnesota teams!
Demolition Man is offline  
post #2631 of 2934 Old 07-02-2012, 09:10 AM
Member
 
cmotomn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bad new for those of us that rely on Clear QAM Unencrypted Cable for basic local HD channels. Comast is one step closer to encrypting everything and requiring all customers to use a converter box on every TV!

http://www.multichannel.com/article/486581-Comcast_Boxee_Hammer_Out_Crypto_Deal.php
cmotomn is offline  
post #2632 of 2934 Old 07-02-2012, 12:12 PM
Member
 
AJD84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Blaine, Mn
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmotomn View Post

Bad new for those of us that rely on Clear QAM Unencrypted Cable for basic local HD channels. Comast is one step closer to encrypting everything and requiring all customers to use a converter box on every TV!
http://www.multichannel.com/article/486581-Comcast_Boxee_Hammer_Out_Crypto_Deal.php

Since this Box is Ethernet, I'm wondering if you'd be able to pickup the streams on your network and use it on the computer. Also, since it apparently supports DLNA, it'd probably be possible to have an app on certain TV's that could connect to this to get locals.
AJD84 is offline  
post #2633 of 2934 Old 07-10-2012, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Sports_Realist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a Comcast tech over on Sunday. He installed an RNG200n, so the cloud based Guide 2.0 is available and you need not get anyroom DVR service. You just need a box capable of handling that feature. The regular RNG200 boxes, for whatever reason, can't get the new guide.

While chatting, the tech said that by mid 2013, the former Time Warner areas (Minneapolis and its suburbs) that use Cisco/Scientific Atlanta equipment can expect to see as many as 50 to 75 additional HD channels due to the end of the remaining analog feeds and other capacity expansion work.
Sports_Realist is offline  
post #2634 of 2934 Old 07-13-2012, 06:49 AM
Member
 
rej4sl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How do you get the new guide 2.0. I had an appointment on Monday. The tech came and after calling customer service again they said they would not do it as the guide is only available for new customers in our area. I contacted corporate and am dealing with a lady in St. Paul. So if you have any info can you let me know. Thanks.

Other good news the Olympic Basketball and Olympic Soccer Channels are on HD .... in the suburbs .... 895 and 896 awesome.
rej4sl is offline  
post #2635 of 2934 Old 07-13-2012, 04:22 PM
Member
 
Sports_Realist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rej, I replied with a detailed response to the PM you sent. The short version is I think the rep is incorrect about the box only going to new customers. The box needs to be new and an RNG anyroom model because existing boxes in the field aren't getting Guide 2.0, a reverse of a prior decision. Try the Comcast Voices blog entry linked below for more info.

http://blog.comcast.com/2010/05/new-guide-for-scientific-atlanta-cable-boxes.html
Sports_Realist is offline  
post #2636 of 2934 Old 07-14-2012, 09:19 AM
Member
 
rej4sl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks - we don't really need anyroom service. So we are thinking about waiting until the general roll out. We were told we had to pay the tech install fee if we wanted it. Then the problems. It would be nice to have the new guide though as this one we have is archaic. A self install would be better as we don't want to pay the tech fee or wait in line for hours at our local store.
rej4sl is offline  
post #2637 of 2934 Old 07-24-2012, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sports_Realist View Post

I had a Comcast tech over on Sunday. He installed an RNG200n, so the cloud based Guide 2.0 is available and you need not get anyroom DVR service. You just need a box capable of handling that feature. The regular RNG200 boxes, for whatever reason, can't get the new guide.
While chatting, the tech said that by mid 2013, the former Time Warner areas (Minneapolis and its suburbs) that use Cisco/Scientific Atlanta equipment can expect to see as many as 50 to 75 additional HD channels due to the end of the remaining analog feeds and other capacity expansion work.

I don't think that is the cloud-based 2.0 guide -- that is just the same guide people on Motorola equipment have had for years (iGuide).

Here's a demo of the 2.0 cloud-based guide. It is opimized for 16X9 and HD.
http://www.engadget.com/2011/06/14/comcast-to-show-off-new-xfinity-guide-with-facebook-tie-ins-thur/
blitzen102 is offline  
post #2638 of 2934 Old 07-26-2012, 11:22 AM
Member
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yesterday my TiVo reported a lineup change. Looks like Comcast(Eagan) has added three NBC channels for Olympics coverage. The only channel that was currently showing anything was a soccer game on channel 896.

895 NBCBSK
896 NBCSOC
897 NBCOL3D

By the description it looks like 895 is for basketball, 896 for soccer and 897 for 3D.
worachj is offline  
post #2639 of 2934 Old 07-26-2012, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
correct
There are 2 dedicated channels for soccer and basketball games.
3D is delayed 24 hours from what I have read
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2640 of 2934 Old 07-26-2012, 10:50 PM
Member
 
berg0449's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI, Roseville office has a sign that it is moving late August. I thought they said near b2 and fair view.
berg0449 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off