Boston, MA - OTA - Page 361 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10801 of 10806 Old 05-29-2015, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
wizwor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Danville, NH
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I think the DB8e would help with the drop outs since there is more collection area. You really want to use a Y5-7-13 or y10-7-13 for wenh, wmur, and wmtw. Worth it just for wmtw which has a heroes and icons subchannel. Join the two with an RCA TVPRAMP1R. I think you will find much joy in this configuration.
wizwor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10802 of 10806 Old 05-31-2015, 05:36 AM
Member
 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizwor View Post
You really want to use a Y5-7-13 or y10-7-13 for wenh, wmur, and wmtw. Worth it just for wmtw which has a heroes and icons subchannel.
Yes wizwor, I am sure you are correct. But Comcast keeps lowering the price for my broadband as long as I accept a basic cable package. So I'm getting wmur and wenh with and without wind (I mean the blowy wind, not the old Derry station, ha ha, call sign humor)

If internet every truly unbundles from TV then I will have to get serious about more antennas and chopping down some trees!
Tschmidt likes this.
DocSmith is online now  
post #10803 of 10806 Old Today, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
Mechanics200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Autoscan question

I have an old analog tv with connverter box in my attic used to check signal strength of oth channels. Need this as none of my HD sets have a channel signal strength option. Noticed recently that Boston channel 2.1 and 2.2 are not picked up on the scan. No problem when scanning with the HD sets. Since the strength is similar to channel 4 this is not a big issue. Cannot understand why the converter boxes miss channel 2.
Mechanics200 is online now  
post #10804 of 10806 Old Today, 05:03 PM
Member
 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechanics200 View Post
Cannot understand why the converter boxes miss channel 2.
Hmm, not sure if this is related, but I noticed after a recent scan that in addition to channels 2.1 and 2.2 I had channels 2.101 and 2.102 (labeled Updat0 and Updat1) in my channel list. Perhaps your old converter does not know what to do with 101 and 102 and ends up punting on all channel 2's?
DocSmith is online now  
post #10805 of 10806 Old Today, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
Mechanics200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocSmith View Post
Hmm, not sure if this is related, but I noticed after a recent scan that in addition to channels 2.1 and 2.2 I had channels 2.101 and 2.102 (labeled Updat0 and Updat1) in my channel list. Perhaps your old converter does not know what to do with 101 and 102 and ends up punting on all channel 2's?
Thanks for the suggestion. Do you get the odd 101 and 102 numbers on recent hd sets? I have several different size sets but nothing newer than 2011.
Mechanics200 is online now  
post #10806 of 10806 Old Today, 07:25 PM
Member
 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechanics200 View Post
Thanks for the suggestion. Do you get the odd 101 and 102 numbers on recent hd sets? I have several different size sets but nothing newer than 2011.
Actually I see 2.101 and 2.102 on a Windows Media Center PC with a WinTV 950Q tuner. This tuner is more than 5 years old. I'm not sure whether my other TVs with direct tuning see 101 and 102, but I can take a look tomorrow.
DocSmith is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off