Boston, MA - OTA - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 10708 Old 05-31-2001, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
SPel699187@aol.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Eliot,Maine (The Pine Tree State) USA
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scheduled outage from ch57:


Channel 57 will not be on the air May 30,31 and June 1 as we have tower
work in progress and we cannot expose the workers to excessive RF exposure.
We will turn it back on earlier if the work is completed sooner than
expected..



------------------
Steve P

Steve Pelchat
SPel699187@aol.com is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 10708 Old 06-01-2001, 05:25 AM
Senior Member
 
jimg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Framingham, MA, USA
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by chs4:
On my E*6000 WHDH also maps to 7-1, but I too received no picture last night. Signal strength of 75-85, but no picture.

Chip

Known problem with the E* 6000 (and scheduled to be fixed in the long-awaited update).

It should also show up with channel 23-1. (Apparently it's not ignoring a bogus ident.)

Go to 42-2 and its there. (And actually last night, I just had to "channel up" from 007-1 to get to 42-2.)


jimg is offline  
post #63 of 10708 Old 06-01-2001, 03:04 PM
Member
 
SANdood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Tyngsborough, MA, USA
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sometime over the past day or two, the channel 4.1 (WBZ) signal loss drop-outs on my Sony HD100 stopped. Perhaps a patch was downloaded (my system says it has #256,1543 and 2049, but not #953), or perhaps something changed at WBZ.

Bob Hess - have you tried your HD100 lately? Did you do anything, or has Sony finally resolved this for us all.

Or maybe, it's just me?




[This message has been edited by SANdood (edited 06-01-2001).]
SANdood is offline  
post #64 of 10708 Old 06-01-2001, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob Hess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
SANdood,

We have busy working on this problem and just got some suggested changes in the settings for our HDTV encoder that may fix the problem. We plan on making these changes on Monday. To date, however, we have not done anything that should affect your HD-100.

All HD-100 users: check out your reception Monday night.

Bob
Bob Hess is offline  
post #65 of 10708 Old 06-01-2001, 09:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the E6000 7-1 worked fine.

It did not work the prior night even trying to direct input to 42-1 or 42-2 (the first thing I try). Direct mapping is easy. Start with a "00" for a onedigit station, like 007 or you can type 0071. One "0" for a two digit, e.g. 0421, 0422.

Tim

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #66 of 10708 Old 06-03-2001, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hemlock NY
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else notice WFXT-DT has dropped to 480p instead of their usual 720p?

At first, I thought my Panasonic STB switch was in the wrong position.

Wow, what a difference. Looks worse than NBC's 480i.

Does anybody know if this is a tempoary situation or did Boston digital TV just take a giant step backwards?
jeff43 is offline  
post #67 of 10708 Old 06-04-2001, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob Hess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sony HD-100 users:

We have made some changes on our end and our HD-100 is now stable. In another thread, I see that Sony has also downloaded changes via Direct TV. Please let me know if you see anything weird going on with WBZ-DT.

Bob Hess
Director, Broadcast Operations/Engineering
WBZ

[This message has been edited by Bob Hess (edited 06-04-2001).]
Bob Hess is offline  
post #68 of 10708 Old 06-04-2001, 10:45 AM
c.k
Member
 
c.k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have lip sync problems with FOX 25-1 last night? I had to go to my DTV feed since Malcolm In The Middle was really annoying. I have a Panasonic HDS-20 STB.
c.k is offline  
post #69 of 10708 Old 06-05-2001, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
jeff43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hemlock NY
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WFXT-DT still transmitting only a 480p signal. Anybody getting 720p? Does anyone know what's up with that?
jeff43 is offline  
post #70 of 10708 Old 06-06-2001, 11:48 AM
Member
 
wkhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Framingham, MA, USA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also lost 4-1 and 7-1 from RCA DCT-100 last night (6/5/01). However, 30-1 and 42-1 (or 2?) had both video and audio. I guess their channel mapping wasn't working last night.
wkhz is offline  
post #71 of 10708 Old 06-06-2001, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob Hess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


Originally posted by sbuckler:
Anyone else getting strong signal on WBZ-DT but no audio or video? Same thing as WHDH lately. Using DTC100 signal strenght is 88 but "weak signal" appears.

I'm guessing that you need to do a new channel search. This because we made changes to our PSIP settings to take care of a problem with Sony HD-100 receivers.

Remember our DTV Hotline: 617-787-7043

Feel free to call this number to report a problem.

Bob Hess
Director, Broadcast Operations/Engineering
WBZ-TV/WSBK-TV/WLWC-TV/WBZ-AM/WODS-FM

Bob Hess is offline  
post #72 of 10708 Old 06-06-2001, 09:20 PM
Member
 
sbuckler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Harwich, MA
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else getting strong signal on WBZ-DT but no audio or video? Same thing as WHDH lately. Using DTC100 signal strenght is 88 but "weak signal" appears.
sbuckler is offline  
post #73 of 10708 Old 06-06-2001, 09:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
RScogland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried fiddling with things last night (6/5/2001) and afterwards could only get 20-1 (and sometimes 31-2 came in for a while, but that is no different from before, and this was what I was trying to improve by fiddling). My "post fiddle" experience was that dispite strong signal readings from 4-1 and 7-1, I got zero sound or picture. This was later in the evening ... maybe around 10:00PM. Was this problem on my end or was anything down?

I forgot to mention that I use a ProScan PSHD-105 (same as DTC-100) with the RCA VHDC-300, a Silver Sensor antenna with RadioShack attenuator, and a Sony KV-32XBR400. (I once again tried my RadioShack double-bowtie and my MegaWave MTV-1, but neither improved the situation).

------------------
Rick W. Scogland
My Email: rickscogland@mediaone.net

My Home Theater: http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum15/HTML/000169.html

[This message has been edited by RScogland (edited 06-06-2001).]
RScogland is offline  
post #74 of 10708 Old 06-08-2001, 06:07 AM
Newbie
 
InfoTechCorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cohasset, MA, USA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony KW34HD1. Original digital receiver. For the past couple of weeks, I too have not been able to tune either 4.1 or 7.l (no sound, no picture, excellent signal strength). The picture and sound come in fine when tuning 30.1 and 42.1. I've gone through the re-acquisition cycle (several times). Yesterday I started receiving WHDH-DT on 7.1 just fine. However, I still am unable to tune WBZ at 4.1. Sooo.... It seams that there is still some PSIP magic (or witchcraft) to be resolved??? Thanks and regards....
InfoTechCorp is offline  
post #75 of 10708 Old 06-08-2001, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob Hess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


Originally posted by InfoTechCorp:
I have a Sony KW34HD1. Original digital receiver. For the past couple of weeks, I too have not been able to tune either 4.1 or 7.l (no sound, no picture, excellent signal strength). The picture and sound come in fine when tuning 30.1 and 42.1. I've gone through the re-acquisition cycle (several times). Yesterday I started receiving WHDH-DT on 7.1 just fine. However, I still am unable to tune WBZ at 4.1. Sooo.... It seams that there is still some PSIP magic (or witchcraft) to be resolved??? Thanks and regards....

The bad news is that you're right. We do seem to have a problem and it is associated with our changes made to fix the HD-100 problem. We will look into the problem. I have the same problem with my DTC-100,

The good news is that WBZ-DT has been granted a power increase to maximize our coverage. As of today, we are increasing power from 600,000 watts to 725,000 watts.

Bob Hess
WBZ

Bob Hess is offline  
post #76 of 10708 Old 06-08-2001, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Richard_P_Harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Deep in the woods of Charlton, MA
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Bob,

WOW 725,000 watts I may need get that voodoo, black box, attenuator, do dad, thing a ma bob, that Tim uses.

------------------
Hopelessly addicted to HDTV and lost deep in the woods of Charlton, MA - Rich
rharvey@at-com.com

Hopelessly addicted to HDTV and lost deep in the woods of Charlton, MA - Rich
rharvey@at-com.com
Richard_P_Harvey is offline  
post #77 of 10708 Old 06-08-2001, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Doug G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Bob Hess:
The bad news is that you're right. We do seem to have a problem and it is associated with our changes made to fix the HD-100 problem. We will look into the problem. I have the same problem with my DTC-100,

Bob, so where does this leave us TU-HDS20 users? I haven't seen any changes at all (good or bad) and still need to tune WBZ-DT in at 30-1. Any hope of getting the right mapping soon? All other stations are mapping to this unit fine.
Doug G is offline  
post #78 of 10708 Old 06-08-2001, 11:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Richard_P_Harvey:
I may need get that voodoo, black box, attenuator, do dad, thing a ma bob, that Tim uses.

Richard,
No thing a ma bob since BZ went higher power last time. I actually don't even need the Channel Master anymore since then.

Now I don't even need to turn on my TV to get 30-1.....

The PSIP fix my have fixed the HD-100 but it messed up the D6000 too & it still does not allow the DST3000 do it's substitute programming guide (unlike the other PSIP mapping stations).

Tim


Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #79 of 10708 Old 06-08-2001, 12:10 PM
c.k
Member
 
c.k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm with Doug. I have a TU-HDS20 and all of the other station map fine. The only problem is with WBZ, I have a 4-1 (with nothing on it) and a 30-1.
c.k is offline  
post #80 of 10708 Old 06-08-2001, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob Hess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


Originally posted by Doug G:
Bob, so where does this leave us TU-HDS20 users? I haven't seen any changes at all (good or bad) and still need to tune WBZ-DT in at 30-1. Any hope of getting the right mapping soon? All other stations are mapping to this unit fine.


Not to worry, Doug. We'll fix it.

- Bob
Bob Hess is offline  
post #81 of 10708 Old 06-08-2001, 09:27 PM
Newbie
 
nlrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Acton, MA, USA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know why I can get WCVB 20-1 pretty well but I can't seem to receive 4-1 WBZ or 7-1 at all. I used to receive 4-1 sporadically. I'm using the dct-100.

Thanks

[This message has been edited by nlrich (edited 06-09-2001).]
nlrich is offline  
post #82 of 10708 Old 06-09-2001, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
patjoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Tewksbury, MA, USA
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by nlrich:

Does anyone know why I can get WCVB 20-1 pretty well but I can't seem to receive 4-1 WBZ or 7-1 at all. I used to receive 4-1 sporadically. I'm using the dct-100.

Thanks

[This message has been edited by nlrich (edited 06-09-2001).]

I had to remap (rescan) the channels in order to fix the problem. Give that a try.

Pat

patjoy is offline  
post #83 of 10708 Old 06-11-2001, 11:51 AM
Member
 
SANdood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Tyngsborough, MA, USA
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by Bob Hess:
I'm guessing that you need to do a new channel search. This because we made changes to our PSIP settings to take care of a problem with Sony HD-100 receivers.

Remember our DTV Hotline: 617-787-7043

Feel free to call this number to report a problem.

Bob Hess
Director, Broadcast Operations/Engineering
WBZ-TV/WSBK-TV/WLWC-TV/WBZ-AM/WODS-FM


Seems we've taken a step backwards for Sony HD-100 users - the 'BZ drop-out is gone, but so is the PSIP!

I did a rescan on my HD-100 this weekend, and now I lost the 4-1 PSIP mapping - WBZ-DT is only on 30-1, while I was getting it on 4-1 just fine!

As of last nite, My Sony has 7-1 (WHDH-DT), 20-1 (WCVB-DT), 25-1 (WFXT-DT), and 30-1 (WBZ). I forgot to check which my Hughes Platinum has...I know it has 5-1 (which my Sony doesn't), but I'll have to check back to see where 'BZ shows up.



------------------
2.0.1 user, upgraded Sony (~130 hour)
SANdood is offline  
post #84 of 10708 Old 06-11-2001, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
RScogland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Too many new channel searches for me. Every time I want to watch something, I need to do a new channel search. I could care less where the channels show up, as long as they are consistant. 31-2 wont come in anymore (and I have NEVER got it as 25-1), 4-1 used to be the only one to come in perfect, and now I cant find it at all, NBC keeps switching from 7-1 to 42-1 and even 42-2, while 20-1 (which has never been 5-1 for me) is now the only one that is consistant but I dont really watch anything of their programming, and I have yet to see 57-1 show up as any number. I know most of this is my fault because I can only use an indoor antenna, but it used to work better when it was in my basement than it does upstairs in my new house (in the same town). Lately, I have been spending more time fixing things and getting frustrated than watching actual programming ... and my family makes fun of my for it! Hopefully things will be more settled in September when the new shows are out.

------------------
Rick W. Scogland
My Email: rickscogland@mediaone.net

My Home Theater:
http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum15/HTML/000169.html
RScogland is offline  
post #85 of 10708 Old 06-11-2001, 06:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually would suggest PSIP mapping NOT be used if
1) it keeps changing (really messes up D6000 favorites)
2) it prevents the Advance Programming Guide to work (as is the case of 'BZ and Tosh/Mits/Hughes receivers.

There is really limited value in mapping if there are side effects. Given the number of stations it is really pretty easy to remember the DT equivalents.

Tim


Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #86 of 10708 Old 06-11-2001, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
TomM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: MA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Although I couldn't get it working last night, I've noticed that when watching 05-0 (analog) on my 6000 for the past week or so they had the program info working! It accurately displayed info about what was on and other pertinent info which, as far as I've seen, is a first for any Boston OTA stations to date. However it wasn't working for the 20-1 digital counterpart. Anyone else notice this? Probably not since why would anyone watch the analog version, but I stumbled upon it.

So, when will this feature be implemented on other OTA channels anyway? thanks
TomM is offline  
post #87 of 10708 Old 06-12-2001, 03:58 AM
Member
 
SANdood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Tyngsborough, MA, USA
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
OK - did a rescan on both my HD receivers, and here's what I have today:

Sony SAT-HD100:
7-1, 9-1, 20-1, 23-1, 23-2, 25-1, 30-1

Hughes Platinum
5-1, 7-1, 9-1, 23-1, 23-2, 25-1, 30-1, 66-1

Both use (separate) RatShack in-house bowties, and the Hughes is a floor higher - signal strength is similar (although upstairs can "see" backwards into NH, apparently).

I used to get 4-1 on both until recently, and I've never had 5-1 on my Sony.

Bob - perhaps you should go back to the OLD PSIP settings, since the Sony patches alone seemed to have fixed the drop-outs prior to your switch-over last Monday. Please?
SANdood is offline  
post #88 of 10708 Old 06-12-2001, 05:45 AM
Newbie
 
nlrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Acton, MA, USA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else using a DCT100 and having problems seeing WBZ? I've done a channel rescan many times and can't seem to get Digital WBZ anymore. I get 20-1 23-1 23-2 without any problems.
nlrich is offline  
post #89 of 10708 Old 06-12-2001, 06:06 AM
Newbie
 
fastphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Somerville, MA USA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nlrich,

I am using a DTC-100 and WBZ disappeared from 4-1 for me as well, but now it's on 30-1. Give that a try. I have no audio coming from the DTC-100 at all now. I only use it for OTA HD. The drop out in audio coincided with the switch from 4-1 to 30-1.

Phil
fastphil is offline  
post #90 of 10708 Old 06-12-2001, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob Hess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi guys,

Sorry about the problems. We hope to have this problem fixed in the next couple of days. Interestingly, the HD-100 in our shop shows us on 4-1. My DTC-100 shows us on 30-1. Not going to restore the old settings since the HD-100 users can now see us but we will have this problem fixed.

As I have said in previous posts, WBZ is committed to the virtual channel. Our viewers know us now as "4" and we want to keep it that way. Fortunately or unfortunately, you guys are the pioneers who are helping the broadcasters and receiver and equipment manufacturers resolve the problems of a technology in its infancy.

Bob Hess
Director, Broadcast Operations/Engineering
WBZ-TV/WSBK-TV/WLWC-TV/WBZ-AM/WODS-FM
Bob Hess is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off